Legislative Summary
BILL C-50: AN ACT TO AMEND THE STATUTE LAW IN RESPECT OF BENEFITS FOR VETERANS AND THE CHILDREN OF DECEASED VETERANS
Michel Rossignol, Political and Social Affairs Division
Publication No. 37-2-LS-462-E
PDF 245, (10 Pages) PDF
2003-10-02

TABLE OF CONTENTS

BACKGROUND

DESCRIPTION AND ANALYSIS

A. Children of Deceased Veterans Education Assistance Act

B. Pension Act

C. Royal Canadian Mounted Police Superannuation Act

D. War Veterans Allowance Act

E. An Act to Amend the Statute Law in Relation to Veterans’ Benefits

F. Transitional Provisions

G. Coming Into Force


BILL C-50: AN ACT TO AMEND THE STATUTE LAW
IN RESPECT OF BENEFITS FOR VETERANS AND
THE CHILDREN OF DECEASED VETERANS*

BACKGROUND

On 12 May 2003, the Honourable Dr. Rey Pagtakhan, Minister of Veterans Affairs, announced in the House of Commons his intention to bring forward legislation and to take other measures in order to address the most urgent needs of Canada’s Veterans. The announcement followed the successful completion of discussions between the Department of Veterans Affairs and national Veterans’ organizations such as the Royal Canadian Legion, the National Council of Veteran Associations in Canada, and the Army, Navy and Air Force Veterans in Canada on some of the issues preoccupying Veterans. While those organizations still have concerns about the quality of long-term care for Veterans who served in World War I, World War II and the Korean War, they also argued for quick action on some other issues because these Veterans are now 70 years old and more.

The measures announced on 12 May 2003 involve seven issues. Four of these can be dealt with mostly by making changes in existing regulations or taking other measures. Thus, actions have been, or will be, taken to:

  • extend the health programs now received by Veterans with a pensioned disability of over
    77% to those with a pensioned disability between 48% and 77%;
  • provide Veterans Independence Program (VIP) and health care benefits to Overseas Service Veterans at home when they are waiting for a priority access bed in a long-term health care centre;
  • provide long-term care and health care benefits to Allied Veterans with 10 years’ post-war residence in Canada; and
  • extend from one year to a lifetime the period over which VIP benefits, which cover the costs of housekeeping and grounds maintenance, will be given to widows after the death of their spouse or partner who was a Veteran and receiving such benefits.

For example, in the case of the lifetime VIP benefits for widows, the Veterans Health Care Regulations were amended, pursuant to Section 5 of the Department of Veterans Affairs Act, by Order in Council P.C. 2003-0952 dated 13 June 2003, which indicated that this measure was effective as of 18 June 2003.

For the three remaining issues, amendments to existing legislation are necessary. Bill C-50 proposes amendments only with regard to these three issues and does not directly affect actions taken on the four other issues, such as the extension of VIP benefits to widows. The bill amends:

  • the Children of Deceased Veterans Education Assistance Act to re-establish the Education Assistance Program of the Department of Veterans Affairs, in order to provide assistance for post-secondary education to the children of members of the Canadian Forces and Veterans who were killed during military duty or who were in receipt of a disability pension at the time of death;
  • the Pension Act to update the scale of compensation for Veterans who were prisoners of war (POWs); and
  • the War Veterans Allowance Act to clarify the definition of a member of Canada’s forces during World Wars I and II.

The bill also makes a minor amendment to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Superannuation Act.

DESCRIPTION AND ANALYSIS

A. Children of Deceased Veterans Education Assistance Act

The Children of Deceased Veterans Education Assistance Act provided authority for the Education Assistance Program of the Department of Veterans Affairs. This program was in place between 1953 and 1995 to provide post-secondary education assistance to the children of members of the Canadian Forces and Veterans who died as a result of military service or who were pensioned at a disability level of 48% or higher at the time of death. The program was discontinued in 1995, and one of the amendments made in An Act to amend the statute law in relation to veterans’ benefits(1) of 2000 provided for the repeal of the Children of Deceased Veterans Education Assistance Act. However, this amendment was not brought into force, and Bill C-50 re-establishes the Education Assistance Program to provide assistance with tuition costs and living expenses. (See also clause 11.) While providing assistance to the children of Canadian Forces members and Veterans who have died in the specified circumstances, the program will now be in place if current or future members of the Canadian Forces die as a result of military service or at a time when they are pensioned at the 48% or higher disability level.

