Legislative Summary
Bill C-4: An Act to amend the Pilotage Act
David Johansen, Law and Government Division
Publication No. 39-2-LS-568-E
PDF 79, (9 Pages) PDF
2007-11-01

Table of Contents


Background

On 26 October 2007, the Honourable Lawrence Cannon, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities, introduced Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Pilotage Act, in the House of Commons.  The bill is virtually identical to Bill C-64, which was introduced in the House in the 1st Session of the 39th Parliament and was being debated at second reading when it died on the Order Paper with the prorogation of Parliament.

Marine pilotage, the conduct (i.e., navigation) of a vessel by a licensed pilot, is an important element of safe marine navigation in Canada.  The Pilotage Act creates four pilotage authorities – the Atlantic, Laurentian, Great Lakes and Pacific – all of which are Crown corporations required by law to be financially self-sustaining.  Their general purpose is to operate and administer, in the interests of safety, an efficient pilotage service within their respective regions.  The Act governs how pilotage authorities hire and license pilots, either as employees or through service contracts with pilot corporations (whose purpose is to provide pilot services to pilotage authorities), and imposes a regulatory review process additional to the government’s standard process, all of which can impinge upon an authority’s financial sustainability.

Departmental sources point out that, in 2002, an arbitrator awarded a large fees increase to the Corporation of Mid St. Lawrence Pilots.  Subsequently, the tariff requested by the Laurentian Pilotage Authority (LPA) to help pay for the fees increase was turned down by the Canadian Transportation Agency (CTA).  This made it impossible for the LPA to be financially self-sufficient.  The Governor in Council agreed to overturn the CTA decision and approve the LPA tariff.  Transport Canada was then directed to take any necessary steps to prevent a recurrence of this situation.

The purpose of the bill is to provide additional tools to help ensure the financial self-sufficiency of pilotage authorities.  In Transport Canada’s news release regarding the bill, the Minister stressed that “The proposed amendments improve the day to day business of pilotage authorities and would in no way affect the safety of persons on board ships, the environment or the vessels.”

Consultations were held by Transport Canada on the proposed amendments to the Pilotage Act in February and March 2007 in several cities across the country.  According to departmental sources, the consultation process included key stakeholders in the pilotage industry.

A.  Highlights

The highlights of the bill are that it:

  • makes it possible for a pilotage authority to engage both employee pilots and contracted corporate pilots with a pilot corporation for the provision of pilots, simultaneously;
  • ensures that an arbitrator in choosing one or the other of the final offers of a pilotage authority and a pilot corporation in respect of outstanding issues regarding the renewal of a service contract takes into account the objects of the authority under section 18 (including the requirement for an authority to be financially self-sufficient) and the summary of the authority’s corporate plan (referred to in section 125(4) of the Financial Administration Act);
  • includes in the objects of a pilotage authority, as stated in the Act, the requirement to be financially self-sufficient;
  • gives the Minister flexibility to conduct an investigation when a notice of objection is received concerning amendments to the regulations regarding compulsory pilotage areas and the qualifications of pilots; and
  • requires the Canadian Transportation Agency to consider both the objects of the pilotage authority under section 18 (including the requirement to be financially self-sufficient) and the summary of the authority’s corporate plan when making a determination concerning an amendment to a tariff regulation.

Description and Analysis

A.  Employment and Contracts (Clause 1)

The Pilotage Act, in section 15, currently prohibits pilotage authorities from hiring individual employee pilots where a service contract between a pilotage authority and a pilot corporation is in effect.  Clause 1 replaces section 15 with a new provision permitting an authority, as it considers necessary for the proper conduct of its work, to hire its own employee pilots and to simultaneously contract with a pilot corporation for services of pilots.

Departmental sources indicate that this change would directly affect the authority’s capacity to develop an internal self-sustaining financial governance structure, as mandated by the Act.

B.  Renewal of Contract (Clause 2)

Section 15.1(1) currently provides that where a pilotage authority has entered into a contract with a pilot corporation for the services of pilots, and the contract does not provide for a mechanism for the resolution of disputes in the contract renewal process, then 50 days before the contract expires the parties to the contract must jointly choose a mediator and an arbitrator and must refer to the mediator all issues related to the renewal of the contract that remain unsolved.  Section 15.1(3) further states that the mediator has 30 days in which to bring the parties to agreement on the outstanding issues, at the end of which time the parties must refer all of the remaining issues to the arbitrator.  Clause 2 changes the period in section 15.1(1) from 50 days to at least fifty days.

