Legislative Summary
Legislative Summary of Bill C-6: An Act to amend the Citizenship Act (Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's call to action number 94)
Eleni Kachulis, Legal and Social Affairs Division
Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Legal and Social Affairs Division
Publication No. 43-1-C6-E
PDF 1865, (7 Pages) PDF
2020-02-19

Contents

Any substantive changes in this Legislative Summary that have been made since the preceding issue are indicated in bold print.


1  Background

Bill C-6, An Act to amend the Citizenship Act (Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's call to action number 94),1 was introduced in the House of Commons on 18 February 2020 by the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship. This bill aims to modify the Oath or Affirmation of Citizenship, a change requiring an amendment to the Citizenship Act.2 The current Oath of Citizenship has not been modified in over 40 years.

The Oath of Citizenship is currently presented as follows in the schedule to the Citizenship Act:

I swear (or affirm) that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, Queen of Canada, Her Heirs and Successors, and that I will faithfully observe the laws of Canada and fulfil my duties as a Canadian citizen.

The Oath of Citizenship is a solemn declaration through which applicants swear or affirm their allegiance to the Queen of Canada. It constitutes the final legal requirement to becoming a Canadian citizen.3

Bill C-6 is almost identical to Bill C-99, An Act to amend the Citizenship Act, which was introduced on 28 May 2019 in the 42nd Parliament and which died on the Order Paper when Parliament was dissolved on 11 September 2019.4 The only differences between the two are their respective titles and the addition of a preamble to Bill C-6.

1.1  Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada

In 2015, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC) presented its six-volume final report and 94 calls to action. The TRC spent six years hearing more than 6,500 witnesses across Canada to shed light on the legacy of residential schools and to pave the way to reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples. The federal government committed to implementing the calls to action in the areas that fell within its jurisdiction.

In one of two calls to action pertaining to citizenship,5 the TRC called upon the federal government to replace the Oath of Citizenship with the following:

I swear (or affirm) that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queen of Canada, Her Heirs and Successors, and that I will faithfully observe the laws of Canada including Treaties with Indigenous Peoples, and fulfill my duties as a Canadian citizen.6

Changing the Oath of Citizenship to account for the above call to action was described as a top priority for the Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship in the Prime Minister's 2019 mandate letter.7

1.2  Public Consultations and Reactions

The development of the bill was guided by consultations with immigrants and Indigenous partners. In 2017, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) held focus groups with both recent and established immigrants regarding the citizenship oath text proposed in the TRC's calls to action. The overall reaction from the focus groups was positive, but some participants emphasized that the amended oath would need to be accompanied by sufficient education for newcomers about Indigenous peoples and treaties. Others questioned the amendment, concerned that it might create a precedent for other groups wishing to be included in the oath.8

In partnership with Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada, IRCC also conducted consultations with the Assembly of First Nations, the Métis National Council and Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami.9

Some concerns were raised in the media about the version of the oath proposed in the calls to action. These included questions about the ability of an individual citizen to “faithfully observe … Treaties with Indigenous Peoples,” and criticism that the thousands of Indigenous people belonging to nations that did not sign treaties were not reflected in the oath.10

2  Description and Analysis

2.1  Preamble

The preamble of Bill C-6 recognizes that the Aboriginal and treaty rights of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples are constitutionally protected. It also acknowledges the federal government's commitment to responding to the TRC's call to action number 94.

2.2  Citizenship Act (Clause 1)

Clause 1 replaces the Oath of Citizenship currently provided in the schedule to the Citizenship Act with the following text found in the schedule set out in the bill:

I swear (or affirm) that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, Queen of Canada, Her Heirs and Successors, and that I will faithfully observe the laws of Canada, including the Constitution, which recognizes and affirms the Aboriginal and treaty rights of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples, and fulfil my duties as a Canadian citizen.

