Legislative Summary
Bill C-55: An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act (expanded voting opportunities) and to make a consequential amendment to the Referendum Act
Michel Bédard, Law and Government Division
2007-07-25
Publication No. 39-1-LS-560-E
PDF 73, (9 Pages) PDF

Table of Contents


Background

Bill C-55: An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act (expanded voting opportunities) and to make a consequential amendment to the Referendum Act, was introduced in the House of Commons by the Hon. Peter Van Loan, PC, MP, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Minister for Democratic Reform, and received first reading on 9 May 2007.

Bill C-55 makes various amendments to the Canada Elections Act(1) (“the Act”) and one consequential change to the Referendum Act.(2)  It increases from three to five the number of advance polling days and increases the number of polling stations open on the last day of advance polling.

As its title suggests, the objective of Bill C-55 is to increase voter participation.(3)  It builds upon the increasing use of advance polling by Canadian voters.  Since 1997, the percentage of voters who cast their vote in advance polls increased from 5.4% in 1997 to 6% in 2000, 9.2% in 2004 and 10.5% in 2006.(4)  Bill C-55 is based on the premise that additional advance polling days will increase voter turnout, which has been declining since 1988 (see Table 1).  During his appearance before the Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs, the sponsor of the bill enumerated a number of studies on which Bill C-55 is premised.

Table 1
Canadian Voter Turnout for Recent Federal Elections
Date of the Election
Voter Turnout (%)
21 November 1988
75.3
25 October 1993
69.7
2 June 1992
67.0
27 November 2000
64.1
28 June 2004
60.9
23 January 2006
64.7

Source:  Elections Canada.(5)

 

Description and Analysis

Bill C-55 adds two advance polling days to those already provided for under the Act:  the Sunday that is the 8th day before polling day, and the Sunday just before polling day.  As a result there will be four consecutive advance polling days on the 10th, 9th, 8th, and 7th days before polling day – Friday to Monday the week before the election – as well as a special advance polling day on the Sunday just before polling day.  All polling stations that are to be open on polling day will also be open on the last day of advance polling.

A.  Holding of Advance Polls (Clauses 1, 5 and 6)

Sections 171 and 172 of the Act, which provide rules on the conduct of advance polls and with regard to the notice of advance polling, will be replaced by new sections 167.1 and 167.2 (Clauses 5 and 6).(6)  These two provisions substantially mirror former sections 171 and 172, but are placed at the beginning of Part 10, Advance Polling, since they provide general rules that apply to the first four days of advance polling and to the last day of advance polling, which are treated distinctively under the Act.(7)  New sections 167.1 and 167.2 differ slightly from former sections 171 and 172 in that they refer to the two new additional advance polling days.  The notice of advance poll has also been slightly modified to inform electors of polling divisions for the first four days of advance polling and of the polling divisions open for the last day of advance polling (section 167.2).

B.  First Four Days of Advance Polling (Clauses 5 and 7)

Sections 168 to 176 will now be preceded by the heading “First Four Days of Advance Polling” since the rules they provide for apply only to the first four days of advance polling (Clause 5).

Consequential amendments are made to sections 175(1) (examining and sealing ballot box), 175(2) (close of advance poll), 175(4) (reopening of advance poll) and 175(6) (candidates may check seals on ballot boxes) to specify that the rules they provide for pertain exclusively to the first four days of advance polling (Clause 7). (8)

C.  Last Day of Advance Polling (Clauses 4 and 8)

Clause 8 brings in an entire new subpart to Part 10, Advance Polling, entitled “Last Day of Advance Polling” and adds sections 176.1 to 176.6 to the Act.  New section 176.1 provides that all polling stations open on polling day will also be open on the last day of advance polling.  These polling stations will be open from noon to 8:00 p.m. (see section 176.6).  Sections 176.2 to 176.6 repeat the substance, with the necessary adaptations, of the rules that already apply to the first four days of advance polling in respect of:

  • registration at an advance polling station (section 176.2, see section 169);
  • the list of electors being deemed modified when a registration certificate is issued (section 176.3, see section 170);
  • who may vote at advance polls (section 176.4, see section 173);
  • duties of the deputy returning officer (section 176.5, see section 174);
  • examination and sealing of ballot boxes (section 176.6, see section 175).

