Legislative Summary
Legislative Summary of Bill S-2: An Act to amend the Customs Act
Mark Mahabir, International Affairs, Trade and Finance Division
2009-02-13
Revised on: 2009-07-21
Publication No. 40-2-LS-628-E
PDF 84, (10 Pages) PDF

Background

On 29 January 2009, Bill S-2, An Act to amend the Customs Act, was introduced in the Senate by the Leader of the Government in the Senate, the Honourable Marjory LeBreton. This bill is identical to Bill S-2, An Act to amend the Customs Act, which was introduced in the 1st Session of the 40th Parliament and which died on the Order Paper when Parliament was prorogued on 4 December 2008 and to Bill C-43, An Act to amend the Customs Act, which died on the Order Paper when Parliament was dissolved on 7 September 2008. Bill S-2 amends the Customs Act (1) to clarify certain provisions of the French version of the Act and to make technical amendments to others. It also imposes additional requirements in customs controlled areas, grants the minister the power to authorize entry, amends provisions concerning the determination of value for duty, and modifies advance commercial reporting requirements. The search powers of customs officers are expanded to include individuals and their goods that are in or are leaving a customs controlled area. The bill also provides that regulations may be enacted that describe the time frame and manner in which information about passengers may be provided by prescribed persons. Finally, it provides that regulations may incorporate material found in associated documents.

The Customs Act was first enacted in 1867 (2) to serve three purposes: (1) to ensure the collection of duties, (2) to control the movement of people and goods, and (3) to protect Canadian industry from real or potential injury caused by the actual or contemplated import of dumped or subsidized goods and by other forms of unfair competition. It is important to note that the Act is not a taxing statute; rather, it provides the legislative authority to administer and enforce the collection of duties and taxes that are imposed under separate taxing legislation, such as the Customs Tariff, (3) the Excise Tax Act, (4) the Excise Act (5) and the Special Import Measures Act, (6) to name a few.

The current Customs Act is the result of the total revamping of the 1867 Act, which was undertaken in 1986 to maintain the original Act’s three purposes and to allow for greater flexibility in light of developments in transportation, communication, trade and business practices. (7) Since 1986, the Act and has been amended continuously in response to free trade and related international agreements, and to fine-tune international trade measures.

Description and Analysis

A. Clarification of the French Version of the Customs Act (Clauses 1, 3(3), 13, 14 and 15)

The bill makes a number of technical changes intended to improve the concordance between the Act’s French and English versions.

B. Removal of Authorization Regulation and Expansion of Presentation and Reporting Requirements of Individuals, and for Goods, at Customs Controlled Areas (Clauses 2, 3, 4 and 5)

Clause 2 of the Bill removes the authorization-by-regulation requirement by which the minister currently approves access to a customs controlled area by a person. Thus, the minister may now directly authorize access to a customs controlled area by a person. Further, according to clause 2(2), the minister may amend, suspend, renew, cancel or reinstate an authorization.

Clause 3 of the Bill removes an exemption that applied to persons boarding a flight to a destination outside of Canada who were leaving a customs controlled area. By the removal of this exemption, such persons are obligated to present and identify themselves to an officer and to report any goods obtained in the area and answer questions asked by an officer.

Clause 3 also expands the presentation requirements for individuals leaving customs controlled areas, to include the examination of goods (clause 3(2) new paragraph 11.4(1)(b.1)). Further, all individuals who are in a customs controlled area must present and identify themselves if requested by an officer and answer questions asked by an officer (clause 3(4)). Presentation and reporting requirements for individuals leaving or in customs controlled areas do not apply to persons who are required to present themselves on arrival in Canada according to section 11, or to report goods according to section 12, of the Customs Act (clause 3(4)).

Clause 4 amends the regulation-making powers of the Governor in Council to include regulations prescribing the persons or classes of persons who may be granted access to customs controlled areas and the manner in which a person must present himself or herself upon leaving, or while in, a customs controlled area.

