Explore Canada's Parliamentary History

The Library of Parliament collects, preserves and provides access to information and data covering the history of the Parliament of Canada.

Picture of Agnes Macphail - Parlinfo

Parlinfo

The Library of Parliament’s extensive collection of historical data about the Parliament of Canada, its institutions and the people and events that have shaped it since 1867.

Spine of the Scrapbook Debates of the Parliament of Canada

The Scrapbook Debates of the Parliament of Canada

This unique collection, comprised of newspaper clippings pasted into scrapbooks by Library of Parliament staff from 1867 to 1871, has been placed on the Canada Memory of the World Register, managed by the Canadian Commission for UNESCO.

Historical books on a shelf

Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources

This online, searchable portal provides access to a growing collection of parliamentary documents. Currently, the portal contains all published Debates and Journals of both the Senate and the House of Commons from the first session of the first Parliament in 1867 until coverage became available online.

Confederation Inkstand, Library of Parliament Collection

Treasures of the Library

Highlights the Library of Parliament’s collection of rare books, art and artefacts to provide Canadians with a window into the history, heritage and early exploration of Canada. It also shines a spotlight on employees and the outstanding work they do on behalf of the Library.

Découvrez l’histoire parlementaire du Canada

La Bibliothèque du Parlement recueille, préserve et rend accessibles l’information et les données relatant l’histoire du Parlement du Canada.

Photo d'Agnes Macphail - Parlinfo

PARLINFO

Cet outil en ligne vous permet de faire des recherches sur mesure dans la vaste collection de données historiques que la Bibliothèque du Parlement possède au sujet du Parlement du Canada, de ses institutions ainsi que des personnages et événements qui l’ont façonné depuis 1867.

Tranche des livres « Scrapbook Debates » du Parlement du Canada

Les « Scrapbook Debates » du Parlement du Canada

Cette collection unique, constituée de recueils de coupures de presse colligées par le personnel de la Bibliothèque du Parlement entre 1867 et 1871, a été inscrite au Registre de la Mémoire du monde du Canada, géré par la Commission canadienne pour l’Organisation des Nations unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO).

Livres historiques sur étagère

Ressources parlementaires historiques canadiennes

Ce portail en ligne permet de faire des recherches dans une collection sans cesse croissante de documents parlementaires. À l’heure actuelle, le portail contient tous les Débats et Journaux du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes qui ont été publiés depuis la première session de la première législature en 1867, jusqu’au moment où ces documents ont commencé à être diffusés en version électronique.

L’écritoire de la Confédération

Trésors de la Bibliothèque

Cette page, qui est mise à jour tous les mois, met en valeur la collection de livres rares, d’œuvres d’art et d’artéfacts de la Bibliothèque du Parlement et offre aux Canadiens un aperçu de l’histoire, du patrimoine et des premières explorations du Canada.