Legislative Summary
Bill C-22: An Act to amend the Constitution Act, 1867 (Democratic representation)
André Barnes , Law and Government Division
2007-11-29
Publication No. 39-2-LS-583-E
PDF 91, (10 Pages) PDF

Table of Contents


Introduction

Bill C-22, An Act to Amend the Constitution Act, 1867 (Democratic representation), was introduced in the House of Commons by the Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Minister responsible for Democratic Reform, the Honourable Peter Van Loan, PC, MP, and was given first reading on 14 November 2007.  The bill amends the Constitution Act, 1867 by readjusting the number of members of the House of Commons and the representation of the provinces therein.  Bill C-22 had previously been introduced in the House of Commons during the 1st Session of the 39th Parliament as Bill C-56.  As of prorogation, Bill C‑56 was awaiting second reading.

The democratic goal of the Canadian electoral system, as set out in the Canada Elections Act, is embodied by the principle of “one elector – one vote.”(1)  Realistically, however, the exercise of this principle requires a certain degree of acceptable compromise.  Since Confederation, several formulas for assigning House of Commons seats to the provinces have been employed, each having attempted to locate a balance between absolute equality of voting power and effective representation.

Bill C-22 is designed to address a distortion in the manner in which population growth is reflected by growth in the number of elected representatives assigned to each province.  The bill seeks to remedy this distortion by enacting a new formula for seat readjustments in the House of Commons.  As with the formula presently employed to readjust the number of members seated in the House, Bill C-22 prescribes a formula that readjusts seats after each decennial census, while also apportioning any newly created seats to the province or provinces that experienced population growth from one decennial census to the next.

The distinguishing feature of the formula prescribed by Bill C-22 is that it raises the number by which the total population of the provinces is divided, which at present is fixed at 279.  Further, this “electoral divisor” would continue to increase with each decennial census, assuming total population of the provinces continues to grow.  The effect that the formula, and specifically the electoral divisor, would have on a readjustment to the number of members seated in the House of Commons would be to enlarge the increases experienced as a result of growth in the total population of the provinces.

The basis for adjusting seats in the House of Commons is found in section 51 of the Constitution Act, 1867, which vests the authority, the manner and the time frame for seat readjustments to the Parliament of Canada.(2)

With regard to the power of the Parliament to amend section 51 of the Constitution Act, 1867, section 44 of the Constitution Act, 1982 states:

Subject to sections 41 and 42, Parliament may exclusively make laws amending the Constitution of Canada in relation to the executive government of Canada or the Senate and House of Commons.

Section 44 of the Constitution Act, 1982, therefore, grants the government the power, through an act of Parliament, to amend the constitutional formula for assigning the number of members seated in the House of Commons.

Background

A.  History of the Formula

Differences in relative population sizes between Ontario, Quebec and the Maritime Provinces at the time of Confederation resulted in the adoption of “representation by population,” or voter equality, as the guiding principle of representation in the House of Commons.(3)  Over time, as the country grew, the population distributed itself unevenly throughout the provinces, creating numerical disparities that required compromises and allowances aimed at reconciling deviations from a strict adherence to voter equality.(4)

1.  The Formula at Confederation

Section 51 of the Constitution Act, 1867 stated that the number of seats assigned to each province in the House of Commons was to be calculated by dividing the province’s population by a fixed number, referred to as the “electoral quota” or “quotient.”(5)  This electoral quota was obtained by dividing the population of Quebec by 65, or the number of seats guaranteed to the province of Quebec by the Constitution Act, 1867.  After each decennial census, beginning with the 1871 census, the number of seats in the House was to be readjusted.