However, these provisions are adapted to take into account that when the polling stations on the last advance polling day are reopened, they will be reopened as polling stations on polling day.  Clause 4 makes consequential changes to section 140 resulting from the fact that ballot boxes used on polling day will have been used on the last day of advance polling.

D.  Poll Workers (Clause 2)

Clause 2 amends sections 32(b) and (c) of the Act in respect of poll workers appointed to advance polling stations.  Amended section 32 provides for the appointment, by the Returning officer, of a set of poll workers for each advance polling station for the first four advance polling days and of another set of poll workers for the last day of advance polling and polling day.

E.  Official List of Electors (Clauses 3 and 8)

Prior to Bill C-55, the official list of electors for each polling division had to be prepared on the 3rd day before polling day.  Amended section 106 changes this timeline by providing that the list shall be prepared as soon as possible after the 7th day before polling day (just after the first four advance polling days) and no later than the 3rd day before polling day (Clause 3).  The official list of electors is used on the last advance polling day and on polling day (Clause 8, section 176.2).

F.  Counting of Votes on Polling Day (Clause 9)

Clause 9 amends section 289(1) of the Act by replacing the reference to section 172(a)(iii), which is repealed by Clause 6, with a reference to new section 167.2(a)(iv), which is added by Clause 5, with regard to the place where the votes cast on advance polling days are counted.

G.  Offences (Clauses 10 and 12)

Clause 10 adds sections 490(d), (e) and (f) to the Act, creating three new offences that replicate, for the last advance polling day, the offences pertaining to the first four advance polling days with regard to a deputy returning officer’s failure to permit a person to vote (section 176.5(1)), failure to record a vote (section 176.5(2)) or improper handling of ballot boxes with the intention of causing the reception of a vote that should not have been cast or the non-reception of vote that should have been cast (section 176.6).  In addition, Clause 12(8) adds sections 489(f) and (g), instituting, for the last day of advance polling, offences already provided for the first four days of advance polling for every person who vouches for more than one elector or who, being a “vouchee,” acts as a voucher (sections 176.2(5) and (6)).(9)

H.  Consequential Amendment to the Referendum Act (Clause 11)

Clause 11 replaces the reference to section 171 in Schedule II of the Referendum Act by a reference to section 167.1.  Schedule II lists, in accordance with subsection 7(2) of the Referendum Act, the provisions of the Act that do not apply to a referendum.  This consequential amendment results from the amendments on the conduct of advance polls (Clauses 5 and 6, discussed above).

I.  Coordinating Amendments and Coming Into Force (Clauses 12 and 13)

Clause 12 provides for coordinating amendments ensuring that the proposed changes to the Act intended by Bills C-31 and C-55 are reflected in the Act regardless of which bill receives Royal Assent first.  Clause 12 applies only if Bill C-31:  An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and the Public Service Employment Act, receives Royal Assent and comes into force before Bill C-55.

After Bill C-55 was introduced in the House of Commons, Bill C-31 received Royal Assent on 22 June 2007.  Its provisions have or will come into force in stages.  All but one of the sections for which there is a coordinating amendment provided for in Clause 12 will come into force two months after Royal Assent(10) and will be already in force when the House of Commons resumes debates on Bill C-55, as expected, in the fall of 2007.  Section 162(i.2), however, which imposes on a poll clerk the duty to give each candidate’s representative the identity of every individual who voted after the close of advance polling stations, comes into force at the latest of the following dates:  six months after Bill C-31 received Royal Assent; or the date on which the Chief Electoral Officer publishes a notice in the Canada Gazette to the effect that all the necessary preparations to bring this provision into operation have been made.  In theory, section 162(i.2) could thus come into force after the provisions of Bill C-55 come into force.  Should this happen, section 176.6(5) stipulates that poll clerks shall provide the identity of electors who voted at the close of advance polling stations (Clause 8).  Section 176.6(5) will be repealed on the coming into force of section 162(i.2) (Clause 12(2)).

