Legislative Summary
Legislative Summary of Bill C-57: An Act to amend the Federal Sustainable Development Act
Alexandre Lavoie, Economics, Resources and International Affairs Division
2017-07-24
Revised on: 2019-06-27
Publication No. 42-1-C57-E
PDF 506, (10 Pages) PDF

1  Background

Bill C-57, An Act to amend the Federal Sustainable Development Act,1 was introduced in the House of Commons on 19 June 2017 by the Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change. It amends the Federal Sustainable Development Act to broaden its scope, to make the process for developing the federal sustainable development strategy more transparent, and to increase accountability to Parliament.2 The bill also removes the requirement for performance-based contracts with the Government of Canada to include provisions for meeting the applicable targets contained in the federal sustainable development strategy and departmental sustainable development strategies.3

Bill C-57 was considered and amended in committee in both the House of Commons4 and the Senate.5 Among other changes, the Senate added consequential amendments to the Auditor General Act to ensure that act’s consistency with the bill’s amendments to the Federal Sustainable Development Act.6 Bill C-57 received Royal Assent on 28 February 2019.

1.1  Federal Sustainable Development Act

Under the Federal Sustainable Development Act,7 the Minister of the Environment8 must develop and implement a federal sustainable development strategy every three years.9 The Sustainable Development Advisory Council, the appropriate parliamentary committees and the public have 120 days in which to review and comment on the first draft of each strategy.10 The final version of the strategy is thereafter approved by the Governor in Council and tabled in each House of Parliament.11 The strategy is then deemed to be referred to the standing committee of each House that normally considers matters relating to the environment.12

At least once every three years following the day on which the Act came into force, the Sustainable Development Office within Environment and Climate Change Canada provides the Minister with a report on the federal government’s progress in implementing the strategy. This report is then tabled in each House of Parliament.13

The Act also requires federal departments and six federal agencies to prepare their own sustainable development strategies. Each strategy must include the organization’s objectives and plans, comply with and contribute to the federal sustainable development strategy, and be appropriate to the department’s or agency’s mandate.14 The Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development is responsible for monitoring and reporting on the progress of departments and agencies in implementing their strategies.15

Lastly, the Act requires the federal government to include provisions in all performance based contracts for meeting the applicable targets contained in the federal sustainable development strategy and departmental sustainable development strategies.16

The Act has been in effect since 26 June 2008. The third and most recent federal strategy, covering 2016 to 2019,17 was released on 6 October 2016 and updated in spring 2017.18

1.2  2016 Study of the Federal Sustainable Development Act by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development

In spring 2016, the House of Commons Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development conducted an assessment of the Federal Sustainable Development Act. In its report, the committee highlighted various weaknesses in the current process for developing and implementing the federal sustainable development strategy, and it prepared 13 recommendations to correct these weaknesses.19 In her response to the committee’s report, the Minister of Environment and Climate Change agreed, on behalf of the federal government, to propose changes to improve the Act’s effectiveness.20

2  Description and Analysis

2.1  Scope of the Federal Sustainable Development Act(Clauses 1(3) and 10, and the Schedule to the Bill)

The bill makes more federal entities subject to the Act. From now on, the Act will apply to all “designated entities” (defined as the entities named in the schedule to the Act), specifically:

  • any department;
  • any agency or agent of Parliament21 named in Schedule I.1 to the Financial Administration Act;22 and
  • any departmental corporation23 named in Schedule II to the Financial Administration Act.24

2.2  Purpose and Principles (Clauses 2 and 3)

The bill amends the purpose of the Act. First, the legal framework for developing and implementing a federal sustainable development strategy must now increase the transparency of federal decision-making in relation to sustainable development rather than to the environment. Second, the sustainable development strategy must now promote “coordinated action across the Government of Canada to advance sustainable development” and respect “Canada’s domestic and international obligations relating to sustainable development, with a view to improving the quality of life of Canadians” (clause 2).