As well, section 15.1(2) currently provides that the Minister must choose a mediator or arbitrator if the parties cannot agree on one or if the one they choose is unavailable.  Clause 2 replaces the current section 15(2) with a new provision requiring the Minister to choose a mediator or commercial arbitrator if the parties cannot agree on a mediator or arbitrator or if the one they choose is unavailable.  The requirement that the arbitrator chosen by the Minister must be a commercial arbitrator is not in the current provision.

C.  Final Offers – Arbitrator’s Decision (Clause 3)

Section 15.2(1) currently requires that, in respect of outstanding issues between them in the contract renewal process, a pilotage authority and a pilot corporation must submit a final offer to each other and to the arbitrator within five days after the date on which those issues were referred to the arbitrator.  Section 15(2) requires that the arbitrator must, within fifteen days, choose one or the other of the final offers in its entirety.  The department points out that this can result in a situation where there is a difference between the amount the authority is entitled to charge for services and the amount it is required to pay the pilot corporation under the new service contract.  If the arbitrator’s decision were unsuccessfully challenged in Federal Court, the authority’s revenues may not be sufficient to pay for the service contract.

Clause 3 therefore proposes to amend section 15.2 to add a new subsection (1.1) to require the arbitrator, before making a choice between one or the other of the final offers under section 15(2), to take into account the objects of the authority under section 18 (including the requirement that the authority be financially self-sufficient) and the summary of the authority’s corporate plan referred to in section 125(4) of the Financial Administration Act.

D.  Continuation of Pilotage Services (Clause 4)

Section 15.3 currently provides that a pilot corporation with which a pilotage authority has entered into a contract for services, and its members and shareholders, are prohibited from refusing to provide pilotage services “while a contract for services is in effect or being negotiated.”  Clause 4 changes the English wording of the provision to state “while the contract is in effect or a renewal is being negotiated.” (emphasis added).

E.  Objects of a Pilotage Authority (Clause 5)

Section 18 currently states that the objects of a pilotage authority are to “establish, operate, maintain and administer in the interests of safety an efficient pilotage service within the region set out in respect of the Authority in the schedule.”  Clause 5 amends the section by adding the words “and financially self-sustaining” after the word “efficient.”  This reinforces the statement already contained in section 33(3) of the Act that the tariffs of pilotage charges prescribed by an authority under section 33(1) must be fixed at a level that permits the authority to operate on a “self-sustaining financial basis” and must be fair and reasonable.

F.  Notice of Objection to Proposed Regulation (Clause 6)

Section 21(1) permits a person who believes that a pilotage authority’s proposed regulation regarding compulsory pilotage areas or the qualifications that a pilot must meet is not in the public interest may file a notice of objection with the Minister within 30 days following publication in the Canada Gazette.  In such a case, section 21(2) stipulates that the Minister must to appoint a person to make such investigation of the proposed regulation, including the holding of public hearings, as in the opinion of the Minister, is necessary or desirable in the public interest.  Clause 6(1) replaces section 21(2) so as to add a requirement that the Minister must be of the opinion that the matter warrants investigation along with the further stipulation that, in such a case, the Minister may, himself or herself, investigate the proposed regulation or appoint a person to investigate the proposed regulation and provide a report to the Minister.

Clause 6(2) amends section 21(4) to reflect the amendment to section 21(2).  Currently, the section provides that, on completion of a hearing under section 21, the person holding the hearing must send a report to the Minister who “may, by order, approve, amend or disapprove the proposed regulation, and the Authority shall make the regulation accordingly.”  Clause 6(2) amends the section to also cover the scenario where the Minister conducts an investigation himself or herself under proposed section 21(2); hence the beginning of the section now reads, “After conducting an investigation or receiving a report.”