The other provisions of Bill C-55 come into force three months after the bill receives Royal Assent, unless the Chief Electoral Officer publishes in the Canada Gazette a notice to the effect that the necessary preparations for the bringing into operation of the bill have been completed, in which case they come into force on the day said notice is published (Clause 13).

Commentary

Bill C-55 has received little media attention since its introduction in the House of Commons.  Most of its coverage merely restates the intent of the bill and paraphrases its main provisions.  An editorial comment from The Globe and Mail refers to it as being unexpected and calls for the Members of Parliament to pay rigorous attention to its 13 clauses and to endorse the bill unless they find that it contains significant flaws.(11)


*   Notice:  For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force.  It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both Houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.

Endnotes

  1. Canada Elections Act, S.C. 2000, c. 9.
  2. Referendum Act, S.C. 1992, c. 30.
  3. Office of the Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Minister for Democratic Reform, Canada’s New Government Introduces the Expanded Voting Opportunities Bill, News release, Ottawa, 9 May 2007.
  4. Elections Canada, The Electoral System of Canada, 2nd ed., Ottawa, 2007, p. 31.
  5. Elections Canada, The Electoral System of Canada, p. 57.
  6. This amendment entails a consequential amendment to the definition of “spoiled” in section 2(1) of the Act (Clause 1).
  7. The definition of “advance polling station” in section 2(1) is also amended and refers generally to Part 10, Advance Polling, in order to include the advance polling stations for the first four days of advance polling as well as the advance polling stations for the last day of advance polling (Clause 1).
  8. The French versions of sections 175(1), (2) and (4) are also amended to be consistent with the English versions and thus reflect that the candidate or his or her representative may be at the polling station (Clause 7).
  9. The “voucher” is an elector whose name is on the list of electors for the same polling division of the “vouchee.”  The voucher asserts under the oath the identity of the vouchee.
  10. An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and the Public Service Employment Act, S.C. 2007, c. 21, section 42.
  11. The Globe and Mail, 14 May 2007, p. A16.

 


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Projet de loi C-55 : Loi modifiant la Loi électorale du Canada (possibilités de vote accrues) et la Loi référendaire en conséquence
Michel Bédard, Division du droit et du gouvernement
Publication no 39-1-LS-560-F
PDF 79, (10 Pages) PDF
2007-07-25

Table des matières


Contexte

Le projet de loi C-55 : Loi modifiant la Loi électorale du Canada (possibilités de vote accrues) et la Loi référendaire en conséquence, a été déposé à la Chambre des communes par l’honorable Peter Van Loan, C.P., député, leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes et ministre de la Réforme démocratique, et a franchi l’étape de la première lecture le 9 mai 2007.

Le projet de loi apporte diverses modifications à la Loi électorale du Canada(1) (LEC) et modifie la Loi référendaire(2) en conséquence.  Il fait passer de trois à cinq le nombre de jours de vote par anticipation et augmente le nombre de bureaux de vote par anticipation ouverts le dernier jour du vote par anticipation.

Comme le titre l’indique, le projet de loi a pour objectif d’accroître la participation électorale(3) en ayant davantage recours au vote par anticipation.  Le pourcentage des électeurs qui votent par anticipation est passé de 5,4 p. 100 en 1997 à 6 p. 100 en 2000, à 9,2 p. 100 en 2004 et à 10,5 p. 100 en 2006(4).  Le projet de loi part de l’hypothèse qu’un accroissement du nombre de jours de vote par anticipation fera augmenter la participation des électeurs, qui est en diminution depuis 1988 (voir le tableau 1).  Lors de sa comparution devant le Comité permanent de la procédure et des affaires de la Chambre, le parrain du projet de loi a énuméré un certain nombre d’études sur lesquelles le projet de loi  repose.

