Skip to main content

THE PARLIAMENTARYPOET LAUREATE

ABOUT CURRENT POET
LAUREATE
FORMER POETS
LAUREATE
POEM OF
THE MONTH
NOMINATION
PROCESS
CONTACT

National Poetry Registry

Introducing the National Poetry Registry

Welcome to the National Poetry Registry. The National Poetry Registry helps connect Canadian parliamentarians, citizens and poets. Selected by parliamentarians, citizens, and a bibliographer, the poems listed herein refer to Canada’s senatorial regions (e.g., provinces) and federal electoral districts. An author’s actual residency is immaterial: a Toronto-based poet might appear with a poem about Halifax and one about Calgary.

My hope is that Canadians will look up a constituency and discover poets whose work will gain additional relevance via their verses about a place—or places—therein. I also hope to inform parliamentarians about how poets have viewed—or view—a riding and acquaint them with the poets who have lived in or visited their electoral districts.

Two notes: first, the compilation of this website does not represent an exhaustive list of all constituencies and related poets; secondly, due to reasons of copyright, neither whole poems nor excerpts appear here. In closing, I wish to acknowledge here the fine, original research and outreach labour of Dr. Diana Manole, Ph.D., in assembling this group of Canadian poems and poets.

Dr. George Elliott Clarke, O.C., O.N.S., Ph.D.
The 7th Parliamentary Poet Laureate (2016-17)

Search the National Poetry Registry

You can search the database for poems that refer to Canada’s provinces or territories (senatorial regions) or for poems that refer to federal electoral districts (constituencies). Please note that not all constituencies are listed.

For regional entries, use the dropdown menu to select a province or territory.

For constituency entries, use the dropdown menu to select a province or territory, then select the constituency name (listed alphabetically).

Search by:


Choose a province or territory:

Passer au contenu

Le poète officiel du Parlement

À PROPOS POÈTE OFFICIEL
ACTUEL
ANCIENS POÈTES
OFFICIELS
POÈME DU
MOIS
MISE EN
CANDIDATURE
NOUS JOINDRE

Registre national de poésie

Présentation du Registre national de poésie

Bienvenue au Registre national de poésie. Le Registre aide à tisser des liens entre les parlementaires, les citoyens et les poètes du Canada. Les poèmes contenus ici, choisis par des parlementaires, des citoyens et une bibliographe, évoquent des divisions sénatoriales (les provinces) et des circonscriptions électorales fédérales canadiennes. Le lieu de résidence d’un auteur importe peu : on peut trouver ici un poète de Toronto dont on a choisi des poèmes sur Halifax et Calgary.

Ce que j’espère, c’est que les Canadiens choisiront le nom d’une circonscription pour découvrir des poètes dont les œuvres prendront une autre signification de par leur association avec un ou des lieux compris dans le registre. J’espère aussi donner aux parlementaires l’occasion de découvrir comment les poètes ont vu une circonscription donnée et quels sont les poètes qui vivent ou ont vécu dans leur district électoral.

Deux observations : Tout d’abord, le présent site Web ne se veut pas une liste exhaustive de toutes les circonscriptions et de tous les poètes. Ensuite, en raison de considérations liées au droit d’auteur, le registre ne comprend ni poèmes entiers ni extraits. En terminant, je tiens à remercier Diana Manole, Ph.D., pour ses recherches originales remarquables et pour l’excellent travail de sensibilisation qu’elle a accompli pour assembler ce groupe de poèmes et poètes canadiens.

George Elliott Clarke, O.C., O.N.S., Ph.D.
Septième poète officiel du Parlement (2016-2017)

Pour faire une recherche dans le Registre national de poésie

Vous pouvez faire une recherche dans la base de données par division sénatoriale pour trouver des poèmes évoquant les provinces et territoires ou une recherche par circonscription pour trouver des poèmes évoquant les circonscriptions fédérales. Veuillez noter que la liste n’inclut pas toutes les circonscriptions.

Pour trouver une région, cliquez sur le menu déroulant et sélectionnez une province ou un territoire.

Pour trouver une circonscription, cliquez sur le menu déroulant et sélectionnez une province ou un territoire, puis cliquez sur le nom de la circonscription recherchée (classement par ordre alphabétique).

Rechercher par :


Choisir une province ou un territoire :