Legislative Summary
Legislative Summary of Bill C-7: An Act to amend the Museums Act in order to establish the Canadian Museum of History and to make consequential amendments to other Acts
Michael Dewing, Legal and Social Affairs Division
2013-10-28
Publication No. 41-2-C7-E
PDF 324, (10 Pages) PDF

1 Background

Bill C-7, An Act to amend the Museums Act in order to establish the Canadian Museum of History and to make consequential amendments to other Acts (short title: Canadian Museum of History Act), was previously introduced in the 1st Session of the 41st Parliament as Bill C-49, which died on the Order Paper when Parliament was prorogued on 13 September 2013. At the time, Bill C-49 was awaiting third reading in the House of Commons. Pursuant to an Order of the House of 21 October 2013 allowing the government to reinstate bills in the new session at their last completed stage in the previous session, when Bill C-7 was introduced in the current session, it was deemed read a second time and referred to a committee, reported without amendment, and concurred in at report stage.

The bill amends the Museums Act to create a new Crown corporation called the Canadian Museum of History to replace the Canadian Museum of Civilization. The bill also sets out the purpose of the new Canadian Museum of History. In addition, the Act repeals transitional provisions related to the disbanding in 1990 of the National Museums of Canada Corporation and the creation of the Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation and other museum Crown corporations, and sets out transitional provisions related to the creation of the Canadian Museum of History. To reflect the change in the corporation’s name, the bill also makes consequential amendments to seven other Acts.

1.1 History of the Canadian Museum of Civilization

The Canadian Museum of Civilization, located on the banks of the Ottawa River in Gatineau, Quebec, across from Parliament Hill, traces its origins back to 1856, when the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada passed an Act enabling the Geological Survey of Canada to establish a geological museum. In 1907, the museum’s mandate was expanded to include anthropological studies, and in 1927, the museum became the National Museum of Canada. The Canadian War Museum, which is affiliated with the Canadian Museum of Civilization, became part of the National Museum of Canada in 1958.1

In 1968, a corporation known as the National Museums of Canada was created with four constituent museums: the National Museum of Man, the National Museum of Natural Sciences, the National Gallery of Canada and the National Museum of Science and Technology. The purpose of the Corporation was “to demonstrate the products of nature and the works of man, with special but not exclusive reference to Canada, so as to promote interest therein throughout Canada and to disseminate knowledge thereof.”2 In 1986, the National Museum of Man was renamed the Canadian Museum of Civilization, which in 1990, became a separate Crown corporation.3

On 16 October 2012, the former Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, the Honourable James Moore, announced the government’s intention to change the name and mandate of the Canadian Museum of Civilization and create the Canadian Museum of History. The press release published at the time indicated that the museum “will highlight the national achievements and accomplishments that have shaped our country.” The Minister also announced that the museum would be seeking input from Canadians on the major themes, events and accomplishments that have shaped Canada.4 The museum will be renovated to create a new, permanent exhibition on Canadian history, to be completed in time for Canada’s 150th anniversary in 2017. This new exhibit will combine the exhibits currently in the Canada Hall, the Canadian Personalities Hall and the Canadian Postal Museum within the Canadian Museum of Civilization.5

1.2 Mandate of the Canadian Museum of Civilization

Established by the Museums Act of 1990, the Canadian Museum of Civilization is a federal Crown corporation that operates at arm’s length from the government. Its mandate stems in part from the declaration in section 3 of the Museums Act, which reads:

It is hereby declared that the heritage of Canada and all its peoples is an important part of the world heritage and must be preserved for present and future generations and that each museum established by this Act
  1. plays an essential role, individually and together with other museums and like institutions, in preserving and promoting the heritage of Canada and all its peoples throughout Canada and abroad and in contributing to the collective memory and sense of identity of all Canadians; and
  2. is a source of inspiration, research, learning and entertainment that belongs to all Canadians and provides, in both official languages, a service that is essential to Canadian culture and available to all.6

The Act also sets out the specific mandate of the Canadian Museum of Civilization, which includes increasing “interest in, knowledge and critical understanding of and appreciation and respect for human cultural achievements and human behaviour.”7