A further stipulation in the Constitution Act, 1867 was that no province could lose seats as a result of a readjustment except in instances where a province had decreased in its share of the national population between the last two censuses by at least five percent, or one-twentieth; this provision was thus known as the “one-twentieth clause.”(6)

2.  The “Senatorial clause” (1915)

During the years proceeding Confederation, concerns arose that trends in population displacement would eventually result in the significant loss of representation in some provinces.(7)  To guard against this possibility, the first change to the original representation formula was made in 1915 through the insertion of section 51(A) into the Constitution Act, 1867.  This section, still in effect today, specified that a province can under no circumstance have fewer seats in the House of Commons than it does in the Senate.(8)  

3.  Changes to the Formula in 1946 and 1951

In view of rising dissatisfaction among a number of provinces that the rules for redistribution created unacceptable distortions in the principle of representation by population,(9) the Constitution was amended in 1946 to establish a new formula for readjusting the seat assignments in the House.  A fixed total of 255 seats was established; one seat was set aside for the Yukon, while the other 254 seats were divided among the provinces on the basis of their share of the total population of Canada, rather than the average population per electoral district in Quebec.(10)  In addition, the one-twentieth clause was repealed.(11)

It was soon noted that, under the new formula, because population rates grew unevenly across the provinces, those with the slowest growth rates would experience seat losses in the House.  With Nova Scotia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan all slated to lose seats after the 1951 census, the Constitution Act, 1867 was amended by the insertion of a “15 percent clause” to prevent a rapid decline in seats in some provinces.(12)  The clause stated that no province could lose more than 15 percent of the number of seats in the House to which it had been entitled at the last readjustment, nor could a province have fewer seats than a province with a smaller population.  Nonetheless, in subsequent readjustments, a growing list of provinces continued to lose seats.

4.  The “Amalgam” Formula (1974)

The Representation Act, 1974, also known as the “amalgam” formula, was introduced to guarantee, among other things, that no province could lose seats.(13)  The new formula fixed the number of seats in Quebec at 75, up from 65, and further prescribed an automatic increase by four seats in Quebec at each subsequent readjustment to take population growth into account.  The formula also created three categories of provinces:  large provinces (population of 2.5 million or more); intermediate provinces (population between 1.5 and 2.5 million); and small provinces (population under 1.5 million).  The large provinces were to be allocated seats in strict proportion to Quebec, while separate and more favourable rules were used to calculate the number of seats for the small and intermediate provinces.(14)

The amalgam formula was applied once, establishing 282 seats in the House of Commons in 1976, but was not applied again, given that calculations revealed that the formula would yield, in subsequent readjustments, an unwelcome number of seats. 

5.  The Constitution Act, 1985 (Representation)

The formula presently used to calculate the distribution of seats in the House of Commons is set out by the Constitution Act, 1985 (Representation), also known as the Representation Act, 1985.  The seats assigned to each province are calculated as follows:

  • The Act mandates that there be 282 seated members in the House:  one seat is allocated to the Northwest Territories; one seat is allocated to the Yukon; and one seat is allocated to Nunavut.(15)  The remaining 279 seats are used to calculate the electoral quotient.
  • The electoral quotient is derived by dividing the total population of the ten provinces by 279.
  • The number of seats assigned to each province is calculated by dividing the population of each province by the electoral quotient, with remainders of 0.50 or more rounded up to the next whole number.

The Representation Act, 1985 put in place a further guarantee against a province losing seats as a result of a readjustment by supplementing the “senatorial clause” with the “grandfather clause.”  The latter stipulates that a province is guaranteed no fewer seats in the House of Commons than it had in 1976, or during the 33rd Parliament.(16)  Following the 2001 decennial census, the number of members seated in the House was readjusted to 308.

Description and Analysis

Bill C-22 may be cited as the Constitution Act, 2007 (Democratic representation) (clause 1).

Clause 2 replaces section 51(1) of the Constitution Act, 1867.  Included are four rules that outline the calculation for readjusting seat assignments to the provinces in the House of Commons.  These are as follows:

    1. The total population of the provinces shall be divided by the “electoral divisor” (see below).  The quotient obtained shall then be used to divide the population of each province, which in turn produces a quotient equal to the number of seats assigned to a given province (counting numerical remainders in excess of 0.50 as one after the latter division).
    2. Should the assigned number of seats for a given province derived either through rule 1 or by the application of section 51(A) of the Constitution Act, 1867, also known as the “senatorial clause,” be lower than the number of seats assigned to that province on the date of the coming into force of the Constitution Act, 1985 (Representation), a corresponding number of members will be added to bridge the difference produced by a readjustment. 
    3. Additional seats will be assigned to any province that has not experienced an increase as a result of the application of both rules 1 and 2, so that its number achieves an electoral quotient as close as possible to that of the most populous province to receive additional seats, provided that the province in question has a lower population than the most populous province to receive additional seats.
    4. a) The “electoral divisor” for the first readjustment to the number of seats in the House after the coming into force of the bill is calculated by dividing the total population of the provinces, using the most recent decennial census, by the number of members in the House of Commons assigned to all provinces in the first readjustment that followed the coming into force of the Constitution Act, 1985 (Representation).

b) The “electoral divisor” for subsequent seat readjustments will be derived by dividing the total population of the provinces, using the most recent decennial census, by the number of members of the House of Commons thirty years prior to this most recent decennial census.

