Legislative Summary
Bill C-61, An Act to amend the Geneva Conventions Act, An Act to incorporate the Canadian Red Cross Society and the Trade-marks Act
Sam N.K. Banks, Law and Government Division
Publication No. 39-1-LS-558-E
PDF 70, (4 Pages) PDF
2007-06-19

Table of Contents


Introduction

Bill C-61, An Act to amend the Geneva Conventions Act, An Act to incorporate the Canadian Red Cross Society and the Trade-marks Act, was introduced in the House of Commons by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Hon. Peter MacKay, on 8 June 2007.

By unanimous consent, on 13 June 2007 it was deemed to have been read a second time and referred to a Committee of the Whole, deemed considered in the Committee of the Whole, deemed reported without amendment, deemed concurred in at the report stage and deemed read a third time and passed.  It was passed in the Senate on 21 June 2007 and was given Royal Assent on 22 June 2007.

This bill amends the Geneva Conventions Act, the Trade-marks Act and An Act to incorporate the Canadian Red Cross Society in order to implement the Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949, and Relating to the Adoption of an Additional Distinctive Emblem (Protocol III) [“the Third Protocol”]. 

The Geneva Conventions are a series of international treaties and protocols that seek to limit the suffering caused by armed conflicts and to alleviate its effects.  Among its provisions are the recognition and protection of certain distinct emblems signifying humanitarian and medical aid:  the red cross, the red crescent, and the red lion and sun (although the red lion and sun emblem has not been used since 1980).

This Protocol establishes an additional distinct emblem alongside the current red cross and red crescent and sets out criteria for its use.  The Protocol also outlines the process for the Protocol’s ratification, accession and entry into force.

The distinctive emblem set out in the Third Protocol is a red frame in the shape of “a square on edge” (balanced on one point) on a white background, and is referred to in the Protocol as the “third Protocol emblem.”  It is commonly known as the “Red Crystal.”

The bill further amends An Act to incorporate the Canadian Red Cross Society to provide the same protection for the red crescent and red crystal emblems as it provides for the red cross emblem, and to add a short title to that Act.

Lastly, the bill amends the Trade-marks Act to ensure that the third Protocol emblem is given the same protection as that of the red cross, red crescent, and red lion and sun under that Act. 

Description and Analysis

  • Clauses 1, 2 and 3 of Bill C-61 amend the Geneva Conventions Act:

Clause 1 amends the Act to state that the Third Protocol, which is set out in Schedule VII of the Geneva Conventions Act, is approved.  This follows text in section 2 of that Act that approves the Geneva Conventions and its earlier Protocols; therefore, it updates the Act to reflect the approval of this latest Protocol.

Clause 2 of the bill includes the third Protocol emblem among the emblems referred to in Article 85, paragraph 3(f) of Schedule VI of the Geneva Conventions.  Schedule VI, among other things, protects specified emblems from misuse.  This amendment is, therefore, a measure to ensure that the third Protocol emblem is afforded the same protections as the red cross, red crescent, and red lion and sun emblems currently enjoy.

Clause 3 amends the Geneva Conventions Act by adding a new Schedule VII to that Act.  Schedule VII contains the Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949, and Relating to the Adoption of an Additional Distinctive Emblem (Protocol III). 

  • Clauses 4 and 5 amend An Act to incorporate the Canadian Red Cross Society:

Clause 4 replaces section 4 of the Act.  It updates some of the language used.  For example, it replaces the phrases “himself or itself” with “himself or herself” and “his or its” with “his or her.”   It also replaces the word “agent” of the Red Cross Society with “representative” of that Society. 

It further adds a provision prohibiting the unlawful use of the Red Crescent and Red Crystal (the third Protocol emblem) names, together with their emblems and badges and other word, device or thing likely to be mistaken for the red cross, red crescent or red crystal.  In the Act as it is currently written, only the red cross emblem is specifically safeguarded from unlawful use.  This amendment is to ensure that the red crescent and third Protocol emblems are given the same protection against unlawful use as the red cross emblem.

The penalty provision for the unlawful use of these emblems is amended to include all emblems as noted above.  An exception to this penalty section is included, stating that it does not make unlawful the use of any of the emblems, badges, words or things likely to be mistaken for them that was carried out lawfully before the coming into force of this subsection.

Clause 5 adds a new section to the Act.  New section 10 adds a short title, the Canadian Red Cross Society Act, to the Act. 

  • Clause 6 amends the Trade-marks Act:

Clause 6 amends section 9(1) of the Trade-marks Act by adding the third Protocol emblem to those marks whose unauthorized use is prohibited.  This gives the third Protocol emblem the same protection as that afforded to the red cross, red crescent, and red lion and sun under the Act. 