Clause 5 amends the reporting requirements for goods imported into Canada found in paragraph 12(3)(b) of the Act, to provide that a “prescribed person,” rather than “the person in charge of the importation,” is obligated to report to the nearest customs office. Thus, regulations describing “prescribed persons” will determine who must report imported goods at the nearest customs office.

C. Clarification of Regulation-making Power of the Governor in Council (Clauses 6, 16 and 17)

Clause 6 creates new section 12.1, which grants the Governor in Council the power to make regulations regarding the advance information that is required for the importation of goods. This regulation-making power is similar to that provided for in paragraph 164(1)(b), which is now repealed by clause 16 of the bill. Thus, the bill transfers the regulation-making power from Part VII of the Act to Part II, which deals with importation. Clause 17 creates new section 164.1, which allows the Governor in Council to incorporate material by reference to any regulation made under the Act. Material may be incorporated by reference regardless of its source and may be amended without public notice in the Canada Gazette as required by the Statutory Instruments Act. (8)

D. Expansion of Ministerial Powers Regarding Passenger Information (Clause 12)

Clause 12 amends section 107.1(1) to provide the minister with the power to prescribe the time and the manner in which information about passengers may be requested from prescribed persons under prescribed circumstances and conditions. This amendment is based on a recommendation of the Auditor General. (9)

E. Clarification of the Methods Used in the Valuation of Goods for the Calculation of Duties (Clauses 7, 8, 9) (10)

Clause 7 amends the methods available to adjust the transaction value of the goods being imported when the vendor receives a benefit from a subsequent sale. Specifically, clause 7 allows upward adjustments of the transaction price based on factors found in paragraph 48(5)(a) of the Act, which include commissions, packaging costs, royalties and licence fees, and the cost of transportation, to name a few examples. Previously, upward adjustments were allowed only on the basis of proceeds of the subsequent sale, according to paragraph 48(5)(a)(v). This may lead to higher valuations and therefore higher duties being paid by importers.

Clauses 8 and 9 make changes related to the concordance of the English and the French versions of the Act. However, because of the deletion of certain terminology, the French version may in some places differ from that of the English.

Clause 8 also amends the conditions required to utilize the transaction value of identical goods in the determination of duties to be paid. Specifically, the term “to the purchaser” is deleted in paragraph 49(1)(a) by the operation of clause 8(2). This means that an actual purchaser is not required to determine the value of the transaction based on an identical good. This term is also deleted from paragraphs 49(2)(a) to (c) by clause 8(4). The deletion may reflect the absence of a definition for “purchaser” in the Act and may stem from a number of related cases at the Canadian International Trade Tribunal on the matter.

Clause 9 also amends the conditions required to utilize the transaction value of similar goods in determining the duties to be paid. Specifically, the term “to the purchaser” is deleted in paragraph 50(1)(a) by the operation of clause 9(2). This means that an actual purchaser is not required to determine the value of the transaction based on a similar good.

F. Clarification of Search Powers of Officers in Customs Controlled Areas to Include Searches of Persons or Goods in, or Leaving, a Customs Controlled Area (Clauses 10 and 11)

Clause 10 amends section 99.2(1) so that a customs officer may search persons who are in or who are leaving a customs controlled area if the officer suspects on reasonable grounds that the person has secreted on or about his or her person anything in respect of which the Customs Act or regulations have been or might be contravened, or anything that would provide evidence of a contravention of any federal law prohibiting, regulating or controlling importation or exportation and subject to the rights afforded that person by sections (3) to (5).

Clause 10 also amends section 99.2(2) so that a customs officer may search, in accordance with the regulation, any prescribed person or member of a prescribed class of persons who is in or is leaving a customs controlled area.

Clause 11 amends section 99.3(1) so that a customs officer is authorized to conduct a non-intrusive examination of goods in the custody or possession of a person in or leaving a customs controlled area, in accordance with the regulations. Clause 11 also amends section 99.3(2) so that a customs officer is also authorized to examine any goods, open any baggage, package or container or take samples of goods in the custody or possession of a person who is in or is leaving a customs controlled area and if the officer suspects on reasonable grounds that this Act or any other Act enforced by the officer has been or might be contravened. Lastly, clause 11 amends section 99.3(3) so that a customs officer may also examine abandoned goods or goods not in the possession of any person in a customs controlled area.