Clause 3 of the bill prescribes that, for the purposes of interpretation, a reference to the Constitution Acts, 1867 and 1982 is deemed to include a reference to this Act.

Commentary

Bill C-22 is part of a broader package of democratic reforms introduced by the government in the 1st and 2nd Sessions of the 39th Parliament.  The purpose of the bill is to bring the Canadian electoral system closer to its original principle of representation by population.  Compared with the formula currently employed for readjusting the number of seated members in the House of Commons, a readjustment using the formula prescribed by Bill C-22 arguably draws nearer to the principle of representation by population.  According to the latter formula, the fastest growing provinces of Alberta, British Columbia and Ontario would be scheduled to receive a share of seats in the House of Commons after the 2011 readjustment closer to, and in some cases, virtually identical to their share of the total population of the provinces.(17)

However, it has been pointed out by the Premier of Ontario, Dalton McGuinty, among others, that even under the new readjustment regime provided by Bill C-22, Ontario will remain under-represented in the House.(18)  Further concerns regarding the bill have been raised in the Quebec National Assembly.  Although the province will retain its 75 seats, Quebec’s seat percentage in the House will decline under the new readjustment regime.  On 16 May 2007, the National Assembly unanimously adopted a motion calling on the government to withdraw its democratic reform package.(19)

It may also be worth noting that Bill C-22 employs an upward moving divisor to calculate seat readjustments in the House of Commons.  As such, the increases in the number of members sitting in the House will be larger than those achieved through a formula based on a fixed electoral divisor.  Further, 30 years after the coming into force of the bill, the effect of these additional seat increases will compound itself by employing a seat total as readjusted by an upward moving electoral divisor, as opposed to a seat total readjusted with a fixed electoral divisor.  This may potentially lead to a situation similar to the unacceptably large seat readjustments produced by the “amalgam” formula.


Endnotes

*  Notice:  For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force.  It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.
  1. Representation in the House of Commons of Canada,” Elections Canada, March 2002, p. 3 [Elections Canada].
  2. Constitution Act, 1867, Section 51(1):
    The number of members of the House of Commons and the representation of the provinces therein shall, on the coming into force of this subsection and thereafter on the completion of each decennial census, be readjusted by such authority, in such manner, and from such time as the Parliament of Canada from time to time provides, subject and according to the following rules.

    Also see this Legislative Summary’s Background subsection:  1. The Formula at Confederation, p. 3.

  3. Russell Alan Williams, “Canada’s System of Representation in Crisis:  the ‘279 Formula’ and Federal Electoral Redistributions,” The American Review of Canadian Studies, Spring 2005, p. 103.
  4. Ibid., pp. 99-100.
  5. Elections Canada, p. 6.
  6. Ibid., p. 6.
  7. Williams, p. 104.
  8. Elections Canada, p. 6.
  9. Robert Marleau and Camille Montpetit, House of Commons Procedure and Practice, 2000, House of Commons:  Ottawa, p. 144.
  10. Ibid., p. 144.
  11. See the Constitution Act, 1946, R.S.C. 1985, Appendix II, No. 30.  For additional information, see Norman Ward, The Canadian House of Commons:  Representation, University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 1950, pp. 54-5.
  12. Ibid., pp. 144-5.
  13. See Debates, 2 December 1974, p. 1846.  For additional information, see Norman Ward, Dawson’s The Government of Canada, 6th ed., University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 1987, p. 91.
  14. Elections Canada, p. 8.  See also Debates, 2 December 1974, pp. 1845-1847, where Mitchell Sharp, President of the Privy Council, outlines the amalgam formula.
  15. As enacted by the Constitution Act, 1999 (Nunavut).
  16. Elections Canada, p. 9.
  17. Ibid., pg. A1.
  18. Brian Laghi and Karen Howlett, “Tory Bill Unfair, McGuinty Charges,” The Globe and Mail, 18 May 2007, pg. A1.  See also Bea Vongdouangchanh, “Government’s seat increase bill ‘flies in face of rep by pop,’ says Aucoin,” The Hill Times, 26 November 2007, p. 1.
  19. Chantal Hébert, “Harper Running Out of Options on Quebec,” The Toronto Star, 21 May 2007, pg. A13.

