Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Senate of Canada


Hon. Pierre Claude Nolin
LL.L. (2014–2015)

Pierre Claude Nolin was born in Montreal on October 30, 1950. He received an LL.L. degree from the University of Ottawa in 1976 and had a long career as a lawyer.

Nolin was appointed to the Senate on June 18, 1993, to represent De Salaberry (Québec). During his time in the Senate, he served as a member of many different committees, including the Standing Committees on Legal and Constitutional Affairs; Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration; National Security and Defence; Scrutiny of Regulations; Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources; Foreign Affairs and International Trade; Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament; and the Special Committees on the Anti-Terrorism Act and Illegal Drugs. He also occupied various leadership positions within the Conservative Party.

Nolin joined the NATO Parliamentary Assembly in 1994 and served in various positions on the Science and Technology Committee. He also served on the Bureau of the Assembly as Vice-President - North America; as Chair of the Parliamentary Assembly Reform Working Group; and as Treasurer.

Nolin became a member of the Cercle des Honoraires of the Régiment de Maisonneuve in 1995. On September 4, 2012, the Minister of National Defence appointed him an honorary lieutenant-colonel of the Régiment. He was named a Commander of the Order of Saint Lazarus on May 9, 2014.

On November 20, 2013, Nolin was unanimously elected by his peers as Speaker pro tempore of the Senate, and he became Speaker on November 27, 2014. He remained in office until his death on April 23, 2015.

Next Speaker: Hon. Leo Housakos

Previous Speaker: Hon. Noël A. Kinsella

Photo of the Hon. Pierre Claude Nolin

Born: Montreal, Quebec, 1950

Died: Montreal, Quebec, 2015

Professional Background:

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Speaker Nolin Website (2014.11.27 - 2015.04.23)