The Cabinet

The Prime Minister chooses members of the Cabinet. These are usually MPs (and often at least one Senator) who belong to the party in power. Those who head government departments are called Ministers. Each province generally has at least one Cabinet Minister. As Canada has grown and changed, the Cabinet has also grown and evolved, with ministries sometimes being renamed, added, dropped or reorganized.

The Cabinet takes collective responsibility for government policies. It must, in public, agree with the Government’s decisions or resign.

THINK ABOUT IT

A hundred years ago, Canada had a Ministry of Railways and Canals and a Ministry Of Overseas Military Forces. Why do these departments no longer exist? Some newer departments include Environment Canada and Public Safety Canada.

DID YOU KNOW?

There is a person called the whip for each political party in the Senate and the House of Commons. He or she makes sure that Members from the party know what is going on in the Chamber, and that they are present when there is an important vote. In practice, the whips also assign each party’s members to committees.

WHAT ABOUT ME?

The work of the federal government is done through departments (or ministries) and agencies. Here are some examples of federal departments’ areas of responsibility: the environment, citizenship and immigration, foreign affairs, defence and natural resources. Which department affects you the most? Which ones would you most like to work for?

WORD BUILDER

MINISTER— From the Latin minister, meaning servant. This word has the same root as minor. Related words include administer (administration, administrator) and minor (meaning less or little).

CABINET — originally, this word meant small room. Today, it sometimes means a cupboard or a piece of furniture where objects can be stored. In Parliament, it means the group of Ministers appointed by the Governor General at the request of the Prime Minister.

Le Cabinet

Le Premier ministre choisit les membres du Cabinet. Ce dernier est composé en général de députés (et souvent d’au moins un sénateur) qui sont membres du parti politique au pouvoir. Ceux qui dirigent des ministères se nomment des ministres. Chaque province compte habituellement au moins un ministre. Au fur et à mesure que le Canada s’est développé et transformé, le Cabinet s’est aussi développé et transformé : ainsi, des ministères ont parfois été renommés, ajoutés, éliminés ou réorganisés.

Les membres du Cabinet sont collectivement responsables des politiques du gouvernement. Enpublic, ils doivent donc appuyer les décisions deleur gouvernement ou démissionner du Cabinet.

PENSES-Y!

Il y a cent ans, il y avait au Canada un ministère des Chemins de fer et des Canaux et un ministère des Forces militaires d’outre-mer. Pourquoi ces ministères n’existent-ils plus aujourd’hui? Par ailleurs, nous avons de nouveaux ministères comme Environnement Canada et Sécurité publique Canada.

LE SAVAIS-TU?

Au Sénat comme à la Chambre des communes, chaque parti politique compte un whip. Cette personne s’assure que les députés et les sénateurs du parti sont au courant de ce qui se passe dans la Chambre, et qu’ils sont présents lorsqu’un vote important a lieu. Les whips désignent aussi les parlementaires de chaque parti qui siégeront aux comités.

ET MOI?

Le gouvernement fédéral remplit sa mission grâce à des ministères et à des organismes. Voici quelques exemples des compétences qui relèvent des ministères fédéraux : l’environnement, la citoyenneté et l’immigration, les affaires étrangères, la défense et les ressources naturelles. Quel ministère est le plus important pour toi? Dans quels ministères aimerais-tu le plus travailler?

UN PEU DE VOCABULAIRE

Le mot « fédéral »vient du latin foederis qui signifie « traité ». Au Canada, on retrouve des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux (un pour chaque province et territoire) ainsi qu’un gouvernement fédéral.

Le mot « capitale », du latin caput signifiant « tête », se définit comme étant la ville où siège le gouvernement d’un État. Au Canada, chaque province a sa capitale; se sont les capitales provinciales. Ottawa est la capitale fédérale.