Legislative Summary
Legislative Summary of Bill C-35: An Act to amend the Criminal Code (law enforcement animals, military animals and service animals)
Sandra Gruescu, Legal and Social Affairs Division
Publication No. 41-2-C35-E
PDF 328, (8 Pages) PDF
2014-09-23

1 Background

Bill C-35, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (law enforcement animals, military animals and service animals) (short title: Justice for Animals in Service Act [Quanto’s Law]), was introduced by the Minister of Justice and passed first reading in the House of Commons on 12 May 2014. According to a statement from the Office of the Prime Minister, “The legislation honours Quanto, a police dog who was stabbed to death while helping to apprehend a fleeing suspect in Edmonton, Alberta, in October 2013. Quanto had four years of decorated service and had participated in more than 100 arrests.”1

Bill C-35 creates a new offence, criminalizing the act of killing or injuring a law enforcement animal, military animal or service animal.

Currently, an offence is committed under sections 444 and 445 of the Criminal Code2(Code) when someone wilfully kills, maims, wounds, poisons or injures cattle3 or when someone kills, maims, wounds, poisons or injures a domestic animal wilfully and without lawful excuse. Section 429(2) of the Code provides a defence, stating, “No person shall be convicted of an offence under sections 430 to 446 where he proves that he acted with legal justification or excuse and with colour of right.”

There are also a number of provisions that address cruelty to animals, including section 445.1 of the Code, which establishes that it is an offence to cause unnecessary suffering to an animal.

2 Description and Analysis

2.1 Killing or Injuring Certain Animals (Clause 3)

2.1.1 New Offence

Clause 3 creates new section 445.01(1) of the Code, which establishes that it is an offence to wilfully and without lawful excuse kill, maim, wound, poison or injure:

  • a law enforcement animal while it is aiding a law enforcement officer in carrying out that officer’s duties;
  • a military animal while it is aiding a member of the Canadian Forces in carrying out that member’s duties; or
  • a service animal while it is assisting a person with a disability.

In the context of law enforcement, the bill criminalizes the act of killing or injuring specifically a dog or horse that aids law enforcement officers. However, all animals that serve as military animals and service animals are covered (see definitions below).

2.1.1.1 Definitions of “Law Enforcement Officer” and “Service Animal”

The bill defines the following terms in new section 445.01(4) of the Code for the purpose of the new offence outlined in new section 445.01(1):

  • “Law enforcement officer” means:
    • a police officer or a police constable; or
    • any person referred to in the following paragraphs of the definition of “peace officer” in section 2 of the Code:
      • officers who are members of the Correctional Service of Canada (paragraph (b));
      • designated officers responsible for cross-border maritime law enforcement as defined in the Integrated Cross-border Law Enforcement Operations Act4 (paragraph (c.1));
      • officers within the meaning of the Customs Act,5 the Excise Act6 or the Excise Act, 2001,7 or a person having the powers of such an officer (paragraph (d));
      • officers granted the authority and powers of a peace officer under section 138(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act8(paragraph (d.1));
      • persons designated as fishery guardians under the Fisheries Act9 or fishery officers under the Fisheries Act or the Coastal Fisheries Protection Act10 (paragraph (e)); or
      • officers and non-commissioned members of the Canadian Forces who are appointed as military police for the purposes of section 156 of the National Defence Act11 or who are employed on duties that the Governor in Council has prescribed and that necessitate having the powers of peace officers (paragraph (g)).
  • “Law enforcement animal” means a dog or horse that is trained to aid a law enforcement officer in carrying out that officer’s duties.
  • “Military animal” means an animal that is trained to aid a member of the Canadian Forces in carrying out that member’s duties.
  • “Service animal” means an animal that is required by a person with a disability for assistance and has been trained by a professional service animal institution to assist a person with a disability.

2.1.1.2 Hybrid Offence

New section 445.01(2) of the Code provides that the offence of killing or injuring certain animals under new section 445.01(1) of the Code is a hybrid offence, which means that the prosecutor may choose to proceed by indictment or by summary conviction.

An indictable offence is punishable by imprisonment for a maximum of five years. A minimum punishment of imprisonment for a term of six months takes effect only if a law enforcement animal is killed. There is no minimum punishment of imprisonment if a military animal or a service animal is killed.

A summary conviction offence is punishable by a maximum fine of $10,000 or by imprisonment for a maximum term of 18 months, or both. These punishments on summary conviction apply to offences committed against all types of service animals, not just law enforcement animals.

