Skip to main content
Guide

Canada’s Democracy in Action

Read the book
Read the Book

By voting in an election, you help decide who will represent you in Parliament! The opinions of voting Canadians like you are reflected between elections by the decisions made by Members and Senators.

When and Why Are Federal Elections Held?

  • By constitutional rule: According to Canada’s Constitution, a federal election must be held at least once every five years to give Canadians the chance to consider whether the governing party should remain in power.
  • A question of confidence: The Government must maintain the support of the majority of the Members in the House of Commons; this is known as having the confidence of the House. Losing the confidence of the House on an important vote may result in an election call.

About Federal Elections

Canada is divided into areas called ridings. There is one riding for each seat in the House of Commons, for a total of 338. Ridings are determined based on population; approximately 70,000 people live in each riding.

Once an election is launched, candidates campaign to get the support of people in the riding in which they are running. Any Canadian citizen 18 years of age or older who wants to vote can have his or her name added to the list of voters. On Election Day voters cast their ballots for the candidate they think will best represent their riding in the House of Commons. The candidate who gets the most votes becomes a Member of Parliament. The political party with the most Members in the House of Commons usually forms the Government.

Forming a Government

The outcome of an election determines which party will form the Government in the House of Commons and will be the governing party in the Senate.

After a party wins the most seats in an election:

Passer au contenu
Guide

La démocratie canadienne en action

Télécharger cette section en format PDF

En votant lors d’une élection, tu participes au choix de la personne qui te représentera sur la Colline parlementaire! Entre les élections, les opinions des électeurs canadiens comme toi influent sur les décisions que prennent les députés et les sénateurs.

Quand et pourquoi tenons-nous des élections fédérales?

  • En vertu de la Constitution : Conformément à la Constitution, il faut tenir une élection fédérale au moins tous les cinq ans pour donner l’occasion à la population canadienne de se demander si le parti au pouvoir devrait y rester.
  • Pour une question de confiance : Le gouvernement doit conserver le soutien de la majorité des députés de la Chambre des communes; c’est ce que nous appelons avoir la confiance de la Chambre. Si le parti au pouvoir perd la confiance de la Chambre lors d’un vote important, cette situation peut provoquer le déclenchement d’une élection.

Au sujet des élections fédérales

Le Canada est divisé en régions que nous appelons des circonscriptions. À chaque circonscriptions correspond l’un des 338 sièges de la Chambre des communes. Les circonscriptions sont déterminées en fonction de la population; on compte environ 70 000 électeurs par circonscription.

Lorsqu’une élection est déclenchée, les candidats font campagne pour obtenir le soutien des électeurs de la circonscription dans laquelle ils se présentent. Tous les citoyens canadiens âgés de 18 ans et plus qui souhaitent voter peuvent s’inscrire sur la liste électorale. Le jour du scrutin les électeurs votent pour le candidat qui, selon eux, représentera le mieux leur circonscription à la Chambre des communes. Le candidat qui obtient le plus de voix est élu député. Le parti politique qui réussit à faire élire le plus de députés à la Chambre des communes forme normalement le gouvernement.

Former un gouvernement

Les résultats d’une élection déterminent le parti qui formera le gouvernement à la Chambre des communes et qui sera le parti au pouvoir au Sénat.

Voici ce qui se passe pour le parti qui remporte le plus de sièges lors d’une élection :