Your Capital?

Citizens elect different people from their communities to different levels of government to make laws. These lawmakers, or politicians, meet regularly to talk about current laws and to make new ones. They do this in a place called the capital. Ottawa, the national capital of Canada, is where federal politicians meet.

WHAT ABOUT ME?

Sometimes you may hear things like, “Ottawa sends soldiers” or “Ottawa makes a decision.” Of course, they do not mean the city of Ottawa; they mean the Government of Canada. Ottawa is the country’s capital. It is your capital. Look in a newspaper and notice how the word Ottawa is used. Is the article talking about something that affects you or your family?

DID YOU KNOW?

The name Ottawa (or adawe in Algonquin) means to trade and was the name given to the First Nations people who controlled trade along the river.

TALK ABOUT IT!

All Canadian provinces and territories have capitals. Can you name them? What is the capital of your province or territory? Is it the biggest city?

There is always something going on at the Parliament Buildings, even when the Senate and the House of Commons are not sitting. Meetings, committees, official visits and receptions occur every day, and the work of researchers is constant.

WHY OTTAWA?

Choosing a capital city is not easy!

Should it be in the centre of the country? Should it be the biggest city? Who decides where a capital should be?

In 1857, there were a few cities competing to be the capital city. To settle it, Queen Victoria chose Ottawa because it was centrally located between the cities of Montreal and Toronto, and was along the border of Ontario and Quebec (the centre of Canada at the time). It was also far from the American border, making it safer from attacks.

WORD BUILDER

Some words have two parts, like lawmaker (law + maker). Can you think of other words that use the word law or maker?

The word capital comes from the Latin word caput, which means head. Capital has many different meanings: very serious (capital punishment); money (capital investment); and very important (capital letter, capital city). Here are some other words that come from this same root: to cap something; a baseball or bottle cap; captain; caption.

The English word citizen comes from the Latin word civis, which means a person who lives in a city. Other words in this group include city, civic or civilian. Can you think of other terms that mean the same thing as citizen?

Ta capitale

Les citoyens élisent des gens de leur collectivité à divers ordres de gouvernement pour qu’ils adoptent des lois. Ces législateurs, ou politiciens, se rencontrent régulièrement pour parler des lois actuelles et en créer de nouvelles. Tout cela se fait dans un endroit appelé la « capitale ». Ottawa est la capitale nationale du Canada. C’est là que les politiciens fédéraux se rencontrent.

ET MOI?

Tu peux parfois entendre des phrases comme « Ottawa envoie des soldats » ou « Ottawa prend une décision ». Bien entendu, on ne parle pas alors de la ville d’Ottawa, mais bien du gouvernement du Canada. Ottawa est la capitale du pays. C’est ta capitale. Prends un journal et regarde comment on utilise le mot Ottawa. Est-ce que l’article traite d’un sujet qui te concerne ou qui concerne ta famille?

LE SAVAIS-TU?

Le nom Ottawa (ou adawe en algonquin) signifie commercer. On appelait ainsi le peuple des Premières nations qui contrôlait le commerce le long de la rivière.

PARLES-EN!

Toutes les provinces canadiennes ont une capitale. Peux-tu les nommer? Quelle est la capitale de ta province ou de ton territoire? Est-ce la plus grande ville?

Il se passe toujours quelque chose dans les édifices du Parlement, même lorsque le Sénat et la Chambre des communesne siègent pas. Tous les jours il y a des rencontres, des réunions de comités, des visites officielles et des réceptions, et les agents de recherche travaillent sans arrêt.

POURQUOI OTTAWA? 

Choisir une capitale, ce n’est pas facile! Devrait-elle être au centre du pays? Devrait-elle être la plus grande ville? Qui décide de l’emplacement d’une capitale?

En 1857, quelques villes se disputaient le titre de capitale. Pour trancher, c’est Ottawa que la reine Victoria choisit parce que cette ville était située entre Montréal et Toronto et le long de la frontière entre l’Ontario et le Québec (le centre du Canada à l’époque). De plus, la ville était éloignée de la frontière américaine, ce qui assurait une protection contre les attaques.

UN PEU DE VOCABULAIRE

On appelle faux amis des mots appartenant à deux languesdifférentes qui se ressemblent beaucoup, maisqui ont des significations différentes. En voiciquelques exemples :

Bordure est un mot français qui veut dire lebord de quelque chose : La bordure de cettenappe est rouge. Alors que le mot anglaisborder, lui, signifie frontière;

En français, député veut dire personne élue pour représenter une circonscription électorale à l’Assemblée nationale. L’anglais deputy veut dire adjoint;

En français, actuel est un adjectif qui signifie qui existe au moment présent : La pauvreté est un problème actuel. Le mot anglais actual veut plutôt dire concret, réel.