G. Coming Into Force

Clause 18 indicates that the bill comes into force on a day to be determined by order of the Governor in Council.

Commentary

The Customs Act is a linking legislation between duties and tariffs paid by importers under the Customs Tariff and security and safety legislation under various other Acts. The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) enforces the Customs Act. Comments on the bill by the transportation industry have focused on the new provisions expanding the powers of officers in customs controlled areas and increasing border security. For example, the Greater Toronto Airports Authority (GTAA) encourages the passing of the bill so that airport security will be improved. (11)

The advance information requirements proposed by the bill are intended to improve risk assessment of imported goods at the border. Combined with the expanded search powers of officers, this may lead to decreased amounts of dangerous counterfeit goods entering Canada through customs-controlled areas. (12) The changes made to the valuation of imported goods may also decrease the number of disputes regarding the calculation of duties. (13) This may also increase revenues obtained from duties if the value of imported goods is more likely to be adjusted upward as a result of the proposed changes in the valuation provisions. (14)

Debate at second reading in the Senate highlighted that the “incorporation by reference” provision in clause 17 contained an exemption from publication in the Canada Gazette for materials incorporated by reference in any forthcoming regulation regarding advance information requirements. (15)

According to testimony by the CBSA on 30 March 2009 at the Standing Senate Committee on National Security and Defence, the bill is expected to improve advance information reporting requirements (16) to allow the CBSA to detect unknown or high-risk shipments, and will help combat internal conspiracies and organized crime at ports of entry by increasing the inspection powers of customs personnel. (17) Debate and evidence heard at committee stage focussed on the size and location of customs-controlled areas, as well as advance information reporting requirements for ground transport carriers. Repeated at Senate committee stage was apprehension regarding the “incorporation by reference” provision and the lack of parliamentary scrutiny over incorporated material because of the Canada Gazette publication exemption. As a consequence, the Senate committee deleted a portion of clause 17 of the bill. (18)

In the House of Commons at second reading the debate focussed on the effect of the bill on cross-border Canada–US trade. After second reading on 5 May 2009 the bill was referred to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security and was passed without amendment by the committee on 26 May 2009. Debates at third reading in the House of Commons raised additional issues, such as solicitor–client privilege and the new inspection powers of customs officials in customs-controlled areas, trade protectionism, the interception of contraband, (19) and privacy concerns over the collection of information by the CBSA.


Endnotes

*  Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force. [ Return to text ]