Clause 1 amends paragraph (d) of section 2 of the Children of Deceased Veterans Education Assistance Act. Paragraphs (a), (b), (c), and (d) of section 2 provide definitions of the word “student.” The amendment proposed by Bill C-50 changes very little in the original text of section 2(d). It simply removes the reference to section 27 of the Pension Act, which is necessary because section 27 was repealed by An Act to amend the statute law in relation to veterans’ benefits in 2000.(2)

Clause 2 of Bill C-50 repeals section 3.1 of the Children of Deceased Veterans Education Assistance Act, which states that no amount can be paid to a student if the assistance was not being paid or was not payable on 27 February 1995. In effect, this amendment will make it possible again to provide assistance to the children of deceased members of the Canadian Forces and Veterans, including those who completed their education after the assistance program was discontinued in 1995. Clause 3 replaces the amount of the monthly living allowance, $125.76, established in paragraph 4(1)(a), by a new amount, $300.00. The new rate of the monthly living allowance, effective 1 September 2003 (see clause 14(1)), is in addition to the new maximum amount of $4,000 per year for tuition assistance, effective the same date (see clause 13(2)).

Section 12 of the Act gives authority to the Governor General in Council to make regulations. Clause 4 amends that section by adding a new paragraph (a.1) to permit the Governor General in Council to prescribe the maximum amount of costs payable to a student and to make an annual adjustment as a function of the Consumer Price Index. Clause 5 replaces item 1 of the schedule to the Act with essentially the same text, but removes the reference to section 33 of the Pension Act, which was repealed in 1995. Clause 6 replaces item 6 in the schedule, which referred to section 5 of the Veterans Benefit Act, repealed in 2000.(3) The new item 6 refers to section 34 of the Veterans Review and Appeal Board Act, which deals with compassionate awards where benefits can be granted even if a person’s case does not otherwise meet all the necessary criteria. Subsection 34(6.1) indicates that the Pension Act applies to a surviving child on the death of a person to whom a compassionate award has been granted.

B. Pension Act

The amendments to the Pension Act in clause 8 will enhance the compensation given to Veterans who were POWs during World Wars I and II and the Korean War. The current compensation regime has been in place for many years and there have been growing demands for revision. For example, Veterans who were incarcerated for fewer than 89 days currently receive no compensation. Increased compensation for POWs who were incarcerated for three years and more is also seen as desirable, given the long-term health effects of such an ordeal.

Clause 8(1) introduces compensation, equivalent to 5% of basic pension, for those Veterans who were POWs of Japan during World War II for a period of between 30 and 88 days. Otherwise, the compensation regime for Veterans who were POWs of Japan remains the same: 20% of basic pension for persons incarcerated between 89 and 364 days, and 50% for those who were POWs for periods totalling at least 365 days.

Clause 8(2) deals with compensation for Veterans who were POWs of a power other than Japan. This includes persons who served during World Wars I and II (including merchant navy Veterans), persons who served in the Canadian military during military operations subsequent to the World Wars, and merchant navy Veterans during the Korean War. The current scale of compensation is: 10% of basic pension for periods of incarceration of between 89 and 545 days; 15% for 546 to 910 days; and 25% for periods totalling at least
911 days. Clause 8(2) introduces a six-level scale:

  • 5% of basic pension for between 30 and 88 days of incarceration;
  • 10% for between 89 and 545 days;
  • 15% for between 546 and 910 days;
  • 30% for between 911 and 1,275 days;
  • 35% for between 1,276 and 1,641 days; and
  • 40% for periods totalling at least 1,642 days.

Thus, all Veterans who were incarcerated for at least 30 days will now be able to get some compensation. Moreover, Veterans who were POWs of a power other than Japan with 911 or more days of incarceration will be better compensated for the hardships they suffered, notably those who were incarcerated for over three years. The new rates of compensation are effective as of 1 April 2003 (see clause 14(2)).

C. Royal Canadian Mounted Police Superannuation Act

Clause 9 proposes a minor amendment to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Superannuation Act in the French text of paragraph 32.1(2)(b). In 2002, the RCMP transferred to Veterans Affairs the responsibilities for the adjudication and assessment of disability pensions applications from members of the force.

