Legislative Summary
Legislative Summary of Bill C-21: An Act to amend the Criminal Code (sentencing for fraud)
Cynthia Kirkby, Legal and Legislative Affairs Division
Dominique Valiquet, Legal and Legislative Affairs Division
2010-05-07
Revised on: 2011-02-11
Publication No. 40-3-C21-E
PDF 144, (10 Pages) PDF

1 Background

1.1 Purpose of the Bill and Principal Amendments

Bill C-21, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (sentencing for fraud) (short title: Standing up for Victims of White Collar Crime Act), was introduced in the House of Commons on 3 May 2010 by the Minister of Justice, the Honourable Robert Nicholson. It is almost identical to Bill C-52, which was introduced during the 2nd Session of the 40th Parliament but did not become lawbefore Parliament was prorogued on 30 December 2009. The intent of the bill is to “help crack down on white-collar crime and increase justice for victims”1 through measures that include a two-year mandatory minimum sentence for fraud over $1 million, additional specified aggravating factors for the court’s consideration in sentencing, a new type of prohibition order, new obligations on the judge with respect to restitution orders, and a new type of impact statement to consider in sentencing.

1.2 Prior Amendments to Fraud Provisions of the Criminal Code

The fraud provisions of the Criminal Code (the Code) were most recently amended in 2004,2 in response to the global impact of corporate scandals associated with companies such as Enron, Tyco and WorldCom.3 These amendments created a new offence of improper insider trading, increased the maximum sentence for the offences of fraud and fraud affecting the market from 10 to 14 years, and established a list of aggravating factors to aid the courts in sentencing.4 The federal government also announced it would create a number of Integrated Market Enforcement Teams (IMETs), composed of Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) officers, federal lawyers and other investigators, such as forensic accountants, to deal with capital markets fraud cases.5

1.3 Integrated Market Enforcement Teams

In 2003, the Government of Canada created the IMET program, funding it through the RCMP. Ten IMETs are operational in four of Canada’s major financial centres,6 and their mandate is to investigate and lay charges for serious Criminal Code offences involving capital markets.

According to the 2007–2008 IMET annual report, the program’s total budget increased from $13.2 million in fiscal 2005 to $18.9 million in fiscal 2008.7 The IMET budget decreased to $16.1 million in fiscal year 2008–2009.8 From December 2003, when the program began, to March 2008, five investigations led to nine individuals being charged with a total of 29 Criminal Code offences.9 In fiscal year 2008–2009, however, 17 individuals were charged with 979 counts.10 A total of five individuals have been convicted since the IMET program was established, with sentences ranging from 39 months to 13 years.11

According to the RCMP’s 2009–2010 Report on Plans and Priorities, it is anticipated that annual funding of just over $30 million will be allocated for fiscal 2010–2011 and 2011–2012 to support the investigation and prosecution of fraud offences in capital markets.12

1.4 Statistics on Fraud in Canada

According to the Uniform Crime Reporting Survey, which “reflect[s] reported crime that has been substantiated by police,”13 there were 90,932 actual incidents of fraud in Canada in 2008.14 The Adult Criminal Court Survey, which collects “statistical information on appearances, charges, and cases in adult criminal courts,”15 indicates that across Canada there were 9,790 cases of fraud in which the accused were found guilty in 2008–2009.16 A prison sentence was imposed in 3,338 of those cases (34.1%), a conditional sentence in 1,007 cases (10.3%), probation in 6,349 cases (64.9%), a fine in 1,131 cases (11.6%), and restitution in 1,591 cases (16.3%). In 4,398 cases (44.9%), “other sentences” were imposed, such as an absolute or conditional discharge, a community service order, or a prohibition order.17

These statistics do not provide details on the monetary value of the fraud, or on the type of fraud, which can include “securities-related frauds such as Ponzi schemes, insider trading, and accounting frauds that overstate the value of securities,” as well as “mass marketing fraud, mortgage and real estate fraud, and many other deceptive practices.”18

1.5 Sentencing for Fraud over $1,000,000

Despite the lack of statistics on sentences imposed for fraud over $1,000,000 specifically, case law indicates that “[b]oth before and after Parliament’s introduction of conditional sentences, cases of large-scale fraud by persons in a position of trust have typically resulted in substantial jail sentences.”19 The range has been estimated at 4 to 15 years for large-scale frauds, although sentences of less than two years and conditional sentences have been imposed where there have been “important mitigating circumstances.”20

2 Description and Analysis

2.1 Minimum Sentence for Fraud (Clause 2)

Currently, a person convicted of the general offence of fraud21 is liable under subsection 380(1) of the Criminal Code to a maximum term of imprisonment of 14 years where the value of the subject-matter of the offence exceeds $5,000, or two years where the value of the subject-matter of the offence does not exceed $5,000. No minimum sentence is specified.