 


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Projet de loi C-22 : Loi modifiant la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 (représentation démocratique)
André Barnes , Division du droit et du gouvernement
Publication no 39-2-LS-583-F
PDF 73, (11 Pages) PDF
2007-11-29

Table des matières


Introduction

Le projet de loi C-22 : Loi modifiant la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 (représentation démocratique), a été présenté à la Chambre des communes par le leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes et ministre de la Réforme démocratique, l’honorable Peter Van Loan, C.P., député, et a reçu la première lecture le 14 novembre 2007.  Il modifie la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 en révisant le nombre des députés à la Chambre des communes et des représentants des diverses provinces.  Le projet de loi C-22 avait déjà été présenté à la Chambre des communes au cours de la première session de la 39e législature sous le numéro C-56.  À la prorogation du Parlement, il n’avait pas encore reçu la deuxième lecture.

L’objectif démocratique du système électoral canadien, tel qu’il est énoncé dans la Loi électorale du Canada, est conforme au principe d’« un électeur, un vote »(1).  En réalité, toutefois, l’application de ce principe exige dans une certaine mesure un compromis acceptable.  Depuis la Confédération, on a eu recours à plusieurs formules pour répartir les sièges à la Chambre des communes entre les provinces; chacune de ces formules devait établir un équilibre entre l’égalité absolue du pouvoir électoral et la représentation efficace.

Le projet de loi vise à corriger la distorsion entre la croissance du nombre de représentants élus accordé à chaque province et celle de la population de chacune.  Pour ce faire, il promulguera une nouvelle formule de révision du nombre de sièges à la Chambre des communes.  À l’instar de la formule actuelle, celle qui est prescrite dans le projet de loi prévoit la révision du nombre de sièges après chaque recensement décennal et l’attribution des sièges nouvellement créés à la province ou leur répartition entre les provinces dont la population s’accroîtra entre deux recensements.

Ce qui distingue la formule énoncée dans le projet de loi, c’est qu’elle augmente le nombre par lequel on divisera la population totale des provinces, fixé actuellement à 279.  En outre, ce « diviseur électoral » continuerait d’augmenter à chaque recensement décennal, à supposer que la population totale des provinces poursuive sa croissance.  La formule, et surtout le diviseur électoral, aurait pour effet, au moment de réviser le nombre de députés à la Chambre des communes, de majorer les augmentations découlant de la croissance de la population totale des provinces.

Le fondement juridique de la révision du nombre de sièges à la Chambre des communes est l’article 51 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, qui confère au Parlement du Canada le pouvoir de réviser le nombre des députés à la Chambre des communes et d’établir les modalités et la périodicité de cette révision(2).

Quant au pouvoir du Parlement de modifier l’article 51 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, l’article 44 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 dispose que :

Sous réserve des articles 41 et 42, le Parlement a compétence exclusive pour modifier les dispositions de la Constitution du Canada relatives au pouvoir exécutif fédéral, au Sénat ou à la Chambre des communes.

L’article 44 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 habilite donc le gouvernement à modifier, par une loi du Parlement, la formule constitutionnelle de répartition des sièges à la Chambre des communes.

Contexte

A.  Historique de la formule

Les différences entre les populations respectives de l’Ontario, du Québec et des provinces maritimes à l’époque de la Confédération ont entraîné l’adoption de la « représentation selon la population », ou de l’égalité des électeurs, comme principe directeur régissant la représentation à la Chambre des communes(3).  Au fil du temps, à la faveur de la croissance du pays, la population s’est répartie inégalement dans les provinces, ce qui a créé des écarts numériques qui ont obligé à des compromis et à des concessions censés combler la différence lorsqu’on s’éloignait trop de l’égalité des électeurs (4).

