Legislative Summary
Bill S-4: An Act to amend the Energy Efficiency Act
Sam N.K. Banks, Law and Government Division
Lynne C. Myers, Science and Technology Division
Publication No. 39-2-LS-608-E
PDF 90, (10 Pages) PDF
2008-06-17

Table of Contents


Background

The Energy Efficiency Act was proclaimed in 1992 and regulates the energy use standards of many imported and interprovincially traded energy-using products.  The Act also provides for the labelling of energy-using products and the collection of data on energy use.

Under the Act, energy-use labels must be attached to certain energy-using products, such as clothes dryers, clothes washers, integrated over/under washer-dryers, dishwashers, electric ranges, freezers, refrigerators and combination refrigerator-freezers, and room air conditioners before they can be sold.

This bill seeks to amend the Energy Efficiency Act to establish the power to regulate energy efficiency standards for classes of products that affect energy consumption and to enhance labelling requirements for consumer and commercial products.  Under the current Act, the government must regulate product by product; the amendments in Bill S‑4 provide the ability to regulate “classes of products,” which would allow the government to address in one regulation all products that use energy or affect power consumption.  This is an expansion of the Act’s original regulatory reach.

Also notable among the energy efficiency measures provided for in the bill are standards to regulate the amount of standby power consumed by products when they are not in use.  When the Act was proclaimed in 1992, “standby mode” had not been generally recognized as a function that often consumes large amounts of energy, and it was not dealt with in the legislation.  The amendments in Bill S-4 seek to address changes in products and energy efficiency standards since that time.

Bill S-4 contains substantially the same provisions included in Part II of Bill C‑30, An Act to amend the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, the Energy Efficiency Act and the Motor Vehicle Fuel Consumption Standards Act (Canada’s Clean Air Act), introduced in the 1st Session of the 39th Parliament.  That bill was amended and passed by a Legislative Committee and was at report stage and second reading in the House of Commons when it died on the Order Paper as a result of the prorogation of Parliament on 14 September 2007.

According to a government press release, Bill S-4 will allow the government to “prescribe standards not only for more products that use energy, but also products, such as thermostats, that affect energy use.”(1)  Other amendments to the Act will require the Minister of Natural Resources to submit energy efficiency progress reports to Parliament every three years, comparing “the stringency and comprehensiveness of energy-efficiency standards in Canada with those in other North American jurisdictions.”(2)

Description and Analysis

A.  Preamble

Bill S-4 creates a preamble to the Energy Efficiency Act, stating that “the Government of Canada is committed to ensuring sustained improvement in the efficient use of energy in all sectors of the Canadian economy.”

B.  Clause 1 – Interpretation

Clause 1 adds a new section 2.1 to the interpretation part of the Act.  This clause is intended to provide “greater certainty” by adding a precise definition of the word “class” as that word is used in the Act.  A “class” of energy-using products may be defined by common energy-consuming characteristics, the intended use of the products, or the conditions under which the products are normally used.

C.  Clause 2 – Interprovincial Trade and Importation

In the current Energy Efficiency Act, section 4(1)(a) prohibits dealers from selling, leasing or shipping an energy-using product “from the province in which it was manufactured to another province” without meeting certain conditions.  Clause 2 amends that section by replacing the quoted phrase with “from one province to another province.”  In addition, section 4(1)(b) of the current Act, which requires products or their packages to be labelled “in the prescribed form and manner” is amended to require labelling “in accordance with the regulations.”

D.  Clause 3 – Information Provided by Dealers

Clause 3 amends section 5 of the Act, which sets out the information that must be provided by dealers who ship or import energy-using products.  Under the current subsection 5(1), dealers must “file” information with the Minister in “a report setting out prescribed information respecting the energy efficiency of those products.”  Bill S-4 amends this wording to require that a dealer “provide” the Minister with the information, and adds a requirement for information on the energy efficiency, shipment and importation of products.