Clause 2 of the bill introduces a minimum sentence of two years’ imprisonment in cases of fraud over $1 million. Currently, where the value of the subject-matter of the fraud exceeds $1 million, this is considered an aggravating circumstance to be taken into consideration by the sentencing judge.22

The minimum sentence proposed in the bill will also apply when the value of the subject-matter of a number of fraud offences totals over $1 million. For example, if a person is convicted of 10 fraud offences of $125,000 each, the judge must impose a sentence of at least two years. On the other hand, the minimum sentence applies solely to a person convicted of the general offence of fraud (subsection 380(1) of the Code) and does not seem to apply to other related offences, such as fraud affecting the market,23 fraudulent manipulation of stock markets,24 insider trading25 or the publication of a false prospectus.26 In the latter three cases, however, where the value of the subject-matter exceeds $1 million, this remains an aggravating circumstance.27

2.2 Aggravating Circumstances (Clause 3)

In cases involving fraud, fraudulent stock market manipulation, insider trading or a false prospectus, the existing subsection 380.1(1) of the Codelists the following aggravating circumstances (in addition to value exceeding $1 million), which often lead to more severe sentences:

  • The offence adversely affected, or had the potential to adversely affect, the stability of the Canadian economy or financial system or any financial market in Canada, or investor confidence in such a financial market.
  • The offence involved a large number of victims.
  • In committing the offence, the offender took advantage of the high regard in which he or she was held in the community.28

Clause 3 of the bill adds four aggravating circumstances to this list:

  • The magnitude, complexity, duration or degree of planning of the fraud committed was significant.
  • The offence had a significant impact on the victims, given their personal circumstances, including their age, health and financial situation.
  • The offender did not comply with a licensing requirement, or professional standard, that is normally applicable to the activity or conduct that forms the subject-matter of the offence.
  • The offender concealed or destroyed records related to the fraud or to the disbursement of the proceeds of the fraud.

In addition to these specific aggravating circumstances, the general aggravating circumstances contemplated in paragraph 718.2(a) of the Codewill continue to apply; these include abuse of a position of trust or evidence that the offence was committed in association with a criminal organization. Moreover, “[t]he court shall cause to be stated in the record the aggravating and mitigating circumstances it took into account when determining the sentence” (new subsection 380.1(3) of the Code).

2.3 Prohibition Order (Clause 4)

Since 1 March 2007, a person convicted of an offence against the federal govern­ment or a provincial or territorial government under section 380 of the Code is prohibited, generally for a period of five years after the sentence expires, from receiving any benefit under a government contract or holding government office.29

The bill introduces a new type of order into the Code: a discretionary order prohibiting the offender from seeking employment (new section 380.2 of the Code). A judge sentencing an offender for the general offence of fraud (subsection 380(1) of the Code) may, in addition to any other punishment, prohibit the offender from seeking, obtaining or continuing any employment, or becoming or being a volunteer in any capacity, that involves having authority over the real property, money or valuable security of another person (new subsection 380.2(1) of the Code).

The bill does not prescribe the minimum or maximum duration of the prohibition. It is therefore the judge who determines what period is appropriate (new subsection 380.2(2) of the Code). The court may also impose conditions or exemptions. Failure to comply with an order is punishable by imprisonment for a maximum term of two years (new subsection 380.2(4) of the Code).

2.4 Restitution Order (Clause 4)

Under the existing provisions, a judge passing sentence for any offence under the Code may order the offender to make restitution to the victim for damage to property or for bodily or psychological harm.30 The court must give priority to restitution before imposing a fine on the offender.31 A restitution order is discretionary, however, meaning that the judge may decide not to grant it.

