Legislative Summary
Legislative Summary of Bill C-220: An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code (bereavement leave)
Mayra Perez-Leclerc, Legal and Social Affairs Division
Publication No. 43-2-C220-E
PDF 1864, (9 Pages) PDF
2021-03-16

About this publication

Any substantive changes in this Library of Parliament Legislative Summary that have been made since the preceding issue are indicated in bold print.


1  Background

Bill C‑220, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code (bereavement leave)1 was introduced in the House of Commons on 25 February 2020 by Matt Jeneroux, Member of Parliament for Edmonton Riverbend, and it received first reading on the same day. Bill C‑220 died on the Order Paper when the 1st Session of the 43rd Parliament was prorogued on 18 August 2020. The bill was subsequently reinstated when the 2nd Session began on 23 September 2020.

In the first reading version, Bill C‑220 proposed amending the Canada Labour Code (CLC)2 to extend the period of compassionate care leave for employees beyond the week in which the family member they were caring for dies. Provided that the maximum 28‑week entitlement had not been exhausted, the compassionate care leave period would be extended by up to three weeks. At the time of the bill's introduction, Mr. Jeneroux provided the following explanation for the amendments:

This legislation, if passed, would allow caregivers using the compassionate care leave program to take additional time off work following the death of their loved one. Currently, this leave ends immediately following a loved one's death, not leaving enough time for the caregiver to make the practical necessities like funeral arrangements and estate planning and to have the time to grieve. My bill would extend compassionate care leave so that caregivers can take up to three extra weeks off work following their loved one's death.3

Bill C‑220 received second reading on 17 February 2021. It was referred to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities (HUMA) on the same day. On 26 February 2021, HUMA reported the bill to the House of Commons with various amendments. Notably, the committee replaced the clause amending compassionate care leave with a provision amending bereavement leave, such that a greater number of people are entitled to more days of leave following the death of a loved one. The title of the bill was also changed to reflect these amendments.4 A description of the clause as it appeared in the first reading version of the bill can be found in the appendix to this legislative summary.

1.1  Federal Legislative Framework

Employees in the federally regulated private sector5 have access to various unpaid and paid leaves of absence under Part III of the CLC. These are job-protected leaves, which means that employers cannot dismiss, suspend, lay off, demote or discipline employees because they have taken a leave of absence.6 In addition, pension, health and disability benefits continue to accumulate during the leave period, provided the employee pays any necessary contributions. The employee's seniority also accumulates during this time.7 It should be noted that Part III of the CLC does not apply to the federally regulated public sector.8

Compassionate care leave is one of the job-protected leaves in the CLC. Under section 206.3(2) of the CLC, an employee is entitled to take up to 28 weeks of compassionate care leave to provide care or support to a family member. This family member must have a serious medical condition with a significant risk of death within 26 weeks, as stated in a certificate issued by a health care practitioner. Compassionate care leave is unpaid.9

An employee may also take up to 37 weeks of leave to provide care or support for a critically ill child under 18, or up to 17 weeks of leave to provide care or support for a critically ill adult, pursuant to sections 206.4(2) and 206.4(2.1) of the CLC. A certificate from a health care practitioner must indicate that the child or adult is critically ill and requires the care or support of one or more of their family members. The certificate must also set out the period of time for which care or support is needed. The leave related to critical illness is unpaid.10

Lastly, under section 210(1) of the CLC, an employee may be entitled to bereavement leave for a maximum of five days in the event of the death of an immediate family member. This leave may be taken during the period beginning on the day the death occurs and ending six weeks after the date of the funeral, burial or memorial service (whichever is later). An employee who has completed three consecutive months of continuous employment with their employer is entitled to the first three days of leave with pay, in accordance with section 210(2) of the CLC. Payment will be made at the employee's regular rate of wages for their normal hours of work.