The bill lists a number of principles that must be considered in the development of sustainable development strategies. In addition to the principle that decisions are to integrate environmental, economic and social factors, the bill adds the following principles:

  • evolution of the concept of sustainable development;
  • intergenerational equity;
  • openness and transparency;
  • the involvement of Aboriginal peoples;
  • collaboration; and
  • a results-based approach.

2.3  Minister’s Report (Clause 4)

The bill changes the process for preparing and reviewing the three-year report by the Minister of the Environment on the Government of Canada’s progress in implementing the federal sustainable development strategy. According to the new provisions:

  • designated federal entities are to contribute to the development of the report (new section 7(3));
  • the report is to be produced at least once every three years as of 10 November 2017, and no longer as of the day on which the Act came into force (amended section 7(2)); and
  • the report is deemed to be referred to the standing committee of each House of Parliament that normally considers matters relating to sustainable development (new section 7(5)).

2.4  Sustainable Development Advisory Council (Clause 5)

The bill sets out the role of the Sustainable Development Advisory Council, which is “to advise the Minister on any matter related to sustainable development, including matters referred to it by the Minister”25 (new section 8(2.1)).

The bill also changes the Council’s membership by increasing the number of Aboriginal representatives from three to six (amended section 8(1)), and adds a provision calling on the Minister to ensure that, to the extent possible, the Council’s membership reflects the diversity of Canadian society (new section 8(1.1)).

Lastly, a new provision now allows Council members to be paid the expenses incurred by them in connection with the business of the Council, subject to applicable Treasury Board directives (amended section 8(3)).

2.5  Developing the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (Clauses 6 and 7)

According to the bill, designated federal entities must now contribute to the development of the federal sustainable development strategy (new section 9(1.1)). The strategy must also contain goals and measurable targets, as well as a time frame, which will be reviewed by the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development (amended sections 9(2) and 9(4)).

2.6  Sustainable Development Strategies of Designated Federal Entities (Clause 8)

The bill amends the way in which designated federal entities develop their own sustainable development strategies and report on their progress. Under the new provisions, the Treasury Board may establish policies and directives regarding the impact on sustainable development of the operations of designated entities (new section 10.1). When developing their own sustainable development strategies, these entities must take into account the Treasury Board’s directives, and comments on the draft federal strategy by the Sustainable Development Advisory Council, by the committee of each House of Parliament that normally considers matters relating to sustainable development, and by the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development (new sections 11(1)(a)(iv), 11(1)(a)(v), 12(1)(a)(iv) and 12(1)(a)(v)).

At least once in each of the two years following the tabling of their sustainable development strategy in Parliament, the designated entities must produce a report on their progress in implementing the strategy, which will then be tabled in each House of Parliament (amended section 11(3) and new section 12(2)).

A sustainable development strategy or report of a designated entity that is tabled in a House of Parliament will now be deemed to be referred to the committee of that House that normally considers matters relating to sustainable development (new section 12.1).

Lastly, the bill authorizes the Governor in Council to make regulations prescribing the form and content of the sustainable development strategies of designated entities. The Governor in Council may also, by order, add or remove entities from the list of designated entities subject to the Act (new sections 12.2 and 12.3).

2.7  Provision Regarding Performance-Based Contracts (Clause 8)

The bill repeals the provision of the Act requiring performance-based contracts with the Government of Canada to include provisions for meeting applicable targets contained in the federal sustainable development strategy and departmental sustainable development strategies.26

2.8  Ongoing Review of the Act (Clause 9)

The bill adds a new provision requiring a review of the Act by a parliamentary committee – the committee of the House of Commons that normally considers matters relating to sustainable development, the corresponding committee of the Senate or a joint committee – every five years following the coming into force of the bill. The committee will have one year to report back to Parliament (new section 13.1).