G.  Pilot Ceasing to be Employed by an Authority or to Belong to a Pilot Corporation (Clause 7)

Section 30(1) currently provides that a pilot’s licence ceases to be valid when a pilot who is an employee of an authority ceases to be employed as a licensed pilot, or where a pilot who belongs to a pilot corporation, which is a party to a contract for the provision of services of pilots with an authority, ceases to be a member or shareholder of that corporation.  Clause 7 rewords the provision, so as to provide that a pilot’s licence is valid only if the pilot a) is employed by an authority as a pilot; or b) is a member or shareholder of a pilots’ corporation with which the authority entered into a service contract and is an active pilot

H.  Factors to be Considered in CTA’s Recommendation to an Authority (Clause 8)

Section 35(1) provides that the Canadian Transportation Agency, after making an investigation concerning a notice of objection filed with the Agency pursuant to section 34 of the Act (regarding a pilotage authority’s proposed tariff of pilotage charges), must make a recommendation to the authority, and that the authority must govern itself accordingly.  Clause 8 adds a new section 35(1.1) to require the Agency, prior to making a recommendation under section 35(1), to take into account the objects of the authority under section 18 (including the requirement for the authority to be financially self-sufficient) and the summary of the authority’s corporate plan referred to in section 125(4) of the Financial Administration Act.  The goal is to ensure that the arbitrator has taken into consideration the financial needs of the authority when rendering a decision.

I.  Limitation of Liability – Body Corporate (Clause 9)

Clause 9 makes a technical amendment to section 40(2) to add a reference to section 15(b) rather than to 15(2).

Commentary

During second reading debate in the House on Bill C-4’s predecessor, Bill C-64, a virtually identical bill introduced in the 1st Session of the 39th Parliament, Opposition spokespersons were generally opposed to the bill.  They expressed concern that that many of the people who work in the marine industry did not support the bill and that some of the stakeholders had not been consulted.

For example, in speaking on Bill C-64 on second reading debate, Mr. Borys Wrzesnewskyj, MP (Liberal), noted that when consultations were held on proposed amendments to the Pilotage Act in early 2007, a number of important concerns remained.  He pointed out that these concerns were underscored by the Shipping Federation of Canada, which stated that the consultations that took place focused exclusively on “the financial self-sufficiency of the pilotage authorities, rather than addressing the more pressing question of whether the Pilotage Act’s overall objectives of providing a safe and efficient pilotage service are actually being met.”  He went on to say, “Unless there is further substantial review of these proposed changes to the Pilotage Act that can take into account the concerns of all stakeholders, and where safety concerns are not trumped by other concerns, we cannot support this bill as it currently stands.”

Similarly, Mr. Peter Julian, MP (NDP), argued that the bill did not do enough to ensure safety in the marine transportation sector.  He further expressed his party’s opposition to the bill:

[W]e have difficulty because we are concerned that the government has not consulted the marine employees, the unions that are involved in marine transportation and are the experts in how transportation policy should be adopted.  The government did not choose to consult with them.  That is unfortunate and that is why we will be opposing this bill.

Likewise, Bloc Québécois MP Mario Laframboise stated “When I meet with marine pilots and marine pilots’ associations and they tell me that this bill could jeopardize the entire pilotage system, then I have a problem with this.”  He went on to say that his party was opposed to the bill, “especially since the pilots’ associations have told us that they are opposed to the bill.”


* Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Projet de loi C-4 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur le pilotage
David Johansen, Division du droit et du gouvernement
Publication no 39-2-LS-568-F
PDF 81, (10 Pages) PDF
2007-11-01

Table des matières


Contexte

Le 26 octobre 2007, l’honorable Lawrence Cannon, ministre des Transports, de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités, a déposé le projet de loi C-4 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur le pilotage, à la Chambre des communes. Ce projet de loi est à peu près identique au projet de loi C-64, qui a été déposé à la Chambre à la première session de la 39e législature et a fait l’objet d’un débat en deuxième lecture avant de mourir au Feuilleton à la prorogation du Parlement.

Le pilotage maritime, c’est-à-dire la conduite d’un navire par un pilote breveté, constitue un élément important de la sécurité maritime au Canada. La Loi sur le pilotage (LSP) crée quatre Administrations de pilotage : de l’Atlantique, des Laurentides, des Grands Lacs et du Pacifique; ce sont des sociétés d’État tenues par la loi de s’autofinancer. Elles ont pour objet d’exploiter et d’administrer, dans l’intérêt de la sécurité, le service de pilotage de leur région. La LSP régit la manière dont l’Administration embauche les pilotes et leur accorde un brevet, soit à titre d’employés soit par contrat de louage de services avec une société offrant des services de pilotage (appelée « personne morale » dans la LSP); la LSP impose également un examen réglementaire en sus de celui du gouvernement, qui peuvent tous deux influer sur la solvabilité de l’Administration.