The wording proposed in the bill differs from that recommended by the TRC, insofar as it refers not to “Treaties with Indigenous Peoples” but to “the Aboriginal and treaty rights of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples” as recognized and affirmed in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.11

Aboriginal rights are constitutionally protected collective rights held by Indigenous peoples by virtue of their historic occupation and use of the land as distinctive societies with their own practices, customs and traditions. They may include Aboriginal title to the land, self-governing rights, land and resources rights, and social and cultural rights, among other rights. For their part, treaty rights are defined in the historic and modern treaties negotiated between the Crown and specific Indigenous groups.

2.3  Coming into Force (Clause 2)

Clause 2 establishes that the modified oath comes into force on the day after the bill receives Royal Assent.


Notes

*  Notice: For clarity of exposition, the legislative proposals set out in the bill described in this Legislative Summary are stated as if they had already been adopted or were in force. It is important to note, however, that bills may be amended during their consideration by the House of Commons and Senate, and have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both houses of Parliament, receive Royal Assent, and come into force.Return to text ]

  1. Bill C-6, An Act to amend the Citizenship Act (Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's call to action number 94), 1st Session, 43rd Parliament. [ Return to text ]
  2. Citizenship Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-29, Schedule. [ Return to text ]
  3. Government of Canada, Oath of Citizenship. [ Return to text ]
  4. Bill C-99, An Act to amend the Citizenship Act, 1st Session, 42nd Parliament. [ Return to text ]
  5. The Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC) also recommended that the federal government amend the information kit for newcomers and the citizenship test “to reflect a more inclusive history of the diverse Aboriginal peoples of Canada.” Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) is amending the citizenship guide, and changes will inform amendments to the information kit and citizenship test. See TRC, Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: Calls to Action pdf (299 KB, 20 pages), 2015, para. 93, pp. 10–11; and Government of Canada, Newcomers to Canada. [ Return to text ]
  6. TRC (2015), para. 94, p. 11. [ Return to text ]
  7. Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Mandate Letter, 13 December 2019. [ Return to text ]
  8. The results of IRCC's consultation activities on the citizenship oath were included in a September 2017 report (not publicly available). See Stephanie Levitz, The Canadian Press, “Proposed citizenship oath change prompts some to call for more education about Indigenous people,” CBC News, 28 September 2017; IRCC, Departmental Results Report 2016–2017 pdf (1.68 MB, 79 pages), 2017, p. 31; and IRCC, Departmental Results Report 2017–2018 pdf (2.01 MB, 80 pages), 2018, p. 35. [ Return to text ]
  9. Government of Canada, Newcomers to Canada. [ Return to text ]
  10. Tristin Hopper, “One problem with the new citizenship oath: Citizens can't really violate an Indigenous treaty,” National Post, 6 October 2017. [ Return to text ]
  11. Rights of the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada,” Part II of the Constitution Act, 1982, being Schedule B to the Canada Act 1982 (U.K.), 1982, c. 11, s. 35. [ Return to text ]

© Library of Parliament

Résumé Législatif
Résumé législatif du projet de loi C-6 : Loi modifiant la Loi sur la citoyenneté (appel à l'action numéro 94 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada)
Eleni Kachulis, Division des affaires juridiques et sociales
Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Division des affaires juridiques et sociales
Publication no 43-1-C6-F
PDF 1880, (7 Pages) PDF
2020-02-19

Table des matières

Dans ce résumé législatif, tout changement d’importance depuis la dernière publication est indiqué en caractères gras.


1  Contexte

Le 18 février 2020, le ministre de l'Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté a présenté à la Chambre des communes le projet de loi C-6, Loi modifiant la Loi sur la citoyenneté (appel à l'action numéro 94 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada) 1. Ce projet de loi vise à modifier le serment de citoyenneté et l'affirmation solennelle, ce qui exige de modifier la Loi sur la citoyenneté 2. Aucune modification n'a été apportée au serment de citoyenneté depuis plus de 40 ans.

Le serment de citoyenneté figure actuellement à l'annexe de la Loi sur la citoyenneté :

Je jure fidélité et sincère allégeance à Sa Majesté la Reine Elizabeth Deux, Reine du Canada, à ses héritiers et successeurs et je jure d'observer fidèlement les lois du Canada et de remplir loyalement mes obligations de citoyen canadien.

