Skip to main content

THE PARLIAMENTARY POET LAUREATE

ABOUT CURRENT POET
LAUREATE
FORMER POETS
LAUREATE
POEM OF
THE MONTH
NOMINATION
PROCESS
CONTACT

FORMER POETS LAUREATE

Pierre DesRuisseaux   (1945 - 2016)

Biography

Born in Sherbrooke, in the Eastern Townships, in 1945, Pierre DesRuisseaux graduated from the Université de Montréal in philosophy. He was successively an editorial writer for regional and national weeklies, including Le petit journal, a proofreader and a foreign correspondent (Middle East) for the magazine Sept-Jours

Mr. DesRuisseaux has published 14 collections of his poetry. His first book of poems, Lettres, published by Hexagone in 1979, was greeted as a revelation in Quebec’s literary world. In 1989, Monème earned Canada’s highest literary honour, the Governor General’s Award.

Another of his books, Le noyau, was described by Louise Proulx in Livres et auteurs québécois as an extraordinary mingling of philosophy, semantics, literature, politics and poetry. His work has frequently been read on Radio-Canada and published in a number of Quebec and foreign literary reviews. He has written on popular culture in Quebec, including the Livre des proverbes québécois and the Dictionnaire des expressions québécoises; the latter was chosen by the Association pour l’éducation interculturelle du Québec (AÉIQ) as one of 21 works that are representative of Quebec’s collective identity. Pierre DesRuisseaux is also the editor of the Dictionnaire des proverbes québécois, which Simon Fraser University’s Centre de ressources francophone called an invaluable tool for all teachers who want to teach their pupils more than language skills. Among his other books are works on sayings and popular beliefs and practices, as well as an anthology of traditional North American Aboriginal poetry (Hymnes à la Grande Terre).

A certified translator (English, Spanish) with the Canada Council for the Arts since 1983 and with the federal Translation Bureau since 1984, he has translated the Popol Vuh, the Maya-Quiché holy scriptures, from Spanish to French in collaboration with Daisy Amaya (published by VLB, Le Castor Astral, Montreal and Paris), and Gabriel Dumont, in collaboration with François Lanctôt, for which he won the Canada Council’s Translation Award in 1986.

In 1995, Triptyque released his bilingual anthology of 25 English-Canadian poets, Contre taille, which was nominated for the Governor General’s Literary Award the following year. In 1997, Mr. DesRuisseaux published a translation of a collection of poems by Louis Dudek, leader of the Montreal school of English-language poetry, called Dudek, l’essentiel, with an introduction by Michael Gnarowski. In March 2000, Triptyque released his critical anthology of some 31 Anglo-Quebec poets, entitled Co incidences : poètes anglophones du Québec, with a preface by Ken Norris. He is continuing to research popular culture, popular poetry and ethnolinguistic studies. Cited in a number of national and foreign anthologies, Pierre DesRuisseaux publishes both fiction and verse through a number of publishers, in Quebec and abroad. He has taken part in literary festivals and events (Festival franco-anglais de poésie, lecture, Centre d’action poétique, France) and collaborates regularly on Canadian and foreign literary reviews, including Ruptures (translations from the Spanish and fiction), Sud (France), The Revue, Osiris (U.S.), Estuaire, Liberté and The Review (U.K.).

News

  • 3 November 2009
    Capital News Online – phone interview with Harmeet Singh

  • 19 August 2009
    CBC Radio (Sudbury) – phone interview on Morning North

  • 3 July 2009
    Maclean's magazine – phone interview with Mitchel Raphael

  • 22 June 2009
    Beyond the Hill – phone interview with Sarah Dion-Marquis

  • 15 May 2009
    98.5 FM Le Québec d’abord – live interview with Isabelle Maréchal

  • 1 May 2009
    CBC Toronto – phone interview with Richard Goddart

  • 30 April 2009
    CKSB-AM Radio-Réveil – radio interview

  • 30 April 2009
    RCI-R Tam-Tam Canada – television interview

  • 30 April 2009
    CKSH-TV Téléjournal Midi Estrie – television interview

  • 30 April 2009
    LCN-TV Franchement Martineau – television interview

  • 29 April 2009
    Radio-Canada – Le monde selon Mathieu – live interview with Daniel Mathieu