The bill states that a judge passing sentence for the general offence of fraud (subsection 380(1) of the Code) “shall consider making a restitution order” (new subsection 380.3(1) of the Code). Moreover, “the court shall inquire of the prosecutor if reasonable steps have been taken to provide the victims with an opportunity to indicate whether they are seeking restitution for their losses” (new subsection 380.3(2) of the Code). As the bill was originally drafted, if the court decided not to make a restitution order, it would have been required to give reasons for that decision and cause those reasons to be stated in the record (new subsection 380.3(5) of the Code). The House of Commons Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights amended this section, however, to clarify that the court would only have to give reasons for not making a restitution order if the victim seeks restitution.32

2.5 Community Impact Statement (Clause 4)

The Code currently provides for a victim impact statement to be filed at the sentencing stage.33 For the purpose of determining the sentence to be imposed for any offence under the Code, the court is required to consider any victim impact statement describing the harm done to, or loss suffered by, the victim arising from the commission of the offence. For the purposes of the Code, “victim” means a person to whom harm was done or who suffered physical or emotional loss as a result of the commission of the offence.34 Only where the victim is dead, ill or otherwise incapable of making a statement may another person, such as the spouse, prepare a statement.

The bill introduces a new type of statement into the Code: a community impact statement (new section 380.4 of the Code). A judge passing sentence for the general offence of fraud (subsection 380(1) of the Code) may consider a statement made by a person on a community’s behalf describing the harm done to, or losses suffered by, the community arising from the commission of the offence (new subsection 380.4(1) of the Code). Unlike consideration of the victim impact statement, which is mandatory, the court’s consideration of a community impact statement is discretionary.

In order to be considered, the community impact statement must be in writing. It must also identify the community on whose behalf the statement is made, and explain how the statement reflects the community’s views (new subsection 380.4(2) of the Code).


Notes

*  Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force. [ Return to text ]

  1. Department of Justice, “Government of Canada to introduce legislation to tackle white collar crime,” News release, 20 October 2009. [ Return to text ]
  2. An Act to Amend the Criminal Code (Capital Markets Fraud and Evidence-Gathering) [Bill C-13, 3rd Session, 37th Parliament], S.C. 2004, c. 3. A bill had been introduced in substantially the same form in the previous session of Parliament (Bill C-46, 2nd Session, 37th Parliament). [ Return to text ]
  3. See Robin MacKay and Margaret Smith, Bill C-13: An Act to Amend the Criminal Code (Capital Markets Fraud and Evidence-Gathering), pdf (223 Kb, 12 pages) Publication no. LS-468E, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament, Ottawa, 16 February 2004. [ Return to text ]
  4. Ibid. See current sections 382.1, 380, and 380.1 of the Criminal Code (the Code) respectively. [ Return to text ]
  5. Ibid. [ Return to text ]
  6. There are four IMETs in Greater Toronto, two in Calgary, two in Vancouver and two in Montréal. [ Return to text ]
  7. Royal Canadian Mounted Police [RCMP], IMET – 2007/2008 Integrated Market Enforcement Program: Annual Report pdf (1.3 Mb, 26 pages) [2007/2008 IMET Annual Report], p. 23. [ Return to text ]
  8. RCMP, 2008–2009 Integrated Market Enforcement Program Annual Report [2008–2009 IMET Annual Report]. [ Return to text ]
  9. RCMP, 2007/2008 IMET Annual Report, p. 11. [ Return to text ]
  10. RCMP, 2008–2009 IMET Annual Report.Return to text ]
  11. RCMP, “Backgrounder: Integrated Market Enforcement Team Program.” [ Return to text ]
  12. RCMP, “Departmental Planned Spending Table and Full Time Equivalents,” Table 1, 2009–2010 Report on Plans and Priorities. [ Return to text ]
  13. Statistics Canada, “Detailed information for 2009,” Uniform Crime Reporting Survey. Return to text ]
  14. Statistics Canada, Table 252-0051, “Incident-based crime statistics, by detailed violations, annual,” CANSIM (database), accessed 10 February 2011. [ Return to text ]
  15. Statistics Canada, “Detailed information for 2008–2009,”Adult Criminal Court Survey (ACCS). [ Return to text ]
  16. Statistics Canada, “Cases in adult criminal court by type of sentence, by province and territory (Canada),” 28 July 2010. [ Return to text ]
  17. Ibid. [ Return to text ]
  18. Department of Justice, “Tackling white-collar crime,” Backgrounder, October 2009. The RCMP describes a “Ponzi” scheme as an investment fraud in which “[u]nknown to the investors, returns are paid from their own money or money paid by subsequent investors rather than from profit” (Royal Canadian Mounted Police, “Investment and Securities Fraud”). [ Return to text ]
  19. R. v. Bogart (2002), 61 O.R. (3rd) 75 (C.A.), para. 36. [ Return to text ]
  20. R. v. Drabinsky, [2009] O.J. No. 3282 (S.C.J.) (QL), paras. 26–29. [ Return to text ]
  21. The two essential elements of fraud are dishonesty and deprivation. The element of deprivation is satisfied on proof of risk of prejudice to the economic interests of the victim (Vézina v. The Queen, [1986] 1 S.C.R. 2; see also R. v. Guité, EYB 2008-141626, 2008 QCCA 1433). [ Return to text ]
  22. The Code, para. 380.1(1)(a). [ Return to text ]
  23. The Code, subsection 380(2). [ Return to text ]
  24. The Code, s. 382. [ Return to text ]
  25. The Code, s. 382.1. [ Return to text ]
  26. The Code, s. 400. [ Return to text ]
  27. The Code, para. 380.1(1)(a); see also subclause 3(5) of the bill, which introduces the new subsection 380.1(1.1) of the Code. [ Return to text ]
  28. Under subsection 380.1(2) of the Code, the sentencing judge is not to consider as mitigating circumstances the offender’s employment, employment skills or status or reputation in the community if those circumstances were relevant to, contributed to, or were used in the commission of the offence. [ Return to text ]
  29. The Code, subsections 750(3) and (4). [ Return to text ]
  30. The Code, ss. 738 and 739. [ Return to text ]
  31. The Code, s. 740. [ Return to text ]
  32. House of Commons, Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights, Tenth Report, 25 November 2010.Return to text ]
  33. The Code, s. 722. [ Return to text ]
  34. The Code, subsection 722(4). [ Return to text ]

© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Résumé législatif du projet de loi C-21 : Loi modifiant le Code criminel (peines pour fraude)
Cynthia Kirkby, Division des affaires juridiques et législatives
Dominique Valiquet, Division des affaires juridiques et législatives
Publication no 40-3-C21-F
PDF 140, (11 Pages) PDF
2010-05-07
Révisée le : 2011-02-11

1 Contexte

1.1 Objet du projet de loi et principales modifications

Le projet de loi C-21 : Loi modifiant le Code criminel (peines pour fraude) (titre abrégé : « Loi sur la défense des victimes de crimes en col blanc ») a été présenté à la Chambre des communes le 3 mai 2010 par le ministre de la Justice, l’honorable Robert Nicholson. Il est presque identique au projet de loi C-52, qui a été déposé au cours de la deuxième session de la 40e législature, mais qui n’est pas devenu loi avant la prorogation du Parlement le 30 décembre 2009. Le projet de loi C-21 a pour raison d’être de contribuer « à la répression de la criminalité en col blanc et rendra davantage justice aux victimes »1, grâce à des mesures comme l’imposition d’une peine d’emprisonnement minimale de deux ans aux auteurs de fraudes de plus d’un million de dollars, l’ajout de circonstances aggravantes précises que le tribunal doit prendre en considération au moment de la détermination de la peine, la création d’une nouvelle forme d’ordonnance d’interdiction, l’imposition de nouvelles obligations aux juges en ce qui concerne les ordonnances de dédommagement et la prise en compte, au moment de la détermination de la peine, d’une nouvelle forme de déclaration des dommages subis à la suite d’une fraude.

1.2 Modifications antérieures aux dispositions du Code criminel en matière de fraude

Les dernières modifications apportées aux dispositions du Code criminel (le Code) en matière de fraude remontent à 20042. Elles ont été adoptées en réaction aux scandales mettant en cause de grandes entreprises comme Enron, Tyco et WorldCom, qui ont secoué les marchés financiers mondiaux3. Ainsi, une nouvelle infraction relative au délit d’initié a été créée, les peines d’emprisonnement maximales pour les infractions de fraude et d’influence sur le marché public sont passées de 10 à 14 ans et une liste de circonstances aggravantes a été dressée pour aider les tribunaux au moment de la détermination de la peine4. Le gouvernement fédéral a également annoncé qu’il créerait un certain nombre d’équipes intégrées de la police des marchés financiers (EIPMF), composées d’agents de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), d’avocats fédéraux et d’autres enquêteurs (p. ex. des juricomptables) et chargées des affaires de fraude sur les marchés financiers5.

