Forming a Government

When the election is over, all winning candidates become Members of Parliament, or MPs for short. The MPs whose party does not form the Government are called opposition MPs. The Official Opposition is usually the party with the second-highest number of elected members after the winning party. The leader of this party is called the Leader of the Official Opposition.

When it is time for Parliament to sit, parliamentarians will discuss and debate new bills (proposed laws) and make decisions that affect every Canadian. For more information on bills, see The The Process of Passing a Bill

DID YOU KNOW?

Canada’s first Prime Minister, the Right Honourable Sir John A. Macdonald (pictured below), called the Senate a place of “sober second thought.”

29

House of Commons, Ottawa

WHAT ABOUT ME?

Who is your MP? What riding do you live in? What party does your MP belong to? Do you know where your MP’s riding office is? Look it up if you do not know! Your MP has people working in his or her office who can help you if you have a problem, such as difficulty getting a government service, or if you have a complaint or question about government. It is your MP’s job to listen to all his or her constituents (people who live in the riding), even if they did not vote for him or her.

THINK ABOUT IT

Would you rather be a Senator or an MP? What do you think the advantages and disadvantages of each role might be?

WORD BUILDER

SENATE

This word comes from the Latin senex, meaning elder. Literally, it means a council of elders.

HOUSE OF COMMONS

The word commons comes from the Latin communis, which means shared by many. Other related words are community, communication and commune.

32

I work in the Parliament Buildings. When Parliament is in session, the Senators and MPs are in town. They meet to discuss issues and policy and to debate bills, both in the Chambers and in committee.

La formation d’un gouvernement

Une fois les élections terminées, tous les candidats gagnants deviennent des députés. Les députés appartenant aux partis qui ne forment pas le gouvernement deviennent des députés de l’opposition. L’Opposition officielle est généralement le parti ayant fait élire le plus grand nombre de députés après le parti vainqueur, et celui qui dirige ce deuxième parti devient le chef de l’Opposition officielle.

Lorsque viendra le temps pour le Parlement de siéger, les parlementaires discuteront et débattront des nouveaux projets de loi (les lois proposées) et prendront des décisions qui auront une influence sur tous les Canadiens.

LE SAVAIS-TU?

Le premier Premier ministre du Canada, le très honorable sir John A. Macdonald (représenté ci-dessous), a qualifié le Sénat de « chambre de second examen objectif ».

63

Collection de la Chambre des communes, Ottawa

ET MOI?

Qui est ton député? Dans quelle circonscription habites-tu? À quel parti appartient ton député? Sais-tu où se trouve son bureau de circonscription? Vérifie si tu ne le sais pas. Les personnes travaillant dans le bureau de ton député peuvent t’aider si tu as un problème, par exemple, si tu as de la difficulté à obtenir un service gouvernemental ou si tu as une question à poser ou une plainte à formuler au sujet du gouvernement. C’est le travail de ton député d’être à l’écoute de tous ses électeurs (les personnes qui habitent dans la circonscription), même s’ils n’ont pas voté pour lui.

PENSES-Y!

Préférerais-tu être sénateur ou député? Quels peuvent être, selon toi, les avantages et les inconvénients de chaque fonction?

UN PEU DE VOCABULAIRE

SÉNAT

Ce mot vient du latin senex,qui veut dire « vieux » et senatus qui désigne un « conseil des Anciens ».

CHAMBRE DES COMMUNES

Le mot « commune » vient du latin communia qui veut dire « qui appartient à tout le monde ».Les mots communauté, communication etcommun sont des mots de la même famille.

64

Je travaille dans les édifices du Parlement. Les sénateurs et les députés sont à Ottawa lorsque le Parlement est en session. Ils se réunissent pour discuter de diverses questions et politiques et pour débattre les projets de loi, tant dans l’une des deux Chambres qu’en comités.