Legislative Summary
Bill C-48: An Act to amend the Criminal Code in order to implement the United Nations Convention against Corruption
Penny Becklumb, Law and Government Division
2007-04-25
Revised on: 2007-09-24
Publication No. 39-1-LS-554-E
PDF 94, (10 Pages) PDF

Table of Contents


Background

A.  Purpose of the Bill

Bill C-48, An Act to amend the Criminal Code in order to implement the United Nations Convention against Corruption, was introduced in the House of Commons and received first reading on 22 March 2007.  The bill makes technical amendments to the corruption and offence-related provisions of the Criminal Code(1) to allow Canada to ratify and implement the United Nations Convention against Corruption, which came into force in December 2005.

B.  Corruption

In general, corruption is understood to be the exploitation of a position of trust, typically in the public sector, in order to realize a private gain, which may or may not be financial.  Corruption can take many forms, including bribery, extortion, money laundering, influence peddling, nepotism, patronage and embezzlement.

The consequences of a corrupt regime on the people living under it can be enormous.  “It undermines morality, democracy and good governance; wastes and misallocates resources; harms competitiveness in the private sector; raises the cost of goods and services; slows economic growth; frustrates efforts to alleviate poverty; generates apathy and cynicism, and erodes respect for constituted authority; fosters organized crime and often results in violations of human rights.  Corruption also lessens the effectiveness of external aid in developing economies and weakens domestic support for foreign assistance.  The problem gains in significance in the current climate of economic globalization in which capital, information, people and enterprises are moving ever more freely and rapidly from place to place so that accountability becomes more difficult.”(2)

Specifically in relation to poverty, corruption “takes a toll on economic performance, undermines employment opportunities, and clouds prospects for poverty reduction.  Even petty corruption dramatically raises the cost of engaging in productive activities … . The burden of petty corruption falls disproportionately on poor people … .  For those without money and connections, petty corruption in public health or police services can have debilitating consequences.”(3)

By its nature, the degree to which corruption exists among a country’s public authorities, and the financial and human toll corruption exacts around the world is difficult to approximate.  Transparency International, a Berlin-based non-governmental organization, has reported that almost three-quarters of the 163 countries included in its 2006 annual survey face serious perceived levels of domestic corruption.  In nearly half of the total, corruption is perceived to be rampant.

This is consistent with earlier findings of the Gallup International Millennium Survey on world opinion, which interviewed 57,000 adults in 60 countries between August and October, 1999.  Interviewees were asked to choose words from a list of options to describe how they perceived their government; overwhelmingly, the two most common descriptors chosen were corrupt and bureaucratic. Only approximately one in ten citizens chose positive options such as just and efficient.

In light of the extreme and deleterious effect corruption has on human lives, as well as its prevalence in a majority of nations around the world, the United Nations embarked on an international initiative to establish a convention against corruption.

C.  The United Nations Convention against Corruption

In 1996, the G8 adopted its Recommendations to Combat Transnational Organized Crime.(4)  Among these recommendations, the G8 stated that “states should cooperate towards the successful negotiation of a United Nations Convention against Corruption” and that “states should adopt effective legislative and regulatory measures to combat corruption, establish standards of good governance, promote legitimate commercial and financial conduct, and develop cooperation mechanisms to curb corrupt practices.”

On 4 December 2000, the General Assembly of the United Nations resolved(5) that an effective international legal instrument against corruption was desirable.  An Ad Hoc Committee was established to negotiate the instrument(6) to “strengthen the existing capacity of countries to counter corruption and create that capacity for those countries which do not yet possess it.”(7)

The text of the Convention against Corruption was negotiated during seven sessions held between January 2002 and October 2003, before it was adopted by the General Assembly on 31 October 2003(8) and opened for signature by Member States. A high-level political signing conference held in Mérida, Mexico, from 9 to 11 December 2003 was attended by representatives of more than 120 governments.