1.  La formule à la Confédération

L’article 51 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 dispose qu’il faut calculer le nombre de sièges attribués à chaque province à la Chambre des communes en divisant la population de chacune par un nombre fixe appelé « quotient électoral »(5).  On obtenait ce quotient électoral en divisant la population du Québec par 65, soit le nombre de sièges à la Chambre des communes que cette loi garantissait à la province.  Après chaque recensement décennal à compter de celui de 1871, le nombre de sièges à la Chambre des communes devait être révisé.

La Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 prévoyait de plus qu’aucune province ne pouvait perdre de siège à l’occasion d’un redécoupage électoral, à moins que le pourcentage de sa population par rapport à la population totale du pays n’ait diminué d’au moins 5 p. 100 (un vingtième) entre les deux derniers recensements; aussi appelait-on cette exigence la « règle du vingtième »(6).

2.  La « clause sénatoriale » (1915)

Au cours des années qui ont précédé la Confédération, on a commencé à craindre que les tendances dans les transferts de population ne finissent par entraîner une perte importante de représentation dans certaines provinces(7).  Pour se prémunir contre cette éventualité, le Parlement a apporté, en 1915, la toute première modification à la formule de représentation initiale en ajoutant l’article 51(A) à la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867.  Cette disposition, qui est toujours en vigueur aujourd’hui, précise qu’une province ne peut avoir moins de sièges à la Chambre des communes qu’au Sénat(8).

3.  Les modifications apportées à la formule en 1946 et en 1951

Comme un certain nombre de provinces étaient de plus en plus mécontentes des règles régissant la répartition provinciale des sièges à la Chambre des communes, parce que ces règles faussaient de façon inacceptable les résultats de l’application du principe de la représentation selon la population(9), la Constitution a été modifiée en 1946 de manière à établir une nouvelle formule de révision de l’attribution des sièges à la Chambre des communes.  On a fixé à 255 le nombre total de sièges, dont un pour le Yukon, les 254 autres étant répartis parmi les provinces en fonction de leur part de la population totale du pays plutôt que selon la population moyenne par circonscription électorale au Québec(10).  De plus, la formule du « vingtième » a été abolie (11).

La population n’augmentant pas à la même cadence dans toutes les provinces, on n’a pas tardé à constater qu’avec cette nouvelle formule, celles qui avaient les taux de croissance démographique les plus faibles perdraient des sièges à la Chambre.  La Nouvelle-Écosse, le Manitoba et la Saskatchewan devant toutes en perdre après le recensement de 1951, on a modifié la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 en y intégrant la « clause des 15 p. 100 » afin d’éviter une chute rapide de la représentation fédérale dans certaines provinces(12).  Cette disposition prévoyait qu’aucune province ne pouvait perdre plus de 15 p. 100 des sièges à la Chambre auxquels elle avait droit en vertu de la révision précédente ni y détenir moins de sièges qu’une province ayant une population plus faible.  Il n’en demeure pas moins qu’au terme des révisions suivantes, de plus en plus de provinces ont perdu des sièges.

4.  La formule de « l’amalgame » (1974)

La Loi sur la représentation (1974), aussi désignée par l’expression « formule de l’amalgame », a été adoptée en vue de garantir notamment qu’aucune province ne perdrait de sièges(13).  Cette nouvelle formule portait le nombre de sièges du Québec de 65 à 75 et prévoyait que la province gagnerait automatiquement quatre sièges à chaque révision ultérieure pour tenir compte de la croissance de sa population.  La formule créait aussi trois catégories de provinces : les provinces très peuplées (au moins 2,5 millions d’habitants), les provinces moyennement peuplées (entre 1,5 et 2,5 millions d’habitants) et les provinces peu peuplées (moins de 1,5 million d’habitants).  Les provinces très peuplées se sont vu attribuer proportionnellement autant de sièges que le Québec, tandis que des règles distinctes et plus généreuses ont été établies pour le calcul du nombre de sièges des provinces peu ou moyennement peuplées(14).

On a appliqué la formule de l’amalgame une fois, en 1976, pour porter le nombre de sièges à la Chambre des communes à 282, mais on ne l’a plus fait depuis, parce que les projections ont révélé qu’au fil des révisions, elle ferait augmenter le nombre de sièges plus qu’on ne le souhaitait. 