D. War Veterans Allowance Act

Clause 10(1) amends subparagraph 37(3)(a)(i) of the War Veterans Allowance Act in order to clear up some ambiguity about the definition of a “former member of His Majesty’s Canadian Forces” during World Wars I and II. The amendment adds the words “having enlisted and having the enlistment attested” to the paragraph, as well as the words “and was discharged from the service in which he or she was enlisted.” This amendment is proposed in the wake of the case of Mr. Hugh Trainor of Summerside, P.E.I., who was granted Veterans benefits by a decision of the Veterans Review and Appeal Board in March 2003 after a long series of appeals and court decisions. Mr. Trainor travelled through a designated war zone during World War II to enlist in the Canadian military, but his application was rejected for medical reasons. Some veterans, notably Mr. Chadderton and the National Council of Veteran Associations in Canada, objected to the fact that someone who had not actually enlisted in the military or served in the merchant navy could obtain Veterans benefits. The new wording of the subparagraph should ensure that only those who actually enlisted will be able to claim Veterans benefits.

However, Bill C-50 does not reverse past decisions to grant Veterans benefits to someone who never enlisted or served in the merchant navy. Clause 10(2) states that the proposed modification to subparagraph 37(3)(a)(i) will not change decisions made by the Veterans Review and Appeal Board as to who is a “Veteran” prior to Bill C-50 receiving royal assent.

E. An Act to Amend the Statute Law in Relation to Veterans’ Benefits

The Children of Deceased Veterans Education Act was repealed by section 100 of An Act to amend the statute law in relation to veterans’ benefits.(4) However, this amendment was never brought into force. In order to re-establish the Education Assistance Program, clause 11 repeals section 100.

F. Transitional Provisions

As explained above, clauses 1 to 6 of Bill C-50 re-establish the Education Assistance Program that was discontinued in 1995, in order to pay a monthly allowance and reimburse tuition fees to children of members of the Canadian Forces and Veterans who died during military duty or who were pensioned at a disability level of 48% or higher at the time of death. However, actions are also required to assist students who completed their post-secondary education during the period between 1995 and 2003, when the program was not in place.

Thus, clause 12(1) states that the Minister of Veterans Affairs may pay the monthly allowances and reimburse the tuition costs for students affected by section 3.1 of the Children of Deceased Veterans Education Assistance Act, which prevented payments between 28 February 1995 and such time as clause 2 of Bill C-50 (repealing section 3.1) takes effect. Clause 12(2) sets the monthly allowance for the period between 28 February 1995 and 31 August 2003 at $167.47, instead of the $125.76 rate indicated in paragraphs 4(1)(a) and (b) of the Act and the $300 rate set by clause 3 for the period starting 1 September 2003 (see clause 14(1)). Clause 12(3) sets the rate for tuition assistance at $1,500 per academic year for the period between 28 February 1995 and 31 August 2003. Finally, clause 12(4) indicates that subsection 4(4) of the Children of Deceased Veterans Education Assistance Act, which allows the Minister to extend the period of allowances and reimbursements, does not apply for the purposes of subsection 12(1).

Clause 13 sets the maximum amount for tuition assistance at $4,000 per academic year as of 1 September 2003, notwithstanding paragraph 5(3)(a) of the Children of Deceased Veterans Education Assistance Regulations, which indicates $1,500 as the maximum.

G. Coming Into Force

According to clause 14(1), the amendment made by clause 3 setting $300 as the new monthly allowance provided under the Education Assistance Program is deemed to have come into force on 1 September 2003. Clause 14(2) indicates that the amendments made in clause 8 that establish new rates of compensation for Veterans who were POWs are deemed to have come into force on 1 April 2003. The rest of the bill will come into force upon royal assent.


* Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both Houses of Parliament, receive royal assent, and come into force.

(1) S.C. 2000, c. 34.

(2) Ibid., s. 22.

(3) Ibid., s. 56.

(4) S.C. 2000, c. 34.