After signing the Convention, Member States must bring their practices into line with the terms of the Convention and obtain national ratification.  By its own terms,(9) the Convention entered into force on 14 December 2005, 90 days after it was ratified by the 30th state.(10)  To date, there are 140 signatories to the Convention, 102 of whom have ratified it.(11)  Canada signed the Convention on 21 May 2004, and ratified it on 2 October 2007 following the coming-into-force of Bill C-48.

The UN Convention against Corruption has been described as “the most important international initiative against corruption in the world today.” (12)  As described in a UN Press Release,(13) highlights of the Convention include:

Prevention.  Corruption can be prosecuted after the fact, but, first and foremost, it requires prevention.  An entire chapter of the Convention is dedicated to prevention, with measures directed at both the public and private sectors.  These include model preventive policies, such as the establishment of anti-corruption bodies, and enhanced transparency in the financing of election campaigns and political parties.  States must endeavour to ensure that their public services are subject to safeguards that promote efficiency, transparency, and recruitment based on merit.  Once recruited, public servants should be subject to codes of conduct, requirements for financial and other disclosures, and appropriate disciplinary measures.  Transparency and accountability in matters of public finance must also be promoted, and specific requirements are established for the prevention of corruption, in the particularly critical areas of the public sector, such as the judiciary and public procurement.  Those, who use public services, must expect a high standard of conduct from their public servants.  Preventing public corruption also requires an effort from all members of society at large.  For these reasons, the Convention calls on countries to promote actively the involvement of non-governmental and community-based organizations, as well as other elements of civil society, and to raise public awareness of corruption and what can be done about it.
Criminalization.  The Convention requires countries to establish criminal and other offences to cover a wide range of acts of corruption, if these are not already crimes under domestic law.  In some cases, States are legally obliged to establish offences; in other cases, in order to take into account differences in domestic law, they are required to consider doing so.  The Convention goes beyond previous instruments of this kind, criminalizing not only basic forms of corruption such as bribery and the embezzlement of public funds, but also trading in influence and the concealment and “laundering” of the proceeds of corruption.  Offences committed in support of corruption, including money-laundering and obstructing justice, are also dealt with. Convention offences also deal with the problematic areas of private-sector corruption.
International cooperation.  Countries agreed to cooperate with one another in every aspect of the fight against corruption, including prevention, investigation, and the prosecution of offenders. Countries are bound by the Convention to render specific forms of mutual legal assistance in gathering and transferring evidence for use in court, to extradite offenders.  Countries are also required to undertake measures, which will support the tracing, freezing, seizure and confiscation of the proceeds of corruption.
Asset-recovery.  In a major breakthrough, countries agreed on asset-recovery, which is stated explicitly as “a fundamental principle of the Convention … .”  This is a particularly important issue for many developing countries, where high-level corruption has plundered the national wealth, and where resources are badly needed for reconstruction and the rehabilitation of societies under new governments.  Reaching agreement on this chapter has involved intensive negotiations, as the needs of countries seeking the illicit assets had to be reconciled with the legal and procedural safeguards of the countries whose assistance is sought.  Several provisions specify how cooperation and assistance will be rendered.  In particular, in the case of embezzlement of public funds, the confiscated property would be returned to the State requesting it; in the case of proceeds of any other offence covered by the Convention, the property would be returned providing the proof of ownership or recognition of the damage caused to a requesting State; in all other cases, priority consideration would be given to the return of confiscated property to the requesting State, to the return of such property to the prior legitimate owners, or to compensation of the victims.  Effective asset-recovery provisions will support the efforts of countries to redress the worst effects of corruption, while sending, at the same time, a message to corrupt officials that there will be no place to hide their illicit assets.

 

Description and Analysis

The bill makes the following changes to the Criminal Code in order for Canada to meet the requirements of the Convention against Corruption and become a party to it:

  • Various provisions(14) are amended to provide for the forfeiture of property used in the commission of an indictable offence under the Corruption of Foreign Public Officials Act(15) (clauses 1, 8-11).
  • The definition of “official”(16) used in relation to corruption offences under Part IV of the Criminal Code is amended, consistent with case law,(17) to make it clear that “official” includes a person elected to discharge a public duty, not only a person appointed (clause 2).
  • Existing corruption provisions(18) are amended to clarify the point that an act of corruption may be direct or indirect, and that it is not necessary that the person who commits the corrupt act receive the benefit derived from the act (clauses 3-7).

