Legislative Summary
Bill C-24: Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act, 2006
Elizabeth Kuruvila, Law and Government Division
Publication No. 39-1-LS-538-E
PDF 88, (12 Pages) PDF
2006-10-31
Revised on: 2007-09-25

Table of Contents


Background

On 12 September 2006, the Minister of International Trade and the United States Trade Representative signed the Softwood Lumber Agreement (Agreement) between Canada and the United States.  Prior to this, the parties had signed an agreement in principle on 27 April 2006 and initialled a legal text on 1 July 2006.

The Agreement entered into force on 12 October 2006.  Exporters of softwood lumber to the United States are liable for the new export charge envisaged by the Agreement on shipments made on or after 12 October 2006.

In order to implement the Agreement, on 20 September 2006, the government introduced in the House of Commons Bill C-24, An Act to Impose a Charge on the Export of Certain Softwood Lumber Products to the United States and a Charge on Refunds of Certain Duty Deposits paid to the United States, to Authorize Certain Payments, to Amend the Export and Import Permits Act and to Amend other Acts as a Consequence.  The bill provides the legal and administrative framework to impose export charges on softwood lumber products exported from Canada to the United States.  It sets out how the export charge will be calculated in accordance with the terms of the Agreement and provides certain exemptions from the application of the charge.  Included in these exemptions are exports from the Atlantic provinces and the Territories, if the exported products are produced from logs originating from these regions or from the State of Maine. 

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the bill. 

With some exceptions, all provisions of the bill came into force on 12 October 2006. 

Description and Analysis

A.  Short Title, Interpretation, and Application (Clauses 1-9)

Bill C-24 may be cited as the Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act, 2006 (clause 1).

Clause 2 contains a number of definitions for the purposes of the bill.  The term “region” is defined by reference to subsection 6.3(1) of the Export and Import Permits Act, an amendment to that Act found at Clause 111 of the bill.  By virtue of this new definition, each of the provinces of Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta forms a region.  The province of British Columbia is divided into two regions – the BC Coast region and the BC Interior region.  The Atlantic provinces and the Territories, which are exempt from the application of the export charge, are not included in the definition.

The bill defines “Minister” as the Minister of National Revenue.

Clause 4 discusses how interest will be calculated for the purposes of the bill.  According to Clause 5, a softwood lumber product is considered to be exported at the time it is placed on a vehicle that will carry it across the border.  However, if the product is exported by rail, it is considered to be exported at the time at which the rail car that contains the product was released to the railway for assembly to form part of a train for export.  All charges are assessed on a monthly basis.

The bill is binding on the federal and provincial Crowns (clause 8).  It will apply only to softwood lumber products for which the final destination of export is the United States.  It does not apply to those products that pass in transit through the United States while being exported to another country.  It does, however, apply to those products that are exported to the United States through another country (clause 9).

B.  Export Charge (Clauses 10-18)

This section deals with various matters such as the application and calculation of the export charge, various exemptions to the export charge under the bill and exemptions to the export charge through regulations.

1.  Application

The bill states that an export charge will apply to products exported to the United States after 11 October 2006 (clause 10).

2.  Calculation of the Export Charge

Under the Agreement, Canada is to apply an export charge that may vary from 5% to 15% (Option A), or, to use a combination of an export charge and a cap on the volume of the exports (Option B).  The rate of the export charge and the volume cap are dependent on the price of lumber.

The basic charge on exports and its calculation is provided for in clause 12.  The export charge becomes payable at the time of export (clause 10(2)).  Clause 12(3) sets out the rate of charge applicable to regions governed by Option B, while clause 12(4) sets out the rate of charge applicable to regions that choose Option A.  Regions that choose Option B are subject to a quota that will be allocated under the Export and Import Permits Act.  These regions will pay a lower charge compared to that paid by regions that choose Option A.  Regions that choose Option A are not subject to a quota, but pay a higher rate of export charge.

The calculation of an export charge under clause 12(3) (Option B) and clause 12(4) (Option A), is given below:  

Reference Price
(per thousand board feet)
Applicable Export Charge (%) Under clause 11(4)
Option A)
Applicable Export Charge (%) Under
Clause 11(3)
(Option B)

Over US$355

0

0

US$336-355

5

2.5

US$316-335

10

3

US$315 or under

15

5

Clause 12(3) came into force on 1 January 2007 through an order in council issued on 21 December 2006 (clause 126(2)).  Until then, export charges were calculated under clause 12(4).  All regions were deemed to have chosen Option A, until clause 12(3) came into force.  The bill allows producers in a region that chooses Option B to receive a refund of a portion of any charges paid under Option A (export charges are higher in this case), during the transition period, if certain conditions are satisfied (clause 104).

