Skip to main content
Topical Information for Parliamentarians

Federal Funding for Health Research

TIPS-54E
February 7, 2004


Definition of Health Research

With the creation of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) in 1999, the federal government expanded its definition of health research. This definition goes beyond the previous emphasis on basic and applied medical research – mostly biomedical and clinical research activities – to encompass a wider range of disciplines and components. The shift was part of the general movement toward a population health approach that recognizes health as broader than health care. It was also a response to the increasing need to obtain evidence-based information to allow for effective health care reform and renewal.

More specifically, federally funded health research encompasses four main research components:

  • biomedical – pertaining to biological organisms, organs and organ systems;
  • clinical – involving direct observation of people undergoing medical care;
  • health services – embracing health care delivery, administration, organization and financing; and
  • population health – focusing on the broad factors that influence health status (e.g., socio-economic conditions, gender, culture, education).

This definition is broader than the measures of health research used by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The OECD defines health research as research and development (R&D) activities directed at the protection and improvement of human health. The OECD definition, which addresses only the first two components (biomedical and clinical) of the federal approach to health research, includes scientific research and experimental development on: food hygiene and nutrition; radiation used for medical purposes; biochemical engineering; medical information; rationalization of treatment; pharmacology (including testing medicines and breeding of laboratory animals for scientific purposes); epidemiology; prevention of industrial diseases; and drug addiction.

The difference in definitions raises the question of what the expanded federal perspective on health research might mean for international data comparisons and compatibility. It is unclear whether Canada will continue to collect separate sets of data related to health research for international purposes. But most importantly, this expanded perspective raises questions about the funding as well as the organization of health research at the federal level.

Level of Federal Funding

The federal government plays an important role in funding health research in Canada. Indeed, the federal government’s contribution has increased each year since 1996, and in 2002 it stood at $692 million, its highest level yet (see Appendix 1). Despite this, the proportion of health research dollars remains relatively static for the federal government at 16%, due to an overall increase in contributions from other sources (see Appendix 2). In particular, the private sector has been the leading source of funds for health research since 1994 and has been steadily increasing its investment. In terms of gross domestic expenditure on R&D, Canada has been investing more in the health area, rising from 13.5% in 1988 to 21.3% in 2002 (see Appendix 3).

Researchers in federal government facilities conduct a relatively small proportion of federally funded health research (about 20% in 2002). Federal facilities in which health research is performed include Health Canada (in facilities nationwide), Statistics Canada, the National Research Council, Social Development Canada and Environment Canada (in partnership with Health Canada). For the most part, health research funded by the federal government takes place in universities and hospitals, private not-for-profit organizations, and business enterprises.

Federal Funding Bodies in Canada

The principal federal funding body for health research is CIHR, which is the only federal entity whose budget is entirely devoted to health research. The CIHR’s creation in 1999 entailed a merger of the Medical Research Council of Canada and the National Health Research and Development Program (NHRDP), Health Canada’s main financing instrument for extramural health research. Health Canada is also involved in intramural research funding, as well as extramural funding, that is devoted to the health field. Areas covered include numerous diseases (such as AIDS and cancer), products (such as food) and groups (such as Aboriginal people).

In addition to CIHR and Health Canada, there are other research-oriented bodies supported by the federal government along with other partners where the focus is entirely health-related. These include the Canadian Health Services Research Foundation (CHSRF), the Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI), and the Canadian Coordinating Office for Health Technology Assessment (CCOHTA). (See Appendix 4 for a list of primary sources of federal health funding in 2004.)

There are also several secondary sources of federal health research funding. In addition to Statistics Canada, the federal government is responsible for a number of research councils, agencies, foundations and programs of which a portion of the budget goes to research that can be categorized as health research. These include the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, the Canadian Foundation for Innovation, Genome Canada, the Canada Research Chairs, and the Networks of Centres of Excellence (NCEs). It is worth noting that 7 of the currently funded 21 NCEs conduct health research in the fields of arthritis, bacterial diseases, vaccines and immunotherapeutics, stroke, stem cells, genetic diseases, and protein engineering.

Federal Funding for Health Research by Category of Disease or Group

It is often asked whether it is possible to indicate the total cost of all ongoing federally funded health research projects by particular categories (for example, by diseases such as AIDS, cancer, etc.) or by group (such as women, children, Aboriginal people, etc.). However, it has always been difficult to compare funding dedicated to the research of different disease entities or population groups.