Housekeeping amendments are also made to several of the above sections to make them neutral with respect to gender.

The bill came into force when it received Royal Assent on 31 May 2007Canada subsequently ratified the Convention on 2 October 2007.

Commentary

Predictably, the introduction of Bill C-48 was not controversial. One might expect broad support for internationally endorsed measures aimed at curbing corrupt practices by public authorities. The following is an excerpt from the debates on Bill C-48 at second reading in the Senate:(19)

The United Nations Convention against Corruption is the first comprehensive and global anti-corruption treaty.  Canada has been a strong supporter of the convention since the beginning of the process.  We took an active and leading role during the preparatory stages and the negotiation of the treaty.  Since the convention was adopted by the UN General Assembly in October 2003, Canada has provided expertise and financial support to the UN secretariat and to other countries in order to encourage and assist them in ratifying and fully implementing the convention.

While the UN convention is the first comprehensive global instrument of its kind, Canada is already a state party to several regional and more specific treaties dealing with corruption.  Canada has been a party to the Inter-American Convention against Corruption, under the auspices of the Organization of American States, since June 2000.  We have also been a party to the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime, which deals with the transnational and organized crime aspects of corruption.  As well, we have been a party to the OECD Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions since 1998.

Since we ratified these international legal instruments, officials have been actively engaged in supporting them through monitoring activities and the delivery of assistance to other states parties that have requested it.

Canada’s ratification of the United Nations Convention against Corruption will be an important and logical extension of its international commitments in the global fight against corruption.


Endnotes

* Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both Houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.
  1. R.S.C. 1985, c. C-46.
  2. Jack Stilborn and Claude Emery, Corruption, prepared 12 January 2005 for the seminar of the U.K. branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, London, 23-29 January 2007, p. 1.
  3. The World Bank, World Development Report 2000/2001, Washington, D.C., 2000, p. 102.
  4. See also the Freedom, Security and Justice Web site.
  5. Resolution 55/61.
  6. The Ad Hoc Committee for the Negotiation of a Convention against Corruption was supported by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) in Vienna, Austria.
  7. United Nations, First Meeting to Discuss Draft International Convention against Corruption, News release UNIS/CP/402, 22 January 2002.
  8. Resolution 58/4.
  9. See article 68(1) of the Convention.
  10. See United Nations, Convention against Corruption ratified by 30th state, Will enter into force 14 December 2005, News release L/T/4389, 15 September 2005.  The first 30 ratifying states were, in alphabetical order:  Algeria, Belarus, Benin, Brazil, Croatia, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, France, Honduras, Hungary, Jordan, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mexico, Namibia, Nigeria, Paraguay, Peru, Romania, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Togo, Turkmenistan, Uganda, and the United Republic of Tanzania.
  11. Information current to April 2007.  For more current information, see the UN Web site.
  12. Department of Justice, Minister of Justice Announces Proposed Amendments to the Criminal Code to Allow Canada to Ratify and Implement the UN Convention Against Corruption, News release, Ottawa, 22 March 2007.
  13. United Nations, Consensus Reached on UN Convention against Corruption, News release SOC/CP/270, 2 October 2003.
  14. The definition of “offence-related property” in section 2, as well as sections 490.1, 490.2, 490.4 and 490.41.
  15. S.C. 1998, c. 34.
  16. Section 118.
  17. For example, see R. v. Sheets, [1971] S.C.R. 614.
  18. Sections 119-121, 123 and 426.
  19. Senate, Debates, 1st Session, 39th Parliament, 9 May 2007, p. 2319 (Senator Raynell Audreychuk).