  • Coming into force information:

The provisions of this bill come into force on a day or days to be fixed by order of the Governor in Council, as set out in clause 7. 

Commentary

The Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949, and Relating to the Adoption of an Additional Distinctive Emblem (Protocol III) was adopted by the High Contracting Parties on 8 December 2005.  It establishes the red crystal as an additional distinctive emblem for the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement (“the Movement”).  The Movement is “the world’s largest humanitarian network, with a presence and activities in almost every country.

The Movement incorporates the Geneva-based International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) and the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (the International Federation), as well as National Societies in 178 countries.”(1)

The aim of the Third Protocol is to allow the Movement to be more universal and effective in its response to crises worldwide.  The Protocol seeks to enhance the protection for humanitarian workers who provide assistance to people affected by conflicts and natural disasters.  The Protocol entered into force on 14 January 2007. 

The red crystal emblem and the Third Protocol establishing it are the result of almost 50 years of negotiations.  The red crystal is intended as an additional emblem for the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, free of national, cultural, religious, political or ethnic connotation.(2)  It also intended to provide a basis for the Magen David Adom (the Israeli national aid society) and the Palestinian Red Crescent Society to join the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement as full members.

Canada signed the Third Protocol on 19 June 2006 and is currently pursuing efforts to ratify it.  In order to do this, Canada was obliged to amend certain legislation to provide the same level of protection for the red crystal emblem as has the red cross emblem in Canada, as well as the red crescent emblem. 


Endnotes

* Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both Houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.
  1. International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement (IFRC) website.
  2. For a brief review of the emblem’s history and the debate on its creation, see IFRC website.

 


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Projet de loi C-61 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur les conventions de Genève, la Loi constituant en corporation la Canadian Red Cross Society et la Loi sur les marques de commerce
Sam N.K. Banks, Division du droit et du gouvernement
2007-06-19
Publication no 39-1-LS-558-F
PDF 71, (4 Pages) PDF

Historique du projet de loi


Introduction

Le projet de loi C‑61, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les Conventions de Genève, la Loi constituant en corporation la Canadian Red Cross Society et la Loi sur les marques de commerce a été déposé à la Chambre des communes par le ministre des Affaires étrangères, l’honorable Peter MacKay, le 8 juin 2007.

Le 13 juin, par consentement unanime, on a considéré que le projet de loi avait passé la deuxième lecture et il a été renvoyé à un comité plénier; il a été réputé examiné par le comité, réputé ayant fait l’objet d’un rapport sans amendement, réputé avoir passé à l’étape du rapport et réputé lu une troisième fois et adopté.  Il a été adopté au Sénat le 21 juin 2007 et a reçu la sanction royale le lendemain.

Ce projet de loi modifie la Loi sur les Conventions de Genève, la Loi sur les marques de commerce et la Loi constituant en corporation la Canadian Red Cross Society afin de mettre en œuvre le protocole additionnel aux Conventions de Genève du 12 août 1949, relatif à l’adoption d’un signe distinctif additionnel (Protocole III) [« le troisième Protocole »].

Les Conventions de Genève constituent une série de traités et de protocoles internationaux qui visent à limiter la souffrance causée par les conflits armés et à en atténuer les effets.  Parmi leurs dispositions figure la reconnaissance et la protection d’emblèmes distinctifs de l’aide humanitaire et médicale : la croix rouge, le croissant rouge, et le lion rouge et le soleil (ce dernier emblème n’ayant pas été utilisé depuis 1980).

Ce protocole ajoute un emblème distinct à la croix rouge et au croissant rouge actuels et formule les critères de son utilisation.  Il énonce également la procédure de sa ratification, de son mode d’accès et de son entrée en vigueur.

L’emblème distinctif du troisième Protocole est un carré rouge posé sur une pointe, sur fond blanc; il est qualifié d’emblème du troisième Protocole et désigné couramment sous le nom de cristal rouge.

Le projet de loi modifie la Loi constituant en corporation la Canadian Red Cross Society, afin qu’elle accorde la même protection au croissant rouge et au cristal rouge qu’à la croix rouge, et pour y ajouter un titre abrégé.

Enfin, la Loi sur les marques de commerce est modifiée de façon à accorder à l’emblème du troisième Protocole la même protection qu’à la croix rouge, au croissant rouge, et au lion rouge et au soleil.

Description et analyse

  • Les articles 1, 2 et 3 du projet de loi C‑61 modifient la Loi sur les Conventions de Genève :

L’article premier du projet de loi ajoute à l’article 2 de la Loi, qui approuve les Conventions de Genève et leurs protocoles antérieurs, que le troisième Protocole, qui constitue l’annexe 7 de la Loi, est approuvé.  Il met donc à jour la Loi pour tenir compte de l’adoption du dernier protocole.