Given the increased variety of federal agencies and programs offering interdisciplinary and intersectoral health research, it is becoming even more problematic to provide an answer, for several reasons:

  • All basic or biomedical research can be applied to multiple illnesses, groups, or health services.
  • Biomedical, clinical or health service research aimed at one specific illness may be relevant to other illnesses.
  • Research bodies may carry out or finance research on a given topic through different sections (for example, Health Canada through several branches and programs, and CIHR through several institutes), without maintaining subject-specific inventories of research.
  • The project title or subject heading used by the funding body or research facility does not necessarily reflect the illness or the group to which it is directed.
  • Projects funded for multiple years with a single grant may be overlooked by searches carried out after the funding year.
  • Grants allowing equipment purchases and salaries are clearly an investment in health research but are not necessarily allocated to any category.

Prepared by
Odette Madore, Analyst
Nancy Miller Chenier, Acting Principal
Sonya Norris, Analyst
Parliamentary Information and Research Service


© Library of Parliament

Passer au contenu
Capsules d'information pour les parlementaires

Financement fédéral de la recherche en santé

TIPS-54F
7 février 2004


Définition de la recherche en santé

Avec la création des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) en 1999, le gouvernement fédéral a élargi sa définition de la recherche en santé. Cette définition déborde le cadre de la recherche médicale fondamentale et appliquée – essentiellement la recherche biomédicale et clinique – pour englober une plus vaste gamme de disciplines et d’éléments. Le changement s’inscrivait dans une tendance généralisée vers une approche axée sur la santé de la population et selon laquelle la notion de santé est plus vaste que les soins de santé. Il correspondait aussi à un besoin croissant d’information factuelle pour réformer et renouveler le système de soins de santé.

La recherche en santé financée par le fédéral comporte quatre grands volets :

  • biomédical – relatif aux organismes biologiques, aux organes et aux systèmes organiques;
  • clinique – fondé sur l’observation directe des patients recevant des soins médicaux;
  • services de santé – comprenant la prestation, l’administration, l’organisation et le financement des soins de santé;
  • santé de la population – portant sur les grands facteurs qui influent sur l’état de santé (p. ex. conditions socioéconomiques, sexe, culture, éducation).

Cette définition est plus vaste que celle utilisée par l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), qui définit la recherche en santé comme les activités de recherche et de développement (R-D) visant la protection et l’amélioration de la santé humaine. La définition de l’OCDE, qui ne comprend que les deux premiers volets (biomédical et clinique) de la définition fédérale, inclut la recherche scientifique et le développement expérimental portant sur l’hygiène alimentaire et la nutrition, les rayonnements utilisés à des fins médicales, le génie biochimique, l’information médicale, la rationalisation du traitement, la pharmacologie (y compris l’essai des médicaments et la reproduction des animaux de laboratoire à des fins scientifiques), l’épidémiologie, la prévention des maladies industrielles et la toxicomanie.

La définition plus vaste utilisée par le gouvernement fédéral pose des problèmes de comparabilité et de compatibilité des données à l’échelle internationale. On ne sait pas si le Canada continuera à recueillir des séries de données distinctes sur la recherche en santé pour obvier à ces problèmes. Fait plus important encore, la nouvelle définition soulève aussi la question du financement et de l’organisation de la recherche en santé au niveau fédéral.

Niveau de financement fédéral

Le gouvernement fédéral joue un rôle important dans le financement de la recherche en santé au Canada. De fait, il a augmenté sa contribution chaque année depuis 1996 pour la porter à 692 millions de dollars en 2002, une somme jamais égalée (voir l’annexe 1). Malgré tout, la part fédérale du financement de la recherche en santé demeure relativement stable à 16 p. 100, en raison de l’augmentation globale des contributions d’autres sources (voir l’annexe 2). Le secteur privé, notamment, a été le principal bailleur de fonds depuis 1994 et il augmente continuellement sa contribution. Pour ce qui est de la dépense intérieure brute de R D, le Canada a investi davantage en santé, le pourcentage qui y est alloué étant passé de 13,5 p. 100 en 1988 à 21,3 p. 100 en 2002 (voir l’annexe 3).