Tableau 1
Participation électorale aux récents scrutins fédéraux
Date du scrutin
Participation (%)
21 novembre 1988
75,3
25 octobre 1993
69,7
2 juin 1992
67,0
27 novembre 2000
64,1
28 juin 2004
60,9
23 janvier 2006
64,7

Source : Élections Canada(5).

 

Description et analyse

Le projet de loi C‑55 ajoute deux jours de vote par anticipation à ceux déjà prévus dans la LEC : le dimanche qui tombe le huitième jour avant le jour du scrutin, et le dimanche qui tombe la veille du jour du scrutin.  Il s’ensuit qu’il y aura quatre jours consécutifs de vote par anticipation, soit les dixième, neuvième, huitième et septième jours précédant le jour du scrutin – autrement dit du vendredi au lundi de la semaine qui précède l’élection – ainsi qu’une journée spéciale de vote par anticipation la veille du jour du scrutin, cette veille étant un dimanche.  Tous les bureaux de vote ouverts le jour du scrutin le seront également la dernière journée du vote par anticipation.

A.  Tenue du vote par anticipation (art. 1, 5 et 6)

Les articles 171 et 172 de la LEC, qui énoncent les règles régissant la tenue du vote par anticipation et l’avis du vote par anticipation, seront remplacés par les nouveaux articles 167.1 et 167.2 (art. 5 et 6)(6).  Ces deux dispositions correspondent pour l’essentiel aux anciens articles 171 et 172, mais sont placées au début de la partie 10, Vote par anticipation, étant donné qu’elles contiennent des règles générales qui s’appliquent aux quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation et au dernier jour du vote par anticipation, qui sont traités d’une manière distincte dans la LEC(7).  Les nouveaux articles 167.1 et 167.2 de la LEC diffèrent légèrement des anciens articles 171 et 172 en ce sens qu’ils renvoient aux deux jours supplémentaires de vote par anticipation.  L’avis du vote par anticipation a également été légèrement modifié pour informer les électeurs des sections de vote pour les quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation et des sections de vote ouvertes pour le dernier jour du vote par anticipation (art. 167.2).

B.  Quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation (art. 5 et 7)

Les articles 168 à 176 de la LEC seront désormais précédés de l’en-tête « quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation » étant donné que les règles qui y sont énoncées s’appliquent seulement aux quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation (art. 5).

Des modifications corrélatives sont apportées aux paragraphes 175(1) (examen de l’urne et apposition des sceaux), 175(2) (mesures à prendre à la fermeture), 175(4) (réouverture du bureau de vote par anticipation) et 175(6) (vérification du numéro de série du sceau de l’urne) pour préciser que les règles qu’ils énoncent s’appliquent exclusivement aux quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation (art. 7)(8).

C.  Dernier jour du vote par anticipation (art. 4 et 8)

L’article 8 ajoute une sous-partie à la partie 10, Vote par anticipation, intitulée « dernier jour du vote par anticipation » et ajoute les articles 176.1 à 176.6 à la LEC.  Le nouvel article 176.1 prévoit que tous les bureaux de vote ouverts le jour du scrutin seront également ouverts le dernier jour du vote par anticipation.  Ces bureaux de vote seront ouverts de 12 h à 20 h (voir l’art. 176.6).  Les articles 176.2 à 176.6 répètent essentiellement, avec les adaptations nécessaires, les règles qui s’appliquent déjà aux quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation à l’égard de ce qui suit :

  • l’inscription au bureau de vote par anticipation (art. 176.2, voir l’art. 169);
  • la présomption de modification de la liste électorale quand un certificat d’inscription est délivré (art. 176.3, voir l’art. 170);
  • les électeurs autorisés à voter (art. 176.4, voir l’art. 173);
  • l’obligation du scrutateur (art. 176.5, voir l’art. 174);
  • l’examen de l’urne et l’apposition des sceaux (art. 176.6, voir l’art. 175).