Le serment de citoyenneté est une déclaration solennelle par laquelle le demandeur jure allégeance ou affirme qu'il portera allégeance à la Reine du Canada. Il s'agit de l'exigence juridique ultime à satisfaire pour devenir citoyen canadien 3.

Le projet de loi C-6 est presque identique au projet de loi C-99, Loi modifiant la Loi sur la citoyenneté, qui avait été présenté le 28 mai 2019 pendant la 42e législature et qui est mort au Feuilleton lors de la dissolution du Parlement le 11 septembre 2019 4. Les seules différences entre les deux sont leur titre respectif ainsi que l'ajout d'un préambule dans le projet de loi C-6.

1.1  Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada

En 2015, la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada (CVR) a présenté son rapport final en six volumes ainsi que 94 appels à l'action. Pendant six ans, la CVR a entendu plus de 6 500 témoins des quatre coins du Canada afin de faire la lumière sur les séquelles laissées par les pensionnats indiens et de faire avancer le processus de réconciliation entre les peuples autochtones et la population non autochtone. Le gouvernement fédéral s'est engagé à mettre en œuvre les appels à l'action qui relèvent de sa compétence.

Dans l'un des deux appels à l'action qui concernent la citoyenneté 5, la CVR demande au gouvernement fédéral de remplacer le libellé du serment de citoyenneté par celui-ci :

Je jure (ou affirme solennellement) que je serai fidèle et porterai sincère allégeance à Sa Majesté la Reine Elizabeth Deux, Reine du Canada, à ses héritiers et successeurs, que j'observerai fidèlement les lois du Canada, y compris les traités conclus avec les peuples autochtones, et que je remplirai loyalement mes obligations de citoyen canadien 6.

Comme il est précisé dans la lettre de mandat qu'il a reçue en 2019 du premier ministre, le ministre de l'Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté a pour grande priorité d'apporter des changements au serment de citoyenneté dans le but de concrétiser l'appel à l'action susmentionné 7.

1.2  Consultations publiques et réactions

Le projet de loi se fonde sur les consultations qui ont été menées auprès d'immigrants et de partenaires autochtones. En 2017, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) a tenu des groupes de discussion avec des immigrants récemment admis et des immigrants bien établis à propos du libellé du serment de citoyenneté que propose la CVR dans ses appels à l'action. La réaction générale des groupes de discussion s'est avérée positive, mais certains participants ont fait valoir que la version modifiée du serment devrait s'accompagner de mesures satisfaisantes de formation des nouveaux arrivants sur les peuples autochtones et les traités. D'autres ont exprimé des doutes sur la modification parce qu'elle pourrait créer un précédent pour d'autres groupes qui voudraient être mentionnés dans le serment 8.

En collaboration avec le ministère des Relations Couronne-Autochtones et des Affaires du Nord, IRCC a aussi mené des consultations auprès de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, du Ralliement national des Métis et de l'organisme Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami 9.

La version du serment qui est proposée dans les appels à l'action a aussi suscité quelques réserves dans les médias. Certains se demandent si les citoyens sont en mesure d'« observe[r] fidèlement […] les traités conclus avec les peuples autochtones », et d'autres contestent le fait que le serment ne parle pas des milliers de citoyens autochtones qui appartiennent à des nations qui n'ont pas signé de traité 10.

2  Description et analyse

2.1  Préambule

Le préambule du projet de loi C-6 reconnaît que les droits ancestraux et issus de traités des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis sont protégés par la Constitution. Il reconnaît également l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral à donner suite à l'appel à l'action numéro 94 de la CVR.

2.2  Loi sur la citoyenneté (art. 1)

L'article premier du projet de loi remplace le libellé du serment de citoyenneté qui figure actuellement à l'annexe de la Loi sur la citoyenneté par le texte suivant qui se trouve à l'annexe du projet de loi :

Je jure fidélité et sincère allégeance à Sa Majesté la Reine Elizabeth Deux, Reine du Canada, à ses héritiers et successeurs et je jure d'observer fidèlement les lois du Canada, y compris la Constitution, qui reconnaît et confirme les droits – ancestraux ou issus de traités – des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis, et de remplir loyalement mes obligations de citoyen canadien.

