Legislative Summary
Legislative Summary of Bill C-61: An Act to amend the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act
Penny Becklumb, Economics, Resources and International Affairs Division
Thai Nguyen, Economics, Resources and International Affairs Division
2015-06-18
Publication No. 41-2-C61-E
PDF 540, (10 Pages) PDF

1 Introduction

Bill C-61, An Act to amend the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act (short title: Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area Act) was introduced in the House of Commons on 2 June 2015 and received third reading on 17 June 2015.

The bill amends the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act1 to establish the Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area (NMCA) of Canada near Thunder Bay, in Ontario. Under the Act, Parks Canada is required to manage its NMCAs “for ecologically sustainable use with protections ensured through different types of zoning in the [NMCA].”2

“National marine conservation areas are established to conserve and protect representative examples of Canada’s oceans and Great Lakes” and “provide opportunities for the ecologically sustainable use of aquatic resources.”3 According to a government backgrounder, national marine conservation areas “consist of protected zones and cooperatively managed multiple use areas where activities such as commercial fishing and shipping continue [but d]umping, mining, oil and gas exploration and extraction are prohibited.”4

The Lake Superior NMCA “is the world’s largest freshwater protected area with a surface area of over 10,000 square kilometres.”5 Its proposed area “extends from Thunder Cape at the tip of Sleeping Giant Provincial Park in the west, to Bottle Point just east of Terrace Bay, and out to the Canada–U.S. boundary. It includes the waters of Black Bay and Nipigon Bay.”6 The conservation area contains habitat for many species, including peregrine falcons, loons, woodland caribou, trout and pickerel.7

1.1 Introduction

Parks Canada follows a five-step process to establish an NMCA.8 After having completed the first three steps, the federal government, as part of step 4, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Province of Ontario regarding the possibility of establishing an NMCA in Lake Superior.

In 1998, the minister responsible for Parks Canada appointed a regional committee of Lake Superior stakeholders, comprising members of communities on the north shore of the lake, First Nations, and resource users, to explore the feasibility of establishing an NMCA.9 In 2001, the regional committee submitted its recommendations, endorsed by an independent review committee, to Parks Canada, and proposed that the federal agency proceed with an NMCA. Based on this feasibility process, in 2002, Parks Canada presented to the public its vision for the NMCA.

After Parliament passed the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act in 2002, the federal government and Ontario began negotiating to reach an agreement confirming the transfer of the lakebed and selected islands within the proposed Lake Superior NMCA from the province to Canada.10 A memorandum of agreement11 (MOA) was reached in 2005 and signed on 25 October 2007, along with a Parks Canada–Northern Superior First Nations Protocol regarding the role of area First Nations in the management of the proposed NMCA.

A “condition precedent” in the MOA states that:

Ontario will not transfer the Lands or Lands Under Water in the Marine Conservation Area to Canada until an agreement can be made, as contemplated, in the Side Agreement … that ensures Ontario will retain jurisdiction, management and control of the taking of water located in the Marine Conservation Area after the Lands and Lands Under Water have been transferred to Canada.12

This condition precedent is consistent with Ontario’s obligations under the Great Lakes–St. Lawrence River Basin Sustainable Water Resources Agreement,13 which it signed with U.S. Great Lake states and Quebec in 2005.

Accordingly, on the same date that the MOA was signed, a side agreement to the MOA regarding control over potential water takings within the NMCA was signed. That side agreement states:

Ontario will retain jurisdiction, management and control over the taking of water located within the National Marine Conservation Area in western Lake Superior after the transfer of lands and lands under water has been made in order to enhance and further promote environmental protection in western Lake Superior.14

Following the 2007 agreements, Parks Canada conducted further public consultations and worked on developing an interim management plan, required under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act, guiding the first five years of operation of the NMCA and containing management objectives and a zoning plan.15

Bill C-61 represents the final step in establishing the Lake Superior NMCA, formally designating the conservation area under legislation and allowing zoning regulations16 to be enacted and enforced to protect it.

1.2 Introduction

Sections 5 and 7 of the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act set out the ordinary means by which an NMCA is established. The Governor in Council issues an order that the name and description of the NMCA be added to Schedule 1 of the Act, and the order is laid before each House of Parliament along with a report. The report must include information on consultations undertaken, agreements reached, results of assessments of mineral and energy resources undertaken, and an interim management plan for the NMCA.