In addition, under new section 445.01(3), if a law enforcement animal is injured or killed, the sentence imposed for this offence is to be served consecutively to any other punishment imposed on the person for an offence arising from the same event or series of events.

2.2 Consecutive Sentences for Offences Against Law Enforcement Officers (Clause 2)

Currently, the Code provides for various offences committed against a peace officer, such as assault or aggravated assault under sections 270 and 270.02, and assault with a deadly weapon or assault causing bodily harm under section 270.01(1).

Clause 2 of Bill C-35 creates new section 270.03 of the Code, which establishes that, if the abovementioned offences are committed against a law enforcement officer, the sentence imposed shall be served consecutively to any other punishment imposed on the person for an offence arising out of the same event or series of events.

2.3 Objectives of Denunciation and Deterrence (Clause 4)

Currently, section 718.02 of the Code12 provides that, when a sentence is imposed for serious offences against a peace officer or intimidation of a justice system participant, the court shall give primary consideration to the objectives of denunciation and deterrence of the conduct that forms the basis of the offence in order to denounce and deter the illegal act and to prevent the offending behaviour from being repeated.13 Similarly, clause 4 of the bill creates new section 718.03 of the Code, which provides that these same considerations must be given when a law enforcement animal, military animal or service animal is injured or killed under new section 445.01.


Notes

*  Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.Return to text ]

  1. Prime Minister of Canada Stephen Harper, PM Harper Announces Greater Protection for Law Enforcement, Service and Military Animals, 12 May 2014. [ Return to text ]
  2. Criminal Code, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-46 [Code]. [ Return to text ]
  3. The term “cattle” is defined in section 2 of the Code and includes horses, mules, asses, pigs, sheep and goats. [ Return to text ]
  4. Integrated Cross-border Law Enforcement Operations Act, S.C. 2012, c. 19, s. 368. [ Return to text ]
  5. Customs Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.). [ Return to text ]
  6. Excise Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. E-14[ Return to text ]
  7. Excise Act, 2001, S.C. 2002, c. 22.[ Return to text ]
  8. Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, S.C. 2001, c. 27. [ Return to text ]
  9. Fisheries Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. F-14. [ Return to text ]
  10. Coastal Fisheries Protection Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. C-33. [ Return to text ]
  11. National Defence Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. N-5. [ Return to text ]
  12. Section 718.02 of the Code refers to sections 270, 270.01, 270.02, and 423.1(1)(b) of the Code. Sections 270 through 270.02 of the Code provide for a number of offences committed against peace officers, such as assault, aggravated assault, assault with a deadly weapon and assault causing bodily harm. Section 423.1(1)(b) establishes an offence for provoking a state of fear in a justice system participant in order to impede him or her in the performance of his or her duties. [ Return to text ]
  13. Paré c. R., 2011 Q.C.C.A. 2047; and R. v. B.W.P.; R. v. B.V.N., [2006] 1 S.C.R. 941. [ Return to text ]

© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Résumé législatif du projet de loi C-35 : Loi modifiant le Code criminel (animaux d’assistance policière, animaux d’assistance militaire et animaux d’assistance)
Sandra Gruescu, Division des affaires juridiques et sociales
2014-09-23
Publication no 41-2-C35-F
PDF 429, (8 Pages) PDF

1 Contexte

Le projet de loi C-35, Loi modifiant le Code criminel (animaux d’assistance policière, animaux d’assistance militaire et animaux d’assistance) (titre abrégé : « Loi sur la justice pour les animaux qui fournissent de l’assistance (Loi de Quanto) »), a été déposé par le ministre de la Justice et a franchi l’étape de la première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 12 mai 2014. Selon un communiqué du Bureau du premier ministre : « La loi rend hommage à Quanto, un chien de la police poignardé à mort en aidant à arrêter un suspect en fuite à Edmonton, en Alberta, au mois d’octobre 2013. Quanto avait été au service de la police pendant quatre ans, il avait été décoré et il avait participé à plus de 100 arrestations1. »

Le projet de loi crée une nouvelle infraction, afin de criminaliser le fait de tuer ou de blesser un animal d’assistance policière ou militaire, ou un animal qui assiste une personne ayant une déficience.