Des sources ministérielles indiquent qu’en 2002, un arbitre a accordé une augmentation de droits importante à la Corporation des pilotes du Saint-Laurent central. Par la suite, l’augmentation de tarifs demandée par l’Administration de pilotage des Laurentides (APL) pour couvrir l’augmentation des droits a été rejetée par l’Office des transports du Canada (OTC), rendant ainsi l’APL incapable de maintenir son autonomie financière. Le gouverneur en conseil a accepté de renverser la décision de l’OTC et d’approuver le tarif de l’APL, et a ordonné a Transports Canada de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour éviter la répétition d’une situation semblable.

Le projet de loi a pour objet de fournir des outils supplémentaires pour garantir l’autosuffisance financière des administrations de pilotage. Dans le communiqué de Transports Canada sur le projet de loi, le Ministre souligne que « les modifications proposées amélioreront les activités quotidiennes des administrations de pilotage et ne nuiront aucunement à l’environnement ni à la sécurité des navires et de leurs occupants ».

Transports Canada a tenu des consultations sur les modifications proposées à la LSP en février et mars 2007 dans plusieurs villes du pays. Selon le Ministère, les grands intervenants du secteur du pilotage ont participé au processus de consultation.

A. Faits saillants

Le projet de loi :

  • permet à l’Administration de pilotage d’embaucher en même temps des pilotes employés et des pilotes à contrat d’une société de pilotage (personne morale);
  • oblige l’arbitre qui tranche entre l’offre finale de l’Administration de pilotage et celle de la société de pilotage, relativement aux questions en litige liées au renouvellement du contrat de services, de tenir compte de la mission de l’Administration formulée à l’article 18 (y compris l’exigence d’autonomie financière) et du résumé de son plan d’entreprise (par. 125(4) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques);
  • ajoute à la mission de l’Administration de pilotage, formulée dans la LSP, l’exigence d’autonomie financière;
  • donne au Ministre la souplesse nécessaire pour faire enquête quand un avis d’opposition est formulé au sujet des changements de règlement concernant les zones de pilotage obligatoire et les qualifications des pilotes;
  • exige que l’OTC tienne compte à la fois de la mission de l’Administration de pilotage énoncée à l’article 18 de la LSP (y compris l’exigence d’autonomie financière) et du résumé de son plan d’entreprise lorsqu’elle se prononce sur un changement tarifaire au règlement.

Description et analyse

A. Personnel et contrats (art. 1)

L’article 15 actuel de la LSP interdit aux administrations de pilotage d’embaucher directement des pilotes comme employés quand un contrat de service les lie à une société de pilotage. L’article premier du projet de loi remplace l’article 15 de la LSP par une nouvelle disposition permettant à l’Administration qui le considère nécessaire à l’exercice de ses activités d’embaucher ses propres pilotes et en même temps de conclure un contrat de louage de services de pilote avec une société de pilotage (personne morale).

Selon le Ministère, ce changement influe directement sur la capacité de l’Administration d’établir une structure de régie à financement autonome, comme elle y est obligée par la LSP.

B. Renouvellement du contrat (art. 2)

Le paragraphe 15.1(1) actuel de la LSP prévoit que, quand l’Administration a conclu avec une société de pilotage un contrat qui ne prévoit pas de mécanisme de règlement des différends à survenir au cours des négociations en vue de son renouvellement, les parties doivent choisir 50 jours avant la fin du contrat, un médiateur et un arbitre, et soumettre au médiateur toutes les questions liées au renouvellement du contrat qui demeurent en litige. Le paragraphe 15.1(3) ajoute que le médiateur dispose de 30 jours pour amener les parties à s’entendre sur ces questions, après quoi les parties doivent soumettre les questions qui demeurent en litige à l’arbitre. L’article 2 du projet de loi porte la période du paragraphe 15.1(1) à au moins 50 jours.

Le paragraphe 15.1(2) actuel impose au Ministre de choisir le médiateur ou l’arbitre si les parties ne peuvent s’entendre sur leur choix ou si celui qu’elles choisissent n’est pas disponible. L’article 2 du projet de loi remplace le paragraphe 15(2) actuel et ajoute l’exigence que le Ministre choisisse le médiateur ou l’arbitre commercial lorsque les parties ne peuvent s’entendre ou si l’arbitre choisi n’est pas disponible. L’exigence selon laquelle l’arbitre choisi par le Ministre doit être un arbitre commercial ne fait pas partie de la disposition actuelle.