 


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Projet de loi C-48 : Loi modifiant le Code criminel en vue de la mise en oeuvre de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption
Penny Becklumb, Division du droit et du gouvernement
Publication no 39-1-LS-554-F
PDF 99, (11 Pages) PDF
2007-04-25
Révisée le : 2007-09-24

Table des matières


Contexte

A. Objectif du projet de loi

Le projet de loi C-48 : Loi modifiant le Code criminel en vue de la mise en œuvre de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption a été déposé à la Chambre des communes et a franchi l’étape de la première lecture le 22 mars 2007. Le projet de loi apporte des modifications de nature technique aux dispositions du Code criminel(1) touchant les infractions de corruption et les biens infractionnels pour permettre au Canada de ratifier et de mettre en œuvre la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption, qui est entrée en vigueur en décembre 2005.

B. La corruption

En général, la corruption s’entend de l’exploitation d’une situation de confiance, généralement dans le secteur public, dans le but d’en tirer un avantage personnel, qui peut être financier ou non. La corruption peut revêtir différentes formes, notamment la subornation, l’extorsion, le blanchiment d’argent, le trafic d’influence, le népotisme, le favoritisme et le détournement de fonds.

Les conséquences d’un régime corrompu peuvent être énormes pour les personnes qui vivent sous son influence : « altération des valeurs morales, de la démocratie et de la bonne gouvernance; gaspillage et mauvaise utilisation des ressources; obstruction de la concurrence dans le secteur privé; hausse du prix des biens et des services; ralentissement de la croissance économique; entrave aux efforts d’allégement de la pauvreté; apathie et cynisme; manque de respect pour l’autorité constituée; encouragement au crime organisé; souvent, violations des droits de la personne. En outre, la corruption rend moins efficace l’aide reçue par les économies en voie de développement et elle affaiblit le soutien des populations nationales face à l’aide à l’étranger. Le problème s’aggrave dans l’actuel climat de mondialisation, où les capitaux, les renseignements, les personnes et les entreprises circulent de plus en plus librement et rapidement d’un endroit à l’autre, rendant la reddition des comptes plus difficile. »(2)

En ce qui concerne plus particulièrement la pauvreté, la corruption « nuit à la performance économique, réduit l’emploi et diminue les chances de réduction de la pauvreté. Même la petite corruption accroît considérablement les frais associés au fait d’entreprendre des activités productives […] La petite corruption affecte de façon disproportionnée les personnes à faible revenu […] Pour celles qui n’ont pas d’argent ni de relations, la petite corruption dans la santé publique ou les services policiers peut avoir des conséquences catastrophiques. »(3)

En raison de sa nature même, il est difficile d’évaluer même de manière approximative le niveau de corruption au sein des pouvoirs publics d’un pays, ainsi que les coûts humains et financiers de la corruption dans le monde. Transparency International, une organisation non gouvernementale dont le siège social est à Berlin, a signalé que près de trois quarts des 163 pays compris dans son enquête annuelle de 2006 présentaient des niveaux de corruption considérés élevés. Dans près de la moitié de ces pays, on estime que la corruption est endémique.

Ces résultats sont conformes aux conclusions antérieures du Gallup International Millennium Survey sur l’opinion mondiale, dans le cadre duquel 57 000 adultes de 60 pays ont été interrogés d’août à octobre 1999. On avait alors demandé à ces personnes de choisir des mots dans une liste pour décrire la manière dont ils voyaient leur gouvernement. Dans la très grande majorité des cas, les deux qualificatifs les plus courants étaient corrompu et bureaucratique. Seulement un citoyen sur dix environ a choisi des options positives comme juste et efficace.

Compte tenu des effets extrêmes et pernicieux de la corruption sur les vies humaines, et de sa présence dans la majorité des pays du monde, les Nations Unies ont lancé une initiative internationale en vue de l’élaboration d’une convention contre la corruption.

C. La Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption

En 1996, le G8 a adopté ses Recommandations sur la criminalité transnationale(4). Dans ces recommandations, le G8 soulignait que « [l]es États devraient coopérer à la négociation fructueuse d’une Convention des Nations Unies sur la corruption » et que « [l]es États devraient adopter des mesures législatives et réglementaires efficaces pour combattre la corruption, établir des normes de bonne gouvernance, promouvoir des comportements commerciaux et financiers légitimes, et développer des mécanismes de coopération afin de contenir les manœuvres frauduleuses ».