To implement this mandate, in 2009, the Board of Trustees of the Canadian Museum of Civilization approved these four strategic directions:

  1. Bringing the Museums to Canadians – The Corporation will expand its efforts to become better known, more accessible and increasingly relevant across the country and internationally, through innovative and engaging museum initiatives and outreach programs.
  2. Museological Excellence and Relevance – The Corporation will broaden its national collections and its curatorial research to better reflect and present national narratives, symbols and achievements through the human, social, cultural, military and political history dimensions of Canadian life.
  3. Focus on Results – The Corporation will continue its disciplined managerial practices, while also being flexible and responsive to changing conditions. Staff will develop tools and procedures to enable more effective reporting on activities and outcomes.
  4. Funding and Fundraising – The Corporation will seek to increase its financial resources through a variety of supplementary funding sources, notably business sponsorships, partnerships, philanthropy solicited in all regions of the country, and commercial revenues.8

2 Description and Analysis

2.1 Outline of the Bill

Bill C-7 contains 22 clauses. Clause 1 states that the short title of the bill is the Canadian Museum of History Act. The crux of the bill is found in clause 2, which amends the Museums Act to establish a corporation to be called the Canadian Museum of History and set out its purpose, capacity and powers. Clauses 3 to 10 contain transitional provisions, and clauses 11 to 22 are consequential amendments to other Acts.

2.2 Museums Act Amendments

2.2.1 Establishment of the Canadian Museum of History

Clause 2 amends section 7 of the Museums Act to change the name of the Canadian Museum of Civilization to the Canadian Museum of History.

2.2.2 Purpose of the Canadian Museum of History

Clause 2 also amends section 8 to set out the purpose of the Canadian Museum of History. The section read:

The purpose of the Canadian Museum of Civilization is to increase, throughout Canada and internationally, interest in, knowledge and critical understanding of and appreciation and respect for human cultural achievements and human behaviour by establishing, maintaining and developing for research and posterity a collection of objects of historical or cultural interest, with special but not exclusive reference to Canada, and by demonstrating those achievements and behaviour, the knowledge derived from them and the understanding they represent.9

The amended section reads:

The purpose of the Canadian Museum of History is to enhance Canadians’ knowledge, understanding and appreciation of events, experiences, people and objects that reflect and have shaped Canada’s history and identity, and also to enhance their awareness of world history and cultures.10

The amendment changes the purpose of the museum in several ways. First, it changes the target for the museum’s endeavours from “throughout Canada and internationally” to “Canadians.” Second, it changes the museum’s purpose from increasing “interest in, knowledge and critical understanding of and appreciation and respect for human cultural achievements and human behaviour” to enhancing “knowledge, understanding and appreciation of events, experiences, people and objects that reflect and have shaped Canada’s history and identity, and also to enhance their awareness of world history and cultures.” Third, it deletes any reference to the ways in which the museum carries out its purpose.

2.3 Capacity and Powers of the Canadian Museum of History

Clause 2 also amends section 9, which sets out the capacity and powers of the Museum. These are generally housekeeping amendments that make the language similar to that found in the sections of the Act setting out the capacities and powers of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights (section 15.3) and the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 (section 15.6).

2.4 Transitional Provisions

Clause 3 repeals sections 34 to 45 of the Museums Act, which are transitional provisions that dealt with the disbanding in 1990 of the National Museums of Canada Corporation and the creation of the Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation and other museum corporations.

Clauses 4 to 10 are transitional provisions related to the creation of the Canadian Museum of History and deal with such matters as the status of employees and the transfer of rights, obligations, powers and duties to the new museum.

2.5 Consequential Amendments

To reflect the change in the corporation’s name, clauses 11 to 22 amend the following Acts: the Access to Information Act, the Financial Administration Act, the Historic Site and Monuments Act, the Payments in Lieu of Taxes Act, the Privacy Act, the Public Service Superannuation Act and the Public Sector Compensation Act.