2.9  Consequential Amendments to the Auditor General Act (Clauses 10.1 to 10.4)

The Auditor General Act contains provisions that enable

  • the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development to make the examinations and inquiries necessary in order to monitor the extent to which federal departments have contributed to meeting the targets set out in the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy; and
  • the Auditor General to receive a petition from a resident of Canada about an environmental matter in the context of sustainable development that is the responsibility of a department.

The bill amends the Auditor General Act to reflect the amendments to the Federal Sustainable Development Act, including the one making more federal entities subject to it (amended sections 2, 21.1, 22(1) and 23 of the Auditor General Act).

2.10  Transitional Provisions and Coming into Force (Clauses 11 to 13)

Federal entities newly designated under the bill will not be required to contribute to developing the first federal sustainable development strategy produced after the bill comes into force. In addition, they will not be required to develop their own sustainable development strategy or table a progress report on its implementation until after the publication of the first federal sustainable development strategy adopted after the bill comes into force (clauses 11 and 12).

The bill will come into force on a day to be fixed by order of the Governor in Council (clause 13).


Notes

*  Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.Return to text ]

  1. Bill C-57, An Act to amend the Federal Sustainable Development Act, 1st Session, 42nd Parliament (S.C. 2019, c. 2). [ Return to text ]
  2. Ibid., “Summary.” [ Return to text ]
  3. Ibid., cl. 8. [ Return to text ]
  4. For a list of the amendments made by the House of Commons, see House of Commons, Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development [ENVI], Bill C-57, An Act to amend the Federal Sustainable Development Act, Eleventh Report, 1st Session, 42nd Parliament, 12 December 2017. [ Return to text ]
  5. For a list of the amendments made by the Senate, see Senate, Standing Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources [ENEV], Seventeenth Report, 1st Session, 42nd Parliament, 26 November 2018. Only amendments 1 and 3 were accepted by the House of Commons, and the Senate did not insist on amendment 2. [ Return to text ]
  6. Auditor General Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-17. [ Return to text ]
  7. Federal Sustainable Development Act, S.C. 2008, c. 33. [ Return to text ]
  8. Like the Federal Sustainable Development Act, Bill C-57 refers to the “Minister of the Environment” rather than the “Minister of Environment and Climate Change.” [ Return to text ]
  9. Federal Sustainable Development Act, s. 9(1). [ Return to text ]
  10. Ibid., s. 9(3). [ Return to text ]
  11. Ibid., s. 10. [ Return to text ]
  12. Ibid. [ Return to text ]
  13. Ibid., s. 7(2). [ Return to text ]
  14. Ibid., s. 11. [ Return to text ]
  15. Auditor General Act, s. 21.1. [ Return to text ]
  16. Federal Sustainable Development Act, s. 12. [ Return to text ]
  17. Government of Canada, Achieving a Sustainable Future: A Federal Sustainable Development Strategy for Canada. [ Return to text ]
  18. Government of Canada, Achieving a Sustainable Future: A Federal Sustainable Development Strategy for Canada 2016–2019 – Spring 2017 Update. [ Return to text pdf (380 KB, 22 pages) ]
  19. ENVI, Federal Sustainability for Future Generations – A Report Following an Assessment of the Federal Sustainable Development Act, Second Report, 1st Session, 42nd Parliament, June 2016. [ Return to text ]
  20. Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Government response to the second report of the House of Commons Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development entitled Federal Sustainability for Future Generations – A Report Following an Assessment of the Federal Sustainable Development Act, tabled 17 June 2016, 6 October 2016. [ Return to text ]
  21. Government of Canada, Overview of federal organizations and interests. [ Return to text ]
  22. Financial Administration Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. F-11, Schedule I.1. [ Return to text ]
  23. Government of Canada, Overview of federal organizations and interests. [ Return to text ]
  24. Financial Administration Act, Schedule II. [ Return to text ]
  25. Ibid., cl. 5(3). [ Return to text ]
  26. The Senate proposed an amendment to the bill that would have restored the provision on performance-based contracts. See ENEV, Seventeenth Report. This amendment was rejected by the House of Commons, and the Senate did not insist on it. [ Return to text ]

