Skip to main content


House of Commons Section
About the House of Commons

The House of Commons is the popularly elected component of Parliament, consisting of 338 members. Members of the government sit in, and are answerable to the House of Commons. Most major government legislation is introduced in the House. The House of Commons alone is constitutionally authorized to introduce legislation concerned with the raising or spending of funds. The House is also a place where MPs hold the government to account, discuss national issues, and represent constituents’ views.

Explore information about the House of Commons including past and current members, its officers and officials, and its procedures.


Updated on: 2015.10.30

Revised on: 2015.10.30

© Library of Parliament