The Lake Superior NMCA of Canada is being established through an Act of Parliament (Bill C-61) rather than through an order. The bill must amend other sections of the Act to make Ontario provincial laws related to water takings apply to the NMCA, as stated in the side agreement.

2 Introduction

Bill C-61 amends the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act for two purposes:

  • to establish the Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area of Canada; and
  • to make Ontario provincial laws relating to water taking and water transfers apply in all NMCAs in Ontario.

2.1 Introduction

The Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act is structured to set out general provisions relating to NMCAs, followed by schedules listing each NMCA or reserve along with its description.17 This structure is similar to that of the Canada National Parks Act,18 which lists all the national parks and park reserves in schedules to the Act.

To date, there is only one NMCA reserve listed in Schedule 2 of the Act: Gwaii Haanas National Marine Conservation Area Reserve and Haida Heritage Site. Clause 4 of the bill adds the Lake Superior NMCA of Canada, along with its description, as the first NMCA in Schedule 1 of the Act. Clause 4 comes into force (meaning that the NMCA is established) on a day to be fixed by order of the Governor in Council (clause 5).

Figure 1 shows the waters and lands included in the Lake Superior NMCA. Figure 2 shows the approximate location of Lake Superior NMCA within Lake Superior.

Figure 1 - Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area of Canada

Figure 1 - Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area of Canada

Source: Parks Canada, “Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area,” Backgrounder, 2 June 2015.

Figure 2 – Approximate Location of the National Marine Conservation Area Within Lake Superior

Figure 2 – Approximate Location of the National Marine Conservation Area Within Lake Superior

Source: Map prepared by the Library of Parliament using the following materials: Natural Resources Canada, Atlas of Canada – Base Maps Scale 1:2,000,000 – Ontario; and Canadian Council on Ecological Areas, Conservation Areas Reporting and Tracking System Database (see CARTS Introduction).

2.2 Introduction

Bill C-61 adds a new section to the Act stipulating that Ontario laws concerning “water taking” and “water transfer” apply within an NMCA in Ontario.19 Such provincial laws include the Ontario Water Resources Act, the Environmental Bill of Rights and regulations made under these Acts (clause 2, adding new sections 7.1(1) to 7.1(3) to the Act).

The term “water taking” is described in the Ontario Water Resources Act20 as including taking water by means of:

  • a well;
  • an intake from a surface source of supply;
  • a structure or works constructed for the diversion or storage of water; or
  • any combination of these means of taking water.

Under section 34 of that provincial Act and subject to exceptions, a permit is generally required to take more than 50,000 litres of water on any day.

The term “water transfer” is also described in the Ontario Water Resources Act. The Act prohibits taking water from a water basin, such as the Great Lakes–St. Lawrence River Basin, and transferring the water out of the basin. The prohibition is subject to various exceptions. The Act also regulates the bulk transfer of water from one of the five watersheds within the Great Lakes–St. Lawrence River Basin to another watershed within the same basin.

Bill C-61 includes various provisions clarifying that:

  • provincial laws relating to the administration and enforcement of Ontario laws concerning water taking and water transfers apply in NMCAs in Ontario (clause 2, adding new sections 7.1(4) and 7.1(7));
  • provincial officials rather than federal officials apply and enforce the provincial laws in NMCAs in Ontario (clause 2, adding new sections 7.1(5) and 7.1(6)); and
  • the superintendent of an NMCA in Ontario (a federal official) may not authorize water taking or water transfer from an NMCA in Ontario (clause 2, adding new section 7.1(9); and clause 3, amending section 15(1)).

Notes

*  Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.Return to text ]