 


© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Résumé législatif du projet de loi C-57 : Loi modifiant la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable
Alexandre Lavoie, Division de l'économie, des ressources et des affaires internationales
2017-07-24
Révisé le : 2019-06-27
Publication no 42-1-C57-F
PDF 510, (11 Pages) PDF

1 Contexte

Le projet de loi C-57, Loi modifiant la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable 1, a été déposé à la Chambre des communes le 19 juin 2017 par la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique, l’honorable Catherine McKenna. Il modifie la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable de manière à en élargir l’application, à rendre le processus d’élaboration de la stratégie fédérale de développement durable plus transparent et à renforcer l’obligation de rendre compte devant le Parlement 2. Par ailleurs, le projet de loi fait disparaître l’obligation d’intégrer aux contrats fondés sur le rendement conclus avec le gouvernement du Canada des clauses visant l’atteinte des cibles applicables de la stratégie fédérale de développement durable et des stratégies ministérielles de développement durable 3.

Le projet de loi C-57 a été examiné en comité par les deux Chambres et des amendements ont été apportés par la Chambre des communes 4 et par le Sénat 5. Ce dernier a notamment ajouté des modifications corrélatives à la Loi sur le vérificateur général 6 pour assurer la cohérence de cette loi avec les modifications apportées à la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable par le projet de loi. Le projet de loi C-57 a reçu la sanction royale le 28 février 2019.

1.1  La Loi fédérale sur le développement durable

La Loi fédérale sur le développement durable 7 oblige d’abord le ministre de l’Environnement 8 à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre une stratégie fédérale de développement durable triennale 9. À chaque nouvelle mouture de la stratégie, le Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable, les comités parlementaires concernés et le grand public disposent de 120 jours pour faire l’examen d’une version préliminaire de la stratégie et présenter leurs observations 10. La version définitive de la stratégie est ensuite approuvée par le gouverneur en conseil et déposée devant chaque Chambre du Parlement 11. Le comité permanent de chaque Chambre qui étudie habituellement les questions environnementales en est saisi d’office 12.

Au moins une fois tous les trois ans suivant l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi, le Bureau du développement durable constitué au sein d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada remet au ministre un rapport sur le progrès réalisé par le gouvernement du Canada dans la mise en œuvre de la stratégie. Ce rapport est ensuite déposé devant chaque Chambre du Parlement 13.

La Loi oblige ensuite les ministères et six agences du gouvernement fédéral à élaborer leur propre stratégie de développement durable. Dans ce contexte, chaque stratégie doit : comprendre les objectifs et les plans d’action de l’organisation; être conforme à la stratégie fédérale de développement durable et contribuer à la réalisation des objectifs de celle ci; tenir compte du mandat du ministère ou de l’agence 14. Le commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable est chargé d’assurer le contrôle des progrès accomplis par ces ministères et agences dans la mise en œuvre de leur stratégie 15.

Finalement, la Loi oblige le gouvernement fédéral à intégrer aux contrats fondés sur le rendement conclus avec lui des clauses visant l’atteinte des cibles applicables de la stratégie fédérale de développement durable et des stratégies ministérielles de développement durable 16.

La Loi est en vigueur depuis le 26 juin 2008. La troisième et plus récente stratégie fédérale, qui couvre la période 2016-2019 17, a été publiée le 6 octobre 2016 et mise à jour au printemps 2017 18.

1.2  L’étude de 2016 de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable par le Comité permanent de l’environnement et du développement durable de la Chambre des communes

Le Comité permanent de l’environnement et du développement durable de la Chambre des communes a effectué une évaluation de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable au printemps 2016. Son étude ayant mis en lumière certaines faiblesses du processus actuel d’élaboration et de mise en œuvre de la stratégie fédérale de développement durable, il a formulé dans son rapport 13 recommandations visant à y remédier 19. Dans sa réponse au rapport du Comité, la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique s’est engagée, au nom du gouvernement fédéral, à proposer des changements visant à améliorer l’efficacité de la Loi 20.

