Skip to main content

How Canadians Govern Themselves

by Eugene A. ForseyGet the PDF
Print this page

2

1

Parliamentary Government


separator
Jump to subsection
1.1
Its Origins
1.2
How It Operates
separator

1.1

Its Origins

separator
Go to the Timeline
Nova Scotia (which, till 1784, included what is now New Brunswick) was the first part of Canada to secure representative government. In 1758, it was given an assembly, elected by the people. Prince Edward Island followed in 1773; New Brunswick at its creation in 1784; Upper and Lower Canada (the predecessors of the present Ontario and Quebec) in 1791; and Newfoundland in 1832.

Nova Scotia was also the first part of Canada to win responsible government: government by a cabinet answerable to, and removable by, a majority of the assembly. New Brunswick followed a month later, in February 1848; the Province of Canada (a merger of Upper and Lower Canada formed in 1840) in March 1848; Prince Edward Island in 1851; and Newfoundland in 1855.

Canada, 1867
Canada, 1867
By the time of Confederation in 1867, this system had been operating in most of what is now Central and Eastern Canada for almost 20 years. The Fathers of Confederation simply continued the system they knew, the system that was already working, and working well.

For the nation, there was a Parliament, with a Governor General representing the Queen; an appointed upper house, the Senate; and an elected lower house, the House of Commons. For every province there was a legislature, with a lieutenant-governor representing the Queen; for every province except Ontario, an appointed upper house, the legislative council, and an elected lower house, the legislative assembly. The new Province of Manitoba, created by the national Parliament in 1870, was given an upper house. British Columbia, which entered Canada in 1871, and Saskatchewan and Alberta, created by Parliament in 1905, never had upper houses. Newfoundland, which entered Canada in 1949, came in without one. Manitoba, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Quebec have all abolished their upper houses.


1.2

How It Operates

separator
The Governor General (and each provincial lieutenant-governor) governs through a cabinet, headed by a prime minister or premier (the two terms mean the same thing: first minister). If a national or provincial general election gives a party opposed to the cabinet in office a clear majority (that is, more than half the seats) in the House of Commons or the legislature, the cabinet resigns and the Governor General or lieutenant-governor calls on the leader of the victorious party to become prime minister and form a new cabinet. The prime minister chooses the other ministers, who are then formally appointed by the Governor General or, in the provinces, by the lieutenant-governor. If no party gets a clear majority, the cabinet that was in office before and during the election has two choices. It can resign, in which case the Governor General or lieutenant-governor will call on the leader of the largest opposition party to form a cabinet. Or the cabinet already in office can choose to stay in office and meet the newly elected House — which, however, it must do promptly. In either case, it is the people’s representatives in the newly elected House who will decide whether the “minority” government (one whose own party has fewer than half the seats) shall stay in office or be thrown out.

If a cabinet is defeated in the House of Commons on a motion of censure or want of confidence, the cabinet must either resign (the Governor General will then ask the leader of the Opposition to form a new cabinet) or ask for a dissolution of Parliament and a fresh election.

In very exceptional circumstances, the Governor General could refuse a request for a fresh election. For instance, if an election gave no party a clear majority and the prime minister asked for a fresh election without even allowing the new Parliament to meet, the Governor General would have to say no. This is because, if “parliamentary government” is to mean anything, a newly elected House of Commons must at least be allowed to meet and see whether it can transact public business. Also, if a minority government is defeated on a motion of want of confidence very early in the first session of a new Parliament, and there is a reasonable possibility that a government of another party can be formed and get the support of the House of Commons, then the Governor General could refuse the request for a fresh election. The same is true for the lieutenant-governors of the provinces.

No elected person in Canada above the rank of mayor really has a fixed term of office. Recent legislation in several provinces and territories, as well as a May 2007 Act of Parliament, provides for general elections to be held on a fixed date every four years under most circumstances. In practice this means that the expected term of office for a member of Parliament (or of a legislature with a fixed date law) would normally be four years. However, the Governor General’s power to dissolve Parliament is not affected by the fixed date legislation. The prime minister can still ask for a fresh election at any time, although, as already stated, there may be circumstances in which he or she would not get it. There can be, and have been, Parliaments and legislatures that have lasted for less than a year. With extremely rare exceptions, no Parliament or legislature may last more than five years.