  1. Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act, S.C. 2002, c. 18. [ Return to text ]
  2. Office of the Auditor General of Canada [OAG], “Chapter 3 – Marine Protected Areas,” 2012 Fall Report of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development, 2012, para. 3.69. [ Return to text ]
  3. Parks Canada, Lake Superior Marine News, Vol. 1, Issue 1, May 2010. [ Return to text ]
  4. Parks Canada, “Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area,” Backgrounder, 2 June 2015. [ Return to text ]
  5. Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Spotlight on Marine Protected Areas in Canada pdf (3.53 MB, 26 pages), 2010. [ Return to text ]
  6. Parks Canada, “How to Get There,” Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area of Canada. [ Return to text ]
  7. World Wildlife Fund Canada, “A Superior day for Canada!,” Conservation Successes in Canada. [ Return to text ]
  8. OAG (2012), para. 3.57. [ Return to text ]
  9. Parks Canada, “Timeline,” Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area of Canada. [ Return to text ]
  10. Ibid. [ Return to text ]
  11. Memorandum of Agreement Between Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada as Represented by the Minister of the Environment for the Purposes of the Parks Canada Agency and Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Ontario as Represented by the Minister of Natural Resources Respecting the Establishment of a National Marine Conservation Area of Canada in Lake Superior pdf (2.47 MB, 59 pages) [MOA], 25 October 2007. [ Return to text ]
  12. Ibid., subsection 22.1. [ Return to text ]
  13. Government of Ontario, Permits to take water and Great Lakes–St. Lawrence River Basin Sustainable Water Resources Agreement. [ Return to text ]
  14. Side Agreement Between Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada as Represented by the Minister of the Environment for the Purposes of the Parks Canada Agency and Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Ontario as Represented by the Minister of Natural Resources Respecting the Enhancement of Environmental Protection in the Signing of an Agreement to Create a National Marine Conservation Area of Canada in Lake Superior, 25 October 2007. (The text of the side agreement can be found on unnumbered pages following page 34 of the MOA pdf (2.47 MB, 59 pages).) [ Return to text ]
  15. Parks Canada, “Interim Management Planning,” Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area of Canada. [ Return to text ]
  16. Parks Canada, “Zoning in Lake Superior,” Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area of Canada. [ Return to text ]
  17. The name of a national marine conservation area includes the word “reserve” when the area or a portion of the area is “subject to a claim in respect of aboriginal rights that has been accepted for negotiation by the Government of Canada.” See Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act, s. 4(2). [ Return to text ]
  18. Canada National Parks Act, S.C. 2000, c. 32. [ Return to text ]
  19. The federal Statutory Instruments Act does not apply to any instrument made or issued under any of the provincial laws that relate to water taking or water transfers and that are applicable in NMCAs in Ontario (clause 2 of Bill C-61, adding new section 7.1(8) to the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act). This means that the federal procedure for making instruments, such as regulations, does not apply to instruments made under the provincial laws. [ Return to text ]
  20. Ontario Water Resources Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. O.40. [ Return to text ]

© Library of Parliament

Related Content

Résumé Législatif
Résumé législatif du projet de loi C-61 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada
Penny Becklumb, Division de l'économie, des ressources et des affaires internationales
Thai Nguyen, Division de l'économie, des ressources et des affaires internationales
Publication no 41-2-C61-F
PDF 504, (10 Pages) PDF
2015-06-18

1 Contexte

Le projet de loi C-61, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada (titre abrégé : « Loi sur l’aire marine nationale de conservation du lac Supérieur ») a été présenté à la Chambre des communes le 2 juin 2015 et a franchi l’étape de la troisième lecture le 17 juin 2015.

Le projet de loi modifie la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada (LAMNCC)1 afin de créer l’Aire marine nationale de conservation (AMNC) du Canada du lac Supérieur près de Thunder Bay, en Ontario. Aux termes de la LAMNCC, Parcs Canada est tenu de gérer ses AMNC « de manière à permettre leur utilisation durable, du point de vue écologique, et à assurer une protection grâce à différents types de zonage dans ses [AMNC]2 ».

« Des aires marines nationales de conservation sont créées afin d’assurer la conservation et la protection d’exemples représentatifs des océans du Canada et des Grands Lacs » et de « permettre l’utilisation écologique des ressources aquatiques3 ». Selon un document d’information du gouvernement, les aires marines nationales de conservation « sont des zones protégées et des zones à utilisation multiple faisant l’objet d’une gestion coopérative où des activités telles que la pêche commerciale et le transport de marchandises se poursuivent […], mais les rejets, l’exploitation minière ainsi que l’exploration et l’extraction d’hydrocarbures sont interdits4 ».

L’AMNC du lac Supérieur est une aire protégée d’eau douce « la plus grande au monde avec sa superficie de plus de 10 000 km²5 ». L’aire « s’étend du cap Thunder, qui se trouve à la pointe du parc provincial Sleeping Giant, à l’ouest, jusqu’à la pointe Bottle (juste à l’est de la baie Terrace), et sa limite sud coïncide avec la frontière américaine. Elle comprend les eaux de la baie Black et de la baie Nipigon6. » L’aire de conservation comporte des habitats de nombreuses espèces, dont le faucon pèlerin, le plongeon, le caribou des bois, la truite et le brochet7.

