Information Commissioners

1983 to Date

The Information Commissioner is appointed by the Governor in Council by commission under the Great Seal, after consultation with the leader of every recognized party in the Senate and the House of Commons and after approval of the appointment by resolution of the Senate and the House of Commons.  He or she holds office for a seven-year term (Access to Information Act, s. 54). The position was created in 1983.

Name Term
Marleau, Robert 2007-01-15 - 2009-06-27
Reid, John Mercer 1998-07-01 - 2006-09-30
Legault, Suzanne 2010-06-30 -  
Legault, Suzanne 2009-06-29 - 2010-06-29 (acting)
Grace, John 1990-07-01 - 1998-06
Hansen, Inger 1983 - 1990-06