Except in certain cases, a product is deemed to be exported from the region where the product underwent the first primary processing (clause 12(2)).  This provision helps to determine whether the export charge must be calculated on the basis of Option A or Option B.

The charge on exports depends on the reference price – the price of lumber per thousand board feet (MBF) – as well as the option chosen by the region where the export originates.  The reference price is calculated on a monthly basis as provided for in clause 12(5).

Clause 13 sets out the rules to determine the export price of a product.  This clause also identifies the changes that should be made to a softwood lumber product in order for it to be considered as “remanufactured.”  Similarly, an “independent remanufacturer” has been defined as person who has been certified as such under the bill.  The export price of remanufactured products is calculated differently from the export price of other products.

The bill caps the export price of all products at US$500 per MBF.  As a result, the export price of a product whose value is over US$500 per MBF will be calculated on a US$500 per MBF basis.

The export charge on products exported from regions that choose Option A may be subject to an additional charge (surge charge) under the “surge mechanism” if exports from the regions exceed the “trigger volume” (Clause 14).  This clause provides a formula on the basis of which the trigger volume is calculated. 

3.  Exclusions and Exemptions From the Application of the Export Charge

Clause 11(1) excludes exports from the Atlantic provinces (Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador) from the application of the export charge.  A product is deemed to be exported from these provinces if it is produced in one of these provinces from logs originating from there or from the State of Maine.

This clause also excludes exports from the Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut from the application of the export charge, if such exports are produced from logs originating in these territories.

Certain persons whose names are set out in the schedule to the bill are also exempted from the application of the export charge if they fulfill the prescribed conditions (clause 16).  The list of persons provided for in the schedule may be amended through the regulations.

4.  Exemptions to Export Charge through Regulations

The Governor in Council may, on the recommendation of the Minister of International Trade, make regulations exempting the export from any region or exempting any softwood lumber product from the application of an export charge (clause 17).  Under the Agreement, a region that is found to use timber pricing and management systems could qualify for exemptions from export measures.  Similarly, the Agreement also states that the parties may agree to additional exclusions for lumber produced from logs originating in the United States and logs originating from private lands in Canada.  Clause 17 will enable the Governor in Council to give effect to such exemptions through regulations. 

5.  Charge on Refund of Duty Deposits

Clause 18 imposes a charge on the refund of all softwood duty deposits paid under the anti-dumping and countervailing duty orders in the United States from 22 May 2002 onward.  The provision sets out how this charge will be calculated.

C.  General Provisions Concerning Export Charge (Clauses 19-63)

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the bill.  The Commissioner of National Revenue may exercise the powers and perform the duties of the Minister under the bill (Clause 19).

The bill states that every person who exports a softwood lumber product to the United States must submit an application for registration in the prescribed form and must be registered (clause 22).  Certain persons may be exempted from registration on the basis of regulations (clause 22(2)).  The Minister may certify qualifying producers as “independent remanufacturers” (clause 25).

Clauses 26 to 33 deal with the filing of returns under the bill and the payment of export charges to the Government.

Article IX of the Agreement provides for a third-country trigger on export charges.  Under certain conditions, there will be a refund of export charges up to 5%.  The third-country trigger will occur when the third country’s share of the lumber consumption in the United States increases by 20% while the Canadian share decreases during the same period.  An increase in the domestic producers’ market share during this period is also required to trigger this mechanism.  Clause 40 provides for the refund of charges in such cases.

Clauses 45 and 46 set out the rules that apply in case of bankruptcies and corporate reorganizations. 

Every person who is required to make a payment under the bill must keep sufficient records (clause 48).  The Minister may require any person (except a third party) to provide any information or any record that is necessary for the administration or enforcement of the bill.

The Minister may assess a person for any charge or amount payable under the bill (Clause 50).  A person who has been assessed by the Minister may file a notice of objection to the assessment within 90 days (clause 54).  On the receipt of such a notice, the Minister shall reconsider the assessment and vacate or confirm it or make a reassessment (clause 54(8)).  On the fulfilment of certain conditions, an assessment made by the Minister may be appealed to the Tax Court of Canada (Clause 56).  The Tax Court may either dismiss or allow an appeal.  If the appeal is allowed, the Tax Court may vacate the assessment or refer it back to the Minister for reconsideration and reassessment (clause 61). 