1.3 Équipes intégrées de la police des marchés financiers

En 2003, le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied le programme des EIPMF, lui assurant un financement sous la gouverne de la GRC. Les EIPMF, qui comptent 10 équipes d’enquête réparties dans quatre grands centres financiers canadiens6, ont comme mandat de mener des enquêtes et de déposer des accusations relativement aux infractions graves au Code qui sont liées à la fraude au sein des marchés financiers.

Selon le rapport annuel 2007-2008 des EIPMF, le budget total du programme des EIPMF est passé de 13,2 millions de dollars (pour l’exercice 2005) à 18,9 millions de dollars (pour l’exercice 2008)7; il a reculé à 16,1 millions de dollars pour l’exercice 2008-20098. Entre le début du programme des EIPMF en décembre 2003 et mars 2008, cinq enquêtes ont abouti au dépôt de 29 chefs d’accusation de fraude et d’infractions connexes contre neuf individus9. Au cours de l’exercice 2008-2009, toutefois, 17 individus ont été inculpés sous 979 chefs d’accusation10. En tout, cinq individus ont été reconnus coupables depuis la création du programme des EIPMF, leurs peines s’étalant de 39 mois à 13 ans11.

Le rapport sur les plans et les priorités de la GRC pour 2009-2010 prévoit une affectation annuelle d’un peu plus de 30 millions de dollars pour chacun des exercices 2010-2011 et 2011-2012, afin d’appuyer les enquêtes et les poursuites judiciaires relatives à la fraude au sein des marchés financiers12.

1.4 Statistiques sur la fraude au Canada

Selon le Programme de déclaration uniforme de la criminalité, qui « [fait] état des crimes signalés qui ont été confirmés par la police13 », il y a eu 90 932 cas réels de fraude au Canada en 200814. L’Enquête sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes, qui recueille « des renseignements statistiques sur les audiences, les accusations et les causes devant les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes15 », indique qu’il y a eu 9 790 causes avec condamnation pour fraude au Canada en 2008-200916. Une peine d’emprisonnement a été imposée dans 3 338 de ces causes (34,1 %), une peine d’emprisonnement avec sursis dans 1 007 causes (10,3 %), la probation dans 6 349 causes (64,9 %), une amende dans 1 131 causes (11,6 %), et un dédommagement dans 1 591 causes (16,3 %). Dans 4 398 causes (44,9 %), d’« autres peines » ont été imposées, par exemple une absolution inconditionnelle ou une absolution sous condition, une ordonnance de travaux communautaires ou une ordonnance d’interdiction17.

Ces statistiques ne donnent aucun détail sur la valeur pécuniaire de la fraude ou sur le type de fraude, qui peut comprendre notamment « les fraudes liées aux valeurs mobilières comme les combines à la Ponzi, les délits d’initiés ainsi que les fraudes de comptabilité qui surestiment la valeur des titres », ainsi que « la fraude par marketing de masse, la fraude hypothécaire et immobilière de même qu’une multitude d’autres pratiques trompeuses »18.

1.5 Peines imposées aux auteurs de fraudes de plus de 1 000 000 $

Même s’il n’existe guère de statistiques sur les peines imposées spécifiquement aux auteurs de fraudes de plus de 1 000 000 $, la jurisprudence montre qu’aussi bien avant qu’après la création par le Parlement de peines d’emprisonnement avec sursis, les affaires mettant en cause des fraudes commises à grande échelle par des personnes en position de confiance ont habituellement donné lieu à de lourdes peines d’emprisonnement19. La durée des peines est évaluée entre 4 et 15 ans pour les fraudes à grande échelle, même si des peines de moins de deux ans et des peines d’emprisonnement avec sursis ont parfois été imposées lorsqu’il y avait « d’importantes circonstances atténuantes »20.

2 Description et analyse

2.1 Peine minimale pour fraude (art. 2)

À l’heure actuelle, une personne reconnue coupable de l’infraction générale de fraude21 – prévue au paragraphe 380(1) du Code – est passible d’un emprisonnement maximal de 14 ans (lorsque la valeur de l’objet de la fraude dépasse 5 000 $) ou d’un emprisonnement maximal de deux ans (lorsque la valeur de l’objet de la fraude ne dépasse pas 5 000 $). Aucune peine minimale n’est prévue.