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
PROJET DE LOI C-50 : LOI MODIFIANT LA LÉGISLATION RELATIVE AUX AVANTAGES POUR LES ANCIENS COMBATTANTS ET LES ENFANTS DES ANCIENS COMBATTANTS DÉCÉDÉS
Michel Rossignol, Division des affaires politiques et sociales
Publication no 37-2-LS-462-F
PDF 246, (11 Pages) PDF
2003-10-02

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

HISTORIQUE

DESCRIPTION ET ANALYSE

A. Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés

B. Loi sur les pensions

C. Loi sur la pension de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

D. Loi sur les allocations aux anciens combattants

E. Loi portant modification de la législation concernant les avantages pour les anciens combattants

F. Dispositions transitoires

G. Entrée en vigueur


PROJET DE LOI C-50 : LOI MODIFIANT LA LÉGISLATION RELATIVE
AUX AVANTAGES POUR LES ANCIENS COMBATTANTS ET
LES ENFANTS DES ANCIENS COMBATTANTS DÉCÉDÉS*

HISTORIQUE

Le 12 mai 2003, l’honorable Rey Pagtakhan, ministre des Anciens combattants, a annoncé à la Chambre des communes qu’il avait l’intention de déposer une mesure législative et de prendre d’autres moyens pour s’attaquer aux besoins les plus pressants des anciens combattants du Canada. L’annonce suivait la conclusion d’une discussion très fructueuse entre le ministère des Anciens combattants et des organismes nationaux des anciens combattants – comme la Légion royale canadienne, le Conseil national des associations d’anciens combattants au Canada et le groupe Army, Navy and Air Force Veterans in Canada – sur des questions qui préoccupaient les anciens combattants. Ces organisations s’inquiètent toujours au sujet de la qualité des soins de longue durée pour les anciens combattants des deux guerres mondiales et de la guerre de Corée, mais elles ont demandé que se règlent rapidement d’autres questions, parce que ces anciens combattants ont aujourd’hui 70 ans ou plus.

Les mesures annoncées le 12 mai 2003 comportent sept points. Quatre d’entre eux peuvent être réglés presque entièrement en modifiant les règlements actuels ou en prenant d’autres mesures. Ainsi, des mesures ont été ou seront prises pour :

  • accorder aux anciens combattants qui touchent une pension d’invalidité se situant entre 48 et 77 p. 100 la possibilité de bénéficier des programmes de soins de santé dont bénéficient les anciens combattants qui touchent une pension d’invalidité de plus de 77 p. 100;
  • accorder le Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants (PAAC) et les prestations pour soins de santé à domicile aux anciens combattants qui ont servi outre-mer, lorsqu’ils sont en attente d’un lit d’accès prioritaire dans un centre de soins de santé de longue durée;
  • accorder des prestations de soins de longue durée et d’aide médicale aux anciens combattants alliés qui ont au moins 10 ans de résidence d’après-guerre au Canada;
  • prolonger à vie la période (actuellement d’un an) des avantages du PAAC, qui couvrent les coûts de l’entretien ménager et du terrain, pour les veuves dont le mari ou le partenaire était un ancien combattant bénéficiant de tels avantages.

Par exemple, dans le cas des avantages à vie du PAAC pour les veuves, le Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants a été modifié, conformément à l’article 5de la Loi sur le ministère des Affaires des anciens combattants, par le décret P.C. 2003-0952, daté du 13 juin 2003, qui prévoit l’entrée en vigueur de cette mesure le 18 juin 2003.

Pour les trois autres points, il faut apporter des modifications à la législation actuelle. Le projet de loi C-50 ne propose de modifications que pour les trois points en question et ne touche pas directement les mesures prises concernant les quatre autres points, par exemple l’extension des avantages du PAAC aux veuves. Le projet de loi modifie :

  • la Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés pour rétablir le Programme d’aide à l’éducation du ministère des Anciens combattants afin de fournir de l’aide financière pour aider à payer les études postsecondaires des enfants des membres des Forces canadiennes et des anciens combattants morts en service ou qui bénéficiaient de prestations d’invalidité au moment de leur décès;
  • la Loi sur les pensions, afin de mettre à jour le barème des indemnités pour les anciens combattants qui ont été des prisonniers de guerre;
  • la Loi sur les allocations aux anciens combattants, pour clarifier la définition de ce qui constitue un ancien combattant de la Première ou de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Le projet de loi apporte aussi des modifications mineures à la Loi sur la pension de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

