Skip to main content


Governor General Section
About the Governor General of Canada

Parliament is the legislative branch of Government, composed of the Sovereign (represented by the Governor General), the Senate and the House of Commons. The three components of Parliament may meet from time to time for ceremonial occasions and for events related to the business of Parliament such as: the installation of the Governor General; the Opening of Parliament; the Speech from the Throne (at the beginning of each new session of Parliament); and Royal Assent ceremonies.

As the representative of the Sovereign in Canada, the Governor General exercises virtually all of the Crown’s powers. The Governor General is appointed by the Queen on the advice of the Prime Minister. Tenure is “at pleasure” and usually lasts five years, but this term may be extended. While the parliamentary website contains information about the Senate and the House of Commons, please visit for more information about the history, roles, responsibilities and activities of the Governor General.


Updated on: 2007.03.05

Revised on: 2007.03.05

© Library of Parliament