Legislative Summary
Legislative Summary of Bill C-101: An Act to amend the Customs Tariff and the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act
Bashar Abu Taleb, Economics, Resources and International Affairs Division
Offah Obale, Economics, Resources and International Affairs Division
Publication No. 42-1-C101-E
PDF 466, (7 Pages) PDF
2019-07-10

Contents

Any substantive changes in this Legislative Summary that have been made since the preceding issue are indicated in bold print.


1 Background

Bill C-101, An Act to amend the Customs Tariff and the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, was introduced in the House of Commons on 5 June 2019 by the Minister of Finance; it also received first reading on that day.1 The bill was read a second time and referred to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance for study on 10 June 2019. It was reported to the House of Commons on 14 June 2019 and received third reading in the House of Commons on 19 June 2019.

On 18 June 2019, the Senate referred the subject matter of Bill C-101 to the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance for pre-study; a report on the subject matter was tabled in the Senate on 19 June 2019.2 The bill received first, second and third readings on 20 June 2019, and it was passed by the Senate on that day.

Bill C-101 received Royal Assent on 21 June 2019. No amendments were proposed to the bill at any stage of the legislative process.

Bill C-101 repeals sections 55(5) and 55(6) of the Customs Tariff for a period of two years; after this time, the sections will be re-enacted in the same form as prior to the date of the bill’s Royal Assent. The bill also makes consequential amendments to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act.

In Canada, when there is evidence that an increase in imports has caused or is threatening to cause injury to domestic producers, the Governor in Council may impose safeguard measures in one of two forms: an import surtax; or a restriction on the volume of goods imported into Canada. Pursuant to section 56(2) of the Customs Tariff, an import surtax can be imposed on a provisional basis for a period of up to 200 days, based on a report by the Minister of Finance. Under section 55(4) of the Customs Tariff, the Governor in Council must refer such an imposition to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) for an inquiry.3 In particular, the CITT is required to inquire into, and to report to the Governor in Council on, any matter relating to the importation of goods into Canada in increased quantities and under conditions that may constitute a “cause of serious injury or threat thereof to domestic producers of like or directly competitive goods.”4

This requirement for an inquiry is consistent with Canada’s obligations under the World Trade Organization’s Agreement on Safeguards. These obligations permit provisional safeguard measures to be imposed for up to 200 days “[i]n critical circumstances where delay would cause damage which it would be difficult to repair.”5 These provisional measures are applied pending the results of an investigation by a competent national authority,6 which, in the case of Canada, is the CITT.

Before it was amended, the Customs Tariff prevented the reimposition of safeguard measures on products that were subject to previous safeguards for a period of two years following their last imposition. The amendments in Bill C-101 temporarily remove the two-year moratorium on the imposition of safeguards for products that were recently subject to such measures.

These amendments follow a series of events that began on 10 October 2018, when the Government of Canada made an Order in Council that imposed the provisional safeguard measure of a surtax on the importation of seven categories of steel products: heavy plate; concrete reinforcing bars; energy tubulars; hot-rolled sheet; pre-painted steel; stainless steel wire; and wire rod.7 On the recommendation of the Minister of Finance, the Governor in Council asked the CITT to conduct an inquiry into whether safeguard measures are warranted in this case.

The CITT’s 3 April 2019 report to the Governor in Council concluded that safeguard measures are warranted on imports into Canada of two of the seven categories mentioned above: heavy plate and stainless steel wire.8 Accordingly, the Order in Council imposing the safeguard measures on the other five imported products expired on 28 April 2019, which was the 200th day of the imposition of safeguard measures.9 Under the pre-amendment Customs Tariff provisions, safeguards could not be imposed until April 2021 on those five products.

2 Description and Analysis

Bill C-101, which has three clauses, amends the Customs Tariff and the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act.

2.1 Customs Tariff (Clause 1)

Clause 1(1) repeals sections 55(5) and 55(6) of the Customs Tariff. Section 55(5) prohibits the Governor in Council from reimposing safeguard measures on goods imported into Canada that were previously subject to Canadian safeguard measures until a period equal to the duration of the original safeguard measures has elapsed, provided that this period is at least two years. Section 55(6) provides exceptions relating to this prohibition. In particular, if safeguard measures are imposed on goods imported into Canada under section 55(1) of the Customs Tariff for a duration of 180 days or less, new safeguard measures may be imposed on the same imported goods provided that the following two conditions are met:

  • at least one year has passed since the imposition of the original safeguard measures on those imported goods; and
  • not more than two safeguard measures were imposed on these goods during the five-year period that immediately precedes the implementation date of the new safeguard measures.