These leaves cannot be taken simultaneously. However, an employee may take compassionate care leave following the end of their leave related to critical illness, and vice versa. An employee may also take bereavement leave following the end of their compassionate care leave.11

It should be noted that the term “family member” is defined broadly for the purposes of compassionate care leave and leave related to critical illness. It includes, among others, spouses and common-law partners, children, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, nieces and nephews. It also includes a person the employee considers to be like a close relative or a person who considers the employee to be like a close relative.12

By contrast, the term “immediate family” for the purposes of bereavement leave is defined more narrowly. It means, among others, spouses and common‑law partners, parents, parents-in-law, grandparents, children, grandchildren, siblings and relatives residing permanently with the employee.13

2  Description and Analysis

Under section 210(1) of the CLC, employees are entitled to up to five days of bereavement leave in the event of the death of an immediate family member. Clause 1 of the bill amends this provision to extend the maximum length of this leave from five days to 10 days.

Clause 1 also expands the entitlement to bereavement leave to include any employee who is on compassionate care leave or leave related to critical illness at the time of the death of the family member they were caring for while on leave. Currently, only those employees who lose an immediate family member (defined more narrowly than family member, as explained above) have access to bereavement leave.

Clause 2 of the bill stipulates that these amendments come into force three months following the day the bill receives Royal Assent.


Notes

  1. Bill C‑220, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code (bereavement leave), 43rd Parliament, 2nd Session. [ Return to text ]
  2. Canada Labour Code , R.S.C. 1985, c. L-2. [ Return to text ]
  3. House of Commons, Debates, 25 February 2020, 1010 (Matt Jeneroux, Edmonton Riverbend, CPC). [ Return to text ]
  4. House of Commons, Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities, Bill C‑220, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code (compassionate care leave), Second report. [ Return to text ]
  5. Federally regulated businesses and industries include interprovincial and international services (such as railways, road and air transport, and shipping services), radio and television broadcasting, telecommunications, banks, most federal Crown corporations and private businesses necessary to the operation of a federal Act. See Government of Canada, List of federally regulated industries and workplaces. [ Return to text ]
  6. Canada Labour Code, R.S.C. 1985, c. L‑2, s. 209.3(2). [ Return to text ]
  7. Ibid., s. 209.2. [ Return to text ]
  8. The rights and responsibilities of federal public servants and parliamentary employees regarding compassionate care leave and other labour standards are subject to collective agreements established in accordance with federal legislation. See Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act, S.C. 2003, c. 22, s. 2; and Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. 33 (2nd Supp.), respectively. [ Return to text ]
  9. Although compassionate care leave is unpaid under the Canada Labour Code (CLC), employment insurance compassionate care benefits are paid for up to 26 weeks to eligible claimants who are absent from work to provide care or support to a family member who is gravely ill. Benefits are paid at a rate of 55% of a claimant's insurable weekly earnings, up to a maximum of $595 per week in 2021. See Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC), EI caregiving benefits and leave: What caregiving benefits offer. [ Return to text ]
  10. Although the leave related to critical illness is unpaid under the CLC, employment insurance family caregiver benefits are paid for up to 35 weeks in the case of a critically ill child, or for up to 15 weeks in the case of a critically ill adult. Benefits are paid at a rate of 55% of a claimant's insurable weekly earnings, up to a maximum of $595 per week in 2021. See ESDC, EI caregiving benefits and leave: What caregiving benefits offer. [ Return to text ]
  11. Canada Labour Code, R.S.C. 1985, c. L‑2, ss. 206.3(7.1) and 206.4(7). See also Government of Canada, Compassionate Care leave – 808‑1‑IPG‑063. [ Return to text ]
  12. For the purposes of compassionate care leave and leave related to critical illness, the term “family member” has the same meaning as that provided in the Employment Insurance Regulations. See Canada Labour Code, R.S.C. 1985, c. L‑2, ss. 206.3(1) and 206.4(1); and Employment Insurance Regulations, SOR/96-332, s. 1(3). [ Return to text ]
  13. Canada Labour Standards Regulations, C.R.C., c. 986, s. 33. [ Return to text ]

Appendix – Description and Analysis of Bill C‑220, Clause 1, As it Appeared in the First Reading Version of the Bill