1.1 Le cheminement vers l’établissement de l’aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada du lac Supérieur

Pour établir une AMNC, Parcs Canada suit un processus en cinq étapes8. Dans le cas présent, une fois franchies les trois premières étapes, au stade de la quatrième, le gouvernement fédéral a signé un protocole d’entente (PE) avec la province de l’Ontario au sujet de la possibilité de créer une AMNC au lac Supérieur.

En 1998, le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada a mis sur pied un comité régional des parties intéressées du lac Supérieur formé de membres des communautés de la rive nord du lac, de membres des Premières Nations et d’utilisateurs des ressources afin d’examiner la faisabilité de l’établissement d’une AMNC9. En 2001, le comité régional a présenté ses recommandations, soutenues par un comité d’examen indépendant, à Parcs Canada, et a proposé à l’agence fédérale d’aller de l’avant avec la création de l’AMNC. Se fondant sur cet examen de la faisabilité, Parcs Canada a présenté sa vision de l’AMNC au public en 2002.

Après l’adoption de la LAMNCC en 2002, le gouvernement fédéral et l’Ontario ont amorcé des négociations en vue de la conclusion d’un accord confirmant le transfert du lit du lac et de certaines îles de l’AMNC du lac Supérieur, de la province au Canada10. Un PE11 a été conclu en 2005 et signé le 25 octobre 2007, suivi de la conclusion d’un autre PE entre Parcs Canada et les Premières Nations du secteur nord du lac Supérieur concernant le rôle des Premières Nations dans la gestion de l’AMNC proposée.

Une « condition préalable » du PE entre le Canada et l’Ontario prévoit que :

l’Ontario ne transférera pas au Canada les Terres non-immergées et les Terres immergées de l’aire marine de conservation à moins qu’une entente soit conclue, telle que prévue dans la convention accessoire […], qui assure que l’Ontario conservera l’autorité, la gestion et la maîtrise sur le prélèvement d’eau dans l’aire marine de conservation suite au transfert des Terres non-immergées et des Terres immergées en faveur du Canada12.

Cette condition préalable est conforme aux obligations de l’Ontario énoncées dans l’Entente sur les ressources en eaux durables du bassin des Grands Lacs et du Saint Laurent13, qui a été signée avec les États américains des Grands Lacs et le Québec en 2005.

En conséquence, le jour où le PE a été signé, un accord parallèle au PE a été signé sur le contrôle des prélèvements d’eau dans l’AMNC. Cet accord prévoit que :

l’Ontario conservera l’autorité, la gestion et la maîtrise sur le prélèvement d’eau dans l’aire marine nationale de conservation dans la partie ouest du lac Supérieur après que les terres immergées et non-immergées auront été transférées afin d’améliorer et de favoriser la protection de l’environnement dans la partie ouest du lac Supérieur14.

Après les accords de 2007, Parcs Canada a mené d’autres consultations publiques et travaillé à la conception d’un plan directeur provisoire, prévu par la LAMNCC, qui devait servir de guide pour les cinq premières années d’exploitation de l’AMNC et renfermer des objectifs de gestion et un plan de zonage15.

Le projet de loi C-61 représente la dernière étape de l’établissement de l’AMNC du lac Supérieur, désignant officiellement l’aire de conservation aux termes de la loi et permettant l’édiction et l’exécution des règlements de zonage16 pour la protéger.

1.2 La procédure d’établissement d’une aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada

Les articles 5 et 7 de la LAMNCC énoncent les moyens ordinaires par lesquels est établie une AMNC. Le gouverneur en conseil prend un décret en vue de l’ajout du nom et de la description d’une AMNC à l’annexe 1 de la LAMNCC; le décret est ensuite présenté à chacune des Chambres accompagné d’un rapport. Ce dernier doit comprendre de l’information sur les consultations entreprises, les accords conclus, les résultats des évaluations des ressources minérales et énergétiques entreprises et un plan de gestion provisoire pour l’AMNC.

L’AMNC du lac Supérieur est établie par voie législative (projet de loi C-61) plutôt qu’aux termes d’un décret. Le projet de loi doit modifier d’autres articles de la LAMNCC pour que les lois provinciales de l’Ontario relatives aux prélèvements d’eau s’appliquent à l’AMNC, ainsi que le précise l’accord parallèle.