Clause 1(1) came into force on 21 June 2019, when the bill received Royal Assent. As a result, the Government of Canada has the ability to reimpose safeguard measures on goods imported into Canada that were previously subject to Canadian safeguard measures.

Clause 1(2) sets out the identical provisions repealed in clause 1(1). Under clause 3, these provisions will be re-enacted two years after the date on which Bill C-101 received Royal Assent.

2.2 Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act (Clause 2)

Clause 2(1) amends section 26(7) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act to remove references to the Customs Tariff. The section before amendment provided that, if section 55(5) of the Customs Tariff or section 5(3.1) of the Export and Import Permits Act prohibits the imposition of either an import surtax or a restriction on the volume of any goods imported into Canada during any period, the CITT may begin a safeguard inquiry regarding those goods “no earlier than 180 days before the end of the period.”

Clause 2(2) reinstates the section, with the references to the Customs Tariff.

These consequential amendments reflect the repeal of section 55(5) of the Customs Tariff for a two-year period, as noted above. Clause 2(1) came into force on 21 June 2019, when Bill C-101 received Royal Assent. As set out in clause 3, clause 2(2) will come into force two years after the date of Bill C-101’s Royal Assent.


Notes

*  Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.Return to text ]

  1. Bill C-101, An Act to amend the Customs Tariff and the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, 1st Session, 42nd Parliament. [ Return to text ]
  2. Senate, Standing Committee on National Finance, Forty-second Report, 1st Session, 42nd Parliament, 19 June 2019. [ Return to text ]
  3. Customs Tariff, S.C. 1997, c. 36, s. 55(4). [ Return to text ]
  4. Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. 47 (4th Supp.), s. 20(a). [ Return to text ]
  5. World Trade Organization, “Article 6: Provisional Safeguard Measures,” Agreement on Safeguards. [ Return to text ]
  6. Department of Finance Canada, “Backgrounder – Support for Canadian Steel Producers Through Provisional Safeguards on Certain Steel Imports.” [ Return to text ]
  7. Order Imposing a Surtax on the Importation of Certain Steel Goods, SOR/2018-206. [ Return to text ]
  8. Canadian International Trade Tribunal, Safeguard Inquiry into the Importation of Certain Steel Goods, Inquiry no. GC-2018-001, 3 April 2019. [ Return to text ]
  9. Greg Tereposky, Vincent DeRose and Daniel Hohnstein, “The Government of Canada introduces legislation to temporarily remove the two-year prohibition against imposing additional rounds of safeguard measures on the same steel products,” Tereposky and DeRose LLP, 3  June 2019. [ Return to text ]

© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Résumé législatif du projet de loi C-101 : Loi modifiant le Tarif des douanes et la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
Bashar Abu Taleb, Division de l'économie, des ressources et des affaires internationales
Offah Obale, Division de l'économie, des ressources et des affaires internationales
Publication no 42-1-C101-F
PDF 471, (8 Pages) PDF
2019-07-10

Table des matières

Dans ce résumé législatif, tout changement d’importance depuis la dernière publication est indiqué en caractères gras.


1 Contexte

Le projet de loi C-101, Loi modifiant le Tarif des douanes et la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, a été déposé à la Chambre des communes par le ministre des Finances le 5 juin 2019, date à laquelle il fait aussi l’objet d’une première lecture 1. Le projet de loi a fait l’objet d’une deuxième lecture et a été envoyé pour étude au Comité permanent des finances de la Chambre des communes le 10 juin 2019. Il a été renvoyé à la Chambre des communes le 14 juin 2019, et y a fait l’objet d’une troisième lecture le 19 juin 2019.

Le 18 juin 2019, le Sénat a soumis la teneur du projet de loi C-101 au Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales pour une étude préalable; un rapport a ensuite été déposé au Sénat le 19 juin 2019 2. Le projet de loi a fait l’objet d’une première, d’une deuxième et d’une troisième lecture le 20 juin 2019, et a été adopté par le Sénat cette même journée.

