Legislative Summary
BILL S-16: AN ACT TO AMEND THE PROCEEDS OF CRIME (MONEY LAUNDERING) ACT
Geoffrey Kieley, Law and Government Division
Publication No. 37-1-LS-388-E
PDF 109, (7 Pages) PDF
2001-02-21

TABLE DES MATIÈRES


INTRODUCTION

CLAUSE-BY-CLAUSE ANALYSIS

   Clause 1

   Clause 2

   Clause 3

   Clause 4


BILL S-16: AN ACT TO AMEND THE PROCEEDS OF
CRIME (MONEY LAUNDERING) ACT

INTRODUCTION

In its entirety, Bill S-16 consists of four amendments to the recently enacted Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) Act (the Act) which received Royal Assent on 29 June 2000.  Bill S-16 responds to concerns raised in the course of hearings on Bill C-22(1) before the Senate Standing Senate Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce in June 2000.

The Act establishes the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (the Centre).  The Centre, a government agency, will require financial industry participants to collect certain transaction data and remit that data to the Centre which will analyze it for evidence of money laundering.  If the Centre finds evidence of such an offence, it may then disclose certain “designated” information to national, foreign or international law enforcement agencies.  The Committee raised several questions, such as:

  • How long will the Centre retain the information it collects?

  • When and how will it dispose of that information?

  • What information may the Centre disclose to law enforcement authorities?

  • Can the Federal Court order the Centre to disclose an individual’s file under the Privacy Act and Access to Information Act?

  • Who may assert a claim to solicitor-client privilege?

Bill S-16, which aims to address these concerns, was given first reading on 20 February 2001.

CLAUSE-BY-CLAUSE ANALYSIS

   Clause 1

Under current section 54, the Centre is required to retain all reports and information for at least five, but not more than eight, years.  This amendment would retain the five-year period, but would mandate a longer, eight-year period for any document or information that had been disclosed (where prescribed conditions were met) to domestic law enforcement agencies, or to foreign or international organizations with powers and duties similar to the Centre.  The eight-year period would be calculated from the date of the disclosure.  In addition, with the addition of subsection (e), the Centre would be specifically required to destroy reports and information on the expiry of the time periods.

   Clause 2

The Centre is only entitled to disclose to law enforcement agencies information which has been “designated” by regulation.  But what information may be designated?  Section 55(7) subsections (a) to (d) set out certain types of information that may be designated, i.e., disclosed.  Currently, in addition to subsections (a) through (d), a fifth subsection – subsection (e) – functions as a “catch-all” clause authorizing the designation of “any other similar information.”  Witnesses appearing before the Committee on Bill C-22 expressed concern over the meaning of this section, i.e., information “similar” to what?  The question of precisely what sort of information is included in the phrase “other similar information” must, of course, be determined with reference to the preceding subsections, (a) through (d):

(a)         the name of the client or of the importer or exporter, or any person acting on their behalf;

(b)         the name and address of the place of business where the transaction occurred or the address of the customs office where the importation or exportation occurred, and the date the transaction, importation or exportation occurred;

(c)          the amount and type of currency or monetary instruments involved or, in the case of a transaction, if no currency or monetary instruments are involved, the value of the transaction or the value of the funds that are the subject of the transaction;

(d)         in the case of a transaction, the transaction number and the account number, if any.

 

In order to give some meaning to the term “similar” in subsection (e), there would have to be some identifiable “similarity” among the types of information described in subsections (a) through (d).  Although the types of information described in the four subsections may suggest certain similarities, the similarity is not obvious, nor is it easily defined or expressed; as such, it is difficult to say exactly how the word would be interpreted as it currently appears in subsection (e).

The amendment in Clause 2 would add only one word to subsection (e) – “identifying.”  Accordingly, instead of reading “any other similar information that may be prescribed,” it would read “any other similar identifying information that may be prescribed.” This strongly suggests that the information contemplated under subsections (a) to (d) is, in fact, of a class called “identifying” information.  Accordingly, the amended subsection (e) appears to contemplate the information could be designated under subsection (e) only if it is “identifying” information “similar” to the “identifying” information described in subsections (a) through (d).