2 Description et analyse

Le projet de loi C-61 modifie la LAMNCC pour deux raisons :

  • pour établir l’Aire marine nationale de conservation du lac Supérieur;
  • pour que les lois provinciales de l’Ontario relatives aux prélèvements et aux transferts d’eau s’appliquent à toutes les AMNC situées en Ontario.

2.1 Établissement de l’Aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada du lac Supérieur (art. 4 et 5 du projet de loi)

La LAMNCC est structurée de manière à énoncer les dispositions générales concernant les AMNC, puis à donner dans des annexes la liste et la description de chaque AMNC et réserve d’AMNC17. Cette structure est semblable à celle de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada18, qui donne la liste de tous les parcs nationaux et de toutes les réserves à vocation de parc national dans ses annexes.

À ce jour, une seule réserve d’AMNC figure à l’annexe 2 de la LAMNCC : la Réserve d’aire marine de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda gwaii haanas. L’article 4 du projet de loi ajoute l’AMNC du lac Supérieur, avec sa description, comme première AMNC à l’annexe 1 de la LAMNCC. L’article 4 entre en vigueur (ce qui signifie que l’AMNC est établie) à la date fixée par décret (art. 5).

La figure 1 montre les eaux et les terres comprises dans l’AMNC du lac Supérieur. La figure 2 montre l’emplacement approximatif de l’AMNC du lac Supérieur dans le lac du même nom.

Figure 1 – Aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada du lac Supérieur

Figure 1 – Aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada du lac Supérieur

Source: Parcs Canada, Aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur, document d’information, 2 juin 2015.

Figure 2 – Emplacement approximatif de l’aire marine nationale de conservation dans le lac Supérieur

Figure 2 – Emplacement approximatif de l’aire marine nationale de conservation dans le lac Supérieur

Source: Carte dressée par la Bibliothèque du Parlement à l’aide des ouvrages suivants : Ressources naturelles Canada, Atlas du Canada – Cartes de base Échelle 1/2 000 000 – Ontario; Conseil canadien des aires écologiques, Conservation Areas Reporting and Tracking System Database (voir CARTS Introduction).

2.2 Application aux aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada en Ontario des lois de l’Ontario concernant les prélèvements et les transferts d’eau (art. 2 et 3 du projet de loi)

Le projet de loi ajoute à la LAMNCC un nouvel article qui prévoit que les lois de l’Ontario concernant les « prélèvements d’eau » et les « transferts d’eau » s’appli-quent aux AMNC se trouvant en Ontario19. Au nombre de ces lois provinciales, on compte la Loi sur les ressources en eau de l’Ontario, la Charte des droits environnementaux et les règlements pris en vertu de ces lois (l’art. 2 ajoute les nouveaux par. 7.1(1) à 7.1(3) à la LAMNCC).

Aux termes de la Loi sur les ressources en eau de l’Ontario20, l’expression « prélèvement d’eau » s’entend d’un prélèvement d’eau au moyen :

  • d’un puits;
  • d’une prise à partir d’une source de surface;
  • d’une structure ou d’installations construites pour la dérivation ou la retenue de l’eau;
  • d’une combinaison des moyens énumérés ci-dessus.

En vertu de l’article 34 de cette loi et sous réserve des exceptions, un permis est généralement nécessaire pour prélever plus de 50 000 litres d’eau en une journée.

L’expression « transfert d’eau » est également définie dans la Loi sur les ressources en eau de l’Ontario. Celle-ci interdit le prélèvement d’eau de bassins, comme ceux des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent et le transfert de cette eau à l’extérieur de son bassin. Il y a toutefois des exceptions à cette interdiction. Ladite loi réglemente aussi le transfert massif d’eau d’un des cinq bassins hydrographiques des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent à un autre bassin hydrographique du même bassin.