5.  La Loi constitutionnelle de 1985 (représentation électorale)

La formule qui sert actuellement au calcul de la répartition des sièges à la Chambre des communes est énoncée dans la Loi constitutionnelle de 1985 (représentation électorale), également appelée Loi de 1985 sur la représentation électorale.  Le nombre de sièges attribué à chaque province est maintenant calculé de la façon suivante :

  • La Loi de 1985 sur la représentation électorale dispose que 282 députés siégeront à la Chambre : elle attribue un siège chacun aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Yukon et au Nunavut(15).  Les 279 sièges qui restent servent de base au calcul du quotient électoral.
  • On obtient le quotient électoral en divisant la population totale des dix provinces par 279.
  • On calcule le nombre de sièges attribués à chaque province en divisant la population de chacune par le quotient électoral et en arrondissant tout reste de 0,50 ou plus à la hausse jusqu’au nombre entier suivant.

La Loi de 1985 sur la représentation électorale prévoit aussi une garantie supplémentaire empêchant les provinces de perdre des sièges au terme d’une révision; elle assortit en effet la « clause sénatoriale » d’une « clause d’antériorité ».  Selon cette disposition, une province ne peut avoir moins de sièges à la Chambre des communes qu’elle n’en avait en 1976, soit au cours de la 33e législature(16).  Après le recensement décennal de 2001, le nombre de députés à la Chambre a été porté à 308.

Description et analyse

Le titre abrégé du projet de loi C-22 est « Loi constitutionnelle de 2007 (représentation démocratique) » (art. 1).

L’article 2 du projet de loi remplace le paragraphe 51(1) de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867.  Il énonce quatre règles pour le calcul servant à réviser l’attribution des sièges aux provinces à la Chambre des communes :

    1. La population totale des provinces est divisée par le « diviseur électoral » (voir ci-dessous).  La population de chaque province est ensuite divisée par le quotient obtenu, ce qui donne un autre quotient égal au nombre de sièges qui lui sont attribués (le résultat final dont la partie décimale dépasse 0,50 étant arrondi à l’unité supérieure).
    2. Si le nombre de sièges établi pour une province par l’application de la règle 1 ou de l’article 51(A) de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, aussi appelée « clause sénatoriale », est plus faible que le nombre de sièges qu’avait cette province à la date d’entrée en vigueur de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1985 sur la représentation électorale, le nombre de députés nécessaire est ajouté pour compenser la perte subie au terme de la révision de la représentation. 
    3. Des sièges supplémentaires seront attribués à toute province dont la représentation n’aura pas augmenté en raison de l’application des règles 1 et 2, afin que le nombre de ses députés produise un quotient électoral qui se rapproche le plus possible à celui de la province la plus populeuse à se voir attribuer des sièges supplémentaires, à condition que la province en question ait une population inférieure à celle de la province la plus populeuse à recevoir des sièges.
    4. a) On établira le « diviseur électoral » applicable aux fins de la première révision de la représentation à la Chambre des communes qui a lieu après l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi en divisant la population totale des provinces, selon les résultats du recensement décennal le plus récent, par le nombre de sièges attribué à l’ensemble des provinces après la première révision effectuée après l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1985 sur la représentation électorale.

b) On établira le « diviseur électoral » applicable aux fins des révisions subséquentes en divisant la population totale des provinces, selon les résultats du recensement décennal le plus récent, par le nombre de sièges à la Chambre des communes attribué 30 ans avant le recensement décennal le plus récent.

L’article 3 du projet de loi est une disposition interprétative selon laquelle toute mention des lois constitutionnelles de 1867 et de 1982 vise notamment le projet de loi.

Commentaire

Le projet de loi C-22 fait partie des réformes démocratiques proposées par le gouvernement au cours des première et deuxième sessions de la 39e législature.  Il vise à rendre le système électoral canadien plus conforme à son principe de base initial, la représentation selon la population.  On peut affirmer qu’une révision basée sur la formule prescrite dans le projet de loi atteindrait mieux cet objectif que la formule actuellement employée.  Selon la nouvelle formule, les provinces dont la population augmentera le plus rapidement, soit l’Alberta, la Colombie-Britannique et l’Ontario, devraient, après la révision de 2011, recevoir une part des sièges correspondant davantage, voire presque exactement dans certains cas, à leur part de la population totale des provinces(17).