The cabinet has no “term.” Every cabinet lasts from the moment the prime minister is sworn in till he or she resigns, dies or is dismissed. For example, Sir John A. Macdonald was Prime Minister from 1878 until he died in 1891, right through the elections of 1882, 1887 and 1891, all of which he won. Sir Wilfrid Laurier was Prime Minister from 1896 to 1911, right through the elections of 1900, 1904 and 1908, all of which he won. He resigned after being defeated in the election of 1911. The same thing has happened in several provinces. An American president or state governor, re-elected, has to be sworn in all over again. A Canadian prime minister or premier does not.

If a prime minister dies or resigns, the cabinet comes to an end. If this prime minister’s party still has a majority in the Commons or the legislature, then the Governor General or lieutenant-governor must find a new prime minister at once. A prime minister who resigns has no right to advise the governor as to a successor unless asked; even then, the advice need not be followed. If he or she resigns because of defeat, the governor must call on the leader of the Opposition to form a government. If the prime minister dies, or resigns for personal reasons, then the governor consults leading members of the majority party as to who will most likely be able to form a government that can command a majority in the House. The governor then calls on the person he or she has decided has the best chance. This new prime minister will, of course, hold office only until the majority party has chosen a new leader in a national or provincial convention. This leader will then be called on to form a government.

The cabinet consists of a varying number of ministers. The national cabinet has ranged from 13 to more than 40 members, and provincial cabinets from about 10 to over 30. Most of the ministers have “portfolios” (that is, they are in charge of particular departments — Finance, National Defence, Environment, Health, etc.), and are responsible, answerable and accountable to the House of Commons or the legislature for their particular departments. On occasion there can be ministers without portfolio. There may also be “ministers of state,” who may assist cabinet ministers with particular responsibilities or sections of their departments, or may be responsible for policy-oriented bodies known as “ministries of state.” (These assisting ministers, sometimes called “secretaries of state,” should not be confused with historically important departmental ministers once known as the Secretary of State for Canada and the Secretary of State for External Affairs.) Ministers of state and secretaries of state are not always members of the cabinet.

The ministers collectively are answerable to the House of Commons or the legislature for the policy and conduct of the cabinet as a whole. If a minister does not agree with a particular policy or action of the government, he or she must either accept the policy or action and, if necessary, defend it, or resign from the cabinet. This is known as “the collective responsibility of the cabinet,” and is a fundamental principle of our form of government.

The cabinet is responsible for most legislation. It has the sole power to prepare and introduce bills providing for the expenditure of public money or imposing taxes. These bills must be introduced first in the House of Commons; however, the House cannot initiate them, or increase either the tax or the expenditure without a royal recommendation in the form of a message from the Governor General. The Senate cannot increase either a tax or an expenditure. However, any member of either house can move a motion to decrease a tax or an expenditure, and the house concerned can pass it, though this hardly ever happens.


footer
Page bottom

Passer au contenu

Les Canadiens et leur système de gouvernement

par Eugene A. Forsey
Obtenir la version PDF
Imprimer cette page

2

1

Le régime parlementaire


séparateur
Aller à la section
1.1
Ses origines
1.2
Son fonctionnement
séparateur

1.1

Ses origines

séparateur
Aller à Voyage dans le temps
La Nouvelle-Écosse (qui, jusqu’en 1784, englobait l’actuel Nouveau-Brunswick) a été la première région du Canada à se doter, en 1758, d’une assemblée représentative élue au scrutin populaire. L’Île-du-Prince-Édouard devait suivre en 1773, puis successivement le Nouveau-Brunswick en 1784 (à sa création), le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada (qui devaient devenir respectivement l’Ontario et le Québec) en 1791, et Terre-Neuve en 1832.

En janvier 1848, la Nouvelle-Écosse a également été la première région du Canada à obtenir un gouvernement responsable, c’est-à-dire qui doit répondre à l’assemblée et qui est révocable par la majorité de celle-ci. Devaient suivre le Nouveau-Brunswick en février, la province du Canada (née de la fusion, en 1840, du Haut-Canada et du Bas-Canada) en mars, et l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Terre-Neuve, en 1851 et 1855 respectivement.

Canada, 1867
Canada, 1867
En 1867, lorsqu’est née la Confédération, ce système était en place depuis près de 20 ans dans la majeure partie de ce qui est maintenant le Centre et l’Est du Canada. Les Pères de la Confédération ont simplement maintenu le système qu’ils connaissaient, système qui fonctionnait déjà et qui avait fait ses preuves.