L’article 2 du projet de loi ajoute l’emblème du troisième Protocole à ceux visés par l’alinéa 3(f) de l’article 85 de l’annexe 6 des Conventions de Genève.  L’annexe 6 protège notamment les emblèmes visés du mauvais usage.  Cet amendement est destiné à accorder à l’emblème du troisième Protocole la protection dont jouissent déjà la croix rouge, le croissant rouge ainsi que le lion rouge et le soleil.

L’article 3 du projet de loi ajoute à la Loi sur les Conventions de Genève la nouvelle annexe 7 qui contient le protocole additionnel aux Conventions de Genève du 12 août 1949 relatif à l’adoption d’un emblème distinctif additionnel (Protocole III).

  • Les articles 4 et 5 modifient la Loi constituant en corporation la Canadian Red Cross Society :

Le nouvel article 4 du projet de loi met à jour le libellé de l’ancien article 4.  Ainsi, dans la version anglaise, il remplace « himself or itself » par « himself or herself » et « his or its » par « his or her ».  Il remplace également le terme « agent » de la Société de la Croix-Rouge par « mandataire ou représentant » de la Société.

Il ajoute également l’interdiction de l’usage frauduleux de la croix rouge et du cristal rouge (emblème du troisième Protocole), de leur nom et d’autres mots, marques, dispositifs ou choses susceptibles d’être confondus avec la croix rouge, le croissant rouge ou le cristal rouge.  Dans le libellé actuel de l’article, seul la croix rouge était protégé spécifiquement de l’usage frauduleux.  Le changement fait en sorte que le croissant rouge et l’emblème du troisième Protocole reçoivent la même protection contre l’usage frauduleux que la croix rouge.

Les peines qui frappent l’usage frauduleux des emblèmes sont modifiées pour inclure tous les emblèmes susmentionnés.  Une exception est ajoutée à la disposition sur la peine : elle stipule que faire usage d’un des emblèmes, badges, mots ou choses susceptibles d’être confondus n’est pas illégal si l’usage a eu lieu avant l’entrée en vigueur de ce paragraphe.

L’article 5 du projet de loi ajoute à la Loi un nouvel article 10 qui en énonce le titre abrégé : Loi sur la société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge.  Le titre français « Croix-Rouge » remplace donc « Red Cross » dans le texte français.

  • L’article 6 du projet de loi modifie la Loi sur les marques de commerce :

Il ajoute au paragraphe 9(1) de la Loi l’emblème du troisième Protocole aux marques de commerce dont l’usage non autorisé est interdit.  Cela étend à l’emblème du troisième Protocole la protection accordée à la croix rouge, au croissant rouge ainsi qu’au lion rouge et au soleil.

  • Entrée en vigueur :

Les dispositions du projet de loi entrent en vigueur le jour ou les jours fixés par décret du gouverneur en conseil, comme précisé à l’article 7 du projet de loi.

Commentaire

Le protocole additionnel aux Conventions de Genève du 12 août 1949 relatif à l’adoption d’un emblème distinctif additionnel (Protocole III) a été adopté par les Hautes Parties contractantes le 8 décembre 2005.  Il fait du cristal rouge un emblème distinctif additionnel du Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant rouge (« le Mouvement »).

« Le Mouvement est le réseau humanitaire le plus grand du monde, représenté et actif dans presque tous les pays.  Il est composé du Comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR), basé à Genève, de la Fédération internationale de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (la Fédération internationale) et des Sociétés Nationales présentes dans 178 pays »(1).

Le troisième Protocole vise à rendre le mouvement plus universel et plus effectif dans sa réponse aux crises dans le monde.  Il cherche à accroître la protection des travailleurs humanitaires qui fournissent du secours aux victimes de conflits et de désastres naturels.  Le protocole est entré en vigueur le 14 janvier 2007.

L’emblème du cristal rouge et le troisième Protocole qui l’établit résultent de près de 50 ans de négociations.  Le cristal rouge est un emblème additionnel pour le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, à l’abri de toute connotation nationale, culturelle, religieuse, politique ou ethnique(2).  Il devrait également permettre au Magen David Adom (la société nationale de secours israélienne) et à la Société palestinienne du Croissant-Rouge d’intégrer le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge comme membres à part entière.

Le Canada a signé le troisième Protocole le 19 juin 2006, et poursuit actuellement les démarches en vue de sa ratification.  À cette fin, il est tenu de modifier certaines de ses lois pour accorder la même protection au cristal rouge qu’à la croix rouge au Canada, ainsi qu’au croissant rouge.


Notes

Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.
  1. Site Web du Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (CICR).
  2. Pour un bref aperçu de l’histoire de l’emblème et du débat entourant sa création, voir le site Web du CICR.

 


© Bibliothèque du Parlement