   Clause 3

Under the Access to Information Act, the Information Commissioner (or any person whose request for a record is refused) may apply to the Federal Court for an order for disclosure of the record by the appropriate government institution.  Identical provisions exist under the Privacy Act for any person (or the Privacy Commissioner) to make an application.  This section, as originally drafted, would have deprived the Court of jurisdiction in respect of these matters.  The amendment appears to resolve the conflict.

   Clause 4

Subsection 64(2) prohibits an agent of the Centre from copying documents in the possession of a lawyer over which the lawyer asserts solicitor-client privilege on behalf of a named client or former client.  Accountants appearing before the Committee on Bill C-22 suggested that their profession – like the legal profession – demands a high degree of client confidentiality and, as such, the right to claim privilege should extend to their profession as well. No equivalent privilege now exists in common law.(2)  This section appears to address the concerns voiced by the accounting profession without overriding the common law.  It affords persons other than lawyers who are in possession of documents the opportunity to contact the lawyer entitled to assert the claim.


(1)  See http://www.parl.gc.ca/36/2/parlbus/chambus/house/bills/summaries/c22-e.htm for the Library of Parliament’s Legislative Summary on Bill C-22.

(2)  J. Farley expressed the matter succinctly in Sun Squeeze Juices Inc. (Re) [1994] O.J. No. 1451 (General Division) June 26, 1994: “I merely state the obvious when I state that there is a recognized solicitor client privilege…without which the legal system could not function. I do not see that there is any such relationship between a client and auditor/accountant/bookkeeper.”


 


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
PROJET DE LOI S-16 : LOI MODIFIANT LA LOI SUR LE RECYCLAGE DES PRODUITS DE LA CRIMINALITÉ
Geoffrey Kieley, Division du droit et du gouvernement
Publication no 37-1-LS-388-F
PDF 108, (7 Pages) PDF
2001-02-21

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

INTRODUCTION

ANALYSE ARTICLE PAR ARTICLE

   Article 1

   Article 2

   Article 3

   Article 4


PROJET DE LOI S-16 : LOI MODIFIANT LA LOI SUR
LE RECYCLAGE DES PRODUITS DE LA CRIMINALITÉ

INTRODUCTION

Le projet de loi S-16 apporte quatre modifications à la nouvelle Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité (la Loi) qui a reçu la sanction royale le 29 juin 2000.  Il répond aux questions soulevées au cours des audiences que le Comité sénatorial permanent des banques et du commerce a tenues sur le projet de loi C-22(1) en juin 2000.

La Loi établit le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (le Centre).  Le Centre, un organisme gouvernemental, exigera des participants de l’industrie financière qu’ils recueillent certaines données sur les opérations et qu’ils les lui communiquent pour la recherche de preuves de blanchiment d’argent.  S’il en trouve, il peut communiquer certains renseignements « désignés » à des organismes nationaux, étrangers ou internationaux chargés de l’application de la Loi.  Le Comité a soulevé plusieurs questions telles que :

  • Combien de temps le Centre conservera-t-il les renseignements qu’il recueille?

  • Quand et comment se défera-t-il de ces renseignements?

  • Quels renseignements le Centre peut-il communiquer aux organismes chargés d’appliquer la Loi?

  • La Cour fédérale peut-elle ordonner au Centre de communiquer le dossier d’un particulier aux termes de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information?

  • Qui peut invoquer le secret professionnel de l’avocat?

Le projet de loi S-16, qui vise à répondre à ces préoccupations, a été lu pour la première fois le 20 février 2001.

ANALYSE ARTICLE PAR ARTICLE

   Article 1

Aux termes de l’actuel article 54, le Centre est tenu de conserver tous les rapports et les renseignements pendant au moins cinq ans, mais pas plus de huit ans.  Le projet de loi maintiendrait le délai de cinq ans, mais ajouterait un délai de huit ans lorsque les renseignements ou les documents ont été communiqués (aux conditions prescrites) à des organismes nationaux chargés de l’application de la Loi ou à des organismes étrangers ou internationaux.  Le délai de huit ans serait calculé à partir de la date de la communication des renseignements.  En outre, le nouvel alinéa e) obligerait expressément le Centre à détruire les rapports et les renseignements à l’expiration des délais.