  • 28 April 2009
    News Release, Appointment of new Parliamentary Poet Laureate


  • Events

  • 26 March 2011, Théâtre du Marais, Val Morin, Que.
    Attended poetry event, Nuit de la poésie des Laurentides

  • 25 January 2011, Ottawa, Ont.
    Tree Reading Series poetry reading

  • 9 to 12 December 2010, Toronto, Ont.
    Attended the Salon du livre

  • 14 to 15 July 2010, Halifax, N.S.
    Attended a poetry event

  • 29 May 2010, Montreal, Que.
    Attended Nuit de la poésie, an event organized by the Maison de la poésie

  • 3 May 2010, Ottawa, Ont. Attended a ceremony marking the one hundredth anniversary of the Canadian Navy, with a reading of his poem, organized by the Speaker of the Senate

  • 25 to 26 November 2009, Ottawa, Ont.
    Attended events for the winners of the Governor General’s Literary Awards 2009

  • 8 November 2009, Toronto, Ont.
    Toronto Poetry Parade – poetry event and contest in Toronto (see photos)

  • 24 September to 3 October 2009
    Voyage aboard the HMCS Montreal to write a poem in honour of the one hundredth anniversary of the Canadian Navy (see photos)

  • 15 to 21 July 2009, Managua, Nicaragua
    United Poets Laureate International – 21st World Congress of Poets in Managua, Nicaragua (see photos)

  • Photos

    • World Congress of Poets, 2009: With UPLI President Dr. Benjamin Yuzon

    • World Congress of Poets, 2009: With Architect Luis Enrique Morales Alonso, Nicaraguan Minister of Culture

Passer au contenu

Le poète officiel du Parlement

À PROPOS POÈTE OFFICIELLE
ACTUELLE
ANCIENS POÈTES
OFFICIELS
POÈME DU
MOIS
MISE EN
CANDIDATURE
NOUS JOINDRE

Pierre DesRuisseaux
2009-2011

Biographie

Né en 1945 à Sherbrooke, en Estrie, Pierre DesRuisseaux est diplômé en philosophie de l'Université de Montréal. Il a été successivement rédacteur dans des hebdomadaires régionaux et nationaux, dont Le petit journal , correcteur d'épreuves et correspondant spécial à l'étranger (Proche-Orient) du magazine Sept-Jours. M. DesRuisseaux est décédé en 2016.

Poète, il a publié quatorze recueils de poésie. Son premier livre de poésie, Lettres, publié à l’Hexagone en 1979, a été accueilli comme une révélation dans le monde littéraire québécois. En 1989, Monème, se mérite la plus haute récompense littéraire canadienne, le Prix du Gouverneur général.

Il a également fait paraître Le Noyau, récit « où se mêlent étrangement philosophie, sémantique, littérature, politique et poésie (Louise Proulx, Livres et auteurs québécois) » Ses écrits ont été souvent lus à la radio d'État et publiés dans diverses revues littéraires québécoises et étrangères. Il a fait paraître des essais sur la culture populaire du Québec, dont le Livre des proverbes québécois et le Dictionnaire des expressions québécoises, choisi par l’Association pour l’éducation interculturelle du Québec (AÉIQ) comme l’un des 21 ouvrages représentatifs de l’identité collective québécoise. Il a aussi publié le Dictionnaire des proverbes québécois, que le Centre de ressources francophones de l’université Simon Fraser qualifie d’ « outil très utile pour tous les enseignants désirant enseigner davantage que des aptitudes linguistiques à leurs élèves. » Il a fait paraître en outre divers ouvrages portant notamment sur les dictons et les croyances et pratiques populaires, et a aussi complété une anthologie de la poésie traditionnelle amérindienne (Hymnes à la Grande Terre).

Accrédité en traduction (anglais, espagnol) depuis 1983 auprès du Conseil des Arts du Canada et du Bureau des traductions du Secrétariat d'État depuis 1984, il traduit entre autres de l'espagnol au français, en collaboration avec Daisy Amaya, le Popol Vuh, bible Maya-Quiché (VLB, Le Castor Astral, Montréal et Paris), et Gabriel Dumont, en collaboration avec François Lanctôt, pour lequel il remporte, en 1986, le Prix de traduction du Conseil des Arts du Canada.