Le projet de loi C-101 a reçu la sanction royale le 21 juin 2019. Aucun amendement au projet de loi n’a été proposé, et ce, dans l’ensemble des étapes du processus législatif.

Le projet de loi C-101 abroge les paragraphes 55(5) et 55(6) du Tarif des douanes pendant deux ans, après quoi ces paragraphes entreront de nouveau en vigueur, dans la même forme qu’au moment où la sanction royale a été accordée. Par ailleurs, le projet de loi apporte des modifications corrélatives à la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.

Au Canada, lorsqu’il y a preuve qu’une importation accrue de marchandises cause ou menace de causer des conséquences néfastes à des producteurs nationaux, le gouverneur en conseil peut imposer des mesures de sauvegarde sous l’une ou l’autre des formes suivantes : une surtaxe sur l’importation ou une restriction du volume d’importation de marchandises au Canada. Conformément au paragraphe 56(2) du Tarif des douanes, une surtaxe sur l’importation peut être imposée de manière provisoire pour une période pouvant aller jusqu’à 200 jours, sur le fondement d’un rapport du ministre des Finances. Conformément au paragraphe 55(4) du Tarif des douanes, le gouverneur en conseil saisit le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) pour qu’il mène une enquête sur la question 3. Plus particulièrement, le TCCE doit enquêter sur tout sujet lié à l’importation de marchandises en quantité tellement accrue et dans des conditions telles que leur importation « constitue une cause principale de dommage grave porté aux producteurs nationaux de marchandises similaires ou directement concurrentes, ou de la menace d’un tel dommage », et doit soumettre un rapport au gouverneur en conseil à ce sujet 4.

Cette exigence cadre avec les obligations du Canada en vertu de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce. Ces obligations rendent possible l’imposition de mesures de sauvegarde provisoires d’une durée maximale de 200 jours « [d]ans des circonstances critiques où tout délai causerait un tort qu’il serait difficile de réparer 5  ». Ces mesures provisoires sont mises en application jusqu’aux conclusions de l’enquête menée par une autorité nationale compétente 6, en l’occurrence le TCCE au Canada.

Avant sa modification, le Tarif des douanes empêchait l’imposition de mesures de sauvegarde sur une marchandise qui avait déjà fait l’objet de telles mesures au cours des deux années précédentes. Les modifications prévues dans le projet de loi C-101 suppriment temporairement le moratoire de deux ans sur l’imposition de mesures de sauvegarde pour les marchandises qui ont récemment fait l’objet de telles mesures.

Ces modifications découlent d’une série d’événements survenus depuis le 10 octobre 2018, date à laquelle le gouvernement du Canada a pris un décret pour imposer les mesures de sauvegarde provisoires de surtaxe sur l’importation de sept catégories de produits de l’acier : tôles lourdes; barres d’armature pour béton; produits tubulaires pour le secteur de l’énergie; tôles minces laminées à chaud; acier prépeint; fil en acier inoxydable et fil machine 7. À la recommandation du ministre des Finances, la gouverneure en conseil a demandé au TCCE de mener une enquête pour déterminer si les mesures de sauvegarde étaient justifiées dans ce cas.

Dans son rapport du 3 avril 2019 à la gouverneure en conseil, le TCCE conclut que les mesures de sauvegarde sont justifiées sur les importations au Canada de deux des sept produits susmentionnés : les tôles lourdes et le fil en acier inoxydable 8. Par conséquent, les mesures de sauvegarde imposées par décret aux cinq autres produits ont pris fin le 28 avril 2019, soit le 200e jour d’imposition des mesures de sauvegarde 9. Selon les dispositions en vigueur avant les modifications au Tarif des douanes, des mesures de sauvegarde ne pouvaient pas être imposées de nouveau sur ces cinq produits avant avril 2021.

2 Description et analyse

Le projet de loi C-101, qui comporte trois articles, modifie le Tarif des douanes et la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.