D.  Offences, Punishment, Inspections, Investigations and Confidentiality (Clauses 64 to 83)

Clause 64 provides for the payment of a penalty for the failure to file a return.  This provision comes into force on 1 April 2007 (clause 126(3)).

Clauses 65 to 67 set penalties for the failure to answer a demand to file a return, failure to provide information and for making false statements or making omissions.

Clauses 68 to 76 deal with offences and punishment under the Act.  According to clause 68, a person may be guilty of an offence for various matters such as failure to file or make a return and failure to keep accurate records.  A person who is convicted of an offence under this provision is liable for a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $25,000, or for imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months, or to both a fine and imprisonment.  A person who wilfully fails to pay a charge as and when required under the enactment is guilty of an offence.  If convicted, such person is liable for a fine or imprisonment or, in some cases, both.

Clauses 77 to 82 provide for inspections.  Clause 77 provides that an authorized person may, for the purposes of administration and enforcement of the bill, inspect, audit or examine records, processes, property or premises of any person.  An authorized person cannot enter a dwelling house without the consent of the occupant or without a warrant issued by a judge.

Clause 83 provides the rules for the investigation of offences under the bill.  Clause 84 provides for confidentiality of the information provided to the Minister under the provisions of the bill. 

E.  Payment to Provinces (Clause 99)

This clause provides that the federal government will, after making certain deductions (including refunds), distribute the revenue collected from the export charge to the provinces from which products originated.  The federal government will retain the costs incurred:

  • in the administration of the bill;
  • in the administration of the Agreement; and
  • in relation to any litigation under the bill or the Agreement. 

F.  Regulations (Clause 100-102)

The Governor in Council may make regulations on several aspects of the bill (clause 100(1)).  This includes regulations:

  • respecting any requirements or conditions that must be met to be certified as an independent remanufacturer; and
  • generally to carry out the purposes and provisions of the bill.

On the recommendation of the Minister of International Trade, the Governor in Council may make regulations establishing conditions of payment to provinces and the amount that shall be paid to a province (clause 100(2)).

Regulations made under clause 100 and under certain other provisions of the bill may take effect earlier than the date on which they are made (clause 107).

It is possible that the provisions of any of clauses 10 to 15 shall cease to be in force, if so declared through regulations (Clause 102).

G.  Amendments to Export and Import Permits Act (Clauses 109-117)

According to the Export and Import Permits Act, the Governor in Council may establish three lists:  the Import Control List, the Export Control List, and the Area Control List in order to control the import or export of goods.  All goods on the Export Control List require an export permit in order to be exported from Canada.

Section 3 of the Export and Import Permits Act is amended to authorize the inclusion in the Export Control List of softwood lumber products subject to the Agreement, (clause 110).

Section 6 of the Export and Import Permits Act is amended to authorize the appropriate minister (the Minister of Foreign Affairs) to determine export access quantities and establish methods for allocating such quantities (clause 111).  The Minister may determine the quantity of products that may be exported from a region during a month.  If the Minister has determined the quantity of products that may be exported from a province in a month, he may also establish a method for allocating the quantity of exports to exporters who are registered under the provisions of the bill.

Section 12 of the Export and Import Permits Act is amended to authorize the Governor in Council to make regulations regarding export allocations as well as regulations dealing with certificates of origin of logs (Clause 115).

H.  Coming into Force

With some exceptions, the provisions of the bill came into effect on 12 October 2006 (clause 126).  Most aspects of the bill came into force with retroactive effect.  Retroactive legislation is permissible in Canadian law except where an individual may be found guilty of an offence for acts that were not unlawful when it took place.  Section 11(g) of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms prohibits the retroactive application of legislation that creates offences.  In the case of Bill C-24, a person cannot be found guilty of an offence under the provisions of the bill, for actions carried out before the bill’s passage.


*  Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.

© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Projet de loi C-24 : Loi de 2006 sur les droits d'exportation de produits de bois d'oeuvre
Elizabeth Kuruvila, Division du droit et du gouvernement
Publication no 39-1-LS-538-F
PDF 90, (11 Pages) PDF
2006-10-31
Révisée le : 2007-09-25

Table des matières


Contexte

Le 12 septembre 2006, le ministre du Commerce international du Canada et la représentante au Commerce des États-Unis ont signé l’Accord sur le bois d’œuvre résineux (l’Accord) entre les deux pays.  Auparavant, les parties avaient signé un accord de principe le 27 avril 2006 et paraphé un texte juridique le 1er juillet 2006.

L’Accord est entré en vigueur le 12 octobre 2006.  Les exportateurs canadiens qui exportent du bois d’œuvre résineux aux États-Unis doivent acquitter le droit d’exportation prévu par l’Accord sur les exportations effectuées à compter de cette date.

Pour permettre la mise en œuvre de l’Accord, le gouvernement a présenté à la Chambre des communes le 20 septembre 2006 le projet de loi C-24 : Loi imposant des droits sur l’exportation aux États-Unis de certains produits de bois d’œuvre et des droits sur les remboursements de certains dépôts douaniers faits aux États-Unis, autorisant certains paiements et modifiant la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation et d’autres lois en conséquence.  Le projet de loi établit le cadre juridique et administratif dans lequel un droit d’exportation peut être imposé sur les produits de bois d’œuvre résineux canadiens exportés aux États-Unis.  Il décrit le calcul de ce droit conformément aux dispositions de l’Accord, et prévoit certaines exemptions de son application.  En effet, les produits exportés des provinces de l’Atlantique et des Territoires en seront exemptés s’ils sont fabriqués à partir de grumes de sciage provenant de ces régions ou de l’État du Maine.

L’administration et l’application de la loi proposée relèvent du ministre du Revenu national.

À quelques exceptions près, toutes les dispositions du projet de loi sont entrées en vigueur le 12 octobre 2006.

Description et analyse

A.  Titre abrégé, définitions et interprétation et champ d’application (art. 1 à 9)

Le projet de loi C-24 a pour titre abrégé Loi de 2006 sur les droits d’exportation de produits de bois d’œuvre (art. 1).

L’article 2 comporte un certain nombre de définitions pour l’application du projet de loi.  Le terme « région » est défini par renvoi au nouveau paragraphe 6.3(1) de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation, ajouté par l’article 111 du projet de loi.  Selon cette définition, le Québec, l’Ontario, le Manitoba, la Saskatchewan et l’Alberta forment chacun une région; la Colombie-Britannique est divisée en deux régions : la côte et l’intérieur de la province; et les provinces de l’Atlantique et les Territoires, dont les produits de bois d’œuvre résineux sont exemptés du droit d’exportation, ne sont pas visés par la définition de « région ».

« Ministre » s’entend du ministre du Revenu national.

L’article 4 établit le mode de calcul de l’intérêt pour l’application du projet de loi.  Selon l’article 5, le produit de bois d’œuvre résineux exporté est réputé être exporté dès qu’il est chargé sur un véhicule qui lui fera traverser la frontière.  Toutefois, si le produit de bois d’œuvre est exporté par chemin de fer, il est réputé avoir été exporté au moment où le wagon qui le contient a été rattaché au train en vue de son exportation.  Les droits sont calculés chaque mois.

Le projet de loi lie Sa Majesté du chef du Canada et des provinces (art. 8).  Il ne s’applique qu’aux produits de bois d’œuvre résineux destinés à l’exportation aux États-Unis.

Il ne vise pas ceux qui ne feront que transiter par les États-Unis à destination d’un autre pays, mais s’applique à ceux qui transiteront par un autre pays à destination des États-Unis (art. 9).

B.  Droits d’exportation (art. 10 à 18)

Cette partie du projet de loi aborde diverses questions, telles que l’application et le calcul des droits d’exportation, ainsi que les exemptions de droits prévues dans le projet de loi ou prescrites par règlement.

1.  Application

Le projet de loi dispose qu’un droit d’exportation sera perçu sur les produits exportés aux États-Unis après le 11 octobre 2006 (art. 10).

2.  Calcul du droit d’exportation

Aux termes de l’Accord, le Canada doit prélever un droit d’exportation dont le taux peut varier de 5 à 15 p. 100 (option A) ou appliquer à la fois un droit d’exportation et un plafond sur le volume des exportations (option B).  Le taux du droit d’exportation et le plafond dépendent du prix du bois.