L’article 2 du projet de loi introduit une peine minimale d’emprisonnement de deux ans dans le cas d’une fraude de plus d’un million de dollars. Actuellement, le fait de commettre une fraude dont l’objet a une valeur de plus d’un million de dollars est considéré comme une circonstance aggravante que doit prendre en compte le juge qui imposera la peine22.

La peine minimale prévue par le projet de loi s’appliquera également à plusieurs infractions de fraude dont l’objet a une valeur totale dépassant un million de dollars. Par exemple, si une personne est reconnue coupable d’avoir commis 10 infractions de fraude de 125 000 $ chacune, le juge devra lui imposer une peine d’emprisonnement de deux ans ou plus. Par contre, la peine minimale s’appliquera uniquement à une personne reconnue coupable de l’infraction générale de fraude (par. 380(1) du Code). Elle ne semble donc pas s’appliquer à d’autres infractions connexes, comme la fraude influençant le marché23, les manipulations frauduleuses d’opérations boursières24, le délit d’initié25 ou l’infraction relative aux faux prospectus26. Dans le cas de ces trois dernières infractions, le fait que l’infraction en question soit relative à un objet dont la valeur est supérieure à un million de dollars demeure toutefois une circonstance aggravante27.

2.2 Circonstances aggravantes (art. 3)

Concernant les infractions de fraude, de manipulations frauduleuses d’opérations boursières, de délit d’initié et de faux prospectus, outre le fait de la valeur supérieure à un million de dollars, l’actuel paragraphe 380.1(1) du Code prévoit des circonstances aggravantes, entraînant ainsi, bien souvent, des peines plus sévères dans les cas où :

  • l’infraction a nui – ou pouvait nuire – à la stabilité de l’économie canadienne, du système financier canadien ou des marchés financiers au Canada ou à la confiance des investisseurs dans un marché financier au Canada;
  • l’infraction a causé des dommages à un nombre élevé de victimes;
  • le délinquant a indûment tiré parti de la réputation d’intégrité dont il jouissait dans la collectivité28.

L’article 3 du projet de loi ajoute à cette liste quatre autres circonstances aggravantes :

  • l’ampleur, la complexité, la durée ou le niveau de planification de la fraude commise est important;
  • l’infraction a entraîné des conséquences importantes pour les victimes étant donné la situation personnelle de celles-ci, notamment leur âge, leur état de santé et leur situation financière;
  • le délinquant n’a pas satisfait à une exigence d’un permis ou d’une licence, ou à une norme de conduite professionnelle, qui est habituellement applicable à l’activité ou à la conduite qui est à l’origine de la fraude;
  • le délinquant a dissimulé ou détruit des dossiers relatifs à la fraude ou au décaissement du produit de la fraude.

En plus de toutes ces circonstances aggravantes particulières, les circonstances aggravantes générales, prévues à l’alinéa 718.2a) du Code,continueront de s’appliquer, par exemple l’abus de confiance ou le fait que l’infraction ait été commise en relation avec une organisation criminelle. Le juge devra inscrire au dossier toutes les circonstances aggravantes, ou atténuantes, qui ont été prises en compte pour déterminer la peine (nouveau par. 380.1(3) du Code).

2.3 Ordonnance d’interdiction d’emploi (art. 4)

Depuis le 1er mars 2007, une personne reconnue coupable de toute infraction visée à l’article 380 commise à l’égard du gouvernement fédéral, provincial ou territorial ne pourra pas, généralement pour une période de cinq ans suivant l’expiration de la peine, conclure un contrat avec le gouvernement ou occuper une fonction relevant du gouvernement29.

Le projet de loi introduit un nouveau type d’ordonnance dans le Code : l’ordonnance discrétionnaire d’interdiction d’emploi (nouvel art. 380.2 du Code). Le juge qui imposera une peine pour une infraction générale de fraude (par. 380(1) du Code) aura la possibilité, en plus de toute autre peine, d’interdire au délinquant de chercher, d’accepter ou de garder un emploi ou un travail bénévole dans le cadre duquel il exerce ou exercerait un pouvoir sur les biens immeubles, l’argent ou les valeurs d’autrui (nouveau par. 380.2(1) du Code).