Actuellement, le fait de tuer, mutiler, blesser, empoisonner ou estropier volontairement des bestiaux2 ou de tuer, mutiler, blesser, empoisonner ou estropier volontairement et sans excuse légitime des animaux domestiques constitue un acte criminel selon les articles 444 et 445 du Code criminel3 (le Code). Le paragraphe 429(2) du Code prévoit un moyen de défense selon lequel « [n]ul ne peut être déclaré coupable d’une infraction visée aux articles 430 à 446 s’il prouve qu’il a agi avec une justification ou une excuse légale et avec apparence de droit ».

Il existe également plusieurs dispositions contre la cruauté envers les animaux, dont l’article 445.1 du Code, qui érige en infraction le fait de faire souffrir inutilement un animal.

2 Description et analyse

2.1 Tuer ou blesser certaines animaux (art. 3)

2.1.1 Nouvelle Infraction

L’article 3 du projet de loi prévoit le nouveau paragraphe 445.01(1) du Code qui érige en infraction le fait de tuer, mutiler, blesser, empoisonner ou estropier volontairement et sans excuse légitime :

  • un animal d’assistance policière qui assiste un agent de contrôle d’application de la loi dans l’exercice de ses fonctions;
  • un animal d’assistance militaire qui assiste un membre des Forces canadiennes;
  • un animal d’assistance qui aide une personne ayant une déficience.

Dans le contexte du contrôle d’application de la loi, le projet de loi criminalise le fait de tuer ou de blesser uniquement un chien ou un cheval d’assistance policière. Par contre, ce sont tous les animaux d’assistance militaire ou d’assistance à une personne ayant une déficience qui sont protégés (voir les définitions ci-dessous).

2.1.1.1 Définitions d'« agent de contrôle d'application de la loi » et d'« animal d'assistance »

Le projet de loi définit, au nouveau paragraphe 445.01(4) du Code, les termes suivants pour l’application de la nouvelle infraction prévue au paragraphe 445.01(1) :

  • « agent de contrôle d’application de la loi » s’entend :
    • d’un officier ou d’un agent de police;
    • de toute personne mentionnée aux alinéas suivants de la définition d’« agent de la paix » à l’article 2 du Code, soit :
      • les agents du Service correctionnel du Canada (al.  b));
      • les agents chargés du contrôle transfrontalier maritime au sens de la Loi sur les opérations transfrontalières intégrées de contrôle d’application de la loi4 (al.  c.1));
      • les fonctionnaires ou les personnes possédant les pouvoirs d’un agent, sous le régime de la Loi sur les douanes5 ou d’un préposé sous le régime de la Loi sur l’accise6 ou la Loi de 2001 sur l’accise7 (al.  d));
      • d’un agent autorisé qui détient les attributions d’un agent de la paix en vertu du paragraphe 138(1) de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés8 (al.  d.1));
      • les personnes désignées à titre de gardes-pêche en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches9 et à titre d’agents des pêches en vertu de cette même loi et de la Loi sur la protection des pêches côtières10 (al.  e));
      • les officiers et les militaires du rang des Forces canadiennes qui sont nommés policiers militaires pour l’application de l’article 156 de la Loi sur la défense nationale11 et qui détiennent certains pouvoirs d’arrestation, ou qui sont employés à des fonctions que le gouverneur en conseil a établies et qui demandent l’exercice de pouvoirs d’agents de la paix (al.  g));
  • « animal d’assistance » s’entend de l’animal dont a besoin une personne ayant une déficience quelconque et qui a été entraîné par un organisme de dressage spécialisé dans le dressage d’animaux d’assistance;
  • « animal d’assistance militaire » s’entend de l’animal qui est dressé pour assister un membre des Forces canadiennes dans l’exercice de ses fonctions;
  • « animal d’assistance policière » s’entend du chien ou du cheval dressé pour assister un agent de contrôle d’application de la loi dans l’exercice de ses fonctions.
2.1.1.2 Infraction mixte

Le nouveau paragraphe 445.01(2) du Code prévoit que l’infraction de tuer ou de blesser certains animaux d’assistance énoncée au nouveau paragraphe 445.01(1) du Code constitue une infraction mixte, ce qui veut dire que le procureur peut décider qu’elle est punissable sur déclaration de culpabilité soit par mise en accusation ou par procédure sommaire.

La mise en accusation peut mener à un emprisonnement maximal de cinq ans. Une peine minimale de six mois est prévue, mais seulement si un animal d’assistance policière est tué. Il n’y a pas de peine minimale pour avoir tué un animal d’assistance militaire ou d’assistance à une personne ayant une déficience.