Toutefois, le premier ministre de l’Ontario, Dalton McGuinty, et d’autres ont signalé que même sous le nouveau régime de révision de la représentation des provinces à la Chambre des communes établi dans le projet de loi, l’Ontario demeurera sous-représentée à la Chambre(18).  Le projet de loi suscite également des réserves à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec.  La province conservera bien ses 75 sièges, mais la nouvelle formule de révision entraînera une baisse du pourcentage des sièges détenus par la province à la Chambre.  Le 16 mai 2007, l’Assemblée nationale a unanimement appuyé une motion exhortant le gouvernement fédéral à retirer son projet de loi sur la réforme démocratique(19).

Il convient peut-être aussi de noter que le projet de loi propose un diviseur ascendant pour réviser le nombre de sièges de chaque province à la Chambre des communes.  Ainsi, les augmentations du nombre de députés fédéraux seront plus importantes que celles qu’entraînerait une formule basée sur un diviseur électoral fixe.  De plus, 30 ans après l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi, les augmentations fondées sur un nombre total de sièges révisé au moyen d’un diviseur électoral ascendant auront un effet cumulatif, contrairement à ce qui se produirait s’il était révisé au moyen d’un diviseur électoral fixe.  Cela pourrait avoir pour résultat de produire des augmentations beaucoup trop fortes du nombre de sièges, comme le ferait la formule de « l’amalgame ».


Notes

*  Avertissement :  Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur.  Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.
  1. Élections Canada, La représentation à la Chambre des communes du Canada, mars 2002, p. 3.
  2. Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, par. 51(1) :
    À l’entrée en vigueur du présent paragraphe et, par la suite, à l’issue de chaque recensement décennal, il est procédé à la révision du nombre des députés et de la représentation des provinces à la Chambre des communes selon les pouvoirs conférés et les modalités de temps ou autres fixées en tant que de besoin par le Parlement du Canada, compte tenu des règles suivantes.

    Voir aussi la section Contexte du présent résumé législatif, intitulée « La formule à la Confédération », partie 1, p. 3.

  3. Russell Alan Williams, « Canada’s System of Representation in Crisis:  the ‘279 Formula’ and Federal Electoral Redistributions », The American Review of Canadian Studies, printemps 2005, p. 103.
  4. Ibid., p. 99 et 100.
  5. Élections Canada (2002), p. 6.
  6. Ibid.
  7. Williams (2005), p. 104.
  8. Élections Canada (2002), p. 6.
  9. Robert Marleau et Camille Montpetit, La procédure et les usages de la Chambre des communes, 2000, Ottawa, Chambre des communes, p. 144.
  10. Ibid.
  11. Voir la Loi constitutionnelle de 1946, L.R.C. 1985, annexe II, no 30.  Pour plus de précisions, voir Norman Ward, The Canadian House of Commons:  Representation, Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 1950, p. 54 et 55.
  12. Ibid., p. 144 et 145.
  13. Voir Débats, 2 décembre 1974, p. 1846.  Pour plus de précisions, voir Norman Ward, Dawson’s The Government of Canada, 6e éd., Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 1987, p. 91.
  14. Élections Canada (2002), p. 8.  Voir aussi Débats, 2 décembre 1974, p. 1845 à 1847, où Mitchell Sharp, Président du Conseil privé, décrit la formule de l’amalgame.
  15. Comme le prévoit la Loi constitutionnelle de 1999 (Nunavut).
  16. Élections Canada (2002), p. 9.
  17. Ibid., p. A1.
  18. Brian Laghi et Karen Howlett, « Tory Bill Unfair, McGuinty Charges », The Globe and Mail [Toronto], 18 mai 2007, p. A1.  Voir aussi Bea Vongdouangchanh, « Government’s seat increase bill ‘flies in face of rep by pop,’ says Aucoin », The Hill Times, 26 novembre 2007, p. 1.
  19. Chantal Hébert, « Harper Running Out of Options on Quebec », The Toronto Star, 21 mai 2007, p. A13.

© Bibliothèque du Parlement