2.6 Coming into Force

As Bill C-7 does not contain a specific coming-into-force provision, the Act comes into force on the day it receives Royal Assent.11

3 Commentary

Most of the reaction to the measures proposed in this bill dates from October 2012, when the government announced its intention to change the name and mandate of the Canadian Museum of Civilization and create the Canadian Museum of History. While some criticized the change in the museum’s focus, others approved of the emphasis on Canadian history, as well as the museum’s plans to develop partnerships with other history museums across Canada.

Critics of the change noted the importance the government has placed on military history and speculated whether this would become the focus of the new museum.12 More broadly, some wondered whether the change was part of a larger strategy to reshape national identity.13 Specifically, James Turk, executive director of the Canadian Association of University Teachers, lamented the end of the Canada Hall, which he said was the largest and finest social history display in the country.14 Dan Gardner, columnist for the Ottawa Citizen, felt there was nothing wrong with a museum about Canadian history, but he questioned the idea of creating it by changing the current museum’s mandate.15 Others expressed concern about the closing of the Canadian Postal Museum.16 In his appearance before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage on 5 June 2013, Victor Rabinovitch, the former president and chief executive officer of the Canadian Museum of Civilization, said the new mandate reduces the museum’s scope of activity by focusing on the past rather than on contemporary issues, by reducing the role of research and by eliminating the international aspect to focus “only on what can be shown here in Canada.”17

On the other hand, historian Jack Granatstein praised the change, saying the Museum of Civilization had “made no attempt at chronology. You couldn’t follow the course of history at all. It left out anything remotely controversial. This move is exactly what I thought should happen.”18 Historian Michael Bliss, a member of the museum’s board, dismissed the idea of government interference, saying, “I expect that the highly professional management at arm’s length from the government will carry on.”19 Diane Pacom, a sociology professor, pointed out that museums change over time. She said that museums are not set in stone and that this museum in particular has changed its content, image and mission several times.20 Yves Bergeron, a professor of museology, said it would take five to seven years to see whether the museum’s focus had changed, because exhibits take a long time to prepare.21 John McAvity, executive director and chief executive officer of the Canadian Museums Association, said the change of name would end the confusion with the Musée de la civilisation in the city of Québec.22 In his testimony to the Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage, Mr. McAvity did not agree with those who contend that the bill places limits on the new museum, saying that the capacity and powers provided for in the bill are adequate and include a provision for an international role.23

Newspaper editorialists generally approved of the new museum. The Globe and Mail welcomed the idea of a museum with an “explicit emphasis on doing a better job telling the story of Canada.”24 The Winnipeg Free Press said, “The new vision reflects the country’s growing self-awareness and the realization that a knowledge of history is the basis of an informed citizenry.”25 The Ottawa Citizen said the “government is on the right track creating a Canadian history museum,” but felt that the museum of history should be in addition to, and not a replacement for, the Canadian Museum of Civilization.26


Notes

*  Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.Return to text ]