  1. R.S.C. 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.).
  2. S.C. 1867, c. 6.
  3. S.C. 1997, c. 36.
  4. R.S.C 1985, c. E-15.
  5. R.S.C 1985, c. E-14
  6. R.S.C 1985, c. S-15.
  7. Department of National Revenue Customs and Excise, Background Paper for an Act Respecting Customs, Ottawa, 1983.
  8. R.S.C. 1985, c. S-22. Please note that the exemption from publication in the Canada Gazette was deleted at committee stage in the Senate.
  9. Office of the Auditor General of Canada, Report of the Auditor General of Canada to the House of Commons, PDF (689 Kb, 62 pages) Chapter 5, October 2007, p. 20.
  10. These amendments align the valuation procedure for imported goods with those recommended by Article VII of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. For more information, see World Trade Organization, Customs Valuation.
  11. See “GTAA applauds proposed Customs Act amendments,” Canada NewsWire, 15 February 2008.
  12. See Iain Marlow, “Dangerous fake goods cross border unchallenged; Agency has no power to seize items but fears over Chinese imports could change that,” Toronto Star, 2 July 2007.
  13. For an examination of the issues involved in determining duties based on a purchase in Canada, see Cherry Six Ltd. v. Canada (Border Services Agency) (2005) 10 T.T.R. (2d) 527 (C.I.T.T.) and Ferragamo U.S.A. Inc. v. Canada (Border Services Agency) (2 March 2007), Doc. AP-2005-053 (C.I.T.T.).
  14. See the Valuation for Duty Regulations, SOR/86-792, SOR/95-14 and SOR/97-443; and see Canada Border Services Agency, Memorandum D13-3-1, “Methods of Determining Value for Duty,” 19 April 2001.
  15. Senate, Debates, PDF (689 Kb, 62 pages), 2nd Session, 40th Parliament, 25 February 2009, p. 251,
    In the House of Commons during debate at second reading it was stated that, “[i]ncorporation by reference, as this process is called, can help simplify the regulatory process and is often used to incorporate material of a technical nature”, Debates, PDF (442 Kb, 68 pages), (4 May 2009, p. 3018), An example of material that could be incorporated by reference are international standards published by the International Standards Organization. Please note that the “incorporation by reference” provision applies to all regulations enacted under the Customs Act.
  16. This is known as the “eManifest” program, which is part of a larger Advance Commercial Information program. After implementation of the “eManifest” program, all transport carriers will be required to provide the CBSA with electronic information in advance of the arrival of commercial cargo at a port of entry. For more information see Canada Border Services Agency, eManifest,
  17. Senate, Standing Committee on National Security and Defence, Evidence,, 2nd Session, 40th Parliament, 30 March 2009, pp. 3:11–3:12 (Deirdre Kerr-Perrott, Vice-President, Innovation, Science and Technology, CBSA).
  18. Senate, Standing Committee on National Security and Defence, Second Report, 2nd Session, 40th Parliament, 31 March 2009, Proposed subsection 164.1(2) was deleted, and subsection 164.1(1) was renumbered section 164.1.
  19. These include counterfeit goods and weapons such as guns.

© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Résumé législatif du projet de loi S-2 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur les douanes
Mark Mahabir, Division des affaires internationales, du commerce et des finances
Publication no 40-2-LS-628-F
PDF 88, (11 Pages) PDF
2009-02-13
Révisée le : 2009-07-21

Contexte

Le 29 janvier 2009, le projet de loi S-2 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur les douanes, a été déposé au Sénat par la leader du gouvernement au Sénat, l’honorable Marjory LeBreton. Il est identique au projet de loi portant le même numéro et le même titre déposé au cours de la première session de la 40e législature et mort au Feuilleton à la prorogation du Parlement le 4 décembre 2008 et au projet de loi C-43: Loi modifiant la Loi sur les douanes, déposé au cours de la deuxième session de la 39e législature et mort au Feuilleton à la dissolution du Parlement le 7 septembre 2008. Le projet de loi S-2 modifie la Loi sur les douanes (LSD)(1) pour clarifier certaines dispositions de la version française de la LSD et pour apporter des modifications de forme. De plus, il ajoute des obligations liées aux zones de contrôle des douanes, accorde au ministre le pouvoir d’autoriser l’entrée et modifie des dispositions concernant la détermination de la valeur en douane et les déclarations préalables. Il accroît les pouvoirs des agents des douanes en ce qui concerne la fouille des personnes et de leurs marchandises qui se trouvent dans une zone de contrôle des douanes ou quittent cette zone. Le projet de loi prévoit en outre qu’un règlement peut être pris pour préciser le délai et les modalités selon lesquels les personnes visées par règlement peuvent fournir des renseignements sur les passagers. Enfin, il autorise l’incorporation par renvoi de documents dans les règlements.

La LSD a d’abord été édictée en 1867(2) pour répondre à un triple objectif : 1) veiller à la perception des droits, 2) contrôler la circulation des gens et des marchandises et 3) protéger l’industrie canadienne contre les préjudices pouvant être causés par l’importation effective ou prévue de marchandises sous-évaluées ou subventionnées et par d’autres formes de concurrence déloyale. Il importe de signaler que la LSD n’est pas une loi fiscale, mais qu’elle octroie le pouvoir législatif d’administrer et de faire appliquer l’ensemble des droits et autres taxes imposés par différentes lois fiscales, telles que le Tarif des douanes(3), la Loi sur la taxe d’accise(4), la Loi sur l’accise(5) et la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation(6), pour n’en nommer que quelques-unes.