Ces dispositions sont toutefois adaptées pour tenir compte du fait que les bureaux de scrutin qui seront rouverts le dernier jour du vote par anticipation le seront également le jour du scrutin.  L’article 4 apporte une modification corrélative à l’article 140 pour tenir compte du fait que les urnes utilisées le jour du scrutin auront servi le dernier jour du vote par anticipation.

D.  Équipe de scrutin (art. 2)

L’article 2 modifie les alinéas 32b) et c) de la LEC relativement aux équipes de scrutin affectées aux bureaux de vote par anticipation.  L’article 32 modifié prévoit la nomination, par le directeur du scrutin, d’une équipe pour chaque bureau de vote par anticipation pour les quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation et d’une autre équipe pour le dernier jour du vote par anticipation et le jour du scrutin.

E.  Liste électorale officielle (art. 3 et 8)

Avant le projet de loi C‑55, la liste électorale officielle de chaque section de vote devait être dressée le troisième jour précédant le jour du scrutin.  L’article 106 modifié dispose plutôt que la liste doit être dressée le plus tôt possible après le septième jour précédant le jour du scrutin (soit immédiatement après les quatre premiers jours du vote anticipé) et au plus tard le troisième jour précédant le jour du scrutin (art. 3).  La liste électorale officielle est utilisée le dernier jour du vote anticipé et le jour du scrutin (art. 8 du projet de loi, art. 176.2 de la LEC).

F.  Dépouillement le jour du scrutin (art. 9)

L’article 9 modifie le paragraphe 289(1) de la LECen remplaçant le renvoi au sous-alinéa 172a)(iii), qui est abrogé par l’article 6, par un renvoi au nouveau sous-alinéa 167.2a)(iv), qui est ajouté par l’article 5, relativement à l’endroit où sont dépouillés les votes reçus lors du vote par anticipation.

G.  Infractions (art. 10 et 12)

L’article 10 ajoute les alinéas 490d), e) et f) à la LEC, créant ainsi trois nouvelles infractions qui correspondent, pour le dernier jour du vote par anticipation, aux infractions relatives aux quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation en ce qui a trait à un scrutateur qui empêche un électeur de voter (par. 176.5(1)), qui ne tient pas un registre du vote (par. 176.5(2)), ou qui ne prend pas les mesures requises concernant les bulletins de vote dans le but de faire recevoir un vote qui ne devrait pas l’être ou d’empêcher de recevoir un vote qui devrait l’être (art. 176.6).  De plus, le paragraphe 12(8) ajoute les alinéas 489f) et g) et crée, pour le dernier jour du vote par anticipation, des infractions déjà prévues pour les quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation dans le cas d’une personne qui répond de plus d’un électeur ou qui agit à titre de répondant alors qu’un autre électeur s’est porté répondant pour elle (par. 176.2(5) et (6))(9).

H.  Modifications corrélatives à la Loi référendaire (art. 11)

L’article 11 remplace le renvoi à l’article 171 de la Loi contenu à l’annexe II de la Loi référendaire par un renvoi à l’article 167.1.  L’annexe II énumère, conformément au paragraphe 7(2) de la Loi référendaire, les dispositions de la LECqui ne s’appliquent pas à un référendum.  Cette modification corrélative résulte des modifications apportées à la tenue du vote par anticipation (art. 5 et 6 abordés ci‑dessus).

I.  Dispositions de coordination et entrée en vigueur (art. 12 et 13)

L’article 12 prévoit des dispositions de coordination faisant en sorte que les modifications envisagées à la LEC dans les projets de loi C‑31 et C‑55 sont reflétées dans la LECpeu importe quel projet de loi reçoit la sanction royale en premier.  L’article 12 s’applique seulement si le projet de loi C‑31 : Loi modifiant la Loi électorale du Canada et la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique, reçoit la sanction royale et entre en vigueur avant le projet de loi C‑55.

