Skip to main content
Guide

Parliament in Motion

Read the book
Read the Book

You are never too young to get involved—the contributions you make today will help shape decisions made in the future.

A Living Parliament

Parliament is always evolving to meet the changing needs of Canadians. When the Canadian Parliament was first formed in 1867, there were 72 Senators and 181 Members in the House of Commons. The concerns of parliamentarians and the Canadian people included the expansion of Canada and the construction of an intercontinental railway. Today, because Canada is much bigger, there are 105 Senators and 338 Members in the House of Commons. The issues and concerns of today are quite different than they used to be!

How Does Parliament Change to Keep Up with the Needs of Canadians?

Canadians’ values are influenced by events and issues at local, national and international levels. Parliament is influenced by the views of Canadians, and as a result every Parliament creates new laws and alters existing ones. The way the courts interpret these laws also changes over time. This makes our system very flexible and able to adapt to changes as they occur.

Getting Involved in Democracy

When people think of participating in the democratic process, the first thing that usually comes to mind is voting in an election. However, this is just one of many ways in which you can get involved. Participation begins with simple actions such as taking an interest in what’s happening in your community, or forming your own opinion about a particular topic or issue and then doing something about it. Take a look at the list below for more ways to get involved.

Community

  • Help a community association.
  • Volunteer for the board of your local library, school or community centre.
  • Arrange a visit to your local legislature or city hall, or a constituency office in your riding.

School

  • Join your student council.
  • Participate in a mock Parliament.

Political party

  • Help with an election campaign.
  • Get information from, and attend events organized by, a party’s youth wing.

Online

  • Start a blog about an issue that concerns you.
  • Add your name to an online petition.
  • Join a group on Facebook that shares your political views.

Passer au contenu
Guide

Le Parlement en mouvement

Lire le livre
Lire le livre

On n'est jamais trop jeune pour s'engager. Les contributions que tu fais aujourd'hui influeront sur les décisions qui seront prises demain.

Un Parlement évolutif

Le Parlement évolue constamment pour répondre aux besoins changeants des Canadiens. À ses débuts en 1867, le Parlement canadien comptait 72 sénateurs et 181 députés. Les parlementaires et la population se préoccupaient notamment de l'expansion du Canada et de la construction d'un chemin de fer transcontinental. De nos jours, le Canada s'étant étendu, il compte 105 sénateurs et 338 députés. Les préoccupations et les enjeux ont bien changé!

Comment le Parlement évolue-t-il pour répondre aux besoins changeants des Canadiens?

Les événements et les enjeux qui marquent les scènes locale, nationale et internationale déterminent les valeurs canadiennes. Comme les opinions des Canadiens influent sur le Parlement, on crée des lois et on en modifie d'autres au cours de chaque législature. La façon dont les tribunaux interprètent les lois évolue aussi au fil du temps. Ces facteurs assouplissent notre système et lui permettent de s'adapter aux changements lorsqu'ils surviennent.

La participation à la démocratie

La première chose qui vient d'ordinaire à l'esprit lorsqu'on pense à participer au processus démocratique, c'est de voter lors d'une élection. Cependant, ce n'est qu'une des nombreuses possibilités. La participation débute par de simples actions : on peut, par exemple, s'intéresser à ce qui se passe dans sa collectivité ou se forger sa propre opinion sur un sujet ou un enjeu précis et se mobiliser à ce sujet. Consulte la liste qui suit pour connaître d'autres façons de participer.

Dans ta collectivité

  • Aide une association communautaire.
  • Siège bénévolement au conseil de la bibliothèque, de l'école ou du centre communautaire.
  • Visite l'assemblée législative locale, l'hôtel de ville ou le bureau de circonscription du député.

À l'école

  • Siège au conseil étudiant.
  • Participe à une simulation du Parlement.

Dans un parti politique

  • Donne un coup de main pendant une campagne électorale.
  • Obtiens de l'aile jeunesse des renseignements concernant un parti et assiste aux activités qu'elle organise.

En ligne

  • Lance un blogue sur un enjeu qui te tient à cœur.
  • Signe une pétition en ligne.
  • Joins-toi à un groupe Facebook qui a les mêmes opinions politiques que toi.