Similar technical changes (from “file a report” to “provide prescribed information”) are proposed for subsections 5(2)(a) and (b), which provide exceptions to the information set out in subsection 5(1).  In addition, this clause allows in certain circumstances for an exemption from the requirement to provide information related to the energy efficiency of energy-using products, while leaving in place the requirement for shipment and importation information.  Clause 3 states that information does not have to be provided if the Minister is satisfied that it has been provided previously, or that information has been provided on comparable products that differ from the products in question “only in a manner that does not relate to energy efficiency.”  The existing Act uses the phrase “does not affect their energy efficiency” (emphasis added).

E.  Clause 4 – Retention of Documents and Records

Clause 4 makes several technical wording changes dealing with the records and documents that dealers must keep.  In the current section 7, the documents and records must “enable” the Minister to verify the accuracy and completeness of the information.  Under this bill, they must be “sufficient” for the Minister to do the verification. 

F.  Clause 5 – Regulations

Clause 5 replaces section 20(1)(a) of the Act, which sets out the regulatory powers under the Act.  Currently, the Governor in Council may make regulations to prescribe as an energy-using product any manufactured product designed to operate using electricity, oil, natural gas or any other form or source of energy, or to be used as a door or window system.  Clause 5 extends that regulatory authority to cover any class of manufactured products.  It also removes the reference to door and window systems and replaces those words with “or that affects or controls energy consumption.”  These changes broaden the range of products that may be regulated under the Act.

Subsection 20(1)(b) of the English version of the Act is amended by removing the word “prescribed” before “classes of energy-using products” to bring it into accordance with the wording in the French version of the Act.

Clause 5 also simplifies the language, while broadening the regulatory authority of the Governor in Council, by amending subsection 20(1)(c).  At present, this subsection permits the making of regulations governing the form and manner of labelling energy-using products or prescribed classes of products, or their packages, with respect to their energy efficiency.  Clause 5 states simply that regulations may be made “respecting the labelling of energy-using products or their packages, or classes of energy-using products or their packages.”  The restriction that the labelling is “with respect to their energy efficiency” is removed.

G.  Clause 6 – Reporting Requirements

A new clause 6 requires that the Minister compare Canadian energy efficiency standards with those of the United States and Mexico every three years.  This is in addition to the annual report to Parliament the Minister must make under the existing section 36 of the Act.  The purpose of the comparison is to demonstrate the extent to which the stringency of Canadian standards matches that of the other jurisdictions.

H.  Clause 7 – Comparison Requirements

Clause 7 replaces the existing section 37 with a new section 37.  Within four years of the day on which this section comes into force, the Minister must, in the report referred to in the previous sections, demonstrate the extent to which energy efficiency standards have been prescribed under the Act “for all energy-using products whose use has a significant impact on energy consumption in Canada.” 

I.  Coming into Force

Clause 8 states that the Act will come into force on a day to be fixed by order of the Governor in Council. 

Commentary

According to government information, the amendments proposed in this bill are part of the government’s overall strategy to address climate change:  the backgrounder released when Bill S-4 was introduced states that improvements to energy efficiency can help control energy costs as well as reduce “emissions of greenhouse gases directly as less fuel is burned by products such as furnaces.”(3)

This strategy began in October 2006, when the government published a notice of intent to regulate air emissions.(4)  Among the provisions in the notice are certain commitments to make amendments to energy efficiency regulations under the Energy Efficiency Act.  The intent of these amendments is to broaden the scope of the Act to cover additional products and applications and “provide a sounder basis for enforcement and labelling provisions.”(5)

The notice of intent was followed in April 2007 by the Regulatory Framework for Air Emissions,(6) which stated that work had commenced on a series of amendments to the Energy Efficiency Regulations.  The Framework also set out a proposed timeframe for the pre-publication of these amendments.  Among the industrial and consumer products and provisions for which new or additional standards are to be regulated are the following:

  • commercial clothes washers
  • dishwashers
  • incandescent and fluorescent lamps
  • standby power requirements for consumer electronics
  • battery chargers
  • satellite set top boxes

Notable among these is the proposal to regulate standards for standby power.