DESCRIPTION ET ANALYSE

A. Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés

La Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés autorisait la prestation du Programme d’aide à l’éducation du ministère des Anciens combattants. Ce programme a été en vigueur entre 1953 et 1995 pour aider à payer les études supérieures des enfants des membres des Forces canadiennes et des anciens combattants qui sont morts en service ou des suites de leur service ou qui recevaient une pension d’invalidité de 48 p. 100 ou plus au moment de leur décès. Le programme a été interrompu en 1995 et une des modifications apportées par la Loi portant modification de la législation concernant les avantages pour les anciens combattants(1) de 2000 prescrivait l’abrogation de la Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés. Cependant, cette modification n’est jamais entrée en vigueur et le projet de loi C-50 rétablit le Programme de soutien à l’éducation pour aider à payer les frais de scolarité et de subsistance (voir aussi l’art. 11). Tout en continuant d’apporter de l’aide aux enfants des membres des Forces canadiennes et des anciens combattants qui sont morts dans les circonstances précisées, le programme s’appliquera dorénavant aussi aux cas futurs où des membres des Forces armées mourront en service ou des suites de leur service ou pendant qu’ils toucheront une pension d’invalidité de 48 p. 100 ou plus.

L’article 1 du projet de loi modifie l’alinéa 2d) de la Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés. Les alinéas 2a), 2b), 2c) et 2d) de la Loi donnent des définitions du terme « étudiant ». La modification proposée par le projet de loi change très peu le libellé original de l’alinéa 2d) : elle supprime simplement le renvoi à l’article 27 de la Loi sur les pensions, mesure nécessaire parce que cet article a été abrogé par la Loi portant modification de la législation concernant les avantages pour les anciens combattants de 2000(2).

L’article 2 du projet de loi C-50 abroge l’article 3.1 de la Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés,qui dispose qu’« aucun paiement ne peut être fait pour un étudiant qui n’y a pas droit le 27 février 1995 ». Une fois en vigueur, cette modification rétablira la possibilité de fournir de l’aide aux enfants des membres défunts des Forces canadiennes et des anciens combattants, y compris ceux qui ont terminé leurs études après que le programme d’aide a été interrompu en 1995. L’article 3 du projet de loi porte le montant mensuel de l’allocation de subsistance fixé à l’alinéa 4(1)a) de 125,76 $ à300 $. Ce montant, entré en vigueur le 1er septembre 2003 (voir le par. 14(1)), s’ajoute au nouveau montant maximal de 4 000 $ par an d’aide au paiement des frais de scolarité, entré en vigueur la même date (voir le par. 13(2)).

L’article 12 de la Loi permet au gouverneur général de prendre des règlements. L’article 4 du projet de loi modifie cet article en y ajoutant le nouvel alinéa 12a.1) pour que le gouverneur général en conseil puisse fixer le montant maximal des frais qui peuvent être acquittés à l’égard d’un étudiant et y faire un ajustement annuel selon l’indice des prix à la consommation. L’article 5 du projet de loi remplace le libellé de l’article 1 de l’annexe de la Loi par un libellé presque identique, dont est retiré le renvoi à l’article 33 de la Loi sur les pensions, abrogé en 1995. L’article 6 du projet de loi remplace l’article 6 de l’annexe de la Loi, qui renvoyait à l’article 5 de la Loi sur les avantages destinés aux anciens combattants, abrogé en 2000(3). Le nouvel article 6 de l’annexe renvoie à l’article 34 de la Loi sur le Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel), qui traite de mesures d’allocation de commisération grâce auxquelles des compensations peuvent être versées même quand « le demandeur a été par ailleurs jugé inadmissible à une compensation prévue » selon les critères exigés. Le paragraphe 34(6.1) indique que la Loi sur les pensions s’applique aux enfants d’une personne décédée à qui avait été accordée une allocation de commisération.

B. Loi sur les pensions

Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les pensions par l’article 8 du projet de loi amélioreront les indemnités accordées aux anciens combattants qui ont été prisonniers durant les deux guerres mondiales et la guerre de Corée. Le régime actuel de compensation existe depuis longtemps et fait l’objet d’un nombre croissant de demandes de révision. Par exemple, les anciens combattants qui ont été incarcérés pendant moins de 89 jours ne reçoivent aucune indemnité sous le régime actuel. Il semble aussi souhaitable de hausser les indemnités pour les prisonniers de guerre qui ont été détenus pendant trois ans ou plus, vu les effets à long terme d’une pareille épreuve sur leur état de santé.