Le projet de loi ne prévoit ni de durée minimale ni de durée maximale de l’interdiction. C’est donc le juge qui en déterminera la durée appropriée (nouveau par. 380.2(2) du Code). Il pourra aussi prévoir des conditions ou exemptions à l’interdiction. La violation de l’ordonnance sera punissable d’un emprisonnement maximal de deux ans (nouveau par. 380.2(4) du Code).

2.4 Ordonnance de dédommagement (art. 4)

En vertu des dispositions actuelles, le juge qui impose une peine pour toute infraction au Code peut ordonner au délinquant de dédommager la victime des dommages matériels, corporels ou psychologiques qu’elle a subis30. Le juge doit donner priorité au dédommagement avant d’infliger une amende au délinquant31. L’ordonnance de dédommagement est toutefois discrétionnaire, c’est-à-dire que le juge peut décider de ne pas l’octroyer.

Le projet de loi prévoit que le juge qui imposera une peine pour l’infraction générale de fraude (par. 380(1) du Code) sera « tenu d’envisager la possibilité de rendre une ordonnance de dédommagement » (nouveau par. 380.3(1) du Code). De plus, le tribunal sera « tenu de s’enquérir auprès du poursuivant de la prise de mesures raisonnables pour offrir aux victimes l’occasion d’indiquer si elles réclament un dédommagement pour leurs pertes » (nouveau par. 380.3(2) du Code). Selon le libellé original du projet de loi, le tribunal qui aurait décidé de ne pas rendre d’ordonnance de dédommagement aurait été tenu de motiver sa décision et d’en faire inscrire les motifs au dossier de l’instance (nouveau par. 380.3(5)). Le Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes a toutefois amendé ce paragraphe afin de préciser que le tribunal est tenu de motiver sa décision de ne pas rendre une telle ordonnance seulement dans le cas où la victime réclame un dédommagement32.

2.5 Déclaration au nom d’une collectivité (art. 4)

Le Code prévoit actuellement le dépôt d’une déclaration de la victime au stade de la détermination de la peine33. Afin de déterminer la peine appropriée pour toute infraction au Code, le juge a l’obligation de prendre en compte la déclaration de la victime à propos des conséquences que lui a causées la perpétration de l’infraction. Au sens de la définition du Code, la victime est la personne qui a subi les dommages – matériels, corporels ou moraux – résultant de l’infraction34. Ce n’est que si la victime est décédée, malade ou incapable de rédiger la déclaration, qu’une autre personne (p. ex. le conjoint) pourra la rédiger.

Le projet de loi introduit un nouveau type de déclaration dans le Code : la déclaration au nom d’une collectivité (nouvel art. 380.4 du Code). Le juge qui imposera une peine pour l’infraction générale de fraude (par. 380(1) du Code) aura la possibilité de prendre en compte la déclaration faite par une personne au nom d’une collectivité sur les dommages ou les pertes causés à la collectivité par l’infraction (nouveau par. 380.4(1) du Code). Contrairement à la prise en compte de la déclaration de la victime, qui est obligatoire, la considération par le juge de la déclaration au nom d’une collectivité est facultative.

Pour être admissible, la déclaration au nom d’une collectivité devra être faite par écrit. Elle devra également identifier la collectivité et expliquer comment elle reflète les vues de cette collectivité (nouveau par. 380.4(2) du Code).


Notes

*  Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur. [ Retour au texte ]