Many electrical devices – from televisions, DVD players and stereos to microwave ovens – cannot be switched off completely without being unplugged.  Unplugging these, in turn, may not be desirable because doing so could affect the product’s memory or any programming that has been entered into the device.  Therefore, when plugged in and operating on standby mode, these products continue to draw power 24 hours a day.

This so-called “phantom load” can be significant.  For example, a television set that is energy efficient can use 1 watt or less of power in standby mode.  An older standard television uses an average of 12 watts.(7)  While this may not seem like much when viewed in terms of individual units, multiplied by the many electrical devices found in Canadian households, the power consumed by appliances supposedly turned off is amplified:

The Office of Energy Efficiency at Natural Resources Canada estimates that if all these products consumed a minimal amount of power in standby mode, a typical household could cut its electricity cost by at least $35 a year and, across the country, enough electricity would be saved to power more than 300,000 homes.(8)

 

A.  Reaction to Bill S-4

Bill S-4 has not attracted much media attention to date, and reported reaction to it has been somewhat muted.  For example:

Industry greeted the proposed regulations with a shrug.  A spokeswoman from Sony Canada said they would have little bearing on the company’s line of consumer electronics.  “All Sony televisions consume less than one watt of power in standby mode, and Sony is continually developing innovative technologies that improve the energy efficiency of our products,” Candace Haymen said in an e‑mail.

Environmental groups were likewise tepid in their response.  The World Wildlife Fund’s Julia Langer says Canada lags far behind most countries in the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development in energy efficiency.  She says the government needs to impose tougher restrictions on industry rather than “housekeeping measures” if it’s serious about saving energy.  “It’s not that it’s bad, it’s just that we’re getting impatient for actual regulatory initiatives that are going to ban inefficient products,” she said.(9)

The broad nature of the regulatory powers sought in the bill have also been noted.  The bill would amend the Act to allow for the regulation of products that use energy or affect energy consumption (emphasis added).  This could eventually lead to regulations restricting water flowing through appliances and fixtures such as dishwashers, shower heads and toilets by mandating low-flow fixtures, since these affect energy use.(10)


Endnotes

*   Notice:  For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force.  It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.
  1. Natural Resources Canada, Press release, “Using Less, Living Better:  Government of Canada Modernizes Energy Efficiency Act,” 3 June 2008.
  2. Ibid.
  3. Natural Resources Canada, Backgrounder 2008/39(a), “Amending Canada’s Energy Efficiency Act,” 3 June 2008.
  4. The Canada Gazette, Part I, Vol. 140, No. 1, 21 October 2006, “Notice of intent to develop and implement regulations and other measures to reduce air emissions,” (pdf, 61 pages), p. 3351.
  5. Ibid., p. 3357.
  6. Environment Canada, Regulatory Framework for Air Emissions (pdf, 48 pages), Ottawa, 2007.
  7. Natural Resources Canada, Office of Energy Efficiency, ENERGY STAR Purchasing Guide, 2005.
  8. Natural Resources Canada, (3 June 2008).
  9. Steve Rennie, “Feds to limit power consumed by electronics in standby mode,” The Canadian Press, 3 June 2008.
  10. Steve Rennie, “Ottawa mulls ways to plug water drain; Regulations considered on limiting flow through toilets, other fixtures,” Halifax Chronicle Herald, 9 June 2008, p. A4.