Le paragraphe 8(1) du projet de loi instaure une indemnité équivalente à 5 p. 100 de la pension de base pour les anciens combattants qui ont été des prisonniers de guerre au Japon pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale pendant une période de 30 à 88 jours. Autrement, le régime de compensation pour les anciens combattants qui ont été prisonniers de guerre au Japon reste le même : 20 p. 100 de la pension de base pour les personnes qui ont été emprisonnées pendant une période de 89 à 364 jours et 50 p. 100 pour une période d’incarcération d’au moins 365 jours.

Le paragraphe 8(2) du projet de loi traite des indemnités pour les anciens combattants qui ont été prisonniers de guerre d’une puissance autre que le Japon. Cette catégorie inclut les personnes qui ont pris part à la Première ou à la Seconde Guerre mondiale (y compris les anciens combattants de la marine marchande), les militaires canadiens qui ont participé aux opérations qui ont suivi les guerres mondiales et les anciens combattants de la marine marchande pendant la guerre de Corée. L’échelle actuelle des indemnités est la suivante : 10 p. 100 de la pension de base pour les périodes d’incarcération allant de 89 à 545 jours; 15 p. 100, pour des périodes de 546 à 910 jours et 25 p. 100 pour des périodes totalisant au moins 911 jours. Le paragraphe 8(2) établit une échelle à six niveaux :

  • 5 p. 100 de la pension de base pour des périodes d’incarcération de 30 à 88 jours;
  • 10 p. 100 de la pension de base pour des périodes d’incarcération de 89 à 545 jours;
  • 15 p. 100 de la pension de base pour des périodes d’incarcération de 546 à 910 jours;
  • 30 p. 100 de la pension de base pour des périodes d’incarcération de 911 à 1 275 jours;
  • 35 p. 100 de la pension de base pour des périodes d’incarcération de 1 276 à 1 641 jours;
  • 40 p. 100 de la pension de base pour des périodes d’incarcération d’au moins 1 642 jours.

Ainsi, tous les anciens combattants qui ont été emprisonnés pendant au moins 30 jours auront droit à une certaine indemnisation. De plus, ceux qui ont été prisonniers de guerre d’une puissance autre que le Japon pendant 911 jours ou plus recevront une meilleure indemnité pour l’épreuve qu’ils ont subie, notamment ceux qui ont été en prison pendant plus de trois ans. Le date d’entrée en vigueur de ces nouveaux taux d’indemnité est le 1er avril 2003 (par. 14(2)).

C. Loi sur la pension de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

L’article 9 du projet de loi propose une modification mineure au texte français de l’alinéa 32.1(2)b) de la Loi sur la pension de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. En 2002, la GRC a transféré au ministère des Anciens combattants la responsabilité du processus de sélection et d’évaluation relatif aux prestations d’invalidité pour ses membres.

D. Loi sur les allocations aux anciens combattants

Le paragraphe 10(1) du projet de loi modifie le sous-alinéa 37(3)a)(i) de la Loi sur les allocations aux anciens combattants de façon à rectifier certaines ambiguïtés dans la définition des « anciens membres des forces canadiennes de Sa Majesté » qui ont servi au cours de la Première ou de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La modification ajoute en substance les termes « ayant été enrôlés dans ces forces et leur enrôlement ayant été attesté » au sous-alinéa ainsi que les termes « et qui ont été libérés du service pour lequel ils ont été enrôlés ». Cette modification a été proposée à la lumière du cas de Hugh Trainor de Summerside, Î.-P.-É., qui s’est vu accorder des avantages destinés aux anciens combattants grâce à une décision du Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel), en mars 2003, après une longue série d’appels et de décisions judiciaires. M. Trainor avait voyagé dans une zone de guerre désignée durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour s’enrôler dans les Forces canadiennes, mais sa demande avait été rejetée pour des raisons médicales. Certains anciens combattants, dont M. Chadderton et le Conseil national des associations d’anciens combattants au Canada, se sont élevés contre le fait qu’une personne qui ne s’était pas enrôlée dans les Forces et qui n’avait pas servi dans la marine marchande puisse avoir droit aux avantages destinés aux anciens combattants. Le nouveau libellé du sous-alinéa fera en sorte que seuls ceux qui se sont réellement enrôlés auront le droit de revendiquer les avantages réservés aux anciens combattants.

