Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Senate of Canada


Hon. Amos Edwin Botsford
P.C. (1872) (1880)

In becoming the Speaker of the Senate, Amos Botsford followed in the footsteps of his grandfather, father and brother, who all served as Speakers of the New Brunswick House of Assembly.

When he was summoned to the Senate in 1867, Botsford had already spent 34 years as an appointed Conservative member of New Brunswick’s Legislative Council. His patience, tact and common sense led to his appointment as a joint commissioner to settle New Brunswick’s border with Nova Scotia; as a delegate to the City of Québec in 1839 to determine the border between New Brunswick and Lower Canada; and as a commissioner to Washington to discuss a border problem. He was also a strong advocate of Confederation, and moved the motion for union in New Brunswick’s Legislative Council.

Botsford’s first appointment as Speaker – for three days from June 3 to 5, 1872, the shortest term in Senate history – arose because of the temporary absence from the chair of Joseph Cauchon. Botsford was appointed for a second time from February 16 to April 18, 1880, when David Macpherson fell ill only four days after his appointment as Speaker. Macpherson was reappointed Speaker upon his recovery two months later.

By the time of his death in 1894 at the age of 89, Botsford had made many contributions over his 61 years in public life.

Botsford was the only senator who was twice appointed as Speaker to fill in for an absent incumbent.

Next Speaker: Hon. Pierre-Joseph-Olivier Chauveau

Previous Speaker: Hon. John Ross

Portrait of the Honourable Amos Edwin Botsford

Born: Saint John, New Brunswick, 1804

Died: Sackville, New Brunswick, 1894

Professional Background:
Agriculture, Law

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership: