Levels of Leadership: Differing Coverage?

In Canada, there are three levels of government – local, provincial/territorial, and national – which are each responsible for making decisions within their jurisdictions. This division of powers makes Canada a federal system of government.


Each level of government has a leader (Prime Minister, Premier, or Mayor) and individuals and groups that hold the leader accountable (Senators and MPs; Members of Provincial Parliament, or MPPs; and Members of the Legislative Assembly, or MLAs, and city councillors).


Look through news sources for items discussing leaders at the federal, provincial/territorial, and local levels.

List the leader’s names.


Compare coverage (type, amount, and placement) given to each of these leaders.


How might the amount of coverage of each leader affect their public support at the various levels of government?