  1. Canadian Museum of Civilization, History of the Canadian Museum of Civilization. [ Return to text ]
  2. National Museums Act, S.C. 1968, c. 21, s. 5(1). [ Return to text ]
  3. Museums Act, S.C. 1990, c. 3, s. 7. [ Return to text ]
  4. Department of Canadian Heritage, “Harper Government to Create the Canadian Museum of History,” News release, 16 October 2012. [ Return to text ]
  5. Canadian Museum of Civilization, “The New Canadian Museum of History,” News release, 17 October 2012. [ Return to text ]
  6. Museums Act, s. 3. [ Return to text ]
  7. Ibid., s. 8. [ Return to text ]
  8. Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation, Summary of the Corporate Plan of the Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation, 2012–2013 to 2016–2017 pdf (1.2 MB, 42 pages), p. 1. [ Return to text ]
  9. Museums Act, s. 8. [ Return to text ]
  10. Bill C-7, An Act to amend the Museums Act in order to establish the Canadian Museum of History and to make consequential amendments to other Acts, 2nd Session, 41st Parliament (first reading version, 25 October 2013), c. 2. [ Return to text ]
  11. Interpretation Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. I-21, s. 5(2). [ Return to text ]
  12. Susan Delacourt, “Civilization ends, history begins at Canada’s biggest museum,” Toronto Star, 16 October 2012. [ Return to text ]
  13. Sheila Pratt, “OpEd: Is Stephen Harper trying to reshape the national identity?,” Edmonton Journal, 2 November 2012. [ Return to text ]
  14. Don Butler, “Museum of Civilization changes a mistake, university teachers association says,” Ottawa Citizen, 17 October 2012. [ Return to text ]
  15. Dan Gardner, “Column: Let’s have a history museum, not a hall of fame,” Ottawa Citizen, 18 October 2012. [ Return to text ]
  16. Don Butler, “Postal museum closed, collection broken up to make way for new history museum,” Ottawa Citizen, 3 December 2012. [ Return to text ]
  17. House of Commons, Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage [CHPC], Evidence, 1st Session, 41st Parliament, 5 June 2013, 1820–1825. [ Return to text ]
  18. Don Butler, “Small B.C. museum helped inspire Museum of Civilization remake,” Ottawa Citizen, 16 October 2012. [ Return to text ]
  19. Ibid. [ Return to text ]
  20. Hélène Buzzetti, Musée des civilisations du Canada – Finies les civilisations, place à l’histoire canadienne,” Le Devoir [Montréal], 16 October 2012. [ Return to text ]
  21. Ibid. [ Return to text ]
  22. Daniel Leblanc, “Ottawa’s plan for museums met with skepticism, outrage,” The Globe and Mail [Toronto], 16 October 2012. [ Return to text ]
  23. CHPC (2013), 1855.[ Return to text ]
  24. “The right emphasis,” The Globe and Mail [Toronto], 19 October 2012. [ Return to text ]
  25. Canada’s history museum,” Editorial, Winnipeg Free Press, 22 October 2012. [ Return to text ]
  26. “Editorial: Don’t mess with success,” Ottawa Citizen, 17 October 2012. [ Return to text ]


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Résumé législatif du projet de loi C-7 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur les musées afin de constituer le Musée canadien de l’histoire et apportant des modifications corrélatives à d’autres lois
Michael Dewing, Division des affaires juridiques et sociales
2013-10-28
Publication no 41-2-C7-F
PDF 371, (11 Pages) PDF

1 Contexte

Le projet de loi C-7 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur les musées afin de constituer le Musée canadien de l’histoire et apportant des modifications corrélatives à d’autres lois (titre abrégé : « Loi sur le Musée canadien de l’histoire ») a déjà été déposé avec le numéro C-49 pendant la première session de la 41e législature. Le projet de loi C-49 est mort au Feuilleton avant sa troisième lecture à la Chambre de communes lorsque le Parlement a été prorogé, le 13 septembre 2013. Conformément à l’ordre adopté par la Chambre le 21 octobre 2013 pour permettre au gouvernement de rétablir les projets de loi à l’étape où ils étaient rendus à la fin de la dernière session, on a considéré que le projet de loi C-7, au moment de son dépôt au début de la nouvelle session, avait été adopté en deuxième lecture, avait été renvoyé à un comité, avait fait l’objet d’un rapport sans amendement et avait été adopté à l’étape du rapport.

Le projet de loi modifie la Loi sur les musées pour créer la nouvelle société d’État appelée « Musée canadien de l’histoire », qui remplace le Musée canadien des civilisations, et il en énonce également la mission. En outre, il abroge certaines dispositions transitoires sur la dissolution, en 1990, de la Corporation des Musées nationaux du Canada et la création du Musée canadien des civilisations et d’autres musées. Il comporte aussi des dispositions transitoires sur la création du Musée canadien de l’histoire. Afin de tenir compte du changement de dénomination de la personne morale, le projet de loi apporte aussi des modifications corrélatives à sept autres lois.

1.1 Historique du Musée canadien des civilisations

L’origine du Musée canadien des civilisations, situé sur la rive québécoise de la rivière des Outaouais à Gatineau, en face de la Colline du Parlement, remonte à 1856, année où l’Assemblée législative de la province du Canada adopte une loi autorisant la Commission géologique du Canada à établir un musée de géologie. En 1907, les études anthropologiques s’ajoutent à la mission de ce musée, qui, en 1927, devient le Musée national du Canada. Depuis 1958, le Musée canadien de la guerre, affilié au Musée canadien des civilisations, fait partie du Musée national du Canada1.