Le projet de loi comprend diverses dispositions qui précisent que :

  • les lois provinciales concernant l’application des lois de l’Ontario relatives aux prélèvements et aux transferts d’eau s’appliquent aussi aux AMNC situées en Ontario (l’art. 2 du projet de loi ajoute les nouveaux par. 7.1(4) et 7.1(7) à la LAMNCC);
  • les fonctionnaires provinciaux plutôt que les fonctionnaires fédéraux appliquent les dispositions des lois provinciales dans les AMNC situées en Ontario (l’art. 2 du projet de loi ajoute les nouveaux par. 7.1(5) et 7.1(6) à la LAMNCC);
  • le directeur d’une AMNC située en Ontario (un fonctionnaire fédéral) ne peut autoriser le prélèvement d’eau ou le transfert d’eau d’une AMNC située en Ontario (l’art. 2 du projet de loi ajoute le nouveau par. 7.1(9) à la LAMNCC et l’art. 3 du projet de loi modifie le par. 15(1) de la LAMNCC).

Notes

*  Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.Retour au texte ]

  1. Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada, L.C. 2002, ch. 18. [ Retour au texte ]
  2. Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada (BVG), « Les aires marines protégées », chap. 3 dans Rapport du commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable – Automne 2012, 2012, paragr. 3.69. [ Retour au texte ]
  3. Parcs Canada, Bulletin sur l’aire marine du lac-supérieur, vol. 1, no 1, mai 2010. [ Retour au texte ]
  4. Parcs Canada, Aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur, document d’information, 2 juin 2015. [ Retour au texte ]
  5. Ministères des Pêches et Océans Canada, Pleins feux sur les aires marines protégées au Canada, 2010. [ Retour au texte ]
  6. Parcs Canada, « Comment s’y rendre », Aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada du Lac-Supérieur. [ Retour au texte ]
  7. Fonds mondial pour la nature (Canada), « Un grand jour pour le Canada! », Lac Supérieur. [ Retour au texte ]
  8. BVG (2012), paragr. 3.57. [ Retour au texte ]
  9. Parcs Canada, « Historique », Aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada du Lac‑Supérieur. [ Retour au texte ]
  10. Ibid. [ Retour au texte ]
  11. Protocole d’entente entre Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada représentée par le ministre de l’Environnement aux fins de l’Agence Parcs Canada et Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de l’Ontario représentée par le ministre des Richesses naturelles concernant la création d’une aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada au lac Supérieur pdf (2,5 Mo, 61 pages)(PE), 25 octobre 2007. [ Retour au texte ]
  12. Ibid., par. 22.1. [ Retour au texte ]
  13. Gouvernement de l’Ontario, Permis de prélèvement d’eau et Entente sur les ressources en eaux durables du bassin des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent. [ Retour au texte ]
  14. Accord parallèle entre Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada représentée par le ministre de l’Environnement aux fins de l’Agence Parcs Canada et Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de l’Ontario représentée par le ministre des Richesses naturelles concernant l’amélioration de la protection de l’environnement à la signature de l’entente visant la création d’une aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada dans le lac Supérieur, 25 octobre 2007. (Le texte de cet accord parallèle se trouve à la fin du PE pdf (2,5 Mo, 61 pages), dans les pages non numérotées après la p. 36.) [ Retour au texte ]
  15. Parcs Canada, « Élaboration d’un plan directeur provisoire », Aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada du Lac-Supérieur. [ Retour au texte ]
  16. Parcs Canada, « Le zonage du lac Supérieur », Aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac‑Supérieur. [ Retour au texte ]
  17. L’aire marine nationale de conservation prend le nom de « réserve » « lorsqu’un peuple autochtone revendique des droits ancestraux sur tout ou partie du territoire d’un projet d’aire marine de conservation et que le gouvernement fédéral a accepté d’engager des négociations à cet égard ». Voir la Loi sur les aires marines nationales du Canada, au par. 4(2). [ Retour au texte ]
  18. Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, L.C. 2000, ch. 32. [ Retour au texte ]
  19. La Loi sur les textes réglementaires du gouvernement fédéral ne s’applique pas à tout règlement pris aux termes d’une loi provinciale concernant le prélèvement ou le transfert d’eau et s’appliquant aux AMNC se situant en Ontario (l’art. 2 du projet de loi C-61 ajoute le nouveau par. 7.1(8) à la Loi sur les aires marines nationales du Canada). Cela signifie que la procédure fédérale à suivre pour prendre des textes réglementaires, comme des règlements, ne s’applique pas aux textes réglementaires pris en vertu des lois provinciales. [ Retour au texte ]
  20. Loi sur les ressources en eau de l’Ontario, L.R.O. 1990, ch. O.40. [ Retour au texte ]

© Bibliothèque du Parlement