  1. Ministère de la Justice, Le gouvernement du Canada déposera un projet de loi afin de lutter contre la criminalité en col blanc, communiqué, 20 octobre 2009. [ Retour au texte ]
  2. Loi modifiant le Code criminel (fraude sur les marchés financiers et obtention d’éléments de preuve) (projet de loi C-13, 3e session, 37e législature), L.C. 2004, ch. 3. Un projet de loi avait été présenté essentiellement sous la même forme au cours de la session précédente (projet de loi C-46, 2e session, 37e législature). [ Retour au texte ]
  3. Voir à ce sujet Robin MacKay et Margaret Smith, Projet de loi C-13 : Loi modifiant le Code criminel (fraude sur les marchés financiers et obtention d’éléments de preuve) pdf (228 Ko, 13 pages), publication no LS-468F, Ottawa, Service d’information et de recherche parlementaires, Bibliothèque du Parlement, 16 février 2004. [ Retour au texte ]
  4. Ibid. Voir le libellé actuel des art. 382.1, 380 et 380.1 du Code respectivement. [ Retour au texte ]
  5. Ibid. [ Retour au texte ]
  6. Il existe quatre équipes dans la région du Grand Toronto, deux à Calgary, deux à Vancouver et deux à Montréal. [ Retour au texte ]
  7. Gendarmerie royale du Canada [GRC], EIPMF – 2007/2008 : Programme des Équipes intégrées de la police des marchés financiers, Rapport annuel pdf (1.3 Mo, 26 pages) [GRC, EIPMF – 2007-2008], p. 23. [ Retour au texte ]
  8. GRC, 2008-2009 Programme des équipes intégrées de la police des marchés financiers rapport annuel [GRC, EIPMF – 2008-2009]. [ Retour au texte ]
  9. GRC, EIPMF – 2007-2008, p. 11. [ Retour au texte ]
  10. GRC, EIPMF – 2008-2009.[ Retour au texte ]
  11. GRC, Document d’information : Programme des Équipes intégrées de la police des marchés financiers. [ Retour au texte ]
  12. GRC, Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2009-2010, « Tableau 1 : Dépenses prévues et équivalents temps plein ». [ Retour au texte ]
  13. Statistique Canada, « Information détaillée pour 2009 », Programme de déclaration uniforme de la criminalité (DUC). [ Retour au texte ]
  14. Statistique Canada, Tableau 252-0051 : « Statistiques des crimes fondés sur l’affaire, par infractions détaillées, annuel », CANSIM (base de données), consulté le 10 février 2011. [ Retour au texte ]
  15. Statistique Canada, « Information détaillée pour 2008-2009 », Enquête sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes (ETJCA). [ Retour au texte ]
  16. Statistique Canada, « Causes devant les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes selon le type de peine, par provinces et territoires (Canada) », 28 juillet 2010. [ Retour au texte ]
  17. Ibid. [ Retour au texte ]
  18. Ministère de la Justice, Prendre des mesures contre la criminalité en col blanc, fiche documentaire, octobre 2009. La GRC décrit la combine à la Ponzi comme une situation où l’investisseur touche un rendement qui, à son insu, « vient de son propre argent, ou de celui des investisseurs arnaqués après lui » (GRC, Fraudes en matière d’investissements et en valeurs mobilières). [ Retour au texte ]
  19. R. c. Bogart (2002), 61 O.R. (3e) 75 (C.A.), par. 36. [ Retour au texte ]
  20. R. c. Drabinsky,[2009] O.J. no 3282 (S.C.J.) (QL), par. 26 à 29 [traduction]. [ Retour au texte ]
  21. Les deux éléments de la fraude sont essentiellement la malhonnêteté et la privation. Il y a privation dès qu’il y a un risque de préjudice pour les intérêts pécuniaires de la victime (Vézina c. La Reine, [1986] 1 R.C.S. 2, voir aussi R. c. Guité, EYB 2008-141626, 2008 QCCA 1433). [ Retour au texte ]
  22. Al. 380.1(1)a) du Code. [ Retour au texte ]
  23. Par. 380(2) du Code. [ Retour au texte ]
  24. Art. 382 du Code. [ Retour au texte ]
  25. Art. 382.1 du Code. [ Retour au texte ]
  26. Art. 400 du Code. [ Retour au texte ]
  27. Al. 380.1(1)a) du Code; voir aussi le par. 3(5) du projet de loi ajoutant le nouveau par. 380.1(1.1) au Code. [ Retour au texte ]
  28. Le par. 380.1(2) du Code prévoit que le juge qui infligera la peine ne doit pas considérer comme circonstances atténuantes l’emploi qu’occupe le délinquant, ses compétences professionnelles ni son statut ou sa réputation dans la collectivité, si ces facteurs ont contribué à la perpétration de l’infraction, ont été utilisés pour la commettre ou y étaient liés. [ Retour au texte ]
  29. Par. 750(3) et (4) du Code. [ Retour au texte ]
  30. Art. 738 et 739 du Code. [ Retour au texte ]
  31. Art. 740 du Code. [ Retour au texte ]
  32. Chambre des communes, Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne, Dixième rapport, 25 novembre 2010.Retour au texte ]
  33. Art. 722 du Code. [ Retour au texte ]
  34. Par. 722(4) du Code. [ Retour au texte ]

© Bibliothèque du Parlement