Les chercheurs des établissements fédéraux effectuent une part relativement faible de la recherche en santé subventionnée par le fédéral (environ 20 p. 100 en 2002). Parmi les organismes actifs dans ce domaine mentionnons Santé Canada (dans tout le pays), Statistique Canada, le Conseil national de recherches, Développement social Canada et Environnement Canada (en partenariat avec Santé Canada). La plus grande partie de la recherche en santé financée par le fédéral est effectuée dans les universités et les hôpitaux, par les organismes privés sans but lucratif, et par les entreprises privées.

Organismes subventionnaires fédéraux au Canada

Les IRSC sont le principal organisme subventionnaire fédéral pour la recherche en santé et la seule entité fédérale dont le budget est entièrement consacré à cette recherche. La création des IRSC en 1999 a mené à la fusion du Conseil de recherches médicales du Canada et du Programme national de recherche et de développement en matière de santé (PNRDS), principal instrument de financement de Santé Canada pour la recherche à l’extérieur du gouvernement. Santé Canada finance la recherche en santé tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur du gouvernement. Les recherches portent sur de nombreuses maladies (p. ex. le sida et le cancer), de nombreux produits (p. ex. les aliments) et de nombreux groupes (p. ex. les Autochtones).

Outre les IRSC et Santé Canada, il existe d’autres organismes axés sur la recherche dont les activités dans le domaine de la santé – y compris celles menées avec des partenaires – sont financées par le fédéral : la Fondation canadienne de la recherche sur les services de santé (FCRSS), l’Institut canadien d’information sur la santé (ICIS) et l’Office canadien de coordination de l’évaluation des technologies de la santé (OCCETS). (Voir la liste des principales sources de financement de la recherche en santé pour 2004 à l’annexe 4.)

Il existe plusieurs sources secondaires de financement fédéral de la recherche en santé. En plus de Statistique Canada, plusieurs conseils, organismes, fondations et programmes de recherche dont une partie seulement du budget est consacrée à la santé relèvent du gouvernement fédéral : le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie, le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines, la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, Génome Canada, les Chaires de recherche du Canada et les Réseaux de centres d’excellence (RCE). Sept des 21 RCE financés actuellement font de la recherche en santé relative à l’arthrite, aux bactérioses, aux vaccins et agents immunothérapeutiques, aux accidents vasculaires cérébraux, aux cellules souches, aux maladies génétiques et au génie protéique.

Financement fédéral de la recherche en santé par maladie ou segment démographique

On demande souvent d’indiquer le coût total de tous les projets de recherche en santé en cours financés par le gouvernement dans une catégorie particulière (p. ex. par maladie comme le sida, le cancer, etc.) ou par segment démographique (p. ex. les femmes, les enfants, les Autochtones, etc.). Toutefois, il a toujours été difficile de comparer le financement destiné à la recherche sur diverses maladies ou sur divers segments de la population.

Comme les organismes fédéraux et les programmes à l’origine de recherches interdisciplinaires et intersectorielles en santé sont de plus en plus nombreux, il devient encore plus problématique de répondre, et ce, pour plusieurs raisons :

  • Toute la recherche fondamentale ou biomédicale peut s’appliquer à diverses maladies, à divers segments de la population ou à divers services de santé.
  • La recherche biomédicale, clinique ou visant les services de santé qui porte sur une maladie précise peut être pertinente pour d’autres maladies.
  • Les organismes de recherche peuvent confier la recherche sur un sujet donné ou son financement à une ou plusieurs unités administratives (p. ex. plusieurs directions et programmes de Santé Canada et plusieurs instituts des IRSC) sans conserver des données par sujet de recherche.
  • Le titre ou le sujet du projet utilisé par un organisme subventionnaire ou un établissement de recherche ne correspond pas nécessairement à la maladie ou au groupe visé.
  • Les projets bénéficiant d’une subvention étalée sur plusieurs années peuvent passer inaperçus dans les saisies de données effectuées après la première année.
  • Les subventions accordées à l’achat d’équipement et aux salaires sont clairement un investissement dans la recherche en santé, mais ne sont pas nécessairement affectées à une catégorie précise.

préparé par
Odette Madore, analyste
Nancy Miller Chenier, analyste principal par intérim
Sonya Norris, analyste
Service d'information et de recherche parlementaires


© Bibliothèque du Parlement