   Article 2

Le Centre est autorisé à communiquer aux organismes chargés de l’application de la Loi seulement les renseignements « désignés » par règlement.  Mais quels sont les renseignements qui peuvent être désignés?   Les alinéas a) à d) du paragraphe 55(7) précisent les renseignements qui peuvent être désignés, c’est-à-dire communiqués.  À l’heure actuelle, en plus des alinéas a) à d), un cinquième alinéa « fourre-tout » – l’alinéa e) – autorise la désignation de « tout autre renseignement analogue ».  Les témoins qui ont comparu devant le Comité à propos du projet de loi C-22 ont émis des réserves concernant cette disposition : des renseignements « analogues » à quoi?  La question de savoir exactement quels genres de renseignements sont visés par l’expression « autre renseignement analogue » doit, bien entendu, être élucidée par référence aux alinéas précédents a) à d) :

a)      le nom du client ou de l’importateur ou exportateur des espèces ou effets, ou de toute personne agissant pour son compte;

 

b)      le nom et l’adresse du bureau où l’opération est effectuée et la date où elle a été effectuée, ou l’adresse du bureau de douane où les espèces ou effets sont importés ou exportés, ainsi que la date de leur importation ou exportation;

 

c)      la valeur et la nature des espèces ou effets ou, dans le cas d’une opération dans laquelle il n’y a pas d’espèce ou d’effet en cause, la valeur de l’opération ou celle des fonds sur lesquels porte l’opération;

 

d)      le numéro de l’opération effectuée et le numéro de compte, s’il y a lieu;

Pour déterminer la signification du terme « analogue » à l’alinéa e), il faudrait qu’il y ait une « analogie » discernable entre les renseignements décrits aux alinéas a) à d).  Bien qu’on puisse dégager certaines analogies entre ces divers renseignements, l’analogie n’est pas évidente ni facilement définie ou exprimée; il est donc difficile de savoir comment le terme serait interprété tel qu’il figure actuellement à l’alinéa e).

La modification de l’article 2 ne ferait qu’ajouter un mot à l’alinéa e) – « identificateur ».  Par conséquent, au lieu de « tout autre renseignement analogue désigné par règlement », la Loi énoncerait « tout autre renseignement identificateur analogue désigné par règlement ».  Cette précision suggère fortement que les renseignements visés par les alinéas a) à d) sont de fait des renseignements « identificateurs ».  Par conséquent, l’alinéa e) modifié semble prévoir que les renseignements pourraient être désignés aux termes de l’alinéa e) seulement s’il s’agit de renseignements « identificateurs » « analogues » aux renseignements « identificateurs » visés par les alinéas a) à d).

   Article 3

Aux termes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, le Commissaire à l’information (ou toute personne dont la demande de document est rejetée) peut demander à la Cour fédérale d’émettre une ordonnance de communication du document à l’organisme gouvernemental compétent.  La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels prévoit elle aussi qu’une personne (ou le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée) peut présenter une demande.  La version originelle de cette disposition aurait privé la Cour de toute compétence en cette matière. Cette modification semble régler la difficulté.

   Article 4

Le paragraphe 64(2) de la Loi interdit à un agent du Centre de reproduire des documents en la possession d’un avocat qui invoque le secret professionnel au nom d’un client ou d’un ancien client nommément désignés.  Les comptables qui ont témoigné devant le Comité à propos du projet de loi C-22 ont soutenu que, comme leur profession – au même titre que la profession juridique – exige un haut degré de confidentialité, le droit d’invoquer le secret professionnel devrait également leur être accordé.  Il n’y a pas à l’heure actuelle de privilège équivalent en common law(2).  Cette disposition semble répondre aux préoccupations exprimées par la profession comptable sans déroger à la common law.  Elle donne aux personnes autres que des avocats qui sont en possession de documents l’occasion de communiquer avec l’avocat pouvant invoquer le secret professionnel.


(1)  Voir le résumé législatif du projet de loi C-22 établi par la Bibliothèque du Parlement à http://www.parl.gc.ca/36/2/parlbus/chambus/house/bills/summaries/c22-f.htm.

(2)  Le juge Farley résume la question dans Sun Squeeze Juices Inc. (Re) [1994] O.J. No 1451 (Division générale) le 26 juin 1994 : « Il est évident qu’il existe un secret professionnel de l’avocat […] sans lequel le système judiciaire ne fonctionnerait pas.  Je ne vois pas qu’une telle relation existe entre un client et un vérificateur ou un comptable » (traduction).


 


© Bibliothèque du Parlement