Le 4 décembre 2000, l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adopté une résolution(5) selon laquelle il serait souhaitable d’élaborer un instrument juridique international efficace contre la corruption. Un comité spécial a été créé pour négocier l’instrument(6) visant « à renforcer la capacité qu’ont les pays de lutter contre la corruption et à créer cette capacité dans les pays qui ne l’ont pas encore »(7).

Le texte de la Convention contre la corruption a fait l’objet de négociations pendant sept séances tenues de janvier 2002 à octobre 2003, puis il a été adopté par l’Assemblée générale le 31 octobre 2003(8) et a été ouvert à la signature par les États membres. Des représentants de plus de 120 gouvernements ont assisté à la conférence de signature de haut niveau tenue à Mérida, au Mexique, du 9 au 11 décembre 2003.

Après avoir signé la Convention, les États membres doivent rendre leurs pratiques conformes à ses conditions et la faire ratifier à l’échelle nationale. Conformément à ses propres termes(9), la Convention est entrée en vigueur le 14 décembre 2005, 90 jours après avoir été ratifiée par le 30e État(10). Jusqu’à maintenant, plus de 140 États l’ont signée et 102 d’entre eux l’ont ratifiée(11). Le Canada l’a signée le 21 mai 2004 et l’a ratifiée le 2 octobre 2007, après l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-48.

La Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption a été décrite comme « l’initiative internationale la plus importante pour lutter contre la corruption dans le monde »(12). Selon un communiqué de presse de l’ONU(13), les points saillants de la Convention incluent :

La prévention. La corruption peut faire l’objet de poursuites après coup, mais il faut d’abord et avant tout la prévenir. Un chapitre entier de la Convention porte sur la prévention. Il présente des mesures de prévention destinées aux secteurs public et privé. Ces mesures comprennent des politiques préventives modèles, comme la création d’organismes de lutte contre la corruption, ainsi qu’une transparence accrue en ce qui concerne le financement des campagnes électorales et des partis politiques. Les États doivent veiller à ce que leur fonction publique soit assujettie à des mesures de protection qui favorisent l’efficacité, la transparence et le recrutement fondé sur le mérite. Une fois recrutés, les fonctionnaires devraient être assujettis à des codes de conduite, à des exigences en matière de divulgation de renseignements financiers ou d’autre nature, et à des mesures disciplinaires appropriées. Il faut également faire la promotion de la transparence et de la responsabilité en matière de finances publiques, et fixer des exigences précises pour la prévention de la corruption dans les secteurs particulièrement critiques de la fonction publique (comme la magistrature et les achats gouvernementaux). Les personnes qui utilisent les services publics doivent s’attendre à ce que leurs fonctionnaires respectent des normes de conduite élevées. La prévention de la corruption exige aussi des efforts de la part de tous les membres de la société. Pour ces raisons, la Convention incite les pays à promouvoir activement la participation des organisations non gouvernementales et communautaires et celle d’autres intervenants de la société civile, et à sensibiliser le public à la corruption et à ce qui peut être fait pour la faire disparaître.
La criminalisation. La Convention contraint les pays à créer des infractions criminelles ou d’autres types d’infractions pour toute une gamme d’actes de corruption, si ces derniers ne sont pas déjà considérés comme des crimes par le droit interne. Dans certains cas, les États ont l’obligation légale de créer des infractions; dans d’autres cas, afin de tenir compte des différences d’ordre juridique d’un pays à l’autre, ils doivent envisager de le faire. La Convention va plus loin que les instruments de ce genre qui l’ont précédé en criminalisant non seulement les formes habituelles que prend la corruption, comme les pots-de-vin et le détournement de fonds publics, mais aussi le trafic d’influence et la dissimulation et le blanchiment des produits de la corruption. Elle traite aussi des infractions commises pour soutenir la corruption, dont le blanchiment d’argent et l’entrave à la justice ainsi que du problème de la corruption dans le secteur privé.
La coopération internationale. Les pays ont convenu de collaborer sur tous les plans de la lutte contre la corruption, y compris la prévention, les enquêtes et la poursuite des contrevenants. En vertu de la Convention, les pays doivent offrir des formes précises d’entraide juridique en vue de réunir et de transférer des éléments de preuve qui seront utilisés en cour pour extrader les contrevenants. Les pays sont aussi tenus de prendre des mesures pour favoriser le repérage, le gel, la saisie et la confiscation des produits de la corruption.
Le recouvrement des actifs. Lors d’une percée majeure, les pays se sont entendus sur le recouvrement des actifs, qui est explicitement décrit comme « un principe fondamental de la Convention […] ». Il s’agit d’une question particulièrement importante pour de nombreux pays en développement, où des dirigeants corrompus ont pillé la richesse nationale, et où des ressources sont plus que nécessaires pour la reconstruction et la réhabilitation des sociétés sous de nouveaux gouvernements. Il a fallu mener des négociations intensives sur cet aspect pour parvenir à une entente, parce qu’il fallait concilier les besoins des pays cherchant à recouvrer des éléments d’actif obtenus de manière illicite et les garanties juridiques et procédurales prévues dans les pays dont l’aide est requise. Plusieurs dispositions précisent la forme que prendront la coopération et l’aide. Dans le cas du détournement de fonds publics, par exemple, les biens confisqués doivent être retournés à l’État le requérant. Dans le cas des produits de toute autre infraction prévue à la Convention, les biens doivent être retournés à l’État le requérant, à la condition qu’il y ait une preuve de propriété ou une reconnaissance du tort causé à cet État. Dans tous les autres cas, la priorité sera accordée au retour des biens confisqués à l’État le requérant, au retour de ces biens aux propriétaires légitimes, ou à l’indemnisation des victimes. Des dispositions efficaces sur le recouvrement des actifs appuieront les efforts des divers pays pour corriger les pires effets de la corruption, tout en envoyant aux fonctionnaires corrompus le message qu’il n’y aura aucun endroit où ils pourront cacher leurs éléments d’actif acquis de manière illicite. [traduction]