 


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Projet de loi S-4 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'efficacité énergétique
Sam N.K. Banks, Division du droit et du gouvernement
Lynne C. Myers, Division des sciences et de la technologie
2008-06-17
Publication no 39-2-LS-608-F
PDF 94, (11 Pages) PDF

Table des matières


Contexte

La Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique (LEE), édictée en 1992, régit les normes d’efficacité énergétique de nombreux matériels consommateurs d’énergie importés et expédiés d’une province à une autre. La LEE prescrit également l’étiquetage de ces matériels et la cueillette de données sur l’efficacité énergétique.

Selon la LEE, une étiquette d’efficacité énergétique doit être apposée sur certains matériels consommateurs d’énergie, comme les sécheuses, les laveuses, les laveuses-sécheuses, les lave-vaisselle, les cuisinières électriques, les congélateurs, les réfrigérateurs et réfrigérateurs-congélateurs et les climatiseurs individuels, avant leur vente.

Le projet de loi S-4 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique vise à accorder le pouvoir de fixer, par règlement, des normes d’efficacité énergétique pour toute catégorie de matériels dont l’utilisation influe sur la consommation d’énergie, et de renforcer les exigences en matière d’étiquetage pour les produits de consommation et commerciaux. Selon la LEE actuelle, le gouvernement doit réglementer chaque matériel individuellement; les modifications que propose le projet de loi prévoient la capacité de réglementer des « catégories de matériels », ce qui permettrait au gouvernement de prendre un seul règlement pour tous les matériels qui consomment de l’énergie ou dont l’utilisation influe sur la consommation d’énergie. Il s’agit d’un élargissement du pouvoir de réglementation original de la LEE.

Parmi les mesures d’efficacité énergétique du projet de loi, il faut signaler les normes de réglementation de la consommation d’énergie des matériels en mode veille. Au moment de l’édiction de la LEE en 1992, on ne reconnaissait généralement pas le « mode veille » comme un mode de grande consommation d’énergie, et la LEE n’en tenait pas compte. Le projet de loi propose de prendre en compte les changements survenus dans les matériels et les normes d’efficacité énergétique depuis ce temps.

Le projet de loi S-4 contient essentiellement les mêmes dispositions que la Partie II du projet de loi C 30 : Loi modifiant la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999), la Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique et la Loi sur les normes de consommation de carburant des véhicules automobiles (Loi canadienne sur la qualité de l’air) présenté à la première session de la 39e législature. Ce projet de loi avait été amendé et adopté par un comité législatif et en était à l’étape du rapport et de la deuxième lecture à la Chambre des communes lorsqu’il est mort au Feuilleton en raison de la prorogation du Parlement le 14 septembre 2007.

Selon un communiqué de presse du gouvernement, le projet de loi S-4 permettra au gouvernement de « prescrire des normes non seulement pour les produits qui utilisent de l’énergie, mais aussi pour les produits qui, comme les thermostats, influent sur la consommation d’énergie »(1). D’autres modifications à la LEE exigeront du ministre des Ressources naturelles qu’il présente tous les trois ans au Parlement un rapport d’étape sur l’efficacité énergétique qui compare « la rigueur et l’exhaustivité des normes établies par le Canada avec celles d’autres États d’Amérique du Nord »(2).

Description et analyse

A. Préambule

Le projet de loi crée un préambule à la LEE, énonçant que « le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à assurer l’amélioration constante de l’efficacité énergétique dans tous les secteurs de l’économie canadienne ».

B. Article 1 – Définitions

L’article 1 ajoute le nouvel article 2.1 aux définitions de la LEE. Il vise à préciser le sens à donner au terme « catégorie » employé dans la LEE. Une « catégorie » de matériels consommateurs d’énergie peut être définie selon des caractéristiques communes de consommation d’énergie des matériels, l’usage auxquels ils sont destinés ou les circonstances dans lesquelles ils sont normalement utilisés.