L’infraction punissable par procédure sommaire est passible d’une amende maxi-male de 10 000 $ et d’une peine d’emprisonnement maximale de 18 mois, ou de l’une de ces peines. Ces peines s’appliquent pour une infraction commise contre tous les animaux d’assistance, non seulement contre ceux d’assistance policière.

En dernier lieu, si un animal d’assistance policière est blessé ou tué en service, la peine imposée pour cette infraction sera purgée de manière consécutive à toute autre peine imposée à son auteur pour une infraction différente basée sur les mêmes faits (nouveau par. 445.01(3) du Code).

2.2 Peines consécutives pour les infractions contre un agent de contrôle d'application de la loi (art. 2)

À l’heure actuelle, le Code prévoit différentes infractions qui peuvent être commises contre un agent de la paix, comme les voies de fait simples ou graves, prévues aux articles 270 et 270.02 du Code, ou les agressions armées ou l’infliction de lésions corporelles, prévues au paragraphe 270.01(1) du Code.

L’article 2 du projet de loi crée le nouvel article 270.03 du Code, selon lequel si ces infractions sont commises contre un agent de contrôle d’application de la loi, la peine imposée sera purgée consécutivement à toute autre peine sanctionnant une autre infraction basée sur les mêmes faits.

2.3 Objectifs de dénonciation et de dissuasion (art. 4)

À l’heure actuelle, l’article 718.02 du Code12 prévoit que lors de la détermination de la peine pour les infractions graves à l’endroit d’un agent de la paix ou d’inti-midation d’un membre du système judiciaire, le tribunal doit accorder une attention particulière aux objectifs de dénonciation et de dissuasion de l’agissement à l’origine de l’infraction afin de dénoncer l’acte illégal qui a été posé et d’empêcher que le comportement se répète13. Dans le même ordre d’idées, l’article 4 du projet de loi crée le nouvel article 718.03 du Code qui prévoit que ce même raisonnement s’applique, dans le cadre du nouvel article 445.01 du Code, lorsqu’un animal d’assistance policière ou militaire ou qui assiste une personne ayant une déficience est blessé ou tué.


Notes

*  Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.Retour au texte ]

  1. Premier Ministre du Canada, Stephen Harper, Le PM Harper annonce une protection accrue des animaux policiers, aidants ou militaires, communiqué, 12 mai 2014. [ Retour au texte ]
  2. Le terme « bétail » est défini à l’art. 2 du Code et comprend un animal de l’espèce bovine ainsi que les chevaux, les mulets, les ânes, les porcs, les moutons et les chèvres. [ Retour au texte ]
  3. Code criminel, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-46. [ Retour au texte ]
  4. Loi sur les opérations transfrontalières intégrées de contrôle d’application de la loi, L.C. 2012, ch. 19, art. 368. [ Retour au texte ]
  5. Loi sur les douanes, L.R.C. 1985, ch. 1 (2e suppl.). [ Retour au texte ]
  6. Loi sur l’accise, L.R.C. 1985, ch. E-14. [ Retour au texte ]
  7. Loi de 2001 sur l’accise, L.C. 2002, ch. 22. [ Retour au texte ]
  8. Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés, L.C. 2001, ch. 27. [ Retour au texte ]
  9. Loi sur les pêches, L.R.C. 1985, ch. F-14. [ Retour au texte ]
  10. Loi sur la protection des pêches côtières, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-33. [ Retour au texte ]
  11. Loi sur la défense nationale, L.R.C. 1985, ch. N-5. [ Retour au texte ]
  12. L’art. 718.02 du Code réfère aux art. 270, 270.01 et 270.02 et à l’al.  423.1(1)b). Les art. 270 à 270.02 du Code prévoient plusieurs infractions commises contre un agent de la paix comme les voies de fait simples ou graves ainsi que l’agression armée ou l’infliction de lésions corporelles. L’al.  423.1(1)b) du Code érige en infraction le fait de provoquer la peur chez une personne associée au système judiciaire en tentant de lui nuire dans l’exercice de ses fonctions. [ Retour au texte ]
  13. Paré c. R., 2011 QCCA 2047, et R. c. B.W.P.; R. c. B.V.N., [2006] 1 R.C.S. 941. [ Retour au texte ]

© Bibliothèque du Parlement