Pour l’ensemble du pays, il y avait un Parlement, avec un gouverneur général représentant la reine; une Chambre haute, le Sénat, dont les membres étaient nommés; et une Chambre basse élective, la Chambre des communes. Dans chaque province, il y avait un lieutenant-gouverneur représentant la reine et, sauf en Ontario, une Chambre haute dont les membres étaient nommés, appelée conseil législatif, et une Chambre basse, l’assemblée législative, dont les membres étaient élus. À sa création par le Parlement du Canada en 1870, la province du Manitoba fut dotée d’une Chambre haute. La Colombie-Britannique, qui s’est jointe au Canada en 1871, ainsi que la Saskatchewan et l’Alberta, en 1905, n’ont jamais eu de Chambre haute. Il en est de même pour Terre-Neuve, qui a adhéré au Canada en 1949. Aujourd’hui, le Manitoba, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le Nouveau-Brunswick, la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Québec ont tous aboli leur Chambre haute.


1.2

Son fonctionnement

séparateur
Le gouverneur général et les lieutenants-gouverneurs de chaque province exercent leurs pouvoirs par l’entremise d’un Cabinet, lequel est dirigé par un premier ministre. Si, à l’issue d’élections nationales ou provinciales, un parti opposé à celui qui constitue le Cabinet en place obtient la majorité absolue (plus de la moitié des sièges) à la Chambre des communes ou à l’assemblée législative, le Cabinet donne sa démission. Le gouverneur général ou le lieutenant-gouverneur demande alors au chef du parti victorieux de devenir premier ministre et de former un nouveau Cabinet. Le premier ministre choisit les autres ministres, lesquels sont ensuite installés dans leurs fonctions par le gouverneur général ou, dans chaque province, par le lieutenant-gouverneur. Si aucun parti n’obtient la majorité absolue, le Cabinet qui était en place avant et durant les élections a deux possibilités : il peut démissionner, auquel cas le gouverneur général ou le lieutenant-gouverneur demandera au chef du parti d’opposition comptant le plus grand nombre de députés de former un Cabinet; ou encore, il peut demeurer en place et essayer d’affronter l’assemblée nouvellement élue – cela doit toutefois se faire sans délai. De toute façon, c’est aux représentants du peuple composant l’assemblée nouvellement élue qu’il appartiendra de décider si le gouvernement « minoritaire » (dont le parti a obtenu moins de la moitié des sièges) sera maintenu ou révoqué.

Si un Cabinet est battu à la Chambre des communes par suite d’une motion de censure ou de défiance, il doit soit démissionner, auquel cas le gouverneur général demandera au chef de l’opposition de former un nouveau Cabinet, soit demander la dissolution du Parlement, c’est-à-dire la tenue d’élections.

Le gouverneur général pourrait, dans des circonstances très exceptionnelles, refuser la tenue d’élections. Ainsi, si un appel aux urnes ne donnait à aucun parti une majorité absolue et si le premier ministre demandait la tenue de nouvelles élections sans même permettre au nouveau Parlement de se réunir, le gouverneur général devrait refuser. En effet, dans tout régime parlementaire digne de ce nom, la Chambre des communes nouvellement élue doit au moins avoir la possibilité de se réunir et de déterminer si elle est en mesure de s’occuper des affaires de l’État. De même, si un Cabinet minoritaire était battu sur une motion de défiance très tôt dans la première session d’une nouvelle législature, et s’il existait une possibilité raisonnable qu’un autre parti puisse former un gouvernement et obtenir l’appui de la Chambre des communes, le gouverneur général pourrait refuser la tenue de nouvelles élections. La même chose vaut pour les lieutenants-gouverneurs à l’échelon provincial.

Au Canada, aucune charge élective au-dessus de celle de maire n’est assortie d’une durée fixe. Plusieurs provinces et territoires, de même que le Parlement en mai 2007, ont récemment adopté des lois qui prévoient la tenue d’élections générales à une date fixe tous les quatre ans dans la majorité des cas. Dans la pratique, cela signifie que les députés fédéraux (ou d’une province dans laquelle existe une loi prévoyant des élections à une date fixe) sont normalement élus pour une période maximale de quatre ans. Toutefois, le gouverneur général a toujours le pouvoir de dissoudre le Parlement. Le premier ministre peut aussi demander la tenue d’élections n’importe quand, bien que, comme nous l’avons souligné, il se puisse que son vœu ne soit pas exaucé. Il peut arriver – la chose s’est déjà produite – qu'un Parlement ou qu'une assemblée législative soit en place pendant moins d'un an. Sauf de très rares exceptions aucune législature ne peut durer plus de cinq ans.