En 1968, une « corporation » connue sous le nom de Musées nationaux du Canada est instituée et comprend quatre musées : le Musée national de l’homme, le Musée national des sciences naturelles, la Galerie nationale du Canada et le Musée national des sciences et de la technologie. Les Musées nationaux du Canada ont pour mission de « présenter les produits de la nature et les œuvres de l’homme ayant trait plus particulièrement, mais non pas exclusivement, au Canada, de façon à susciter, dans tout le Canada, un intérêt à leur égard et à en propager la connaissance2 ». En 1986, le Musée national de l’homme est renommé « Musée canadien des civilisations » et, en 1990, il devient une société d’État distincte3.

Le 16 octobre 2012, l’ancien ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles, l’honorable James Moore, a annoncé que le gouvernement avait l’intention de changer le nom et la mission du Musée canadien des civilisations pour créer le Musée canadien de l’histoire. Selon le communiqué diffusé au même moment, le Musée « mettra en valeur les réalisations nationales qui ont contribué à bâtir notre pays ». Le Ministre aussi dit que le Musée recueillerait les commentaires des Canadiens sur les principaux thèmes, événements et réalisations qui ont contribué à faire du Canada ce qu’il est devenu4. Le Musée sera rénové en vue de créer une exposition permanente sur l’histoire du Canada; les travaux de rénovation devraient être terminés à temps pour les célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada en 2017. La nouvelle exposition réunira celles de la salle du Canada, de la salle des personnalités canadiennes et du Musée canadien de la poste de l’actuel Musée des civilisations5.

1.2 Mission du Musée canadien des civilisations

Établi par la Loi sur les musées (LSM) de 1990, le Musée canadien des civilisations est une société d’État qui exerce ses activités sans lien de dépendance avec le gouvernement. Sa mission provient en partie de la déclaration à l’article 3 de la LSM, qui se lit ainsi :

Il est déclaré que le patrimoine du Canada et de tous ses peuples constitue une part importante du patrimoine mondial et doit à ce titre être préservé au profit des générations présentes et futures, et que chaque musée constitué par la présente loi :
  1. joue un rôle fondamental, seul ou en collaboration avec d’autres musées ou institutions analogues, dans la conservation et la promotion, dans l’ensemble du Canada et à l’étranger, du patrimoine du Canada et de tous ses peuples, de même que dans la constitution de la mémoire collective de tous les Canadiens et dans l’affirmation de l’identité canadienne;
  2. représente tant une source d’inspiration et de connaissance qu’un lieu de recherche et de divertissement qui appartient à tous les Canadiens, et offre dans les deux langues officielles un service essentiel à la culture canadienne et accessible à tous6.

La LSM prévoit également la mission du Musée canadien des civilisations, c’est à dire accroître « l’intérêt, le respect et la compréhension critique de même que la connaissance et le degré d’appréciation par tous à l’égard des réalisations culturelles et des comportements de l’humanité7 ».

Pour l’exécution de cette mission, le conseil d’administration du Musée canadien des civilisations a approuvé, en 2009, les quatre orientations stratégiques suivantes :

  1. Présenter les Musées aux Canadiens – La Société du Musée canadien des civilisations accroîtra ses efforts pour devenir mieux connue, plus accessible et de plus en plus pertinente dans toutes les régions du Canada et à l’échelle internationale au moyen d’initiatives muséales novatrices et attirantes, ainsi que par des programmes de diffusion.
  2. Excellence et pertinence muséologiques – La Société du Musée canadien des civilisations développera ses collections nationales et les recherches des conservateurs pour mieux refléter et présenter les récits, symboles et réalisations du pays dans leurs dimensions humaine, sociale, culturelle, militaire et politique de la vie au Canada.
  3. Se concentrer sur les résultats – La Société du Musée canadien des civilisations conservera ses pratiques de gestion disciplinées tout en se montrant flexible et réactive aux conditions changeantes. Le personnel élaborera des outils et des procédures permettant de rendre compte des activités et des résultats de façon plus efficace.
  4. Financement et collecte de fonds – La Société du Musée canadien des civilisations cherchera à accroître ses ressources financières par diverses sources supplémentaires de revenus, notamment les commandites d’entreprise, les partenariats, la philanthropie sollicitée dans toutes les régions du pays et les recettes de sources commerciales8.