2  Description et analyse

2.1  Champ d’application de la Loi (par. 1(3), art. 10 et annexe du projet de loi)

Le projet de loi assujettit à la Loi un plus grand nombre d’entités fédérales. Ainsi, la Loi vise désormais toutes les « entités désignées » (par définition, les entités mentionnées à l’annexe de la Loi), à savoir :

  • tous les ministères;
  • tous les organismes et agents du Parlement 21 énumérés à l’annexe I.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 22;
  • tous les établissements publics 23 figurant à l’annexe II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 24.

2.2  Objet et principes (art. 2 et 3 du projet de loi)

Le projet de loi modifie l’objet de la Loi. Premièrement, le cadre juridique pour l’élaboration de la stratégie fédérale de développement durable doit accroître la transparence du processus décisionnel du gouvernement en matière de développement durable et non plus en matière d’environnement. Deuxièmement, la stratégie de développement durable devra dorénavant favoriser « la coordination des moyens d’action dans l’ensemble du gouvernement du Canada afin de faire progresser le développement durable » et respecter « les obligations du Canada à l’échelle nationale et internationale dans ce domaine de façon à améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens » (art. 2 du projet de loi).

Le projet de loi énumère un certain nombre de principes qui doivent être pris en considération lors de l’élaboration d’une stratégie de développement durable. Ainsi, au principe voulant que les décisions soient prises en tenant compte des facteurs environnementaux, économiques et sociaux, on ajoute les principes suivants :

  • celui de l’évolution du concept de développement durable;
  • celui de l’équité intergénérationnelle;
  • celui de l’ouverture et de la transparence;
  • celui de la contribution des peuples autochtones;
  • celui de la collaboration;
  • celui de l’approche axée sur les résultats.

2.3  Rapport du ministre (art. 4 du projet de loi)

Le projet de loi modifie la manière dont est préparé et examiné le rapport triennal du ministre de l’Environnement sur le progrès réalisé par le gouvernement du Canada dans la mise en œuvre de la stratégie fédérale de développement durable. Ainsi, les nouvelles dispositions portent que :

  • les entités fédérales désignées doivent contribuer à l’élaboration du rapport (nouveau par. 7(3) de la Loi);
  • le rapport est produit au moins une fois tous les trois ans à compter du 10 novembre 2017 et non plus à compter de l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi (par. 7(2) modifié de la Loi);
  • le comité permanent de chaque Chambre du Parlement qui étudie habituellement les questions touchant au développement durable est saisi d’office du rapport (nouveau par. 7(5) de la Loi).

2.4  Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable (art. 5 du projet de loi)

Le projet de loi spécifie le rôle du Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable qui est de « conseille[r] le ministre sur toute question touchant le développement durable, notamment les questions que ce dernier lui soumet 25 » (nouveau par. 8(2.1) de la Loi).

Par ailleurs, il modifie la composition du Conseil pour faire passer le nombre de représentants des peuples autochtones de trois à six (par. 8(1) modifié de la Loi) et il ajoute à la Loi une disposition enjoignant au ministre de faire en sorte que, dans la mesure du possible, la composition du Conseil reflète la diversité de la société canadienne (nouveau par. 8(1.1) de la Loi).

Enfin, une nouvelle disposition autorise les membres du Conseil à se faire rembourser les dépenses qu’ils engagent en lien avec les activités de celui-ci, conformément aux directives émises par le Conseil du Trésor (par. 8(3) modifié de la Loi).

2.5  Élaboration de la stratégie fédérale de développement durable (art. 6 et 7 du projet de loi)

Aux termes du projet de loi, les entités fédérales désignées doivent dorénavant contribuer à l’élaboration de la stratégie fédérale de développement durable (nouveau par. 9(1.1) de la Loi). En outre, la stratégie devra contenir des objectifs et des cibles mesurables et un échéancier prévisionnel qui seront examinés par le commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable (par. 9(2) et 9(4) modifiés de la Loi).