This section contains a description and analysis of Bill C‑220, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code (compassionate care leave), clause 1, as it appeared in the first reading version of the bill.1 This provision was replaced with a clause regarding bereavement leave by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities in its report of 26 February 2021 to the House of Commons.2

Compassionate Care Leave

Section 206.3(3)(b) of the Canada Labour Code (CLC) sets out the parameters for determining when compassionate care leave ends. Clause 1(1) of the bill amends this section to extend the period of leave beyond the week of the death of a family member, depending on the number of weeks of leave taken by the employee up to that point. The maximum entitlement of 28 weeks of compassionate care leave is not amended.

Under amended section 206.3(3)(b), compassionate care leave ends as follows:

  • where an employee has taken 27 weeks of leave, the last day of the week in which the family member dies (section 206.3(3)(b)(i));
  • where an employee has taken more than 19 weeks but less than 27 weeks of leave, the last day of the week after the week in which the family member dies, which is equivalent to one additional week (section 206.3(3)(b)(ii));
  • where an employee has taken more than four weeks but less than 20 weeks of leave, the last day of the second week after the week in which the family member dies, which is equivalent to two additional weeks (section 206.3(3)(b)(iii));
  • where an employee has taken less than five weeks of leave, the last day of the third week after the week in which the family member dies, which is equivalent to three additional weeks (section 206.3(3)(b)(iv)); or
  • the last day of the week in which the 52-week period during which the leave may be taken ends (section 206.3(3)(b)(v)).

Clause 1(2) of the bill makes consequential amendments to section 206.3(4)(b) of the CLC to reflect renumbered section 206.3(3)(b)(v).


Notes

  1. Bill C‑220, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code (compassionate care leave), 43rd Parliament, 1st Session (first reading version, 25 February 2020). [ Return to text ]
  2. House of Commons, Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities, Bill C‑220, An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code (compassionate care leave), Second report. [ Return to text ]

 


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Résumé législatif du projet de loi C-220 : Loi modifiant le Code canadien du travail (congé de décès)
Mayra Perez-Leclerc, Division des affaires juridiques et sociales
Publication no 43-2-C220-F
PDF 4078, (9 Pages) PDF
2021-03-16

À propos de cette publication

Dans ce résumé législatif de la Bibliothèque du Parlement, tout changement d'importance depuis la publication précédente est signalé en caractères gras.


1  Contexte

Le projet de loi C‑220, Loi modifiant le Code canadien du travail (congé de décès) 1, a été déposé à la Chambre des communes le 25 février 2020 par Matt Jeneroux, député d'Edmonton Riverbend, et a franchi l'étape de la première lecture le même jour. Le projet de loi C‑220 est mort au Feuilleton lorsque la 1re session de la 43e législature a été prorogée, le 18 août 2020, et il a été rétabli au début de la 2e session, le 23 septembre 2020.

La version du projet de loi C‑220 présentée en première lecture modifiait le Code canadien du travail (le CCT2 afin de prolonger la durée du congé de soignant auquel un employé a droit au-delà de la semaine au cours de laquelle le membre de sa famille dont il s'occupe décède. Si la période maximale de 28 semaines à laquelle l'employé a droit n'est pas été épuisée, la période du congé de soignant peut être prolongée jusqu'à trois semaines. Lors du dépôt du projet de loi, M. Jeneroux a expliqué en ces termes les modifications proposées :

Si elle est adoptée, cette mesure législative permettra aux proches aidants qui font appel au programme de congé de soignant de prolonger leur congé après le décès d'un être cher. À l'heure actuelle, ce congé prend fin immédiatement après le décès de la personne, ce qui ne laisse pas assez de temps au proche aidant pour s'occuper des formalités, comme les arrangements funéraires et la planification de la succession, sans compter le temps de faire son deuil. Mon projet de loi prolongerait les congés en question pour que les soignants puissent prendre jusqu'à trois semaines de plus à la suite du décès d'un proche 3.