C. Dernières offres – décision de l’arbitre (art. 3)

Le paragraphe 15.2(1) actuel de la LSP exige qu’au sujet des questions en litige entre les parties durant le processus de renouvellement du contrat, l’Administration de pilotage et la société de pilotage déposent leur dernière offre devant l’arbitre dans les cinq jours suivant la date où il en est saisi. Le paragraphe 15(2) donne à l’arbitre 15 jours à compter du dépôt des offres soumises pour choisir l’une ou l’autre dans son intégralité. Le Ministère souligne que cette disposition peut entraîner un écart entre la somme que l’Administration est autorisée à réclamer pour ses services et celle qu’elle est tenue de payer à la société de pilotage en vertu du nouveau contrat de service. Si la décision de l’arbitre n’était pas renversée en Cour fédérale, les recettes de l’Administration risqueraient de ne pas être suffisantes pour payer le contrat de service.

Par conséquent, l’article 3 du projet de loi modifie l’article 15.2 de la LSP en ajoutant un nouveau paragraphe (1.1) qui oblige l’arbitre à tenir compte de la mission de l’Administration énoncée à l’article 18 (y compris l’exigence d’autonomie financière) et du résumé de son plan d’entreprise (par. 125(4) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques) avant de trancher entre les deux offres finales.

D. Maintien des activités (art. 4)

L’article 15.3 actuel de la LSP prévoit que la société de pilotage qui a conclu un contrat de services avec l’Administration de pilotage et dont les membres sont actionnaires, n’a pas le droit de refuser de fournir ses services de pilotage « pendant la durée de validité d’un contrat ou au cours des négociations en vue du renouvellement d’un contrat ». Comme le libellé anglais ne parle pas de « renouvellement », mais tout simplement de la négociation d’un contrat, l’article 4 du projet de loi ajoute les mots « or a renewal » au libellé actuel.

E. Mission de l’Administration de pilotage (art. 5)

Selon l’article 18 actuel de la LSP, l’Administration a pour mission de « mettre sur pied, de faire fonctionner, d’entretenir et de gérer pour la sécurité de la navigation, un service de pilotage efficace dans la région décrite à l’annexe au regard de cette Administration ». L’article 5 du projet de loi y ajoute les mots « et financièrement autonome » après efficace. Cela renforce le libellé du paragraphe 33(3) de la LSP selon lequel les tarifs des droits de pilotage fixés par une Administration en application du paragraphe 33(1) doivent lui permettre le financement autonome de ses opérations et être équitables et raisonnables.

F. Avis d’opposition à un changement au règlement (art. 6)

Le paragraphe 21(1) de la LSP permet à quiconque croit que le projet de règlement d’une Administration de pilotage concernant les zones de pilotage obligatoire ou les conditions qu’un pilote doit remplir n’est pas dans l’intérêt public, de déposer auprès du Ministre, dans les 30 jours de sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada, un avis d’opposition motivé. Le paragraphe 21(2) dispose que le Ministre doit alors nommer une personne pour faire l’enquête qu’il estime nécessaire ou souhaitable dans l’intérêt public, notamment par la tenue d’audiences publiques. Le paragraphe 6(1) du projet de loi ajoute à ce dernier paragraphe l’exigence que le Ministre soit d’avis que l’affaire justifie une enquête et précise que le Ministre peut enquêter lui-même sur le projet de règlement ou nommer une personne pour faire enquête en son nom et lui faire rapport.

Le paragraphe 6(2) du projet de loi modifie le paragraphe 21(4) de la LSP conformément au paragraphe 21(2) modifié de la LSP. Selon les dispositions actuelles, il est prévu qu’à l’issue des audiences, la personne chargée de tenir ces audiences transmet son rapport au Ministre qui « peut, par arrêté, approuver, modifier ou rejeter le projet de règlement général, conformément au rapport ou non; l’Administration de pilotage prend alors le règlement général en conséquence ». Le paragraphe 6(2) prévoit aussi le scénario où le Ministre enquête lui-même selon le paragraphe 21(2) proposé; le paragraphe débute donc maintenant comme suit : « Après la tenue de l’enquête ou la réception d’un rapport ».