2 Description et Analyse

2.1 Grandes lignes du projet de loi

Le projet de loi C-7 contient 22 articles. L’article premier énonce le titre abrégé, soit « Loi sur le Musée canadien de l’histoire ». L’article 2, le cœur du projet de loi, modifie la LSM afin de constituer en personne morale le Musée canadien de l’histoire et en énoncer la mission, la capacité et les pouvoirs. Les articles 3 à 10 contiennent des dispositions transitoires et les articles 11 à 22 apportent des modifications corrélatives à d’autres lois.

2.2 Modifications à la Loi sur les musées

2.2.1 Constitution du Musée canadien de l’histoire

L’article 2 du projet de loi modifie l’article 7 de la LSM afin de changer la dénomi-nation « Musée canadien des civilisations », qui devient « Musée canadien de l’histoire ».

2.2.2 Mission du Musée canadien de l’histoire

L’article 2 du projet de loi modifie également l’article 8 de la LSM afin de préciser la mission du Musée canadien de l’histoire. Cet article se lit actuellement ainsi :

Le Musée canadien des civilisations a pour mission d’accroître, dans l’ensemble du Canada et à l’étranger, l’intérêt, le respect et la compréhension critique de même que la connaissance et le degré d’appréciation par tous à l’égard des réalisations culturelles et des comportements de l’humanité, par la constitution, l’entretien et le développement aux fins de la recherche et pour la postérité, d’une collection d’objets à valeur historique ou culturelle principalement axée sur le Canada ainsi que par la présentation de ces réalisations et comportements, et des enseignements et de la compréhension qu’ils génèrent9.

L’article modifié est libellé ainsi :

Le Musée canadien de l’histoire a pour mission d’accroître la connaissance, la compréhension et le degré d’appréciation des Canadiens à l’égard d’évènements, d’expériences, de personnes et d’objets qui incarnent l’histoire et l’identité canadiennes, qu’ils ont façonnées, ainsi que de les sensibiliser à l’histoire du monde et aux autres cultures10.

La modification change la mission du Musée de plusieurs façons. Premièrement, les efforts du Musée ne ciblent plus « l’ensemble du Canada et […] l’étranger », mais les « Canadiens ». Deuxièmement, le Musée, dont la mission actuelle est d’accroître « l’intérêt, le respect et la compréhension critique de même que la connaissance et le degré d’appréciation par tous à l’égard des réalisations culturelles et des comportements de l’humanité », aura maintenant pour mission d’accroître « la connaissance, la compréhension et le degré d’appréciation des Canadiens à l’égard d’évènements, d’expériences, de personnes et d’objets qui incarnent l’histoire et l’identité canadiennes, qu’ils ont façonnées, ainsi que de les sensibiliser à l’histoire du monde et aux autres cultures ». Troisièmement, la modification supprime toute mention des moyens que le Musée peut utiliser pour exécuter sa mission.

2.3 Capacité et pouvoirs du Musée canadien de l’histoire

L’article 2 du projet de loi modifie aussi l’article 9 de la LSM, qui précise la capacité et les pouvoirs du Musée. Il s’agit généralement de modifications techniques qui visent à rendre son libellé semblable à celui des articles de la LSM prévoyant les capacités et les pouvoirs du Musée canadien des droits de la personne (art. 15.3) et du Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21 (art. 15.6).

2.4 Dispositions transitoires

L’article 3 du projet de loi abroge les articles 34 à 45 de la LSM, qui sont des disposi¬tions transitoires sur la dissolution, en 1990, des Musées nationaux du Canada et la création du Musée canadien des civilisations et d’autres musées.

Les articles 4 à 10 du projet de loi sont des dispositions transitoires relatives à la création du Musée canadien de l’histoire et portent sur des questions comme la situation des employés et le transfert des droits, des obligations et des attributions au nouveau Musée.