Cependant, le projet de loi C-50 ne révoque pas les décisions qui ont accordé des avantages réservés aux anciens combattants à des personnes qui ne se sont jamais enrôlées et qui n’ont jamais servi dans la marine marchande. Le paragraphe 10(2) du projet de loi dispose que la modification proposée au sous-alinéa 37(3)a)(i) ne changera aucune décision prise par le Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel) sur la question de savoir qui répondait à la définition d’« ancien combattant » avant que le projet de loi C-50 reçoive la sanction royale.

E. Loi portant modification de la législation concernant les avantages pour les anciens combattants

La Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés a été abrogée par l’article 100 de la Loi portant modification de la législation concernant les avantages pour les anciens combattants(4). Cependant, cette modification n’a jamais été en vigueur. De façon à rétablir le Programme d’aide à l’éducation, l’article 11 du projet de loi abroge ledit article 100.

F. Dispositions transitoires

Ainsi qu’il a été expliqué plus haut, les articles 1 à 6 du projet de loi C-50 rétablissent le Programme d’aide à l’éducation qui avait été interrompu en 1995. Ce rétablissement permettra verser une allocation mensuelle et de rembourser les frais de scolarité aux enfants des membres des Forces canadiennes et des anciens combattants qui sont morts en service ou qui recevaient une pension d’invalidité de 48 p. 100 et plus au moment de leur décès. Toutefois, des mesures s’imposent aussi pour aider les étudiants qui ont terminé leurs études postsecondaires entre 1995 et 2003, période durant laquelle le programme n’était plus en vigueur.

Ainsi, le paragraphe 12(1) du projet de loi dispose que le ministre des Anciens combattants peut verser l’allocation mensuelle et rembourser les frais de scolarité des étudiants visés par l’article 3.1 de la Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés, article qui empêchait ce versement et ce remboursement entre le 28 février 1995 et l’entrée en vigueur de l’article 2 du projet de loi C-50 (abrogeant l’art. 3.1). Le paragraphe 12(2) fixe à 167,47 $ l’allocation mensuelle à verser pour la période entre le 28 février 1995 et le 31 août 2003, au lieu du montant de 125,76 $ précisé aux alinéas 4(1)a) et b) de la Loi, et à 300 $, conformément à l’article 3 du projet de loi, l’allocation pour la période commençant le 1er septembre 2003 (voir le par. 14(1)). Le paragraphe 12(3) du projet de loi fixe à 1 500 $ par année scolaire le montant d’aide aux frais de scolarité pour la période entre le 28 février 1995 et le 31 août 2003. Enfin, le paragraphe 12(4) du projet de loi indique que le paragraphe 4(4) de la Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés, qui permet au Ministre de prolonger la période des allocations et du remboursement, ne s’applique pas aux dispositions du paragraphe 12(1).

L’article 13 fixe à 4 000 $ par année scolaire le montant maximal des frais de scolarité qui peuvent être acquittés à l’égard d’un étudiant à partir du 1er septembre 2003, nonobstant le maximum de 1 500 $ prévu à l’alinéa 5(3)a) de la Loi sur l’aide en matière d’éducation aux enfants des anciens combattants décédés.

G. Entrée en vigueur

Selon le paragraphe 14(1) du projet de loi, la modification prévue à l’article 3, fixant à 300 $ la nouvelle allocation mensuelle du Programme d’aide à l’éducation, est réputée être entrée en vigueur le 1er septembre 2003. Le paragraphe 14(2) indique que les modifications prévues à l’article 8 pour fixer de nouveaux taux d’indemnité pour les anciens combattants qui ont été prisonniers de guerre sont réputées être entrées en vigueur le 1er avril 2003. Le reste du projet de loi entrera en vigueur quand il recevra la sanction royale.


* Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.

(1) L.C. 2000, ch. 34.

(2) Ibid., art. 22.

(3) Ibid., art. 56.

(4) L.C. 2000, ch. 34.

 

© Bibliothèque du Parlement