Le libellé que propose le projet de loi diffère de celui que recommande la CVR en ce sens qu'il ne parle pas des « traités conclus avec les peuples autochtones », mais des « droits – ancestraux ou issus de traités – des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis », reconnus et confirmés à l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 11.

Les droits ancestraux sont des droits collectifs protégés par la Constitution que détiennent les peuples autochtones en vertu de leurs occupation et utilisation historiques du territoire en tant que sociétés aux coutumes, pratiques et traditions distinctes. Il peut s'agir notamment d'un titre ancestral sur la terre, du droit à l'autonomie gouvernementale, de droits sur les terres et les ressources ou de droits socioculturels. Les droits issus de traités désignent quant à eux les droits définis dans les traités historiques ou modernes qui ont été négociés entre la Couronne et des groupes autochtones précis.

2.3  Entrée en vigueur (art. 2)

L'article 2 prévoit que la version modifiée du serment entre en vigueur le lendemain de la date de sanction royale du projet de loi.


Notes

*  Avertissement : Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives du projet de loi décrit dans le présent résumé législatif sont énoncées comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Il ne faut pas oublier, cependant, qu’un projet de loi peut faire l’objet d’amendements au cours de son examen par la Chambre des communes et le Sénat, et qu’il est sans effet avant d’avoir été adopté par les deux chambres du Parlement, d’avoir reçu la sanction royale et d’être entré en vigueur.Retour au texte ]

  1. Projet de loi C-6, Loi modifiant la Loi sur la citoyenneté (appel à l'action numéro 94 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada), 1re session, 43e législature. [ Retour au texte ]
  2. Loi sur la citoyenneté, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-29, annexe. [ Retour au texte ]
  3. Gouvernement du Canada, Serment de citoyenneté. [ Retour au texte ]
  4. Projet de loi C-99, Loi modifiant la Loi sur la citoyenneté, 1re session, 42e législature. [ Retour au texte ]
  5. La Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada (CVR) recommande aussi au gouvernement fédéral de modifier la trousse d'information pour les nouveaux arrivants et l'examen de citoyenneté « afin que l'histoire relatée reflète davantage la diversité des peuples autochtones du Canada ». Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) modifie présentement son guide d'étude sur la citoyenneté, et les changements apportés serviront par la suite à modifier la trousse d'information et l'examen de citoyenneté. Voir CVR, Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada : Appels à l'action pdf (449 Ko, 20 pages), 2015, paragr. 93, p. 13; et Gouvernement du Canada, Nouveaux arrivants au Canada. [ Retour au texte ]
  6. CVR (2015), paragr. 94, p. 13. [ Retour au texte ]
  7. Justin Trudeau, premier ministre du Canada, Lettre de mandat du ministre de l'Immigration, des Réfugiés et de la Citoyenneté, 13 décembre 2019. [ Retour au texte ]
  8. Les résultats des consultations menées par IRCC se trouvent dans un rapport publié en septembre 2017 (qui ne relève pas du domaine public). Voir Stephanie Levitz, The Canadian Press, « Proposed citizenship oath change prompts some to call for more education about Indigenous people », CBC News, 28 septembre 2017; IRCC, Rapport sur les résultats ministériels 2016-2017 pdf (1.67 Mo, 83 pages), 2017, p. 32 et 33; et IRCCRapport sur les résultats ministériels 2017-2018 pdf (2.17 Mo, 90 pages), 2018, p. 39 et 40. [ Retour au texte ]
  9. Gouvernement du Canada, Nouveaux arrivants au Canada. [ Retour au texte ]
  10. Tristin Hopper, « One problem with the new citizenship oath: Citizens can't really violate an Indigenous treaty », National Post, 6 octobre 2017. [ Retour au texte ]
  11. « Droits des peuples autochtones du Canada », partie II de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, constituant l'annexe B de la Loi de 1982 sur le Canada (R.-U), 1982, ch. 11, art. 35. [ Retour au texte ]

 


© Bibliothèque du Parlement