C. Article 2 – Commerce interprovincial et importation

Dans l’actuelle LEE, l’alinéa 4(1)b) interdit au fournisseur d’expédier « de la province de fabrication dans une autre province, pour le vendre ou le louer », du matériel de consommation d’énergie non conforme à certaines exigences. L’article 2 modifie cette disposition en remplaçant la phrase citée par la suivante : « d’une province à une autre, aux fins de vente ou de location ». De plus, l’alinéa 4(1)b) de la version anglaise de la LEE actuelle, qui exige qu’une étiquette « in the prescribed form and manner » soit apposée sur les matériels ou leurs emballages, est modifié pour exiger l’apposition d’une étiquette « in accordance with the regulations ».

D. Article 3 – Renseignements communiqués par le fournisseur

L’article 3 modifie l’article 5 de la LEE, qui dispose que le fournisseur qui expédie ou importe du matériel consommateur d’énergie doit déposer des renseignements. Selon l’actuel paragraphe 5(1), le fournisseur doit « déposer » auprès du ministre « un rapport qui contient les renseignements réglementaires concernant l’efficacité énergétique du matériel consommateur d’énergie ». Le projet de loi modifie le libellé afin d’exiger du fournisseur qu’il « communique » au ministre les renseignements, et ajoute l’obligation de communiquer les renseignements concernant l’efficacité énergétique, l’expédition ou l’importation de matériels.

Des modifications de forme semblables (« déposer un rapport » devient « communiquer les renseignements réglementaires ») sont proposées pour les aliénas 5(2)a) et b), qui prévoient des exceptions aux renseignements dont il est question au paragraphe 5(1). En outre, l’article 3 exempte le fournisseur, dans certains cas, de l’obligation de communiquer des renseignements concernant l’efficacité énergétique du matériel consommateur d’énergie, mais non de l’obligation de communiquer des renseignements concernant l’expédition ou l’importation de ce matériel. Il dispose qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de communiquer les renseignements si le ministre est convaincu qu’ils ont déjà été communiqués ou que le matériel consommateur d’énergie a les mêmes caractéristiques d’efficacité énergétique qu’un matériel consommateur d’énergie comparable « pour lequel les renseignements ont déjà été communiqués ». La LEE actuelle est ainsi libellée : « ayant déjà fait, de la part du fournisseur ou d’un autre fournisseur, l’objet d’un rapport » (nous soulignons).

E. Article 4 – Conservation des documents et dossiers

L’article 4 apporte plusieurs modifications de forme au libellé des articles portant sur les dossiers et documents que le fournisseur doit tenir. Selon l’actuel article 7, le fournisseur doit tenir des documents et dossiers qui « permettent » au ministre de vérifier l’exactitude et l’intégralité des renseignements qu’ils contiennent. Selon le projet de loi, le fournisseur doit tenir des documents et dossiers « suffisants pour permettre » au ministre de faire la vérification.

F. Article 5 – Règlements

L’article 5 remplace l’alinéa 20(1)a) de la LEE, qui confère les pouvoirs réglementaires. Actuellement, le gouverneur en conseil peut, par règlement, désigner comme matériel consommateur d’énergie tout objet conçu pour fonctionner à l’électricité, au pétrole, au gaz naturel ou au moyen de toute autre forme ou source d’énergie ou pour servir de porte ou fenêtre. L’article 5 élargit le pouvoir réglementaire pour englober toute catégorie de produits fabriqués. Il supprime aussi la mention aux portes et fenêtres et la remplace par « ou qui régit la consommation d’énergie ou influe sur celle-ci ». Ces modifications élargissent l’éventail de matériels que la LEE peut réglementer.

L’alinéa 20(1)b) de la version anglaise de la LEE est modifié par suppression du mot « prescribed » précédant le terme « classes of energy-using products » afin de l’harmoniser au libellé français.