L’actuelle LSD découle du remaniement complet de la loi de 1867 effectué en 1986 pour préserver le triple objectif initial et pour assurer une plus grande souplesse à la lumière de l’évolution des moyens de transport et de communication et des pratiques commerciales et administratives(7). Depuis 1986, le législateur modifie régulièrement la LSD pour tenir compte des accords de libre-échange et accords internationaux connexes et pour peaufiner les mesures relatives au commerce international.

Description et analyse

A. Clarification de la version française de la Loi sur les douanes (art. 1, 13, 14 et 15 et par. 3(3))

Le projet de loi apporte des modifications de forme visant à améliorer la concordance entre la version française et la version anglaise de la LSD.

B. Abolition de l’obligation de recourir à un règlement et renforcement des obligations de présentation et de déclaration dans les zones de contrôle des douanes (art. 2, 3, 4 et 5)

L’article 2 du projet de loi supprime l’obligation qu’a actuellement le ministre de recourir à un règlement pour autoriser l’accès d’une personne à une zone de contrôle des douanes. Le ministre peut donc dorénavant autoriser directement cet accès. En outre, selon le paragraphe 2(2), le ministre peut modifier, suspendre, renouveler, annuler ou rétablir une autorisation.

L’article 3 du projet de loi supprime une exemption applicable aux personnes qui quittent une zone de contrôle des douanes pour embarquer sur un vol à destination de l’étranger. Dorénavant, ces personnes sont tenues de se présenter à un agent, de s’identifier, de déclarer les marchandises acquises dans la zone et de répondre aux questions.

L’article 3 renforce aussi les exigences pour les personnes qui quittent une zone de contrôle des douanes en les obligeant à présenter leurs marchandises (par. 3(2), qui crée le nouvel alinéa 11.4(1)b.1)). De plus, quiconque se trouve dans une zone de contrôle des douanes doit, à la demande d’un agent, se présenter et s’identifier et répondre aux questions qui lui sont posées (par. 3(4)). L’obligation de présentation et de déclaration visant les personnes qui se trouvent dans une zone de contrôle des douanes ou quittent cette zone ne s’applique pas à celles qui sont tenues de se présenter à leur arrivée au Canada conformément à l’article 11 ou de déclarer des marchandises conformément à l’article 12 de la LSD (par. 3(4)).

L’article 4 modifie le pouvoir de réglementation du gouverneur en conseil en l’autorisant à prendre des règlements qui désignent les personnes ou les catégories de personnes dont l’accès à une zone de contrôle des douanes peut être approuvé et qui concernent la manière dont doit se présenter une personne qui se trouve dans une zone de contrôle des douanes ou quitte cette zone.

L’article 5 modifie l’obligation, prévue à l’alinéa 12(3)b) de la LSD, de déclarer des marchandises importées au Canada pour que « la personne visée par règlement », et non « le responsable du moyen de transport », fasse une déclaration au bureau de douane le plus proche. Par conséquent, un règlement définissant les « personnes visées par règlement » déterminera qui doit déclarer des marchandises importées au bureau de douane le plus proche.

C. Précisions sur le pouvoir du gouverneur en conseil de prendre des règlements (art. 6, 16 et 17)

L’article 6 du projet de loi crée le nouvel article 12.1 de la LSD, qui habilite le gouverneur en conseil à prendre des règlements au sujet des renseignements à fournir au préalable pour l’importation de marchandises. Ce pouvoir de réglementation est analogue à celui qui est prévu à l’alinéa 164(1)b), maintenant abrogé par l’article 16 du projet de loi. Par conséquent, le projet de loi transfère le pouvoir de réglementation de la partie VII de la LSD à la partie II, qui porte sur l’importation. L’article 17 du projet de loi crée le nouvel article 164.1 de la LSD, qui habilite le gouverneur en conseil à incorporer tout document par renvoi dans un règlement pris en vertu de la LSD. Les documents peuvent être incorporés par renvoi quelle que soit leur provenance et peuvent être modifiés sans que l’avis public exigé par la Loi sur les textes réglementaires(8) paraisse dans la Gazette du Canada.