 

Description et analyse

Le projet de loi apporte les modifications suivantes au Code criminel pour permettre au Canada de respecter les exigences de la Convention contre la corruption et de devenir partie à cette Convention :

  • Plusieurs dispositions(14) sont modifiées pour prévoir la confiscation des instruments ayant servi à commettre un acte criminel prévu par la Loi sur la corruption d’agents publics étrangers(15) (art. 1, 8 à 11).
  • La définition de « fonctionnaire »(16) qui s’applique aux infractions de corruption dans la partie IV du Code criminel est modifiée, conformément à la jurisprudence(17), afin de préciser que le terme « fonctionnaire » inclut une personne élue pour remplir une fonction publique, et non pas seulement une personne nommée (art. 2).
  • Les dispositions existantes sur la corruption(18) sont modifiées pour clarifier le fait qu’un acte de corruption peut être commis de manière directe ou indirecte, et qu’il n’est pas nécessaire que la personne qui commet l’acte de corruption en retire les avantages (art. 3 à 7).

 

Des modifications d’ordre administratif sont aussi apportées au libellé de la version anglaise de plusieurs des articles mentionnés ci-dessus pour le rendre plus neutre sur le plan du genre.

Le projet de loi est entré en vigueur dès qu’il a reçu la sanction royale, le 31 mai 2007.  Le Canada a ratifié la Convention ultérieurement, soit le 2 octobre 2007.

Commentaire

Comme on pouvait le prévoir, le dépôt du projet de loi C-48 n’a pas suscité de controverse. Il fallait s’attendre à ce qu’un peu tout le monde soit d’accord avec des mesures approuvées par la communauté internationale pour restreindre les pratiques corrompues des autorités publiques. Voici un extrait du débat de deuxième lecture sur le projet de loi au Sénat(19).

La Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption est le premier traité global et exhaustif contre la corruption. Le Canada est un ardent défenseur de la convention depuis le début.  Nous avons joué un rôle actif et prédominant pendant les étapes préparatoires et la négociation du traité. Depuis que la convention a été adoptée par l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies en octobre 2003, le Canada a offert des conseils et du soutien financier au Secrétariat de l'ONU et à d'autres pays afin de les encourager et de les aider à ratifier et à mettre pleinement en œuvre la convention.

Bien que la convention des Nations Unies soit le premier traité global et exhaustif sur cette question, le Canada est déjà partie à plusieurs traités régionaux et particuliers sur la corruption.  Le Canada est partie à la Convention interaméricaine contre la corruption, sous l’égide de l’Organisation des États américains, depuis juin 2000.  Nous sommes également partie à la Convention des Nations Unies sur la criminalité transnationale organisée, qui porte sur les aspects de la corruption liés à la criminalité transnationale organisée.  De plus, nous sommes partie à la Convention sur la lutte contre la corruption d’agents publics étrangers dans les transactions commerciales internationales de l’OCDE depuis 1998.

Depuis que nous avons ratifié ces instruments juridiques internationaux, nos représentants les appuient activement en participant à des activités de surveillance et en donnant de l’aide à d’autres États parties qui en ont fait la demande.

La ratification de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption par le Canada est un geste important qui est le prolongement logique de nos engagements internationaux dans la lutte mondiale contre la corruption.


Notes

* Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.
  1. L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-46.
  2. Jack Stilborn et Claude Emery, La corruption, produit le 12 janvier 2005 pour le séminaire de Londres de la section du Royaume-Uni de l’Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, Londres, 23 au 29 janvier 2007, p. 1.
  3. Banque mondiale, World Development Report 2000/2001, Washington (D.C.), 2000, p. 102 [traduction].
  4. Voir aussi le site Web de Liberté, Sécurité et Justice de la Commission européenne.
  5. Résolution 55/61.
  6. Le comité spécial pour la négociation de la Convention contre la corruption était soutenu par l’Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime (ONUDC) à Vienne, en Autriche.
  7. Nations Unies, First Meeting to Discuss Draft International Convention against Corruption, communiqué UNIS/CP/402, 22 janvier 2002 [traduction].
  8. Résolution 58/4.
  9. Voir le par. 68(1) de la Convention.
  10. Nations Unies, Convention Against Corruption Ratified by 30th State, Will Enter Into Force 14 December 2005, communiqué L/T/4389, 15 septembre 2005. Les 30 premiers pays à y adhérer étaient, en ordre alphabétique : l’Afrique du Sud, l’Algérie, le Belarus, le Bénin, le Brésil, la Croatie, le Djibouti, l’Équateur, l’Égypte, El Salvador, la France, le Honduras, la Hongrie, la Jordanie, le Kenya, la Libye, Madagascar, la Mauricie, le Mexique, la Namibie, le Nigeria, l’Ouganda, le Paraguay, le Pérou, la République-Unie de Tanzanie, la Roumanie, Sierra Leone, le Sri Lanka, le Togo et le Turkménistan.
  11. Information en date d’avril 2007. Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir le site Web de l’ONU.
  12. Ministère de la Justice, Le ministre de la Justice propose des modifications au Code criminel pour que le Canada soit en mesure de ratifier et de mettre en œuvre la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption, communiqué, Ottawa, 22 mars 2007.
  13. Nations Unies, Consensus Reached on UN Convention against Corruption, communiqué SOC/CP/270, 2 octobre 2003 [traduction].
  14. La définition de « bien infractionnel » à l’art. 2, de même que les art. 490.1, 490.2, 490.4 et 490.41.
  15. S.C. 1998, ch. 34.
  16. Article 118.
  17. Par exemple, voir l’affaire R. c. Sheets, [1971] R.C.S. 614.
  18. Articles 119 à 121, 123 et 426.
  19. Sénat, Débats, 1re session, 39e législature, 9 mai 2007, p. 2319 (sénatrice Raynell Andreychuk).

© Bibliothèque du Parlement