G. Perte de qualité (art. 7)

Selon le paragraphe 30(1) actuel de la LSP, un brevet cesse d’être valide lorsqu’un pilote breveté a) qui est membre du personnel d’une Administration cesse de l’être en cette qualité; b) qui est membre ou actionnaire d’une personne morale qui a conclu un contrat de louage de services cesse de l’être. L’article 7 du projet de loi reformule cette disposition, en affirmant que le brevet n’est valide que lorsque le pilote est a) soit membre du personnel d’une Administration en sa qualité de pilote; b) soit membre ou actionnaire d’une personne morale qui a conclu un contrat en sa qualité de pilote.

H. Facteurs dont l’OTC tient compte dans sa recommandation à une Administration (art. 8)

Le paragraphe 35(1) de la LSP oblige l’OTC, à l’issue d’une enquête sur un avis d’opposition qu’il a reçu en vertu de l’article 34 de la LSP (concernant un projet de tarif de droits de l’Administration de pilotage), à faire une recommandation à l’Administration, dont elle doit tenir compte. L’article 8 du projet de loi ajoute un nouveau paragraphe 35(1.1) qui oblige l’Office, avant de faire sa recommandation, à considérer la mission de l’Administration visée à l’article 18 (y compris l’exigence d’autonomie financière) et le résumé de son plan d’entreprise (par. 125(4) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques). Le législateur veut s’assurer que l’arbitre a tenu compte des besoins financiers de l’Administration lorsqu’il rend sa décision.

I. Limite de responsabilité : personne morale (art. 9)

L’article 9 du projet de loi apporte une modification de forme au paragraphe 40(2) de la LSP en ajoutant un renvoi à l’alinéa 15b) plutôt qu’au paragraphe 15(2) de la LSP.

Commentaire

Durant le débat en deuxième lecture à la Chambre sur le prédécesseur de ce projet de loi, le projet de loi C-64, quasi identique, déposé au début de la première session de la 39e législature, les porte-parole de l’opposition y étaient généralement opposés. Ils se préoccupaient du fait que beaucoup de travailleurs des transports maritimes n’y étaient pas favorables et que certains intervenants n’avaient pas été consultés.

Ainsi, lors de ce débat, le député libéral Borys Wrzesnewskyj a mentionné que lorsque les consultations ont eu lieu sur les modifications à la LSP au début de 2007, plusieurs problèmes importants étaient demeurés en suspens. Il a ajouté que ces problèmes avaient été soulignés par la Fédération maritime du Canada, qui a déclaré que les consultations tenues visaient exclusivement « l’autosuffisance financière des administrations de pilotage, au lieu de s’attacher à la question plus pressante de savoir si les objectifs globaux de la Loi sur le pilotage, soit d’assurer un service de pilotage sûr et efficace, sont atteints ». Il a ajouté « qu’à moins d’un examen plus poussé des modifications proposées à la Loi sur le pilotage, qui pourrait tenir compte des inquiétudes de l’ensemble des intéressés, et à moins que les impératifs de la sécurité ne soient pas supplantés par d’autres, nous ne sommes pas en mesure d’appuyer ce projet de loi dans sa forme actuelle ».

Dans le même ordre d’idée, le député Peter Julian du NPD a affirmé que le projet de loi ne faisait pas assez pour garantir la sécurité du transport maritime. Il a précisé davantage l’opposition de son parti au projet de loi :

Nous sommes préoccupés par le fait que le gouvernement n’a pas consulté les employés ni les syndicats qui œuvrent dans le domaine du transport maritime, qui sont des experts dans la façon d’adopter des politiques en matière de transport. Le gouvernement ne les a pas consultés. C’est malheureux. C’est pour cela que nous nous opposerons au projet de loi.

Le porte-parole du Bloc québécois, Mario Laframboise, a aussi affirmé :« lorsque j’interviens auprès des pilotes et des associations de pilotage, et qu’on me dit que ce projet de loi risque de mettre en danger tout le système de pilotage, cela me pose un problème ». Il a ajouté que son parti s’opposait au projet de loi, « d’autant plus que, au moment où l’on se parle, les associations de pilotes nous ont déjà avisés qu’elles étaient contre ce projet de loi ».


* Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.


© Bibliothèque du Parlement