Le droit de base appliqué aux exportations et sa méthode de calcul sont prévus à l’article 12.  Le droit d’exportation est exigible au moment de l’exportation (par. 10(2)).

Le paragraphe 12(3) établit le taux applicable aux régions régies par l’option B, alors que le paragraphe 12(4) prévoit le taux applicable aux régions régies par l’option A.  Celles qui choisiront l’option B seront assujetties à un contingent alloué en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation et paieront un droit d’exportation plus faible que celles qui choisiront l’option A.  Ces dernières ne devront respecter aucun contingent, mais devront acquitter un droit à taux plus élevé.

Le calcul du droit d’exportation selon les paragraphes 12(3) (option B) et 12(4) (option A) est résumé ci-dessous :

Prix de référence
(par mille pieds-planche)

Droit d’exportation
applicable (%) selon
le paragraphe 11(4)
(option A)

Droit d’exportation
applicable (%) selon
le paragraphe 11(3)
(option B)

Supérieur à 355 $US

0
0

De 336 $US à 355 $US

5
2,5

De 316 $US à 335 $US

10
3

315 $US ou moins

15
5

Le paragraphe 12(3) est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2007 par décret promulgué le 21 décembre 2006 (par. 126(2)).  Dans l’intervalle, les droits d’exportation étaient calculés selon la formule établie au paragraphe 12(4).  Toutes les régions étaient réputées avoir choisi l’option A jusqu’à l’entrée en vigueur du paragraphe 12(3).  Selon le projet de loi, les producteurs d’une région qui aura choisi l’option B pourront se faire rembourser d’une partie des droits payés en vertu de l’option A (qui seront plus élevés) au cours de la période de transition, si certaines conditions sont respectées (art. 104).

Sauf dans certains cas, un produit exporté sera réputé provenir de la région où il aura subi, pour la première fois, une première transformation (par. 12(2)).  Cette disposition aide à déterminer s’il faut calculer le droit d’exportation selon l’option A ou l’option B.

Le montant du droit d’exportation est lié au prix de référence – le prix par mille pieds-planche (MPP) – et à l’option retenue par la région d’où le bois est exporté.  Le prix de référence est calculé chaque mois conformément au paragraphe 12(5).

L’article 13 énonce les règles qui président à l’établissement du prix à l’exportation d’un produit.  Il décrit aussi les transformations que doit subir un produit de bois d’œuvre pour être réputé avoir subi une « seconde transformation ».  De même, l’expression « entreprise indépendante de seconde transformation » s’entend de la personne titulaire de l’agrément délivré à ce titre aux termes de l’article 25 du projet de loi.  Le prix à l’exportation des produits de seconde transformation ne sera pas calculé de la même façon que celui des autres produits.

Le projet de loi établit à 500 $US par MPP le prix à l’exportation maximum pour tous les produits.  Le prix à l’exportation d’un produit dont la valeur excédera 500 $US par MPP sera donc calculé sur la base d’une valeur de 500 $US par MPP.

Au droit d’exportation prélevé sur les produits exportés provenant des régions ayant choisi l’option A pourra s’ajouter un droit supplémentaire (droit en cas de déclenchement) en vertu du « mécanisme en cas de déclenchement », si les exportations excèdent le « volume de déclenchement » (art. 14).  Cet article énonce la formule de calcul du volume de déclenchement.

3.  Exclusions et exemptions de l’application du droit d’exportation

Le paragraphe 11(1) exclut les exportations provenant des provinces de l’Atlantique (Nouvelle-Écosse, Nouveau-Brunswick, Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) de l’application du droit d’exportation.  Un produit est réputé être exporté de ces provinces s’il y est fabriqué à partir de grumes de sciage provenant de ces provinces ou de l’État du Maine.

Cette disposition exclut également les exportations provenant du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut de l’application du droit d’exportation si les produits exportés sont fabriqués à partir de grumes de grumes de sciage provenant de ces territoires.

Certaines personnes dont les noms figurent à l’annexe du projet de loi sont également exemptées de l’application du droit d’exportation si elles satisfont aux conditions réglementaires (art. 16).  Cette liste pourra être modifiée par règlement.