2.5 Modifications corrélatives

Afin de tenir compte du changement de la dénomination de la société, les articles 11 à 22 du projet de loi modifient les lois suivantes : Loi sur l’accès à l’information, Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques, Loi sur les paiements versés en remplacement d’impôts, Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique et Loi sur la rémunération du secteur public.

2.6 Entrée en vigueur

Puisqu’il n’y a aucune disposition particulière sur l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-7, la nouvelle loi entrera en vigueur à la date où elle recevra la sanction royale11.

3 Commentaire

La majorité des réactions aux mesures proposées dans le projet de loi remonte au mois d’octobre 2012, lorsque le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de changer le nom et la mission du Musée canadien des civilisations pour créer le Musée canadien de l’histoire. Certains ont critiqué le changement d’orientation du Musée, mais d’autres se sont réjouis de l’accent mis sur l’histoire du Canada, ainsi que du fait que le Musée projette d’établir des partenariats avec d’autres musées d’histoire au Canada.

Les détracteurs du changement ont insisté sur l’importance que le gouvernement accorde à l’histoire militaire et avancé l’hypothèse que cela pourrait devenir la nouvelle orientation du Musée12. De façon plus générale, certains se sont demandé si ce changement faisait partie d’une stratégie globale pour refaçonner l’identité nationale13. Plus particulièrement, James Turk, directeur général de l’Association canadienne des professeures et professeurs d’université, regrettait la disparition de la salle du Canada qui, à son avis, était la plus grande et la meilleure exposition d’histoire sociale au pays14. Quant à Dan Gardner, chroniqueur à l’Ottawa Citizen, il estimait qu’il n’y avait rien de mal à avoir un musée sur l’histoire du Canada, mais remettait en question l’idée de créer un tel musée en modifiant la mission du Musée actuel15. D’autres personnes se préoccupaient de la fermeture du Musée canadien de la poste16. Lorsqu’il a témoigné devant le Comité permanent du patrimoine canadien de la Chambre des communes le 5 juin 2013, Victor Rabinovitch, ancien président-directeur général du Musée canadien des civilisations, a déclaré que le nouveau mandat réduirait la portée des activités du Musée en mettant l’accent sur le passé plutôt que sur les enjeux contemporains, en diminuant le rôle de la recherche et en supprimant la dimension internationale pour « se limite[r] à ce qui peut être exposé ici au Canada17 ».

Par contre, l’historien Jack Granatstein s’est réjoui du changement, affirmant que le Musée des civilisations « ne se soucie pas de la chronologie. On ne peut aucunement suivre le cours de l’histoire. Il évite tout ce qui est un tant soit peu sujet à contro¬verse. Cette décision correspond exactement à ce qui, selon moi, devait se produire18 ». Pour sa part, l’historien Michael Bliss, membre du conseil du Musée, a rejeté l’idée d’ingérence du gouvernement : « Je m’attends à ce que la gestion hautement professionnelle et à distance du gouvernement se poursuive19. » D’après Diane Pacom, professeure de sociologie, les musées changent avec le temps : « Un musée n’est pas un objet coulé dans le ciment. Si on regarde l’histoire de ce musée en particulier, il a changé de contenu, il a changé d’image, il a changé de mission plusieurs fois20. » Selon Yvan Bergeron, professeur de muséologie, il faudra attendre de cinq à sept ans pour constater un changement d’orientation du Musée, car il faut du temps pour préparer des expositions21. Enfin, John McAvity, directeur général de l’Association des musées canadiens, a déclaré que le changement de nom évitera enfin de le confondre avec le Musée de la civilisation situé à Québec22. Dans son témoignage devant le Comité permanent du patrimoine canadien, M. McAvity n’était pas du même avis que ceux qui soutiennent que le projet de loi limite les activités du nouveau Musée, affirmant plutôt que les capacités et pouvoirs prévus dans le projet de loi sont adéquats et comprennent une disposition relative à un rôle international23.