Le projet de loi C‑220 a franchi l'étape de la deuxième lecture le 17 février 2021 et a été renvoyé la même journée au Comité permanent des ressources humaines, du développement des compétences, du développement social et de la condition des personnes handicapées de la Chambre des communes (le Comité HUMA). Le 26 février 2021, le Comité HUMA a présenté à la Chambre des communes un rapport dans lequel il a proposé divers amendements au projet de loi, dont un pour remplacer la disposition sur le congé de soignant par une disposition qui modifie le congé de décès pour que davantage de personnes puissent prendre des jours de congé supplémentaires à la suite du décès d'un proche. Le titre du projet de loi a été modifié en conséquence 4. Une description de la disposition qui figurait dans la version du projet de loi présentée en première lecture est fournie à l'annexe du présent résumé législatif.

1.1  Cadre législatif fédéral

En vertu de la partie III du CCT, les employés du secteur privé sous réglementation fédérale 5 ont droit à divers congés payés et non payés. Il s'agit de congés avec protection de l'emploi, ce qui veut dire qu'un employeur ne peut pas congédier, suspendre, mettre à pied ou rétrograder un employé ni prendre des mesures disciplinaires à son endroit du fait qu'il a pris de tels congés 6. En outre, les périodes pendant lesquelles l'employé prend de tels congés sont prises en compte dans le calcul des prestations de retraite, de maladie et d'invalidité, à condition que l'employé paie les cotisations requises. Ces périodes sont également prises en compte pour la détermination de l'ancienneté 7. Il convient de préciser que la partie III du CCT ne s'applique pas au secteur public sous réglementation fédérale 8.

En vertu du CCT, le congé de soignant est l'un des congés avec protection de l'emploi. En effet, selon le paragraphe 206.3(2), un employé a droit à un congé d'au plus 28 semaines pour offrir des soins ou du soutien à un membre de sa famille. Il faut pour cela que le membre de la famille soit gravement malade, que le risque qu'il décède dans les 26 semaines suivantes soit important et que ce risque soit attesté par un professionnel de la santé à l'aide d'un certificat médical. Le congé de soignant est un congé non payé 9.

Un employé a aussi droit à un congé d'au plus 37 semaines pour prendre soin d'un enfant de moins de 18 ans gravement malade ou lui fournir du soutien, et d'au plus 17 semaines pour prendre soin d'un adulte gravement malade ou lui fournir du soutien, conformément aux paragraphes 206.4(2) et 206.4(2.1) du CCT. Un professionnel de la santé doit attester, à l'aide d'un certificat, que l'enfant ou l'adulte est gravement malade et qu'il requiert les soins ou le soutien d'un ou de plusieurs membres de sa famille. La période pendant laquelle les soins ou le soutien sont requis doit aussi être précisée sur le certificat. Le congé en cas de maladie grave est un congé non payé 10.

Enfin, en vertu du paragraphe 210(1) du CCT, un employé peut également avoir droit à un congé de décès d'au plus cinq jours en cas de décès d'un proche parent. Ce congé peut être pris pendant la période qui commence à la date du décès et se termine six semaines après la date des funérailles du proche parent, de son inhumation ou du service commémoratif tenu à son égard, selon celle qui est la plus éloignée. En vertu du paragraphe 210(2) du CCT, si l'employé travaille pour son employeur sans interruption depuis au moins trois mois, les trois premiers jours du congé lui sont payés au taux régulier de salaire pour une journée normale de travail.

Les congés susmentionnés ne peuvent pas être pris en même temps. Toutefois, un employé peut prendre un congé de soignant immédiatement après avoir pris un congé en cas de maladie grave ou vice-versa. Un employé peut aussi prendre un congé de décès immédiatement après avoir pris un congé de soignant 11.

Dans le cas du congé de soignant et du congé en cas de maladie grave, le terme « membre de la famille » est défini au sens large. Il comprend notamment l'époux ou le conjoint de fait, les enfants, les parents, les grands-parents, les petits-enfants, les tantes et les oncles, ainsi que les nièces et les neveux. Il comprend également toute autre personne que l'employé considère comme un parent proche ou qui considère l'employé comme un parent proche 12.