4.  Exportations exemptées du droit prévu par voie de règlement

Le gouverneur en conseil peut, sur recommandation du ministre du Commerce international, adopter un règlement en vue d’exempter du droit prévu toute exportation de bois d’œuvre d’une région donnée ou tout produit de bois d’œuvre (art. 17).  Conformément à l’Accord, une région qui utilise un régime d’établissement des prix du bois sur pied et un régime d’aménagement forestier pourrait être admissible à l’exemption de l’application des mesures à l’exportation prévues.  De même, selon l’Accord, les parties peuvent s’entendre sur d’autres exemptions pour les produits de bois d’œuvre fabriqués avec des grumes provenant des États-Unis ou de terres privées du Canada.  L’article 17 permettra au gouverneur en conseil de donner effet à de telles exemptions par voie de règlement.

5.  Droits sur les remboursements de dépôts douaniers

L’article 18 impose des droits sur le remboursement de tout dépôt douanier au titre des droits antidumping et compensateurs aux États-Unis effectué à compter du 22 mai 2002.  Il précise comment ces droits seront calculés.

C.  Dispositions générales concernant les droits d’exportation (art. 19 à 63)

Le ministre du Revenu national est responsable de l’exécution et du contrôle d’application du projet de loi, et le commissaire du revenu peut exercer les attributions conférées au Ministre par le projet de loi (art. 19).

Le projet de loi dispose que la personne qui exporte des produits de bois d’œuvre aux États-Unis doit présenter une demande d’inscription conforme à la forme prescrite et doit être inscrite (art. 22).  Certaines personnes peuvent, par voie de règlement, être exemptées de l’obligation de s’inscrire (par. 22(2)).  Le Ministre peut délivrer un agrément d’« entreprise indépendante de seconde transformation » (art. 25).

Les articles 26 à 33 portent sur la présentation de déclarations en vertu du projet de loi et sur le paiement de droits d’exportation au gouvernement.

L’article IX de l’Accord prévoit un mécanisme d’ajustement pour les pays tiers.  Si certaines conditions sont réunies, il y aura remboursement des droits d’exportation jusqu’à concurrence de 5 p. 100.  Le mécanisme d’ajustement pour les pays tiers sera déclenché si la part de la consommation américaine de bois d’œuvre attribuable aux importations non canadiennes augmente de 20 p. 100 et si la part de marché canadienne diminue durant la même période.  Il faut également qu’il y ait eu augmentation de la part de marché des producteurs américains durant cette période pour qu’il y ait déclenchement du mécanisme.  L’article 40 prévoit le remboursement de droits dans pareilles circonstances.

Les articles 45 et 46 définissent les règles applicables en cas de faillites et de réorganisations.

La personne tenue de payer une somme au titre du projet de loi doit avoir tous les registres requis (art. 48).  Le Ministre peut obliger quiconque, sauf un « tiers », à fournir tout renseignement et tout registre nécessaires à l’administration ou l’application du projet de loi.

Le Ministre peut établir une cotisation pour déterminer les droits ou les autres sommes exigibles d’une personne en vertu du projet de loi (art. 50).  La personne qui fait opposition à la cotisation établie à son égard peut présenter un avis d’opposition au Ministre dans les 90 jours (art. 54).  Dès réception de l’avis d’opposition, le Ministre examine la cotisation de nouveau et l’annule ou la confirme ou en établit une nouvelle (par. 54(8)).  Si certaines conditions sont réunies, appel peut être interjeté devant de la Cour canadienne de l’impôt d’une cotisation établie par le Ministre (art. 56).  La Cour peut rejeter l’appel ou l’accueillir.

Dans ce dernier cas, elle peut annuler la cotisation ou la renvoyer au Ministre pour nouvel examen et nouvelle cotisation (art. 61).

D.  Infractions, peines, inspections, enquêtes et renseignements confidentiels (art. 64 à 83)

L’article 64 prévoit le paiement d’une pénalité en cas d’omission de présenter une déclaration.  Cette disposition entrera en vigueur le 1er avril 2007 (par. 126(3)).

Les articles 65 à 67 précisent les pénalités à payer en cas d’omission de donner suite à une mise en demeure, en cas d’omission de fournir des renseignements et en cas de faux énoncés ou d’omissions.

Les articles 68 à 76 traitent des infractions et des peines prévues par le projet de loi.  En vertu de l’article 68, commet une infraction toute personne qui ne présente pas ou ne remplit pas une déclaration ou qui ne tient pas les registres nécessaires.  Une personne reconnue coupable d’une infraction à cette disposition est passible d’une amende d’au moins 1 000 $ et d’au plus 25 000 $ et d’un emprisonnement maximal de 12 mois, ou de l’une de ces peines. 

uiconque omet volontairement de payer un droit selon les modalités et dans le délai prévus sous le régime du projet de loi commet une infraction.  La personne reconnue coupable est passible d’une amende ou d’un emprisonnement et, dans certains cas, de ces deux peines.