D. Élargissement du pouvoir du ministre d’exiger des renseignements sur les passagers (art. 12)

L’article 12 du projet de loi modifie le paragraphe 107.1(1) pour habiliter le ministre à établir le délai et les modalités selon lesquels il pourra exiger des personnes visées par règlement qu’elles fournissent des renseignements sur les passagers dans les circonstances et conditions prévues par règlement. Cette modification fait suite à une recommandation de la vérificatrice générale(9).

E. Précisions sur les méthodes utilisées pour déterminer la valeur des marchandises dans le calcul des droits (art. 7, 8 et 9)(10)

L’article 7 du projet de loi modifie les méthodes utilisées pour ajuster la valeur transactionnelle des marchandises importées dans le cas où le vendeur reçoit un bénéfice d’une vente ultérieure. Plus précisément, il permet d’ajuster à la hausse le prix transactionnel en fonction des facteurs prévus à l’alinéa 48(5)a) de la LSD, notamment les commissions, les coûts d’emballage, les redevances, les frais de licence et les coûts de transport. Auparavant, les ajustements à la hausse n’étaient autorisés qu’en fonction des produits de la vente ultérieure, conformément au sous-alinéa 48(5)a)(v). Cette mesure peut mener à l’établissement d’une valeur plus élevée et, par conséquent, à une hausse des droits payés par les importateurs.

Les articles 8 et 9 du projet de loi apportent des modifications pour améliorer la concordance entre la version anglaise et la version française de la LSD. Toutefois, des termes ont été supprimés, et la version française peut différer de la version anglaise à certains endroits.

L’article 8 modifie également les conditions requises pour utiliser la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques dans le calcul des droits à payer. Plus précisément, le terme « to the purchaser » est retiré de la version anglaise de l’alinéa 49(1)a) par l’effet du paragraphe 8(2) du projet de loi. Autrement dit, il n’est pas nécessaire que la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises identiques soit établie par un acheteur. Le terme est aussi retiré de la version anglaise des alinéas 49(2)a) à c) par l’effet du paragraphe 8(4). Cette suppression découle sans doute de l’absence de définition d’« acheteur » dans la LSD et d’un certain nombre de causes connexes dont a été saisi le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.

L’article 9 modifie aussi les conditions requises pour utiliser la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises semblables dans le calcul des droits à payer. Plus précisément, le terme « to the purchaser » est retiré de la version anglaise de l’alinéa 50(1)a) par l’effet du paragraphe 9(2). Autrement dit, il n’est pas nécessaire que la valeur transactionnelle de marchandises semblables soit établie par un acheteur.

F. Précisions sur les pouvoirs de fouille des agents, dorénavant applicables aux personnes et aux marchandises qui se trouvent dans une zone de contrôle des douanes ou quittent cette zone (art. 10 et 11)

L’article 10 du projet de loi modifie le paragraphe 99.2(1) pour autoriser un agent des douanes à fouiller toute personne qui se trouve dans une zone de contrôle des douanes ou quitte cette zone s’il soupçonne, pour des motifs raisonnables, qu’elle dissimule sur elle ou près d’elle tout objet d’infraction effective ou éventuelle à la LSD ou à ses règlements d’application ou tout objet permettant d’établir une infraction à une loi fédérale qui interdit, réglemente ou contrôle l’importation ou l’exportation et sous réserve des droits conférés à cette personne par les paragraphes (3) à (5).

En outre, l’article 10 modifie le paragraphe 99.2(2) de façon à ce qu’un agent des douanes puisse, conformément aux règlements, fouiller une personne visée par règlement ou une personne qui appartient à une catégorie de personnes réglementaire si cette personne se trouve dans une zone de contrôle des douanes ou quitte une telle zone.