En général, les éditoriaux publiés dans les journaux étaient favorables au nouveau Musée. Le Globe and Mail accueillait positivement l’idée d’un musée qui « met explicitement l’accent sur le fait de mieux faire connaître l’histoire du Canada24 ». Selon le Winnipeg Free Press, « la nouvelle orientation tient compte de la prise de conscience de plus en plus grande du pays et du fait avéré que la connaissance de l’histoire est la base d’une population informée25. » Pour l’Ottawa Citizen, « le gouvernement a raison de créer un musée de l’histoire canadienne », mais il aurait été préférable de l’aménager en plus du Musée canadien des civilisations et non pour remplacer ce dernier26.


Notes

*  Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.Retour au texte ]

  1. Société du Musée canadien des civilisations, Histoire du Musée canadien des civilisations. [ Retour au texte ]
  2. Loi sur les musées nationaux, L.C. 1968, ch. 21, par. 5(1). [ Retour au texte ]
  3. Loi sur les musées, L.C. 1990, ch. 3, art. 7. [ Retour au texte ]
  4. Ministère du Patrimoine canadien, Le gouvernement Harper crée le Musée canadien de l’histoire, communiqué, 16 octobre 2012. [ Retour au texte ]
  5. Société du Musée canadien des civilisations, Le nouveau Musée canadien de l’histoire, communiqué, 17 octobre 2012. [ Retour au texte ]
  6. Loi sur les musées, art. 3. [ Retour au texte ]
  7. Ibid., art. 8. [ Retour au texte ]
  8. Société du Musée canadien des civilisations, Résumé du plan d’entreprise de la Société du Musée canadien des civilisations, 2012-2013 à 2016-2017 pdf (1.03 Mo, 43 pages), p. 1. [ Retour au texte ]
  9. Loi sur les musées, art. 8. [ Retour au texte ]
  10. Projet de loi C-7 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur les musées afin de constituer le Musée canadien de l’histoire et apportant des modifications corrélatives à d’autres lois, 2e session, 41e législature (version de la première lecture, 25 octobre 2013), art. 2. [ Retour au texte ]
  11. Loi d’interprétation, L.R.C. 1985, ch. I-21, par. 5(2). [ Retour au texte ]
  12. Susan Delacourt, « Civilization ends, history begins at Canada’s biggest museum », Toronto Star, 16 octobre 2012. [ Retour au texte ]
  13. Sheila Pratt, « OpEd: Is Stephen Harper trying to reshape the national identity? », Edmonton Journal, 2 novembre 2012. [ Retour au texte ]
  14. Don Butler, « Museum of Civilization changes a mistake, university teachers association says », Ottawa Citizen, 18 octobre 2012. [ Retour au texte ]
  15. Dan Gardner, « Column: Let’s have a history museum, not a hall of fame », Ottawa Citizen, 18 octobre 2012. [ Retour au texte ]
  16. Don Butler, « Postal museum closed, collection broken up to make way for new history museum », Ottawa Citizen, 3 décembre 2012. [ Retour au texte ]
  17. Chambre des communes, Comité permanent du patrimoine canadien [CHPC], Témoignages, 1re session, 41e législature, 5 juin 2013, 1820 à 1825.[ Retour au texte ]
  18. Don Butler, « Small B.C. museum helped inspire Museum of Civilization remake », Ottawa Citizen, 16 octobre 2012 [TRADUCTION]. [ Retour au texte ]
  19. Ibid. [TRADUCTION]. [ Retour au texte ]
  20. Hélène Buzzetti, « Musée des civilisations du Canada – Finies les civilisations, place à l’histoire canadienne », Le Devoir [Montréal], 16 octobre 2012. [ Retour au texte ]
  21. Ibid. [ Retour au texte ]
  22. Daniel Leblanc, « Ottawa’s plan for museums met with skepticism, outrage », The Globe and Mail [Toronto], 16 octobre 2012. [ Retour au texte ]
  23. CHPC (2013), 1855.[ Retour au texte ]
  24. « The right emphasis », The Globe and Mail, 19 octobre 2012 [TRADUCTION]. [ Retour au texte ]
  25. « Canada’s history museum », éditorial, Winnipeg Free Press, 22 octobre 2012 [TRADUCTION]. [ Retour au texte ]
  26. « Editorial: Don’t mess with success », Ottawa Citizen, 17 octobre 2012. [ Retour au texte ]


© Bibliothèque du Parlement