2.6  Stratégies de développement durable des entités fédérales désignées (art. 8 du projet de loi)

Le projet de loi modifie la manière dont les entités fédérales désignées élaborent leur propre stratégie de développement durable et en font rapport. Ainsi, aux termes des nouvelles dispositions, le Conseil du Trésor peut élaborer des orientations et des directives quant à l’impact sur le développement durable des activités des entités désignées (nouvel art. 10.1 de la Loi). Ces dernières doivent, lors de l’élaboration de leur propre stratégie de développement durable, tenir compte des directives du Conseil du Trésor, ainsi que des observations du Conseil consultatif sur le développement durable, du comité de chaque Chambre du Parlement qui étudie habituellement les questions touchant au développement durable et du commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable concernant la version préliminaire de la stratégie fédérale (nouveaux sous al. 11(1)a)(iv), 11(1)a)(v), 12(1)a)(iv) et 12(1)a)(v) de la Loi).

Au moins une fois au cours de chacune des deux années qui suivent le dépôt au Parlement de leur stratégie de développement durable, les entités désignées doivent produire un rapport sur le progrès qu’elles ont réalisé dans sa mise en œuvre, rapport qui est ensuite déposé devant chaque Chambre du Parlement (par. 11(3) modifié et nouveau par. 12(2) de la Loi).

Le comité de chacune des Chambres du Parlement qui étudie habituellement les questions touchant au développement durable est désormais saisi d’office de toute stratégie de développement durable et de tout rapport déposé au Parlement par une entité désignée (nouvel art. 12.1 de la Loi).

Enfin, le projet de loi permet au gouverneur en conseil de prévoir, par règlement, la forme et le contenu des stratégies de développement durable des entités désignées, ainsi que d’ajouter ou de soustraire, par décret, des entités à la liste des entités désignées qui sont assujetties à la Loi (nouveaux art. 12.2 et 12.3 de la Loi).

2.7  Clauses visant l’atteinte des cibles (art. 8 du projet de loi)

Le projet de loi abroge la disposition de la Loi qui impose l’obligation d’intégrer aux contrats fondés sur le rendement conclus avec le gouvernement du Canada des clauses visant l’atteinte des cibles applicables de la stratégie fédérale de développement durable et des stratégies ministérielles de développement durable 26.

2.8  Examen permanent de la Loi (art. 9 du projet de loi)

Le projet de loi ajoute à la Loi une nouvelle disposition prévoyant l’examen de celle ci par un comité parlementaire – le comité de la Chambre des communes qui étudie habituellement les questions touchant au développement durable, le comité correspondant du Sénat ou un comité mixte – tous les cinq ans après l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi. Le comité en question aura un an pour faire rapport de son examen au Parlement (nouvel art. 13.1 de la Loi).

2.9  Modifications corrélatives à la Loi sur le vérificateur général (art. 10.1 à 10.4 du projet de loi)

La Loi sur le vérificateur général contient des dispositions qui permettent, notamment :

  • au commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable de faire les examens et enquêtes nécessaires pour contrôler la mesure dans laquelle les ministères fédéraux ont contribué à l’atteinte des cibles prévues dans la stratégie fédérale de développement durable;
  • au vérificateur général de recevoir de résidents canadiens des pétitions portant sur une question environnementale relative au développement durable et relevant de la compétence d’un ministère.

Le projet de loi modifie la Loi sur le vérificateur général de manière à y refléter les modifications apportées à la Loi sur le développement durable, notamment l’assujettissement d’un plus grand nombre d’entités fédérales à cette dernière (art. 2, art. 21.1, par. 22(1) et art. 23 modifiés de la Loi sur le vérificateur général).