Le Cabinet non plus n’a pas de mandat à durée précise : il est en place entre le moment où le premier ministre est assermenté et celui où il donne sa démission, décède ou est destitué. Ainsi, Sir John A. Macdonald a été premier ministre de 1878 jusqu’à sa mort en 1891, après avoir traversé avec succès des élections en 1882, 1887 et 1891. Sir Wilfrid Laurier a occupé la même charge de 1896 à 1911 (il a démissionné à la suite d’une défaite électorale), après avoir remporté la victoire en 1900, 1904 et 1908. La même chose s’est produite dans plusieurs provinces. Aux États-Unis, le président ou le gouverneur d’un État doit, s’il est réélu, être assermenté de nouveau. Cette règle ne s’applique pas aux premiers ministres canadiens.

Lorsque le premier ministre donne sa démission ou décède, le Cabinet est dissous. Si le parti d’allégeance du premier ministre détient toujours la majorité aux Communes ou à l’assemblée législative, le gouverneur général ou le lieutenant-gouverneur doit alors nommer sans délai un successeur. Un premier ministre démissionnaire ne peut conseiller le gouverneur général ou le lieutenant-gouverneur quant au choix de son successeur à moins d’y être invité et, même alors, son avis n’est pas contraignant. Si le premier ministre démissionne parce qu’il a été défait, le représentant de la reine doit demander au chef de l’opposition de former un gouvernement. Si le premier ministre décède ou démissionne pour des raisons personnelles, le gouverneur général ou le lieutenant-gouverneur consulte les membres éminents du parti majoritaire pour savoir qui pourrait vraisemblablement former un gouvernement qui puisse disposer d’une majorité à l’assemblée. Il fait appel à la personne dont il juge les chances les meilleures. Bien entendu, ce nouveau premier ministre ne demeurera en fonction que jusqu’à ce que son parti choisisse un nouveau chef lors d’un congrès national ou provincial. Ce chef sera ensuite appelé à former un gouvernement.

Le Cabinet regroupe un certain nombre de ministres. Ce nombre a varié de 13 à plus de 40 à l’échelon national et de 10 à plus de 30 à l’échelon provincial. La plupart des ministres sont chargés de « portefeuilles », c’est-à-dire qu’ils sont responsables de ministères (Finances, Défense nationale, Environnement, Santé, etc.) et qu’ils doivent en répondre à la Chambre des communes ou à l’assemblée législative. À l’occasion, il y a des ministres sans portefeuille. Il peut également y avoir des ministres d’État qui peuvent aider les ministres du Cabinet en assumant certaines responsabilités ou la charge d’éléments particuliers d’un ministère, ou encore de la gestion d’organismes axés sur les politiques, appelés ministères d’État. On ne doit pas confondre ces membres du Conseil privé chargés d’assister certains ministres, et qui répondent parfois au titre de secrétaires d’État, avec les ministres autrefois chargés d’importants ministères et qu’on désignait comme secrétaire d’État du Canada et secrétaire d’État aux Affaires extérieures. Les ministres d’État et les secrétaires d’État ne font pas toujours partie du Cabinet.

Collectivement, les ministres sont responsables devant la Chambre des communes ou l’assemblée législative des politiques et activités de l’ensemble du Cabinet. Si un ministre n’est pas d’accord avec une politique ou une initiative du gouvernement, il doit soit l’accepter quand même et, au besoin, la défendre, soit démissionner. C’est ce que l’on appelle la « responsabilité collective du Cabinet », l’un des principes fondamentaux de notre système de gouvernement.

C’est le Cabinet qui est à l’origine de la plupart des lois. Il est le seul à pouvoir élaborer et déposer des projets de loi en prévision de dépenses publiques ou d’impôt. Ces projets de loi doivent toujours être déposés d’abord à la Chambre des communes, et la Chambre ne peut ni présenter un tel projet ni augmenter le montant de l’impôt ou de la dépense envisagée sans une recommandation royale, sous la forme d’un message du gouverneur général. Le Sénat ne peut augmenter ni un impôt ni une dépense. Cependant, tout membre de l’une des Chambres peut présenter (ou soumettre) une motion visant à diminuer un impôt ou une dépense, et cette Chambre peut l’adopter, encore que cela n’arrive que très rarement.


pied de page
Bas de la page