L’article 5 simplifie également le libellé, tout en élargissant le pouvoir réglementaire du gouverneur en conseil, en modifiant l’alinéa 20(1)c). À l’heure actuelle, cet alinéa permet la prise de règlements fixant les modalités d’étiquetage de tout matériel consommateur d’énergie ou de toute catégorie de matériels consommateurs d’énergie, ou de leur emballage, relativement à leur efficacité énergétique. L’article 5 énonce simplement qu’un règlement peut « régir l’étiquetage de tout matériel consommateur d’énergie ou de toute catégorie de matériels consommateurs d’énergie, ou de leur emballage ». La mention restrictive « relativement à leur efficacité énergétique » est supprimée.

G. Article 6 – Obligation de faire rapport

L’article 6 ajoute un nouveau paragraphe qui exige du ministre qu’il compare, tous les trois ans, les normes d’efficacité énergétique canadiennes à celles des États-Unis et du Mexique. Cette exigence s’ajoute à l’obligation qu’impose l’article 36 de la LEE au ministre d’établir un rapport annuel et de le faire déposer devant le Parlement. Cette comparaison a pour objet de démontrer dans quelle mesure les normes canadiennes sont aussi rigoureuses que celles d’autres États.

H. Article 7 – Exigences en matière de comparaison

L’article 7 remplace entièrement l’article 37 actuel. Dans les quatre ans suivant l’entrée en vigueur de l’article 37, le ministre démontre dans le rapport visé précédemment dans quelle mesure des normes d’efficacité énergétique ont été fixées sous le régime de la LEE « pour les matériels consommateurs d’énergie dont l’utilisation a un effet important sur la consommation d’énergie au Canada ».

I. Entrée en vigueur

L’article 8 énonce que la LEE entrera en vigueur à la date fixée par décret.

Commentaire

Selon les renseignements du gouvernement, les modifications que propose le projet de loi font partie de la stratégie globale du gouvernement concernant les changements climatiques : le précis d’information publié au moment du dépôt du projet de loi S-4 affirme que l’amélioration de l’efficacité énergétique peut contribuer à limiter les coûts énergétiques et à réduire « directement les émissions de gaz à effet de serre en faisant en sorte que des produits comme les fournaises brûlent moins de combustible »(3).

Cette stratégie a vu le jour en octobre 2006 lorsque le gouvernement a publié un avis d’intention de réglementer les émissions atmosphériques(4). Certaines dispositions de l’avis renferment l’engagement d’apporter des modifications au règlement sur l’efficacité énergétique en vertu de la LEE. Ces modifications visent à élargir la portée de la LEE afin qu’elle puisse inclure d’autres produits et applications et « offrir une base plus solide aux dispositions liées à la mise en œuvre de la LEE et à l’étiquetage »(5).

L’avis d’intention a été suivi, en avril 2007, du Cadre réglementaire sur les émissions atmosphériques(6) qui indique que des travaux ont commencé sur une éventuelle série de modifications au Règlement sur l’efficacité énergétique. Le Cadre établit aussi un projet d’échéancier pour la prépublication des modifications. Le Règlement fixera des normes nouvelles ou supplémentaires pour des matériels et biens industriels et de consommation, dont les suivants :

  • les machines à laver commerciales
  • les lave-vaisselle
  • les lampes fluorescentes et à incandescence
  • les exigences en matière d’alimentation de veille de produits électroniques grand public
  • les chargeurs de batteries
  • les boîtes intégrées pour satellites

La proposition visant à fixer des normes en matière d’alimentation de veille est digne de mention.

De nombreux appareils électriques – des téléviseurs aux lecteurs DVD et des chaînes stéréophoniques aux fours à micro-ondes – ne peuvent être éteints complètement que s’ils sont débranchés. Toutefois, il n’est pas souhaitable de les débrancher puisque la mémoire de ces appareils ou la programmation qui y a été entrée peuvent être effacées. Par conséquent, lorsqu’ils sont branchés et en mode veille, ces produits consomment continuellement de l’électricité.