Dans le cas du congé de décès, le terme « proche parent » a un sens plus restreint. Il comprend notamment l'époux ou le conjoint de fait, les parents, les parents de l'époux ou du conjoint de fait, les grands-parents, les enfants, les petits-enfants, les frères et sœurs, ainsi que tout parent qui résident de façon permanente chez l'employé 13.

2  Description et analyse

En vertu du paragraphe 210(1) du CCT, les employés ont droit à un congé d'au plus cinq jours en cas de décès d'un proche parent. L'article 1 du projet de loi modifie cette disposition de manière à prolonger la durée maximale de ce congé de 5 à 10 jours.

L'article 1 du projet de loi élargit aussi le droit au congé de décès pour en faire bénéficier tout employé qui est en congé de soignant ou en congé en cas de maladie grave au moment du décès du membre de sa famille relativement auquel il a pris ce congé. À l'heure actuelle, les employés ont droit au congé de décès uniquement si la personne décédée est un proche parent au sens restreint du terme défini plus haut.

L'article 2 du projet de loi précise que les dispositions du projet de loi entrent en vigueur trois mois après le jour de sa sanction royale.


Notes

  1. Projet de loi C‑220, Loi modifiant le Code canadien du travail (congé de décès), 43e législature, 2e session. [ Retour au texte ]
  2. Code canadien du travail, L.R.C. 1985, ch. L-2. [ Retour au texte ]
  3. Chambre des communes, Débats, 25 février 2020, 1010 (Matt Jeneroux, Edmonton Riverbend, PCC). [ Retour au texte ]
  4. Chambre des communes, Comité permanent des ressources humaines, du développement des compétences, du développement social et de la condition des personnes handicapées, Projet de loi C‑220, Loi modifiant le Code canadien du travail (congé de soignant), deuxième rapport. [ Retour au texte ]
  5. Les entreprises et industries sous réglementation fédérale comprennent les services interprovinciaux et internationaux (comme les chemins de fer, le transport routier et aérien ainsi les services d'expédition), la radiodiffusion et la télédiffusion, les télécommunications, les banques, la plupart des sociétés d'État fédérales et les entreprises privées qui sont nécessaires à l'application d'une loi fédérale. Voir Gouvernement du Canada, Liste des industries et milieux de travail sous réglementation fédérale. [ Retour au texte ]
  6. Code canadien du travail, L.R.C. 1985, ch. L‑2, par. 209.3(2). [ Retour au texte ]
  7. Ibid., art. 209.2. [ Retour au texte ]
  8. Les droits et responsabilités des fonctionnaires fédéraux et des employés du Parlement concernant le congé de soignant et d'autres normes du travail sont assujettis aux conventions collectives établies conformément à la législation fédérale. Voir Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral, L.C. 2003, ch. 22, art. 2; et Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, L.R.C. 1985, ch. 33 (2e suppl.), respectivement. [ Retour au texte ]
  9. Bien que le congé de soignant soit inscrit dans le Code canadien du travail (CCT) comme un congé non payé, des prestations d'assurance-emploi pour soignants sont versées pendant une période maximale de 26 semaines aux prestataires admissibles qui s'absentent du travail pour fournir des soins ou du soutien à un membre de leur famille gravement malade. Le taux des prestations correspond à 55 % de la rémunération hebdomadaire assurable du prestataire, jusqu'à concurrence de 595 $ par semaine en 2021. Voir Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC), Prestations pour proches aidants et congés : Ce qu'offrent les prestations pour proches aidants. [ Retour au texte ]
  10. Bien que le congé en cas de maladie grave soit inscrit dans le CCT comme un congé non payé, des prestations d'assurance‑emploi pour proches aidants sont versées pendant une période maximale de 35 semaines dans le cas d'un enfant gravement malade, ou de 15 semaines dans le cas d'un adulte gravement malade. Le taux des prestations correspond à 55 % de la rémunération hebdomadaire assurable du prestataire, jusqu'à concurrence de 595 $ par semaine en 2021. Voir EDSC, Prestations pour proches aidants et congés : Ce qu'offrent les prestations pour proches aidants. [ Retour au texte ]
  11. Code canadien du travail, L.R.C. 1985, ch. L-2, par. 206.3(7.1) et 206.4(7). Voir aussi Gouvernement du Canada, Congé de soignant – 808-1-IPG-063. [ Retour au texte ]
  12. Pour les fins du congé de soignant et du congé en cas de maladie grave, le terme « membre de la famille » a le même sens que celui donné dans le Règlement sur l'assurance-emploi. Voir Code canadien du travail, L.R.C. 1985, ch. L-2, par. 206.3(1) et 206.4(1); et Règlement sur l'assurance-emploi, DORS/96-332, par. 1(3). [ Retour au texte ]
  13. Règlement du Canada sur les normes du travail, C.R.C., ch. 986, art. 33. [ Retour au texte ]