Les articles 77 à 82 prévoient des inspections.  Selon l’article 77, la personne autorisée par le Ministre peut, pour l’exécution ou le contrôle d’application du projet de loi, inspecter, vérifier ou examiner les registres, les procédés, les biens ou les locaux d’une personne.  Elle ne peut pénétrer dans une maison d’habitation sans la permission de l’occupant, à moins d’être munie d’un mandat décerné par un juge.

L’article 83 définit les règles applicables aux enquêtes relatives aux infractions au projet de loi.  L’article 84 dispose que les renseignements fournis au Ministre conformément aux dispositions du projet de loi sont confidentiels.

E.  Paiements aux provinces (art. 99)

L’article 99 prévoit que le gouvernement fédéral répartira entre les provinces d’où proviennent les produits de bois d’œuvre les recettes tirées des droits, déduction faite de certaines sommes (y compris les remboursements).  Il retiendra les frais qu’il a lui-même engagés, à savoir :

  • les frais engagés dans le cadre de l’application du projet de loi;
  • les frais engagés dans le cadre de l’application de l’Accord;
  • les frais de justice entraînés par tout litige relatif au projet de loi ou à l’Accord. 

F.  Règlements (art. 100 à 102)

Le gouverneur en conseil peut prendre des règlements à l’égard de plusieurs aspects du projet de loi (par. 100(1)).  Il peut, par exemple :

  • préciser les exigences et conditions à satisfaire pour obtenir un agrément d’entreprise indépendante de seconde transformation;
  • prendre toute autre mesure d’application du projet de loi.

Sur recommandation du ministre du Commerce international, le gouverneur en conseil peut, par règlement, prévoir les modalités de détermination de la somme à verser aux provinces et les conditions de versement (par. 100(2)).

Les règlements pris en vertu de l’article 100 et de certaines autres dispositions du projet de loi peuvent avoir un effet rétroactif (art. 107).
Les articles 10 à 15 pourront cesser d’avoir effet, si un règlement prévoit qu’il en sera ainsi (art. 102).

G.  Modifications à la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (art. 109 à 117)

La Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI) dispose que le gouverneur en conseil peut dresser trois listes : la liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée, la liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée et la liste des pays visés.  Il faut un permis d’exportation pour toutes les marchandises figurant sur la liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée.

L’article 3 de la LLEI est modifié afin que les produits de bois d’œuvre régis par l’Accord puissent être inscrits sur la liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée (art. 110).

L’article 6 de la LLEIest modifié afin que le ministre responsable (celui des Affaires étrangères) soit autorisé à déterminer la quantité de produits de bois d’œuvre pouvant être exportée et à établir une méthode pour allouer des quotas (art. 111).  Ce ministre peut déterminer la quantité de produits de bois d’œuvre qui peut être exportée d’une région pour un mois.  S’il a déterminé la quantité de produits de bois d’œuvre qui peut être exportée d’une province pour un mois, il peut alors aussi établir une méthode d’allocation de quotas aux exportateurs inscrits en vertu des dispositions du projet de loi.

L’article 12 de la LLEIest modifié pour autoriser le gouverneur en conseil à prendre des règlements relativement aux autorisations d’exportation ainsi qu’aux certificats attestant l’origine des grumes (art. 115).

H.  Entrée en vigueur

Sauf quelques exceptions, les dispositions du projet de loi sont entrées en vigueur le 12 octobre 2006 (art. 126), avec effet rétroactif dans la plupart des cas.  Les lois rétroactives sont permises en droit canadien, sauf qu’une personne ne peut être déclarée coupable d’une infraction relative à des actes qui n’étaient pas considérés comme illégaux au moment où ils ont été commis.  L’alinéa 11g) de la Charte des droits et libertés interdit l’application rétroactive de lois qui créent des infractions.  Dans le cas du projet de loi C-24, une personne ne pourra être déclarée coupable d’une infraction aux dispositions du projet de loi en raison d’une action commise avant l’adoption de celui-ci.


*   Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur.  Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.

© Bibliothèque du Parlement