L’article 11 du projet de loi modifie le paragraphe 99.3(1) de manière à ce qu’un agent des douanes puisse, conformément aux règlements, procéder à l’examen discret de marchandises en la garde ou la en possession d’une personne qui se trouve dans une zone de contrôle des douanes ou quitte cette zone. Il modifie également le paragraphe 99.3(2) pour qu’un agent des douanes soit autorisé à examiner les marchandises en la garde ou en la possession d’une personne qui se trouve dans une zone de contrôle des douanes ou quitte cette zone et dont il soupçonne, pour des motifs raisonnables, qu’elles ont donné ou pourraient donner lieu à une infraction à la LSD ou à toute autre loi fédérale; l’agent des douanes peut aussi ouvrir des bagages, colis ou contenants ou prendre des échantillons des marchandises en la garde ou en la possession de cette personne. En dernier lieu, l’article 11 modifie le paragraphe 93.3(3) pour autoriser un agent à examiner des marchandises abandonnées dans une zone de contrôle des douanes ou des marchandises qui ne sont en la possession de personne dans cette zone.

G. Entrée en vigueur

L’article 18 dispose que le projet de loi entre en vigueur à la date fixée par décret.

Commentaire

La LSD fait le lien entre les dispositions du Tarif des douanes qui imposent des droits et tarifs aux importateurs et les mesures de sécurité de diverses autres lois. L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) est chargée d’appliquer la Loi sur les douanes. Les observations formulées par l’industrie des transports au sujet du projet de loi ont porté sur les nouvelles dispositions qui élargissent les pouvoirs des agents des douanes dans les zones de contrôle des douanes et qui renforcent la sécurité à la frontière. Par exemple, l’Autorité aéroportuaire du Grand Toronto encourage l’adoption du projet de loi pour que la sécurité dans les aéroports soit améliorée(11).

Les dispositions du projet de loi qui obligent à fournir des renseignements au préalable ont pour objet d’améliorer l’évaluation du risque des marchandises à la frontière. Conjuguée à l’élargissement des pouvoirs de fouille des agents, cette mesure pourrait faire diminuer le nombre de contrefaçons dangereuses qui entrent au Canada par les zones de contrôle des douanes(12). Les modifications proposées aux méthodes de détermination de la valeur des marchandises importées pourraient aussi réduire le nombre de différends relatifs au calcul des droits(13). Par ailleurs, les recettes tirées des droits pourraient augmenter si la valeur des marchandises importées est plus susceptible d’être ajustée à la hausse par suite des modifications proposées aux méthodes de détermination de la valeur en douane(14).

Le débat en deuxième lecture au Sénat a fait ressortir le fait que la disposition sur « l’incorporation par renvoi » de l’article 17 comportait une exemption de l’exigence de publication dans la Gazette du Canada pour les documents incorporés par renvoi dans un éventuel règlement sur l’obligation de fournir des renseignements préalables (15).

Selon le témoignage des représentants de l’ASFC devant le Comité sénatorial permanent de la sécurité nationale et de la défense le 30 mars 2009, le projet de loi devrait améliorer les exigences concernant la production de renseignements préalables (16) pour que l’ASFC puisse détecter les marchandises inconnues ou à risque élevé et lutter contre les conspirations internes et le crime organisé dans les points d’entrée en accroissant les pouvoirs d’inspection des douaniers (17). Les délibérations du Comité sénatorial et les témoignages qu’il a entendus ont porté sur la taille et l’emplacement des zones de contrôle des douanes, ainsi que sur l’obligation des transporteurs terrestres de fournir des renseignements préalables. On a réitéré au Comité sénatorial les craintes que suscitaient la disposition sur l’« incorporation par renvoi » et l’absence d’examen parlementaire des documents incorporés en raison de l’exemption de l’exigence de publication dans la Gazette du Canada. Le Comité sénatorial a donc supprimé une partie de l’article 17 du projet de loi (18).

Le débat en deuxième lecture à la Chambre des communes a porté sur l’incidence du projet de loi sur le commerce transfrontalier entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Le 5 mai 2009, après la deuxième lecture, le projet de loi a été renvoyé au Comité permanent de la sécurité publique et nationale de la Chambre des communes, qui l’a adopté sans amendement le 26 mai 2009. Au cours du débat en troisième lecture à la Chambre, d’autres questions ont été soulevées, notamment celles du secret professionnel des avocats et des nouveaux pouvoirs d’inspection des douaniers dans les zones de contrôle des douanes, du protectionnisme commercial, de l’interception de marchandises de contrebande (19) et de la protection de la vie privée lors de la collecte de renseignements par l’ASFC.