Annexe – Description et analyse de l'article 1 de la version du projet de loi C‑220 présentée en première lecture

La présente annexe fournit une description et une analyse de l'article 1 de la version du projet de loi C‑220, Loi modifiant le Code canadien du travail (congé de soignant), présentée en première lecture 1. Cet article a par la suite été remplacé par la nouvelle disposition que le Comité permanent des ressources humaines, du développement des compétences, du développement social et de la condition des personnes handicapées de la Chambre des communes a proposée dans un rapport déposé devant la Chambre des communes le 26 février 2021 2.

Congé pour soignant

L'alinéa 206.3(3)b) du Code canadien du travail (le CCT) établit les paramètres concernant la fin du congé de soignant. Le paragraphe 1(1) du projet de loi modifie cette disposition pour prolonger la durée du congé au-delà de la semaine au cours de laquelle le membre de la famille dont un employé s'occupe décède, en fonction du nombre de semaines de congé prises par cet employé jusqu'à la date du décès. La période maximale de 28 semaines pour le congé de soignant à laquelle l'employé a droit n'est pas modifiée.

En vertu de l'alinéa 206.3(3)b) modifié, le congé de soignant se termine :

  • si l'employé a pris 27 semaines de congé, à la fin de la semaine au cours de laquelle le membre de la famille décède (sous-al. 206.3(3)b)(i));
  • si l'employé a pris plus de 19 semaines, mais moins de 27 semaines de congé, à la fin de la semaine qui suit la semaine au cours de laquelle le membre de la famille décède – ce qui équivaut à une semaine supplémentaire (sous‑al. 206.3(3)b)(ii));
  • si l'employé a pris plus de quatre semaines, mais moins de 20 semaines de congé, à la fin de la deuxième semaine qui suit la semaine au cours de laquelle le membre de la famille décède – ce qui équivaut à deux semaines supplémentaires (sous‑al. 206.3(3)b)(iii));
  • si l'employé a pris moins de cinq semaines de congé, à la fin de la troisième semaine qui suit la semaine au cours de laquelle le membre de la famille décède – ce qui équivaut à trois semaines supplémentaires (sous‑al. 206.3(3)b)(iv));
  • à la fin de la semaine au cours de laquelle prend fin la période de 52 semaines durant laquelle le congé peut être pris (sous-al. 206.3(3)b)(v)).

Le paragraphe 1(2) du projet de loi apporte des modifications corrélatives à l'alinéa 206.3(4)b) du CCT pour tenir compte du sous-alinéa 206.3(3)b)(v) renuméroté.


Notes

  1. Projet de loi C‑220, Loi modifiant le Code canadien du travail (congé de soignant), 43e législature, 1re session (version présentée en première lecture le 25 février 2020). [ Retour au texte ]
  2. Chambre des communes, Comité permanent des ressources humaines, du développement des compétences, du développement social et de la condition des personnes handicapées, Projet de loi C‑220, Loi modifiant le Code canadien du travail (congé de soignant), deuxième rapport. [ Retour au texte ]

 


© Bibliothèque du Parlement