2.10  Dispositions transitoires et entrée en vigueur (art. 11 à 13 du projet de loi)

Les entités fédérales nouvellement désignées par le projet de loi ne seront pas tenues de contribuer à l’élaboration du premier rapport sur la stratégie fédérale de développement durable produit après l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi. Quant à leur obligation de préparer leur propre stratégie de développement durable et de faire rapport sur le progrès réalisé dans sa mise en œuvre, elles n’y seront assujetties qu’après la publication de la première stratégie fédérale de développement durable adoptée postérieurement à l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi (art. 11 et 12 du projet de loi).

Le projet de loi entre en vigueur à la date fixée par décret (art. 13 du projet de loi).


Notes

*  Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.Retour au texte ]

  1. Projet de loi C-57, Loi modifiant la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, 1re session, 42e législature (L.C. 2019, ch. 2). [ Retour au texte ]
  2. Ibid., « Sommaire ». [ Retour au texte ]
  3. Ibid., art. 8. [ Retour au texte ]
  4. Pour la liste des modifications adoptées par la Chambre des Communes, voir Chambre des communes, Comité permanent de l’environnement et du développement durable (ENVI), Projet de loi C-57, Loi modifiant la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, onzième rapport, 1re session, 42e législature, 13 décembre 2017. [ Retour au texte ]
  5. Pour la liste des modifications adoptées par le Sénat, voir Sénat, Comité permanent de l’énergie, de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles (ENEV), Dix-septième rapport, 1re session, 42e législature, 26 novembre 2018. Seules les modifications 1 et 3 ont été acceptées par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat n’a pas insisté pour que la modification 2 soit adoptée. [ Retour au texte ]
  6. Loi sur le vérificateur général, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-17. [ Retour au texte ]
  7. Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, L.C. 2008, ch. 33. [ Retour au texte ]
  8. Dans le projet de loi C-57, tout comme dans la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, on emploie le terme ministre de l’Environnement (et non ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique). [ Retour au texte ]
  9. Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, par. 9(1). [ Retour au texte ]
  10. Ibid., par. 9(3). [ Retour au texte ]
  11. Ibid., art. 10. [ Retour au texte ]
  12. Ibid. [ Retour au texte ]
  13. Ibid., par. 7(2). [ Retour au texte ]
  14. Ibid., art. 11. [ Retour au texte ]
  15. Loi sur le vérificateur général, art. 21.1. [ Retour au texte ]
  16. Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, art. 12. [ Retour au texte ]
  17. Gouvernement du Canada, Réaliser un avenir durable : Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada. [ Retour au texte ]
  18. Gouvernement du Canada, Réaliser un avenir durable : Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2016-2019 – Mise à jour du printemps 2017. [ Retour au texte pdf (400 Ko, 23 pages) ]
  19. ENVI, La durabilité fédérale pour les générations futures – Rapport à la suite de l’évaluation de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, deuxième rapport, 1re session, 42e législature, juin 2016. [ Retour au texte ]
  20. Catherine McKenna, ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique, Réponse du gouvernement au deuxième rapport du Comité permanent de l’environnement et du développement durable de la Chambre des communes intitulé La durabilité fédérale pour les générations futures – Rapport à la suite de l’évaluation de la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable, déposé le 17 juin 2016, 6 octobre 2016. [ Retour au texte ]
  21. Gouvernement du Canada, Aperçu des organisations et intérêts fédéraux. [ Retour au texte ]
  22. Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, L.R.C. 1985, ch. F-11, annexe I.1. [ Retour au texte ]
  23. Gouvernement du Canada, Aperçu des organisations et intérêts fédéraux. [ Retour au texte ]
  24. Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, annexe II. [ Retour au texte ]
  25. Ibid., par. 5(3). [ Retour au texte ]
  26. Le Sénat a proposé un amendement au projet de loi qui aurait réintégré la disposition sur les contrats fondés sur le rendement (voir ENEV, Dix-septième rapport, 1re session, 42e législature, 26 novembre 2018). Cet amendement a été rejeté par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat n’a pas insisté sur l’adoption de celui-ci. [ Retour au texte ]

© Bibliothèque du Parlement