Cette « charge fictive » peut s’avérer importante. Ainsi, un téléviseur éconergétique peut consommer un watt d’électricité ou moins en mode veille. Un téléviseur ordinaire plus ancien consomme en moyenne douze watts(7). Cela peut sembler bien peu lorsqu’on pense à un seul appareil, mais si on multiplie le tout par le nombre d’appareils électriques qui se trouvent dans les foyers canadiens, alors la consommation d’électricité de ces appareils soi-disant éteints est amplifiée :

L’Office de l’efficacité énergétique de Ressources naturelles Canada estime que si tous ces produits consommaient une quantité d’énergie minimale en mode veille, le ménage canadien type économiserait au moins 35 dollars par an sur les coûts d’électricité et que, dans tout le pays, on économiserait une quantité d’électricité équivalant à la consommation de plus de 300 000 ménages(8).

A. Réaction au projet de loi S-4

Le projet de loi n’a pas beaucoup attiré l’attention des médias jusqu’ici, et les réactions rapportées sont plutôt tempérées.

[traduction] L’industrie a accueilli la réglementation proposée avec un haussement d’épaules. Une porte-parole de Sony Canada a affirmé que cela aura peu d’effet sur les appareils électroniques grand public de l’entreprise. Selon ce qu’a écrit Candace Haymen dans un courriel, « tous les téléviseurs Sony consomment moins d’un watt d’électricité en mode veille, et Sony développe constamment de nouvelles technologies pour améliorer l’efficacité énergétique de ses produits ».

[traduction] La réaction des groupes environnementalistes était aussi réservée. Selon Julia Langer, du Fonds mondial pour la nature, le Canada accuse beaucoup de retard en matière d’efficacité énergétique comparativement à la majorité des pays de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques. Elle affirme que le gouvernement doit imposer à l’industrie des restrictions plus sévères plutôt que des « mesures administratives », s’il est déterminé à économiser l’énergie. « Ce n’est pas mauvais, c’est seulement que nous sommes impatients d’avoir de vrais règlements qui interdiront les produits non éconergétiques », a-t-elle déclaré(9).

La nature globale du pouvoir de réglementation prévu au projet de loi a également attiré notre attention. Le projet de loi modifierait la LEE pour permettre de réglementer les matériels qui consomment de l’énergie ou dont l’utilisation influe sur celle-ci (nous soulignons). Cela pourrait un jour mener à la prise de règlements limitant la consommation d’eau des électroménagers et des appareils sanitaires comme les lave-vaisselle, les pommes de douche et les toilettes en rendant les appareils sanitaires à débit réduit obligatoires, puisque leur utilisation influe sur la consommation d’énergie(10).


Notes

* Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.
  1. Ressources naturelles Canada, communiqué de presse, « Ensemble pour faire plus avec moins : Le gouvernement du Canada modernise la Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique », 3 juin 2008.
  2. Ibid.
  3. Ressources naturelles Canada, précis d’information 2008/39(a), « Modifications apportées à la Loi sur l’efficacité énergétique du Canada », 3 juin 2008.
  4. Gazette du Canada, Partie I, Vol. 140, no 1, 21 octobre 2006, « Avis d’intention d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des règlements et d’autres mesures pour réduire les émissions atmosphériques » (pdf, 61 pages), p. 3351.
  5. Ibid., p. 3357.
  6. Environnement Canada, Cadre réglementaire sur les émissions atmosphériques (pdf, 50 pages), Ottawa, 2007.
  7. Ressources naturelles Canada, Office de l’efficacité énergétique, ENERGY STAR Guide d’achat, 2005.
  8. Ressources naturelles Canada (3 juin 2008).
  9. Steve Rennie, « Feds to limit power consumed by electronics in standby mode », The Canadian Press, 3 juin 2008.
  10. Steve Rennie, « Ottawa mulls ways to plug water drain; Regulations considered on limiting flow through toilets, other fixtures », Halifax Chronicle Herald, 9 juin 2008, p. A4.


© Bibliothèque du Parlement