Après que le projet de loi C‑55 a été déposé à la Chambre des communes, le projet de loi C‑31 a reçu la sanction royale le 22 juin 2007.  Ses dispositions sont entrées ou entreront en vigueur par étapes.  À une exception, tous les articles pour lesquels il existe une disposition de coordination prévue à l’article 12 entreront en vigueur deux mois après la sanction royale(10) et seront déjà en vigueur quand la Chambre des communes reprendra le débat du projet de loi C‑55, comme prévu, à l’automne 2007.  Le sous-alinéa 162i.2), qui oblige le greffier du scrutin à fournir au représentant de chaque candidat l’identité des électeurs ayant exercé leur droit de vote après la fermeture des bureaux de vote par anticipation, entre toutefois en vigueur à la dernière des dates suivantes : six mois après que le projet de loi C‑31 a reçu la sanction royale ou le jour où le directeur général des élections publie un avis dans la Gazette du Canada selon lequel toutes les démarches nécessaires pour mettre cette disposition en application ont été effectuées.  En théorie, le sous-alinéa 162i.2) pourrait donc entrer en vigueur après que les dispositions du projet de loi C‑55 entreront en vigueur.  Dans cette éventualité, le paragraphe 176.6(5) dispose que les greffiers du scrutin fourniront l’identité des électeurs qui ont exercé leur droit de vote à la fermeture des bureaux de vote par anticipation (art. 8).  Le paragraphe 176.6(5) sera abrogé à l’entrée en vigueur du sous-alinéa 162i.2) (par. 12(2)).

Les autres dispositions du projet de loi C-55 entreront en vigueur trois mois après que le projet de loi aura reçu la sanction royale à moins que le directeur général des élections ne publie dans la Gazette du Canada un avis portant que les préparatifs nécessaires à la mise en application du projet de loi ont été faits et qu’en conséquence les autres dispositions peuvent entrer en vigueur le jour de la publication de l’avis (art. 13).

Commentaire

Le projet de loi C‑55 a reçu peu d’attention médiatique depuis sa présentation à la Chambre des communes.  La plupart des reportages répètent simplement l’intention du projet de loi et en paraphrasent les principales dispositions.  Un éditorial du Globe and Mail le qualifie d’imprévu et invite les députés à porter une attention rigoureuse à ses 13 articles et à souscrire au projet de loi à moins qu’ils n’y découvrent des lacunes importantes(11).


*   Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur.  Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.

Notes

  1. Loi électorale du Canada, L.C. 2000, ch. 9.
  2. Loi référendaire, L.C. 1992, ch. 30.
  3. Bureau du leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes et ministre de la Réforme démocratique, Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada dépose le projet de loi sur les possibilités de vote accrues, communiqué, Ottawa, 9 mai 2007.
  4. Élections Canada, Le système électoral du Canada, 2e éd., Ottawa, 2007, p. 31.
  5. Élections Canada, Le système électoral du Canada, p. 62.
  6. Cette modification modifie en conséquence la définition de « annulé » au par. 2(1) de la LEC(art. 1).
  7. La définition de « bureau de vote par anticipation » au par. 2(1) est également modifiée et renvoie dans l’ensemble à la partie 10, Vote par anticipation, afin d’inclure les bureaux de vote par anticipation pour les quatre premiers jours du vote par anticipation ainsi que les bureaux de vote par anticipation pour le dernier jour du vote par anticipation (art. 1).
  8. La version française des par. 175(1), (2) et (4) est également modifiée pour correspondre à la version anglaise et pour dire que les candidats ou leurs représentants peuvent être au bureau de scrutin (art. 7).
  9. Le répondant est un électeur dont le nom figure sur la liste électorale de la même section électorale que la personne de qui il répond.  Le répondant atteste sous serment l’identité de la personne de qui il répond.
  10. Loi modifiant la Loi électorale du Canada et la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique, L.C. 2007, ch. 21, art. 42.
  11. The Globe and Mail [Toronto], 14 mai 2007, p. A16.

 


© Bibliothèque du Parlement