Notes

*  Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur. [ Retour au texte ]

  1. L.R.C. 1985, ch. 1 (2e suppl.).
  2. S.C. 1867, ch. 6.
  3. L.C. 1997, ch. 36.
  4. L.R.C. 1985, ch. E-15.
  5. L.R.C. 1985, ch. E-14.
  6. L.R.C. 1985, ch. S-15.
  7. Ministère du Revenu national Douanes et Accises, Documentation de base : Projet de loi sur les douanes, Ottawa, 1983.
  8. L.R.C. 1985, ch. S-22. À noter que l’exemption de publication dans la Gazette du Canada a été supprimée à l’étape du comité au Sénat.
  9. Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada, Rapport de la vérificatrice générale du Canada à la Chambre des communes, PDF (785 Ko, 78 pages), chapitre 5, octobre 2007, p. 27.
  10. Ces modifications harmonisent la procédure d’évaluation des marchandises importées avec celle recommandée par l’article VII de l’Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce. Pour plus d’information, voir Organisation mondiale du commerce, L’évaluation en douane.
  11. Voir « GTAA applauds proposed Customs Act amendments », Canada NewsWire, 15 février 2008.
  12. Voir Iain Marlow, « Dangerous fake goods cross border unchallenged; Agency has no power to seize items but fears over Chinese imports could change that », Toronto Star, 2 juillet 2007.
  13. Pour un examen des questions touchant la détermination des droits pour un achat au Canada, voir Cherry Six Ltd. c. Canada (Agence des services frontaliers du Canada) (2005) 10 T.T.R. (2e) 527 (T.C.C.E.) et Ferragamo U.S.A. Inc. c. Canada (Agence des services frontaliers du Canada) (2 mars 2007), doc. AP-2005-053 (T.C.C.E.).
  14. Voir le Règlement sur la détermination de la valeur en douane, DORS/86-792, DORS/95-14 et DORS/97-443; et voir Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, mémorandum D13-3-1 Méthodes de détermination de la valeur en douane PDF (26 Ko, 10 pages), 19 avril 2001.
  15. Sénat, Débats, PDF (282 Ko, 16 pages), 2e session, 40e législature, 25 février 2009, p. 251. Au cours du débat en deuxième lecture à la Chambre des communes, il a été déclaré : « Ce processus, appelé “incorporation par renvoi”, peut simplifier le processus de réglementation et il est souvent utilisé pour incorporer des données de nature technique, » PDF (493 Ko, 68 pages), (4 mai 2009, p. 3018). Les normes internationales publiées par l’Organisation internationale de normalisation sont un exemple de document qui pourrait être incorporé par renvoi. À noter que la disposition sur « l’incorporation par renvoi » s’applique à tous les règlements pris en application de la Loi sur les douanes.
  16. Il s’agit du programme du « manifeste électronique », qui fait partie du programme Information préalable sur les expéditions commerciales (IPEC) plus large. Une fois le programme du manifeste électronique mis en œuvre, tous les transporteurs devront fournir à l’ASFC de l’information par voie électronique avant l’arrivée des marchandises à un point d’entrée. Pour plus d’information, voir Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Manifeste électronique.
  17. Sénat, Comité permanent de la sécurité nationale et de la défense, Témoignages, 2e session, 40e législature, 30 mars 2009, p. 3:11-3:12 (Deirdre Kerr-Perrott, vice-président, Innovation, Sciences et Technologie, ASFC).
  18. Sénat, Comité permanent de la sécurité nationale et de la défense, Deuxième rapport, 2e session, 40e législature, 31 mars 2009. Le par. 164.1(2) proposé a été supprimé et le par. 164.1(1) est devenu l’art. 164.1.
  19. Notamment les marchandises contrefaites et les armes telles que les armes à feu.

© Bibliothèque du Parlement