En 1995, paraît chez Triptyque une anthologie bilingue de vingt-cinq poètes canadiens-anglais, Contre-taille, mise en nomination pour le Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général 1996. En 1997, il fait paraître une anthologie d’essais et de poèmes de Louis Dudek (chef de file de l’école montréalaise de la poésie anglophone), Dudek, l’essentiel, précédée d’une introduction de Michael Gnarowski. Puis, toujours chez Triptyque, il publie en mars 2000 une anthologie raisonnée de la poésie anglo-québécoise, intitulée Co-incidences : poètes anglophones du Québec, oeuvre qui présente quelque 31 poètes québécois de langue anglaise, précédée d’une préface de Ken Norris. Il poursuit des recherches sur la culture populaire, la poésie populaire ainsi que des études ethnolinguistiques. Cité dans plusieurs anthologies nationales et étrangères, Pierre DesRuisseaux publie des textes de fiction ainsi que de la poésie chez divers éditeurs, tant au Québec qu'à l'étranger. Il a participé à des événements et des festivals littéraires (Festival franco-anglais de poésie, lecture, Centre d’action poétique, France) et collabore régulièrement à des revues littéraires nationales et étrangères, notamment Ruptures - traductions de l'espagnol et textes de fiction - Osiris (É.-U.), Sud (France), The Revue, Osiris (É.-U.), Estuaire, Liberté, The Review (Grande-Bretagne).

Nouvelles

  • 3 novembre 2009
    Capital News Online – Entrevue téléphonique avec Harmeet Singh

  • 19 août 2009
    CBC Radio (Sudbury) – Entrevue téléphonique à l’émission Morning North

  • 3 juillet 2009
    Magazine Maclean’s – Entrevue téléphonique avec Mitchel Raphael

  • 22 juin 2009
    Beyond the Hill – Entrevue téléphonique avec Sarah Dion-Marquis

  • 15 mai 2009
    98.5 FM, Le Québec d’abord – Entrevue en direct avec Isabelle Maréchal

  • 1er mai 2009
    CBC Toronto – Entrevue téléphonique avec Richard Goddart

  • 30 avril 2009
    CKSB-AM - Radio-Réveil – Entrevue radiophonique

  • 30 avril 2009
    RCI-R - Tam-Tam Canada – Entrevue télévisée

  • 30 avril 2009
    CKSH-TV - Téléjournal Midi Estrie – Entrevue télévisée

  • 30 avril 2009
    LCN-TV - Franchement Martineau – Entrevue télévisée

  • 29 avril 2009
    RADIO-CANADA – Le monde selon Mathieu – Entrevue en direct avec Daniel Mathieu

  • 28 avril 2009
    Communiqué - Nomination du nouveau poète officiel du Parlement


  • Événements

  • 26 mars 2011
    Participation à la Nuit de la poésie des Laurentides au Théâtre du Marais

  • 25 janvier 2011
    Lecture de poésie « Tree Reading Series » à Ottawa

  • 9 au 12 décembre 2010
    Participation au Salon du livre à Toronto

  • 14 et 15 juillet 2010
    Participation à un événement de poésie à Halifax

  • 29 mai 2010
    Participation à la "Nuit de la poésie", événement organisé par la Maison de la poésie à Montréal

  • 3 mai 2010
    Participation à la cérémonie organisé par le Président du Sénat à Ottawa, célébrant le 100e anniversaire de la marine canadienne et lecture de son poème

  • 25 et 26 novembre 2009
    Participation aux événements en l’honneur des gagnants des prix littéraires de la Gouverneure générale 2009

  • 8 novembre 2009
    Toronto Poetry Parade – Activité et concours de poésie à Toronto (voir les photos)

  • 24 septembre au 3 octobre 2009
    Voyage à bord du NCSM HMCS Montréal afin d’écrire un poème en l’honneur du 100e anniversaire de la Marine canadienne (voir les photoss)

  • 15 au 21 juillet 2009
    United Poets Laureate International – 21e Conférence mondiale de poètes à Managua, Nicaragua (voir les photos)

  • Photos

    • Événement Toronto Poetry Parade : Desi Di Nardo, la co-organisatrice de l'événement, Toronto Poetry Parade

    • Événement Toronto Poetry Parade : Lecture de Dionne Brand, poète

    Bibliographie

    Pierre DesRuisseaux