2.1 Tarif des douanes (art. 1)

Le paragraphe 1(1) du projet de loi abroge les paragraphes 55(5) et 55(6) du Tarif des douanes. Le paragraphe 55(5) interdit au gouverneur en conseil de réimposer des mesures de sauvegarde sur des marchandises importées au Canada si elles ont déjà fait l’objet de telles mesures, et ce, pour période égale à la durée des mesures initiales, pour autant que cette période est d’au moins deux ans. Le paragraphe 55(6) énonce les exceptions à cette interdiction. En particulier, si des mesures de sauvegarde sont imposées concernant des marchandises importées au Canada en vertu du paragraphe 55(1) du Tarif des douanes pour une période de 180 jours ou moins, de nouvelles mesures de sauvegarde peuvent être imposées sur ces mêmes marchandises si les deux conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • il s’est écoulé au moins une année depuis l’imposition des mesures de sauvegarde initiales sur ces marchandises;
  • pas plus de deux mesures de sauvegarde ont été imposées sur ces marchandises au cours des cinq années précédant immédiatement l’entrée en vigueur des nouvelles mesures de sauvegarde.

Le paragraphe 1(1) du projet de loi est entré en vigueur le 21 juin 2019, au moment où le projet de loi a reçu la sanction royale. Ainsi, le gouvernement du Canada a le pouvoir de réimposer des mesures de sauvegarde sur les marchandises importées au Canada qui ont déjà fait l’objet de telles mesures.

Le paragraphe 1(2) du projet de loi énonce exactement les mêmes dispositions qui sont abrogées au paragraphe 1(1). Conformément à l’article 3, ces dispositions entreront de nouveau en vigueur deux ans après la date à laquelle le projet de loi C-101 a reçu la sanction royale.

2.2 Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (art. 2)

Le paragraphe 2(1) du projet de loi modifie le paragraphe 26(7) de la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur pour supprimer les références au Tarif des douanes. Le paragraphe original précise que, si le paragraphe 55(5) du Tarif des douanes ou le paragraphe 5(3.1) de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation empêche l’imposition d’une surtaxe ou d’une restriction de volume d’importation de marchandises au Canada pendant une période donnée, le TCCE peut mener une enquête de sauvegarde sur ces marchandises « au plus tôt dans les cent quatre-vingts jours précédant la fin de la période en question ».

Le paragraphe 2(2) du projet de loi rétablit le paragraphe ainsi que les références au Tarif des douanes.

Ces modifications corrélatives tiennent compte de l’abrogation du paragraphe 55(5) du Tarif des douanes pour une période de deux ans, comme il est mentionné plus haut. Le paragraphe 2(1) du projet de loi est entré en vigueur le 21 juin 2019, au moment où le projet de loi C-101 a reçu la sanction royale. Tel qu’il est stipulé à l’article 3, le paragraphe 2(2) entrera en vigueur au deuxième anniversaire de la sanction royale du projet de loi C-101.


Notes

*  Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.Retour au texte ]

  1. Projet de loi C-101, Loi modifiant le Tarif des douanes et la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, 1re session, 42e législature. [ Retour au texte ]
  2. Sénat, Comité permanent des finances nationales, Quarante-deuxième rapport, 1re session, 42e législature, 19 juin 2019. [ Retour au texte ]
  3. Tarif des douanes, L.C. 1997, ch. 36, par. 55(4). [ Retour au texte ]
  4. Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, L.R.C. 1985, ch. 47 (4e suppl.), al. 20a). [ Retour au texte ]
  5. Organisation mondiale du commerce, « Article 6 : Mesures de sauvegarde provisoires », Accord sur les Sauvegardes. [ Retour au texte ]
  6. Ministère des Finances Canada, Document d’information – Soutien aux producteurs d’acier canadiens au moyen de mesures de sauvegarde provisoires sur certaines importations d’acier. [ Retour au texte ]
  7. Décret imposant une surtaxe sur l’importation de certains produits de l’acier, DORS/2018-206. [ Retour au texte ]
  8. Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, Enquête de sauvegarde sur l’importation de certains produits de l’acier, enquête no GC-2018-001, 3 avril 2019. [ Retour au texte ]
  9. Greg Tereposky, Vincent DeRose et Daniel Hohnstein, The Government of Canada introduces legislation to temporarily remove the two-year prohibition against imposing additional rounds of safeguard measures on the same steel products, Tereposky and DeRose LLP, 3 juin 2019. [ Retour au texte ]

© Bibliothèque du Parlement