Elections

National elections must be held at least once every four years to decide who will represent Canadians in the House of Commons.

Canada is divided into areas called ridings (also called constituencies or electoral districts). Canadian citizens vote for the candidate in their riding who they think will best represent them. There are usually many different candidates in each riding. They may represent a political party or be running independently.

How does a person become a candidate? First, he or she has to be nominated (or chosen) by fellow party members in his or her riding during a special meeting called a nomination meeting. If more than one person in the party wants to be a candidate for that riding, there is a vote during the nomination meeting to decide who it will be. If a person does not belong to a party, then he or she can run for election in his or her riding as an independent candidate.

On Election Day, the candidate who gets the most votes becomes a Member of Parliament (MP) and represents his or her riding in the House of Commons in Ottawa. The party with the most number of elected MPs across the country usually forms the Government. The leader of that party becomes the Prime Minister.

Running for office takes dedication and lots of hard work. Some candidates run many times before they win an election. Once the candidates are elected, they spend part of the year in Ottawa and part of the year in their home ridings.

THINK ABOUT IT

Imagine you were going to run in the next federal election. Do you know which party you would want to represent? Or would you choose to run as an independent? How would you decide?

DID YOU KNOW?

Because each riding should represent a relatively fixed number of people,  as the population increases, the number of ridings has to be increased and the boundaries redrawn. In 1867, Canada had only 4 provinces and 181 ridings. Today, there are 338 ridings.

WORD BUILDER

In the world of politics, the verb to run has a specific meaning. To run in an election means that you are competing with other candidates to represent your riding. During an election, you may hear the expressions run for office and running in an election. They both mean to compete in an election as a candidate.

VERB   NOUN   ADJECTIVE
to elect   election   electoral (process, vote, officer) or elective (surgery)

The word elect means to choose. Here are a few sentences with the word elect:

  • She was elected in 2006.
  • An election will be held this year.
  • He is the Chief Electoral Officer.

Les élections

Les élections nationales (qui ont lieu dans tout le pays) doivent se tenir tous les cinq ans au moins pour décider qui représentera les Canadiens à la Chambre des communes.

Le Canada est divisé en zones électorales qu’on appelle des circonscriptions (aussi appelées comtés). Les citoyens canadiens votent dans leur circonscription pour le candidat qui, selon eux, saura le mieux les représenter. Plusieurs candidats se présentent habituellement dans chaque circonscription. Ils peuvent représenter un parti politique ou se présenter à titre de candidat indépendants.

Comment devient-on candidat? Premièrement, la personne doit être mise en candidature (ou choisie) par les autres membres de son parti vivant dans sa circonscription lors d’une réunion spéciale appelée assemblée de mise en candidature (ou d’investiture). Si plus d’un membre du parti souhaite poser sa candidature dans cette circonscription, un vote aura lieu durant l’assemblée de mise en candidature afin de déterminer la personne qui sera choisie.

Une personne qui n’appartient à aucun parti politique peut tout de même se présenter dans sa circonscription comme candidat indépendant.

Le jour de l’élection, le candidat ayant obtenu le plus grand nombre de votes devient député, et il représente sa circonscription à la Chambre des communes, à Ottawa. Le parti qui fait élire le plus grand nombre de députés au pays forme habituellement le gouvernement. Le chef de ce parti devient alors le Premier ministre.

Se présenter à des élections exige du dévouement et énormément d’efforts. Certains candidats se présentent plusieurs fois avant de remporter une élection. Une fois élus, les candidats passent une partie de l’année à Ottawa, et une partie de l’année dans leur circonscription.

PENSEZ-Y!

Imagine que tu te présentes aux prochaines élections fédérales. Quel parti souhaites-tu représenter? Choisiras-tu plutôt de te présenter comme candidat indépendant? Comment feras-tu ton choix?

LE SAVAIS-TU?

Comme chaque circonscription doit compter à peu près le même nombre d’électeurs (environ 70 000), au fur et à mesure que la population s’accroît, il faut augmenter le nombre de circonscriptions et revoir leurs limites. En 1867, le Canada ne comptait que 4 provinces et 181 circonscriptions. Aujourd’hui, il y a 338 circonscriptions.

UN PEU DE VOCABULAIRE

Dans le monde de la politique, le verbe se présenter a une signification particulière. Se présenter à une élection signifie : poser sa candidature à une élection pour représenter la population. Lors d’élections, tu peux entendre se présenter comme candidat ou poser sa candidature. Ces deux expressions ont le même sens. Elles sont synonymes.

VERBE NOMS ADJECTIFS
élire élection, élu, élue, électoral,
  électeur, électorale, électorales,
  électrice électoraux

Le mot élire veut dire « faire un choix ». Voici quelques exemples de phrases contenant le mot élire ou un mot de la même famille.

  • Elle a été élue en 2006.
  • Nous sommes en pleine campagne électorale.
  • Il est le directeur général des élections.